Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 41 - 50 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 23rd, 2004
Reviewer: Missviolet Washington     March 28, 2005
I am a 21 year old Disneyland fanatic! My HUsband and I went to Disneyland for our Honeymoon and OF COURSE we ate at the Blue Bayou! It's my favorite place to eat!

The first time we went, we made reservation first thing in the morning, which is the best advice thta I can give for prompt seating. If you can, make the reservations for late lunch time (2ish), as it is less crowded than, say noon.

Once your reservation time rolls around, trot on back to the resturant and check in, MAKING SURE to say that you want a water seat!

Once seated you get FREE rolls and butter! Sha-bang! something free in Disneyland! They are really awesome sourdough rolls, hard on the outside and soft on the inside!

The famous Monte Cristo sandwhich is ok. It is a bit greasy, but the pasta salad served with it is great! It is big enough (and rich enough!) for two to share! Just ask for them to split it between two plates!

As you know, a sit down resturant in Disneyland is mucho expensive and when we went we didn't have much money due to being college students and just having paid for part of our wedding! Ask for a kids menu! Seriously! It is much cheaper than the regular menu and you really get alot of food! Don't be shy! If they say anything, just mention that you're dieting or something!
This totally saved us money and we were able to eat at the Blue Bayou three times while we were there!

Also, extra bread is FREE! After your meal, ask for another basket and a to go bag. We totally snacked on awesome rolls the rest of the day!

Blue Bayou is sublime and the atmosphere way surpasses anyother resturant, even the Rain Forest Cafe (Don't order pizza there... yuck)!

Also, the best snack in the park are the pineapple spears that the venders sell! They are really cheap (for Disney food) and are healthy!

Happy dining!
 
12 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   19 December 2004
Reviewer: Megs Long Beach, California     March 07, 2005
My husband and I came to Disneyland for our First Anniversary (it's where we met), and we decided to eat at the Blue Bayou. I'd eaten there many times, but my husband hadn't.
I have always completely adored the atmosphere of the Bayou...it's just fun and really takes you away if you have a vivid imagination like mine! I tend to wave at the passersby in the boats and am THRILLED when any wave back...yeah, I'm like 7 years old at heart. My husband was also impressed by the atmosphere and scenery...although he wanted to play it very cool. But I caught him when he smiled, pointed, and said, "Fireflies!".
The pricing is what I consider very very expensive...and could knock a basket off my husband's head when he looked at the menu...he choked a little, and whimpered. Unless you're used to expensive places like that, it might come as a shock. Although after the meal, my husband actually said, "That was definitely worth the price."
The service was great...I'm sorry that I can't remember the name of our server, but she was really charming and friendly and met our every need promptly, but without being overly pushy. Everyone there seemed to really love their job and WANT to help each other out...I love that.
And now for the food...I got the Crab Cakes, as I have many times before...and I am always pleased with them! The salad was SOO good...it had little bits of candied walnuts and rum-raisins...I wanted a second salad! The rolls were soft and perfect.
My husband is a very picky person and likes his food a certain way so he was nervous they'd get too fancy with the food...but he LOVED the salad and especially the italian salad dressing. He ordered the Jerk Jamaican Pork and he LOVED that also. He was so surprised that he liked it and said he definitely wants us to go back soon!
We wanted to get dessert, but we were STUFFED and still ended up getting a box to put our leftovers in, so we skipped dessert this time.

All in all, it really made our anniversary special to be there and have everything so pleasant! We'll be going back!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Sunday, February 20, 2005
Reviewer: psycho1960rebel California     February 22, 2005
Ive been to Disneyland every year for 24 years and always wanted to eat at this restaurant. Finally this year my husband and I went with another couple and found the food awful. I agree with many of the other reviews that suggest eating at the Blue Bayou is more about the atmosphere than the food. My rating for the atmosphere part of the restaurant is a 5 because it was so calming to be away from the bustling crowds, sitting by the rivers edge watching the moon change phases and looking for shooting stars. My rating for the food is a 1. No one in our group liked their entrees. I ordered the chicken Florentine and found it too fatty while the pasta was too chewy. My husband thought the crab cakes were mediocre and didnt even touch the rice that came with it. Our friends ordered the famed monte cristo sandwich and said that grease gushed out on the first bite. The only good part of the meal was the volcano cake, dessert which the four of us shared for fear it would be as bad as the other items. The bill came to about $80 and most of the food went uneaten. Now that we got it out of our system, I dont think well ever be back.
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12-2003 & 6-2004
Reviewer: sleekmr2 San Jose, California     February 03, 2005
I was informed by one of my friends about the restaurant. I have never noticed it there before. So we tried to make reservations on the day we were there but they were booked full. To our luck when we returned at night to get on the waiting list we didn't have to wait and they seated us right away. The atmosphere was awesome. I love the feel and look of being outside. Service was superb. Food was great. You can't go wrong.

Second visit we made reservations for 16 people. I was kind of disappointed that they had to split our group into two tables. Service was okay this time. Our drinks went dry for some time. All of our food was great except one of our friends didn't like their dish and they exchanged it for another without hesitation. None the less I always make sure to have dinner here at least once every visit. The atmosphere is awesome. The sounds and scene are superb. They could even serve me PBJ sandwiches and I wouldn't care. It would totally be worth it cause of the decor. Make sure you visit this place at least once.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 24th, 2004
Reviewer: downeyjrs Seattle, WA     January 06, 2005
Family of 8, 5 adults 3 kids. I had reservations for 3:10. I checked us in at 2:50 and we were promtply seated. Our waiter was very nice and attentive. I know everyone raves about the Monte Crisco, but we had the prime rib which was simply outstanding. My children had chicken nuggets, mac & cheese and mini hotdogs. Their dishes came with garlic mash red potatos which I ended up eating. Simply delicous. Dinner for 8 only cost us $160. (15% discount for premium AP's) We really enjoyed this experience and will continue to dine here.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 3, 2004
Reviewer: poohfan Northern California     January 02, 2005
My husband and I made lunch reservations at the Blue Bayou. This is a standard when I go with family or friends. If you want to go, make reservations. To just walk up, especially on a busy day, makes for late or no reservations at all. This is a definite to plan for. It's a bit pricey, but well worth it for the experience and atmosphere. The restaurant is on the inside and edge of the Pirates ride as it begins. The sounds and the shooting stars are enjoyable. We had crab cakes and they were very good. We also had a salad which was also enjoyable. If you haven't tried it, try a mint julip there! Adds to the whole environment. The service was very good. They are all so very busy, but manage to make sure you are well taken care of. When making reservations, they will not seat you where you want to be. Many requests are for the waters edge. Put your request in at time of arrival. They will probably tell you it will be an extra 15 minutes. It's been known to take longer than that. If your not hungry or in a hurry, it's a nice seat.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 2004
Reviewer: JTSnowFan Bay Area, CA     October 19, 2004
The Blue Bayou is by far the best dining experience that you will get in Disneyland Park. Yes, the food may be a bit pricy, but hey, it is a sit down, exquisit restaurant in Disneyland. (They do need to make a profit from their food)

Pirates of the Caribbean is my favorite ride at the park, so naturally when I went there for my birthday in January this past year, my mom suggested the BB. We got their early in the morning (it was the first place we went to when we got to the park) and made reserveations for 9 pm. When we got there at 9, we requested water-side seats (which are awesome, by the way!) so we had to wait 20 extra mintues to wait.

When we finally got seated (in the best possible seats. Right on the water where the fireflies are), we were greated by the extremely cheerful waiting staff. Our waiter was an enthusiastic man who somehow figured out it was my birthday (I didn't tell him, and I was at the table the whole time, so my mom couldn't have said anything).

I ordered the prime rib, medium rare, and it was to die for. The best prime rib I have ever had! After dinner, I was unexpectedly greeted by the entire wait staff as they all sang happy birthday while bringing out the cutest chocolate mousse bowl that looked like Mickey Mouse. It was definitely one of the best birthday dinners I have ever had.

I have heard that some people don't like the food, but just like any restaurant, taste is something that differs from person to person. You should go to BB at least once and experience it for youself. Oh yes, the prime rib is really good, that I know!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2-21-04
Reviewer: olddumbguy (olddumbguy@yahoo.com) San Bernardino, CA     September 25, 2004
I ate at the Blue Bayou in Febuary with my brother, his wife, my wife and 2 1/2 year old daughter. I had called and made reservations about 3 weeks before for 3pm. I was hoping I would get in between the busy lunch and dinner crowds and still enjoy the less expensive lunch menu. They were very busy and we had to wait about 30 minutes to be seated, even with the reservations. The 5 of us were seated at a table very near the entrance, which was dissapointing. It took about 10 minutes before anyone took our drink order, and then another 10 minutes to get our drinks. After that, the service seemed to be better, but that did put a downer on things. My wife, brother and sister in law all had the Monte Cristo and they all raved about it. I had the prime rib and it was extremely tasty. I would defenitly order it again. Overall, I was very satisfied and would eat there again, but the service should have been better.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/16/2003
Reviewer: jazzysmom Cottage Grove, OR     August 31, 2004
First I have to start by saying that the Blue Bayou has a lot of sentimental value to us. This is not a cheap meal by any means. We usually celebrate our anniversary here. The food is good. I love going into the dark, air conditioned restaurant with free refills at the hottest part of the day. You feel renewed and refreshed when you leave. Be sure to make a reservation in the morning so you don't waste anytime waiting in line.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   8/13/04
Reviewer: Dlandmom Southern California     August 13, 2004
It had been years since I ate at the Blue Bayou. However, my best friend from high school was in town with her two kids and wanted to meet me there for dinner. So, I brought my two kids, too.

The menu has changed. I don't remember what it was before, but the menu seemed completely different to me, and my friend told me that it seemed very different to her as well (she had eaten there last year). The Monte Cristo wasn't on the menu.

Since I had an 8 month old with me, it's difficult for me to eat a "real" meal, so I just had two appetizers...the calamari and the stuffed mushrooms. The calamari was okay. It seemed more like chewy onion rings. I like light and crispy breading on my calamari, and this was more like crunchy bread crumbs. The mushrooms were stuffed with andouille sausage meat, but it was dry and not very tasty.

My daughter had the Mickey Nuggets, which was actually pretty decent. It came with applesauce, mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, and a Mickey-shaped jello dessert.

The service was good. My water glass was always full. I received extra dipping sauce for my calamari almost immediately upon request. Unfortunately, the food wasn't nearly as good as I had expected. In fact, outside the restaurant, I heard a guest tell another guest not to bother with the Blue Bayou. She said it was $25 for a plate of tasteless food.
 
3 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page