Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 61 - 70 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 17, 2003
Reviewer: el gee Tulare, ca     October 20, 2003
When I was notified that I had won a trip for 4 to Disneyland, one of my first thoughts was "this time, we're eating at the Blue Bayou". We had never tried it before, so it was a must on this trip. I had made reservations in advance and we arrived about 20 minutes ahead of time. I checked in, and asked for a table by the water. We waited for about 15 minutes, and got our requested table. I had heard all about the famous Monte Cristo, so my hubby and oldest daughter gave it a try. I had the blackened chicken salad, my youngest daughter had the stuffed mushrooms. The food came very quickly, was nice and hot and looked wonderful. After one bite, they were singing the praises of Cristo! My salad was great and more than enough for lunch. My daughter loved the mushrooms and bed of peppers they came on. And the atmosphere? Hands down the best in the park. My girls said it was cool that the people gliding by on the way to the ride wished they could be us! The wait staff were kind and helpful, and I was pleasently surprised that our entire lunch was around $50.00. Eating at the Blue Bayou was one of the best things about our visit, and we will come back again!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   August 2002
Reviewer: disneyprincess81 Pennsylvania     September 26, 2003
Blue Bayou is pricey and what you pay for is the atmosphere because the food is pretty dissapointing. I had the crab cakes and they were not awful, but definitely not worth the price. I went with my mother, sister, and brother, the total bill came to around one hunderd dollars. We had always wanted to eat at the Blue Bayou and now that we have that experience out of our system, we won't be going there again. The service was wonderful, the ambiance was breathtaking, but the food is awful. If you want to pay a pretty penny for great service and a great atmosphere, then Blue Bayou is for you, but if you want excellent, delicious food, skip it.
 
2 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/21/03
Reviewer: LovinSMickey Southern California     August 22, 2003
I have eaten at the Bayou many times and have always enjoyed the experience. However my views may be a little biased because I am a cast member. I would just like to give potential Bayou guests a few pointers.
1. Make Priority Seating reservations. The Bayou reserves half of it's tables to priority seating. Normally guests with reservations will be seated within ten minutes of their arrival to the restaurant. If you do not have a reservation you can use the stand by line. The remaining half of the tables are used for these guests. The line length is usually about a half hour long. It frequently reaches 1hour to 1.25 hours during peak dinner and luch times. (i.e. 2pm and 6-8pm) All guests who stand in line will be seated, it's just a matter of how long you are willing to wait. I recommend the Dine Line (714-781-Dine) with this hot line you can make reservations for any restaurant in the resort up to 60 days in advance. There is no "list" for the stand by line, all members of the party must be preasent. Incompleet parties (reservation or stand by) will not be seated, and the table will be given to another party. Your party can be seated incompleet only if you can order for the missing member.
2. If you would like to sit by the water request it. Make sure you speak to a cast member and specify. The cast member will check with the lead (Disney speak for supervisor) to see how many parties are currently waiting for water and give you an estimate on the additional wait time. This is especially important for parties larger than 4 people. There are only two tables on the water that can accommodate larger parties.
3. Talk to your server. The Bayou cast is devoted to giving you the best experience possible. If you are unhappy for any reason please let a cast member know. Some of the entrees are spicy, the Medallions of Beef Tenderloin, and the house dressing especially. If you don't like your meal please say something, they will happily bring you a new meal.

Other Helpful Bayou Info.
- There are bathrooms in the restaurant, and a baby changing station in the handicap stall.
-There is a wheel chair entrance. Specify to the reservationist if you need assistance.
-Birthday Buckets are available for $20. They have the Sorcerer Mickey, Buzz Lightyear, and Princess buckets. The Bayou cast will sing the Bayou Birthday song while presenting these to your table, or you may choose a free chocolate moose with the song if you don't wish to purchase a bucket.
-Strollers are allowed into the restaurant only if the child will remain in it during the meal. Empty Strollers can not be left in the isles because that violates a fire code. The stroller will be placed at the table and replace a chair.
-If you use a motorized skooter I recomend leaving it in the stroller parking area just to the left of the entrence. The isles in the Bayou are narrow and you will hit many people's chair backs trying to get to your table. Just let the reservationist know that you need a table close to the entrance if you have difficulty walking. There are 4 steps to get into the resturant, or you can use the handicap entrence.
-Don't forget to look for the shooting star. Its a small circle of light that streems across the sky above the water about every 10 seconds.

I hope you have found these tips helpful and enjoy your Bayou experience. Maybe I will see you there.
 
55 out of 55 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Lifetime
Reviewer: UncleGDogWord Fresno, CA     August 17, 2003
From the time I was a boy and there was a boat that did go anywhere in Fantasyland my family would always top our trip to four day trip to the Magic Kingdom with lunch or dinner at the Blue Bayou.

The Count of Monte Cristo sandwich was so unique. My brother and I would always get that and I still do today. We would dip in our Raspberry Preserves and just be wired cause this was such a special place.

Two years ago my wife and I were having lunch there and the sandwich tasted like it was just pack with the grease from frying. My server asked me if the sandwich was not to my liking and I explained that was just saturated with grease. She called the manager over and he started cutting into my sandwich and was upset at the amount of grease. Next thing I know I have the cook inspecting it saying how sorry he was and the manager said they were going to have to inspect the fryer, and asked if I would like another meal. I told them that what I ate of the sandwich had filled me up. They not only Comped are lunch, but gave us meal vouchers for the park and said they could give us a waterside table for that evening.

Class act right there! I always make a point of going there at least once during my stay at the Magic Kingdom.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   6/16/03
Reviewer: prudence Lake Forest Park, WA     July 07, 2003
This particular meal was for lunch, but I've eaten here for dinner as well. We tried lunch this time because I could better justify the cheaper prices. I'm still not that impressed. I really like the setting, honest I do. And it's so popular and well-presented that I WANT to like it -- but I don't. It's not horrible, but I don't think it's got anything going for it except table service and the atmosphere -- which is what bumped this up from 2 to 3 planets for me. Sitting at a water table (no wait!) was neat, too.

To be honest, I don't like the food. Both times I haven't much likes what I ordered. This past time I ordered the legendary Monte Cristo sandwich. I love Monte Cristo sandwiches. And I'm very picky. And I hated this one. I really couldn't finish it. I think it might have been the batter and the deep fry job. Also, the calimari appetizer appeared to be the same chopped and re-formed rings used at the hospital cafeteria where I work. I wasn't expecting miracles, but I figured they'd come close to at least Olive Garden quality. Another thing that bugs me is the portions. These portions are way too big. And Disneyland isn't the sort of place where a to go box (although available) is really useful. (Going to carry it around the rest of the day? Wave it to the camera on Splash Mountain? Have it delivered back to your hotel room by 7am the next morning?)

Unless hubby really wants to try it again, I think we're sticking with Carnation Cafe from now on.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   06/22/03
Reviewer: sleepyjeff Parkrose Oregon     June 26, 2003
Had lunch here and with our priority seating we were seated immediately. The tables are a little close together making a trip to the bathroom an adventure. The waiter was very personable and timed everything just right. My daughter had a kids pasta dish that she did not like. My son had a kids chicken finger meal that he ate but did not rave about. I had the Mardi Gras Salad with the house red pepper dressing..good albeit a bit tart. I also had a cup of clam chowder which was yummy. My wife had the pork loin jerk and it was very very good. In fact she left the restuarant hungry because her family kept eating off her plate. The theming of this place is without a doubt the best at Disneyland and with the possible exception of the Mexican Epcot Restuarant the best of any Disney eating establishment. We will all eat here again.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/22/02
Reviewer: uniontrack (uniontrack@hotmail.com) Tooele, UT     January 13, 2003
I've been to the BB at least 20 times and my wife has been there a few times herself, so this is nothing new to us. To me, a trip to DL without a meal at the BB is like going to Paris and not seeing the Eiffel Tower. I always go for lunch since I'm kind of a cheapskate at times. We used the 781-DINE phone number for PS and got a late lunch like we like for 3pm. Just like another poster, I highly recommend using this phone number to book your BB reservation before you even leave your house!!!!!! We got there at 2:50, the hostess had our names in the reservation book and we were seated at 3:10. We got a water table without requesting one, however it was next to a bussing station, so it was a little noisier than I'm used to. My wife had the prime rib, which she loved and I had the Gumbo followed by the Blackened Chicken Caesar salad. Both of which were excellent. The total was high for a cheapskate like me, $46 including tip, but Ya gotta do it........Service: prompt, professional and with a smile. The servers at the BB are always top notch., Price: Pricey, but worth it in the end. Cheaper at lunch, of course., Food: excellent, as usual, Atmosphere: One of the best places to have meal. I felt sorry for the folks on the Pirates of the Carribean ride since it broke down during our lunch. They had to sit there and watch us have fun and enjoy a meal. However, everyone cheered when the ride started up again......
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/30/02
Reviewer: JLKirscher Chico, CA     January 08, 2003
After hearing of the BB for years, I finally made reservations for my party prior to our trip. I was able to make the reservations about 30 days in advance when calling Disney Dining. When we got to the restaurant, and let them know that we had reservations, we waited maybe 2 minutes before our table was ready. Upon being seated, with all 5 in our party facing the water I might add, we immediately were given water and bread. Our waiter was quick and extremely friendly. The prices were slightly higher than I originally anticipated, but were well worth it. We ordered a calamari appitizer, which was brought to our table within 5 minutes, and perfectly spaced before our salad was brought to us. The salad was very good, we especially liked the carmelized walnuts (maybe they were pecans....). Our waiter brought our entrees to us, as it seemed, just as we were done with our salads. The main course was not only visually appealing but excellent. Our party had the pork medallions, chicken dish and the crab cakes, so we had a good variety of the menu. The crab cakes were excellent, and it seems I am very picky about my crab cakes. Our drinks were refilled without asking.
And when we paid for our meal with the food vouchers that we had (by booking our trip through the Disneyland website, for a pretty good deal in my opinion), our waiter was very gracious about adding them all up. We were so impressed with the food and service that our waiter recieved about a 30% tip. I was very please with the overall experience, and have been recommending the BB since we got back. The wait staff was everything that I would expect from Disney.
Next trip it's for lunch and the Monte Cristo sandwich that I have heard so much about !! :)
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Sunday December 8th, 2002
Reviewer: tlovesdis Antioch, CA     January 02, 2003
Normally I would give the BB 5 stars and I would rave about it, but this time I just cannot. I was so disappointed in the service this time. It was terrible.

We got seated at a water table right away. It was so nice! I have been to the BB many, many times over the years and this was the worst and slowest service ever. No one came over to say hello, take our drink orders, etcfor like 15 or 20 minutes. People at other tables were already eating! Finally someone comes over and this is what he says, I guess I am taking orders until someone gets here. He didnt say, hi what can I get you, nothing. We ordered and then waited and waited and waited. We finally got water after about another 15 minutes. Our meals came finally and they were good. We had two jambalayas and two pork loin. The food was top notch as usual. Well then my mom whispers something to the waiter (now a different person who never said two words to us) and he leaves and comes back to tell her that they do not have any available. I am like, what are you talking about? Apparently she had ordered a birthday bucket for me over a month ago and they did not have any to give out. She was mad! He asked if we wanted to come back another day and pick one up. We just kind of laughed at him. We were all very unhappy with our whole experience at BB. I just couldnt believe how bad it was!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 13, 2002
Reviewer: Wishful (wishteller@yahoo.com) Inglewood, California     October 09, 2002
This was our first visit to the Blue Bayou. A group of five of us showed up for dinner on this Tuesday night without a reservation. I think we only had to wait about 20 minutes. I'll skip the atmosphere descriptions - we all know how nice it is - and go to the food.

We ordered the salmon special (in a special breaded crust and pan-fried? I don't really remember, but it wasn't the grilled salmon on the menu), crab cakes entree, and a vegetarian pasta w/steamed vegetables.

I'm sure 50% of the dining experience here is the atmosphere, but the food did not make up the other 50%. One of us actually said the food at Sizzler is better, and I think it was true. The salmon was very dry and the bed of rice that accompanied it was average. The crab cakes appeared to be of the generic grocery freezer variety and the lobster cream sauce was more like lukewarm cream of chicken soup. The vegetarian pasta was the only item that came as expected.

One thing to note is that the house dressing is very *spicy*! Out of the five of us, only two of us managed to finish our salads and our lips were burning. I was one of those people and I cook with lots of peppers (Habanero included!). If you're not getting ranch or French dressing, ask for the dressing on the side. We didn't ask the server for replacements, but I'm sure if we did she would have gotten us something else.

Other than the setting, the other thing that made the meal nice was the server, I dont know her name, but she was an excellent server she explained our menu questions, kept our glasses full, checked in on us -and did something that made me rank her a 10: I used a discount card that I didnt know much about, and it turns out I wasn't supposed to use it with a group. She asked her supervisor if it was ok to use (before she said anything to me) and gave the 25% off to our entire party! She nicely explained how I was supposed to use it in the future and presented us with the already totaled (with discount) bill.

Its the things that the staff...errr cast members do that make your day. The food wasnt spectacular, but the service made all the difference! We'll go back again, at lunch when it's less expensive, and with a reservation!
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  << 1 ... 6 7 8
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page