Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 51 - 60 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   7/7/04
Reviewer: coloradomousefan Aurora, CO     July 21, 2004
I have always wanted to eat at the Blue Bayou and was determined to do so on this trip. We were seated near the water within 2 minutes of check in. Always request to be seated near the water, no matter how long the wait, otherwise you will miss the best part of eating at this restaurant. We had a fabulous view of the Pirates of the Carribbean ride, and the ambience was unsurpassed. With that said, the food. To be fair, we were very surprised at the total of our bill; happily surprised. For 2 adults and 2 kids (only 1 ordered a meal) and drinks, the tab was $37.75. OK, now the bad news, the food is mediocre at best. I ordered the blackened chicken caesar salad, my husband the monte cristo and my son the mini corn dogs. The salad was good and so was the sandwich, but I would much have preferred more choices on the menu and a different restaurant. Bottom line, I would go there for the ambience, order 1 entree for 2-3 people order drinks and no food.
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   5/17
Reviewer: billlund Provo, Utah     June 15, 2004
Originally we weren't going to go to the Blue Bayou, but my daughters wanted to. In particular, this is the favorite restaurant of the choral director of a choir in which my daughter sings. OK... we'll go. We walked up and got priority seating for mid-afternoon. We ended up coming back about 30 minutes before the seating time and they were able to seat us.

The point of this restaurant is the atmosphere, not the food. My daughters fully enjoyed being in the Pirates ride, but I don't think any of us really like the food. I had the crab cakes, which were mediocre. My wife had the stuffed pork chops, which were better. One dauther had the Monte Cristo Sandwich, which she enjoyed. (I find it too greasy.)

We paid about $120 for the five of us to have lunch, no desserts. The cost is outrageous, even by Disney standards. Frankly, you'll get better food at the Bengal BBQ, the Main Street Bakery, or many places in California Adventure.
 
5 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 8, 2004
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     June 14, 2004
I think we went into this place expecting too much. And for what we paid...I think we should have gotten more. The highlights were the kids menus that became pirate hats and simply eating near the Pirate's ride. Otherwise we paid nearly $100 for 2 adults and 2 kids to have a meal that rivaled most mall food courts in quality. My pasta was good, but not $30 good. I'm glad we tried it, but I don't think we'll ever go back. Too many better options at the hotels and in Downtown Disney.
 
2 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 29, 2004
Reviewer: Canuckmouse Vancouver, Camada     May 16, 2004
We had lunch at the Blue Bayou this visit - our second visit to the restaurant but first in many years. We called ahead for reservations and this was worthwhile - we had a 1:30 reservation on a Thursday and people just walking up were being told they could not be seated until after 3:30. I did see people who already had reservations changing their seating time to suit their revised plans, so calling ahead is definitely the way to go in terms of providing yourself with the maximum flexibility.

We asked for a water table and had to wait 20-25 minutes for same. Our son was not thrilled with this delay, but it was definitely worth the wait and he agreed afterwards it was the right decision.

We were given a table right at the edge of the water in probably the darkest part of the restaurant. We sat looking over the water at the moon, drifting clouds and fireflies and watching the boats silently gliding by one after the other (it's amazing how quiet everyone is on the boats) . It will remain one of the most memorable experiences of our time at Disneyland.

The ambience is so special that the food was almost secondary, but we were happy with our meals. The three of us shared a couple of blackened chicken caesar salads and soup and the food was quite good, although certainly not cheap. The portions were quite large and sharing is highly recommended both for the pocketbook and waistline. The desserts looked interesting (deep-fried cheesecake??!) but we were full after the main courses and declined to try any of the baked goods. The service was fine although the staff was quite busy. I agree that lunch is probably a better bet than dinner as the prices are considerably higher.

All in all, it's a very unique experience and well worth the money. The quiet and peaceful atmosphere by the water is relaxing and quite rejuvenating to prepare you for the afternoon sun and crowds.
 
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   13 Nov - 16 Nov 2003
Reviewer: CarlieB New Zealand     February 23, 2004
We had lunch at the Blue Bayou during this visit - my first time dining there. It was one of our party's birthday, so we made a booking first thing in the morning at the restaurant for around 1pm. After a short wait we were setaed over the far side of the restaurant, a bit back from the water, but it was still quite a nice table. The atmosphere inside is really nice and unique. Some of our party ordered starters, which included the clam chowder and stuffed mushrooms. Apparantly the chowder was okay, but nothing special, while the mushrooms were very good (everyone who tried them really liked them). I decided to skip the starters and have the Monte Cristo as my entree. However I really don't like pasta salad (which comes with it), so I asked our waiter if I could have the green salad with pecans instead, which was fine (they might have charged a little more for it, but I can't remember). The Monte Cristo was amazing. I really enjoyed it, but next time I would split it with someone - it is just so rich. I felt very full for the rest of the afternoon! The salad was lovely too - I love the pecans!

Phil had the Pork Loin and enjoyed it a lot. I tried a tiny bit, and it was very nice. 2 of our party shared the Calamari rings and thought they were good, and another person had the Monte Cristo also, but found it a bit much, after the chowder (I think I was okay because I didn't have a starter).

We all had soft drinks with our meals: cokes, pink lemonade (for one) and root beer (for me). We declined dessert as we were all pretty full by then. Our waiter was very nice and although they were busy, the service was pretty good.

I probably wouldn't go to the BB for dinner though - while the prices are okay for the lunch menu, they hike them up quite a bit for dinner, and for the same price you could have a nice meal at Napa Rose or Catal. I would definitely recommend the Blue Bayou for a nice leisurely lunch though - it's a very unique restaurant, and I certainly enjoyed it.
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/24/2003
Reviewer: christinek1234 Canada     January 31, 2004
We went here for Christmas Eve lunch. I had booked priority seating long before for a water side table, but as our reservation was 11:30 (1/2 hour after the restaurant opened), upon arrival they told us a 30 minute to 1 hr. wait would be necessary to sit water side. We decided just to eat since we have eaten here a few times before. The atmosphere is wonderful, but DARK, and it's not quite the same sitting in the middle of the restaurant as opposed to water side, however, nonetheless, it is truly beautiful sitting on the bayou with the ambient sounds, decor, etc...

However, when the menu's arrived I was a little surprised, there was no lunch menu offered this day, and the prices were definitely dinner priced...but more than anything, there was no Monte Cristo offered which is the reason we come here for lunch, it is my 13 yr. old son's favorite menu offering, and last time at time at Disneyland, we ate here 3 times so he could have it! (We always share it, as it's over whelmingly "rich")...so I admit I am a fan of it too! We mentioned to a passing waiter about the lack of it on the menu, and he said it was available, but just not being advertised...

My son had the monte, I had crab cakes and both came with either soup or salad, we both had clam chowder...I guess that's the reason for the price jack up. Monte Cristo was $17.99 that day, crab cakes were dinner priced $25, I think. Food was as good as the food is at the Blue Bayou.... Crab cakes were o.k., mostly comprised of veggie fillers it seemed rather than actual crab, and after the clam chowder which was tasty and rich, I was actually full anyway. I was not overly impressed with them. My son only managed to eat 1/2 his monte cristo too, as he had the soup beforehand too. Portion sizes are not an issue here at least! I had coffee and son had a lemonade, bill was about $60 including tip. Waitress dropped our bill without asking if we were done, and we were out in less than an hour after being seated....busy, busy, busy it was in there that day...

Having been there at least 4 times before on different trips, though the food has always been just ok (besides the monte), I think this was just a frantic day for service...as service has always been very good and attentive on previous visits.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 5, 2003
Reviewer: Pirate Girl California     January 14, 2004
This was my first trip where I was able to eat at Blue Bayou and was thrilled when it exceeded my high expectations. Having read about the heavenly Monte Cristo sandwich on Mousepad boards for some time I was excited to finally get to try it.

There was absolutly nothing about this trip to BB that was negative. The food was delicious, the service wonderful and the experiance untopped.

Surprisingly, despite BB's high prices, by splitting dishes my party actually spent less money on that meal than we had anywhere else in the park. Despite that fact that we were splitting orders, and were a rather large group of teenagers, the waiters were courtious, helpful and entertaining--they were great examples of the perfect Disney employee. Not only did our food arrive promptly, but the waitors were especially helpful, rearrangeing tables to accomidate our large group and taking group photo's for us!

As this was part of our senior trip, it was wonderful to have an experiance so memorable.

And the Monte Cristo sandwich IS as good as everyone says. ;)
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/15/2003
Reviewer: whiles Oakland, CA     January 08, 2004
Well now we have reached the Pinnacle (That is of course unless I can score an invite to Club 33!)

I would rate this a five planet experience if the prices were a bit more reasonable or the quality of food was elevated to the next level like what is served at Napa Rose.

* Don't Foget that as of 1/1/04 Blue Bayou is no longer accepting walkups. Remember to reserve you table via resort priority seating at 1-714-781-3463 *
Blue Bayou is the pentultimate theme park resturant at Disneyland (Although to be fair, I have not tried the Italian resturant and DCA yet and I am not counting Napa Rose at Grand California because it is not "inside the park")

With that being said, let me also say that StoryTellers cafe has better food than Blue Bayou but again not inside the park. So the main detraction for most people is cost. Blue Bayou is expensive, you should expect going in the meal will cost 35.00 per person with dessert and drink. Kids meals are the same as any other park resturant but they cost two dollars more at Blue Bayou.

The service at Blue Bayou consitently outsihines any other resort table service resturant except for maybe the best wait staff Carnation Cafe has to offer. But each time I eat at Blue Bayou we have fast, friendly, attentive service.

The food is somewhat underwhelming for the price you pay (Except for those screaming cheesy scallopped potatoes, WOW! they are good.)

What you are really paying for is the ambieance, the chance to eat in a truly unique setting, and let me tell you, eating inside a theme park attraction is the coolest!!!

I especially love sitting on the far right hand side of the resturant nearest to kitchen and right at the water. This is the part of the ride where the old man is sitting out on his porch just before the first drop of the ride. The sound of crickets, banjo plucking and the rush of water can all be heard. Simply a magical place for a meal. Really though I have eaten at Blue Bayou numerous times, kids and adults alike will love the atmosphere inside the resturant. Even if you can't arrange for a water table or don't have the time to wait for one any spot in the resturant feels "Special".

The food is a little pricey but the service and ambience help smooth the hurt on the wallet. Truly a first class place to eat.

Also don't forget to check out the finest restrooms in Disneyland (That is except for Club 33's).

From Appetizer to Dessert the is no place more expensive to eat inside the Theme park and Blue Bayou is one of those few "Can't miss" dining experiences that simply must be experienced to be fully appreciated.

I find this resturant to be my favorite "Dining Experience" it is an Attraction in it's own right, even though it does not come with the price of park admission. Because of the cost, I believe, Disney really strives to keep there best wait staff working this resturant. The price might hurt the wallet a little but the service in my opinion has always been impeccable.

Thanks,
whiles
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 21
Reviewer: Buttercup Spokane, Washington     December 29, 2003
We went to the BB for lunch on Sunday 12-21-03. We had priority seating for 11:30 and got seated right away, even though our party decreased from 11 to 8 at the last minute. We could have had a table along the water, with a 20 - 30 minute wait, but the kids were hungry and didn't really care where we sat.

As it was, we were very close to the water and could see the boats go by. We have always wanted to eat there, but never done it, so this was a real treat for the whole family. We all, adults and kids, just loved the atmosphere. Grandpa almost had the kids convinced that they were really outside. If it had been dark out when they came in, they probably would have believed it.

All the food was great. We ordered a variety of things, the pork loin, chicken florentine, jambalaya, portobello mushrooms, gumbo, clam chowder, mousekemeals. It was all delicious. I had read some less than complimentary reviews about the food, so I was a little worried about my family of picky eaters, including 1 vegetarian and 1 medically restricted diet. But everyone loved the food. It was prepared well and served immediately. Everything was the right temperature, crispness, etc... We shared two deserts, a Jack Skellington Chocolate Mousse Coffin (we love Jack!!) and a baked apple. Both were wonderful.

Our server was fantastic, as a former waitress I always pay attention to the restaurant staff. I will now eat here every time I'm at DL. We spent less on lunch at BB than we did on breakfast at Goofy's and the food, ambience, etc., is all better at BB.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/17/2003
Reviewer: edtsch Austin, TX     October 25, 2003
My friend and I had dinner at the Blue Bayou and really enjoyed it. She ordered the beef tenderloin medallions, and I had the crab cakes. Whereas the portions were fine, I feel that the quality of the food did not quite justify the prices for the dinner menu. The crab cakes didn't seem that fresh, and I prefer my vegetables a little less cooked. On the other hand, the beef medallions were tasty and tender, in spite of the fact that my friend ordered them medium-well! Overall, it was good, and of course the atmosphere is so much fun! I looked up to see how obvious the ceiling was and noticed a shooting star that goes by every 10 seconds or so.

I was in for a surprise when I asked for the wine list; I had forgotten that no alcohol is served within DL park! That's unfortunate, in my opinion. I can understand not having beer or wine readily available throughout the park, but at this nice sit-down meal, a glass of wine would have been just the thing, rather than water or a soft drink.

Our service was excellent.

I will definitely go to the BB again, but probably for lunch next time. After all, it's always evening inside!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  << 1 ... 6 7 8
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page