Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 40 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/01/05
Reviewer: macuser209 Stockton, California     October 16, 2005
Having been the first time eating at the Blue Bayou. I had high expectations. The atmosphere was amazing, and the service was very nice. The only thing that concerned me was the Clam Chowder was slightly cold, and had to be reheated. Also from what people said about the Monte Cristo sandwhich I though it would be more then it was, but to translate it, its basically a ham and cheese sandwhich that is deep fried with a side of jam. I could only eat half of a sandwhich and I personally think its a bit over priced for what it is. Also priority seating is a must. Make it as early as possible since you have a better chance of getting a table for your party and on the day you want.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 28, 2005
Reviewer: cjkeys (carol@stewartholdings.com) El Paso, TX     October 12, 2005
My grown daughter and I had reservations for Wednesday, September 28th. We arrived about 2 minutes late but were seated immediately. After reading all the reviews, we decided to try the grilled chicken Caesar salad and the famous Monte Cristo. Halfway through our entrees, we switched so we could taste both dishes. Both were spectacular! The Monte Cristo was perfectly fried not greasy at all. The grilled chicken Caesar was great. The lettuce was fresh, the croutons were tasty and the chicken was moist not overcooked. We both tried the mint juleps since neither of us had ever had one before. They were delicious and very refreshing. Our waiter was attentive and our meal was served very quickly. The only less-than-fabulous aspect was the pasta salad that was served with the sandwich. Neither of us liked it. Would definitely go back to this restaurant. As a matter of fact, I considered going back the next day and having the same thing but we didn't have reservations.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/27/05
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 02, 2005
We made our reservation for 3pm in order to avoid the lunch or dinner rush and it was a good idea, the restaurant was even taking walk-ins at that time which is rare for the Blue Bayou. We came 15 minutes early in order to request water-front seating, which meant we had to wait but it was worth it. I had heard mixed reviews of late and my last experience was only so-so but this time the Blue Bayou was fantastic. I think they have been taking the negative reviews to heart and trying to improve. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly even though it was her last day and right before her break. My boyfriend had the clam chowder and the Monte Cristo, I had the pork chop with root beer glazed apples. My pork chop was very good although I was so-so on the apples and gave them to my boyfriend who was very happy to eat them. Some wonderful potato au gratin and mixed vegetables accompanied my pork. The highlight of the meal was the famed Monte Cristo, which was so huge that my boyfriend had a difficult time finishing it after having the clam chowder. Poor me, I had to help him! ;) We were both so stuffed that we had to skip dessert even though they all looked great and we were dying for the creme brulee. We agreed that next time we would split the Monte Cristo and a dessert. Our bill came out to less than $40 and my boyfriend who usually forgets about meals the second we walk out of the restaurant is still raving about the Blue Bayou and the Monte Cristo sandwich. Glad to see that my Disneyland tradition is back to it's old high standards!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/27/03, 7/17/04, 12/26/04, 3/18/05, 7/18/05, etc...
Reviewer: The Fairest Beauty (xvxsweetsxvx@aol.com) 73.4 Miles Away From Disneyland     September 15, 2005
Service: The service was outstanding and our waiter was very attentive and enthusiastic. My fiancee and I had priority seating reservations and we got in about ten minutes after we checked in. No matter how long the wait is, it is always worth it.

Price: The price is a little expensive, but it is well worth it for what you are getting. The portions are huge! My fiancee and I can't even finish a shared meal.

Food: I recommend the Pork Chops, the Monte Cristo Sandwich (which is still on the menu!!!) , and the Chicken Florentine. I loved all this food!!! Oh, and the free sourdough bread rolls with butter were the best I have ever eaten. For dessert we shared the baked apple with vanilla ice cream on top! It was so delicious! It was also my fiancee's birthday and the cast members sang to him.

Atmosphere: This place is very romantic! It's a beautiful setting and has a warm atmosphere. If you sit by the water, it's spectacular! You feel as if you have left the real world and are dining in a prestige bayou restaurant.

((I am very appalled by the number of bad reviews I have seen on this site about the Blue Bayou. All of the people who have written bad reviews have no idea what they are talking about! I feel like I have become uneducated by reading the poor reviews! I believe that if you didn't like the Blue Bayou, that it's only fair you give it a second chance. If not, then stay out, and let the people who enjoy it have a lovely time!!!))
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 14, 2005
Reviewer: Lanmon San Marcos, CA     August 15, 2005
I highly recommend this restaurant!!! My niece and I celebrated her 21st birthday at Disneyland at the Blue Bayou for lunch. Reservations were made via Priority Seating Reservations. I was surprised there was no waiting when we arrived 15 minutes prior to our reservation time. The restaurant was 1/3 full so I was looking forward to a table close to the water. When escorted to the back of the restaurant near the kitchen it was clear that the table location was unacceptable. The hostess told us there would be a 15-20 minute wait for a table close to the water. We were quite pleased the wait took only a few minutes and the lunch location was perfect...right near the water! Needless to say the waiter, Dennis, was excellent. Full glasses of water, warm sour dough bread, updates as to when the food would be ready and checked with us as to the condition of the food and over dining experience. We were able to share a bowl of yummy clam chowder. My niece had the Monte Cristo sandwich which was so large she could only eat 1/3 of the sandwich. It was served very hot. The Blacken Chicken Cesar salad was quite delicious...very cold lettuce leaves, tangy dressing and savory juicy white chicken breast. Dennis introduced us to the Head Chef to our table after I mentioned how wonderful the food was. I was excited to discuss the overall eating experience a the Blue Bayou with her. (During my last visit to DLR we ate at the StoryTeller Cafe and the food was awful terrible...and quite expensive! And, we will not go there again!) We will be returning to Disneyland in two weeks and have already made reservations for the Blue Bayou for two days of our visit. Again, I highly recommend the Blue Bayou!
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2005
Reviewer: JiminyCricket Phoenix, Arizona     June 08, 2005
This restaurant offers everything you could want from Disney, wonderful atmosphere, elegant food, and superior service. I resently enjoyed a wonderful lunch at this restaurant. It brought back all the other wonderul meals I had here. It really is not to be missed when going to Disneyland. Make sure you make a reservation!! This is the hottest spot for dining in the happiest place on earth.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/23/2005
Reviewer: minicricket Marana Arizona     May 26, 2005
We have never eaten here befor so for my big 50th birthday my husband suprised me with reservations. We requested water side seating and only had to wait about 15 minutes past our reservation time of 12:50. My husband and I both ordered the mint juleps[which are great]-they never let them get empty the whole time we were there-and even refilled them after dinner. I had the Caribbean Crab Cakes.They have this wonderful sause on them! The vegetables are served with a light garlic sause and are very tasty, a rice is also served with it..My husband had the Bayou Roast Pork loin with root beer apples. The pork was SO tender and tasted of the apples. It was served with vegetables and potatoes. After dinner the waiters came to the table with the Blue Bayou Chocolate Mint Doubloons Desert with a candle in it and sang happy birthday to me!! That is one tasty desert! The staff there is fantastic! With our AP the meal was a resonable price for two. We will eat here again.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 10, 2005
Reviewer: disneyguy537 Palmdale, CA     May 24, 2005
This was my first visit to the Blue Bayou. I attended a convention earlier that day for work at the Marriott and remembered to bring my AP with me to Anaheim, so I figured why not get some DL time after work, and I was hungry, and on per diem. :-) I arrived at the BB around 6:00 pm with no reservation (BB closed at 7 that day, DL at 9) and asked the CM if there was any chance of getting a table for 1. They looked very busy, and she said that all reservations were full for the day, but that she would check. She came back after a short while and said they could probably seat me in 20-30 minutes. Five minutes later, I was seated. Just lucky I guess. I had the roast pork loin with root beer sauce (advertised at the house specialty that day), which was fantastic, along with the clam chowder. The portion was quite large, and everything was delicious. I told my waiter that I feel sorry for the chef, since they can't serve this meal with a nice Riesling. He said that if any place in DL (other than Club 33) ever serves alcohol, it would be them. They even had a few of the Disney Dining AP pins in stock, and of course it is easy to spend over $25.00 in the BB. Definitely a repeat, but make sure to bring a full wallet. The wait staff was very attentive and professional.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10-17-04
Reviewer: mattay Los Angeles, CA     May 03, 2005
This restaurant is usually booked day-of, which I guess most people accept as just part of your day at Disney. I think though, that the park REALLY lacks table service options.

This restaurant is expensive. This makes a lot of people think the food that they are eating is good. I'm convinced that the people who have reviewed this restaurant have never had delicious food. I certainly don't mean that as an insult, but I found the food to be really sub-par and over-heatlamped. Working as I do for a fairly affluent boss, it's a common gripe that most expensive restaurants get away with serving sub-par food because of their prestige.

The atmosphere of this place is amazing. If the food matched it, I would be inclined to book months ahead of time. Maybe they're keeping the food bad to keep the reservation book open?

Don't settle, people!
 
9 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 16, 2005
Reviewer: karene Sacramento     April 18, 2005
This is the second time I've been to the Blue Bayou and we had the same waitress as we did in November 2003. She was very nice and service was quick. I had the prime rib and it was delicious, especially the sauce they use. I also had the clam chowder and it much much better than the place in New Orleans Square.

Also tasted were the Monte Crisco and it was reported to be excellent, although very filling. The grilled chicken ceaser salad was also good, althought the chicken was a bit dry. The kid's pasta went over well but they serve jello as a dessert. If you want ice cream instead it costs extra. Our drinks were refilled when the glass was barely empty, which was nice. One tip is to get reservations for the first seating of lunch, at 11:30 and show up about 20 minutes early to request a water seat. The atmosphere is great and it's fun to watch the boats go by on their pirate journey. Also, lunch is cheaper than dinner and I hear the serving sizes are about the same.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page