Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 27th
Reviewer: indysoarin19 Valencia, CA     July 30, 2006
I had lunch here and simply put, it was beyond outstanding. I had a 12:40 reservation and arrived promptly. I asked for a waterside table, but was told it would be an extra wait of 30-40 minutes, so I passed. Less than 10 minutes later, we were luckily seated waterside across from the banjo player in the shack on Pirates. This table was right next to the kitchen door, but the acoustics and noise were such that we hardly heard the kitchen sounds. The atmosphere is legendary and we had a great table.

The food was fantastic. One person in our group had the Monte Cristo sandwich and was thoroughly stuffed, two had the jambalaya, and I had the pork chops that had an apple sauce on them like I have them at home, but much better quality. Practically melt in your mouth! For dessert, we had the creme brulee which was terrific.

The quality service was prompt and the waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu.

The only downside to the Blue Bayou is that it is pricey ($121 for four people!) and a reservation is pretty much required. People were walking up to the restaurant only to be turned away because of the number of reservations and this was on a Thursday! Overall, a Disneyland memory I will cherish for a long time and would very much recommend the Blue Bayou to anybody who wants to have a great dining experience!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 8, 2006
Reviewer: jkra1955 Seaside, Calif.     July 28, 2006
We have always loved the atmospher and the food at the Blue Bayou. We do miss the salad and the dressing that they used to have before the change but we were not to disappointed with the new salad. It was freash and tasty. My wife and daughter had the prime rib and I had the salmon. Everything was wonderful. Another item that we miss is the cream brule. We thought that the new dessert selection was not as good as the old selection. However I must say that we did enjoy our dinners very much. Just being in the atmospher at Blue Bayou is fantastic.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 7th, 2006
Reviewer: Dom262 So California     July 27, 2006
Why are people complaining about the Blue Bayou?

We have eaten there twice and have been very happy each time.

The short ribs are very good. The sauce they have on them is delicious. the gumbo is also very delicious and flavorful. I was initally upset that they didn't serve the chowder either until I had the gumbo. (I asked the server why the choweder was removed and they said because too many people were jsut coming in, eating lots of bread and only having the chowder) The Filet is also tasty. My wife has had the Portobello mushroom and she was very pleased with it.

they do still have desert options, just not like thye had before. there is the cookie boat, which is delicious, key lime pie, and creme brulee sampler. They have a choclate creme brulee in the sampler, you could always ask to make it three of those instead of the other two.

Like I said, very happy. We will be eating there again.

:)
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   June 23, 2006
Reviewer: DisneyBubbles California     July 27, 2006
Well we went to the Blue Bayou after the recent changes they made and we were very very very dissapointed. First of all, they took the clam chowder off of the menu and our only choice was a house salad or their gumbo! We loved the clam chowder! I dont understand why they no longer give the customers a choice of soups. What if you dont like gumbo? UGH!

Anyway, so we ordered the salad since we both hate gumbo and they brought us these plates with one tiny wedge of iceberg lettuce!! And when I say tiny I mean teenie!! And they were so cheap that they didtn even give us a wedge of romaine lettuce. Iceberg lettuce?? UGH! Then along with the tiny slice of lettuce you got "one" slice of tomato and a TINY slice of avocado. This slice was so small I almost missed it!! Then they had a few crumbs of sausage or something like that and their own lame dressing. We didnt even get a choice of dressing!!
What the heck??! They have better salads at Denny's for crying out loud!!

They also no longer bring a basket of bread. Now you get ONE roll per person!! What are we in a Depression I am not aware of??? We can ask for more if we want but there was nothing wrong with the basket of hot rolls they used to bring.

Then we made the HUGE mistake of ordering the ribs. They were horrible! I actually got nauseous for the rest of the day.

On top of that, they no longer have the variety of dessert choices and for chocolate lovers like us we were dissapointed to see that there were no chocolate desserts at all.

So they raised the prices and brought down the quality! UGH !

Needless to say, we are no longer going to eat at the Blue Bayou. What a shame!! We used to love that place since I was a kid! And now it's not worth the money.
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   08-06-05
Reviewer: sangriaflygirl california     July 06, 2006
My fiance and I made reservations and were seated just after our time, but I expected it as it was a Friday during the summer. We had excellent service, and of course we both ordered Mint Juleps. I ordered the Monte Cristo and my fiance ordered a portobello mushroom dish. My sandwich was amazing - I still haven't had one that good. Our price was not very expensive [sorry I can't remember] and even though it was busy, we still felt a good ambience from it.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb. 27, 2006
Reviewer: ferliemom Ventura, CA     March 02, 2006
I really liked the BB!
Please get Priority Seating and request a waterfront table-- the atmosphere makes the experience!
Friend and I ordered prime rib. Wonderful meat, decent side dishes. Salad (pay extra) and bread were great. The volcano cake and coffee were perfect! Rich and sweet.
We spent $35 each for a splurge-- worth it once in a while!
Not the very best meal of my life, but very tasty and satisfying and certainly memorable!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Saturday, December 17, 2005, 1:10 PM
Reviewer: Andrew Palo Alto, CA     February 06, 2006
What we had: Crab cakes (Jen), Clam chowder (Colleen), Mardi Gras salad (2; Colleen & Shawn split one and I had one), Monte Cristo sandwich (Shawn & I split).

I'd been craving a Monte Cristo for some time, but can't finish one myself, so it was pleasant to be able to share one. Jen loved her crab cakes, and the Mardi Gras salad was good for a "mixed greens" dish.

Service: Very good. We'd actually had this particular server on a previous visit, with a party of ten, and were rather less than impressed. This time, with just four, he was fine. We were unfortunately seated towards the back of the restaurant, near the kitchen, but on the positive side we were under a light; rare in the very dark atmosphere of the Blue Bayou.

Would we go back: Definitely!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2003, March 2004, March 2005
Reviewer: Arien Phoenix, Arizona     December 24, 2005
I have eaten at the Blue Bayou three times, each time with a young child. On the last trip (March 2005) I got the pork loin and it was incredible! It was so tender and absolutely delicious. The cinnamon apples were wonderful as well. My daughter got a Mousekemeal and was quite happy with it. The service has been great every single time I have eaten there. The staff is very friendly and professional. It is always a pleasure to eat there. My fiance and I are going to Disneyland for our honeymoon in early March 2006 (before the Pirates of the Caribbean and the Blue Bayou close), and we will definitely be eating at the Blue Bayou!
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/8/05
Reviewer: Parkatola Salt Lake City, Utah     December 12, 2005
My wife and I had always wanted to try the Blue Bayou, and this trip we finally did. Party of 6 (2 adults, 3 kids (12,9,5) and 1 senior). We made reservations well in advance for 12:30 on a Thursday. We were told to arrive about 10 minutes early, which we did. We were seated after spending about 15 minutes in a fairly crowded entry way. The table would have been perfect for 4; for 6 we seemed a bit cramped. Two of the kids had the kids meal items (chicken nuggets and corn dogs), which were okay but nothing special. Wife and other child had the Monte Cristo. Maybe it varies, but they were both heavily breaded before frying; too rich. I had the pork loin and a mint julep and shared both with the kids. Both were good but not great. The service was good, and our waitress/server was very friendly. We shared a chocolate volcano (or something like that) for dessert. (The kids' meals came with mickey-shaped jello.) Our table was in the middle of the seating area, and so we didn't see or hear much of the noice from the Pirates ride. (We heard the banjo a few times.) Overall, it was something we all had wanted to do, and now we can say that we've done it. I don't imagine that we'll be heading back any time soon. The prices seem a bit steep for what you get, almost like you're paying two premiums, one for being in an amusement park, and the other for being a sit-down restaurant. There was nothing negative about our experience; it just wasn't anything that we feel the need to repeat any time soon. We had always wanted to eat there, and now we can say we have.
 
5 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 5 2005, Dec 4 2004, June 3 2004
Reviewer: quincytoo Victoria BC Canada     October 22, 2005
The last three times that we have been down we have had lunch at the BB. We always reserve a seating for 11:30 and DH gets there about 11:20 so he can secure a waterfront in the middle. The ambience is incredible and I swear I am indeed back on the bayou.

First time I was there I had the Pork loin which was HUGE and good..loved the potatoes that came with it. Huge portion, two could have shared easily. DH had blackened cajan chicken caeser and LOVED it. Older Ds had the jampalaya and while he liked it he found it rather bland. Youngest ds had Monte Cristo and he loved the first half then was eager to exchange pieces for what we were having.....heck he even liked my vegetables!!!! The MC is a entity all of its own, better shared. The pasta salad was so good I request and got the recipe:) We make it often, really good....but it does taste magically disneyier at DLR.

Next vist was with friends, the clam chowder soup, that a friend had, I begged a taste from and it was very good and clamy, but not fishy. Another friend and I ordered and split Monte Crisco ( her words, not mine) and the chicken caeser.....OMG what a great way to eat this sandwich...the tangy, spicy, salad soaks up most of the grease and cloying heaviness of the Monte Cristo. The two play off of each other so well I am surprised that Disney does not offer a side caeser with half of a Monte on their regular menu. Same friend introduced me to deep fried cheesecake...OMG ,...with caramel sauce and strawberries ...It is what dreams are made of....No matter how full you are ..you gotta try this...share it with the table....

Last vist shared the Monte and Caeser with youngest DS and we ate the entire things. The salad with that sandwich really do belong togeather. They marry well, as my Nana might have said. Did the deep fried cheesecake again but it was missing the strawberries....but still had to resist urge not to lick plate clean. Older DS had creme brule for dessert and found it rather rich....silly teenager....I finished it for him and found it heavenly.

Memories...cann't wait to Dec to go back again....and do lunch at the Blue Bayou.....the dinner prices seem a little daunting so we always just do lunch and it is still a hundred bucks.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page