Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Blue Bayou
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Pirates Restaurant
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 77 ( Displaying Reviews: 71 - 77 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   09-02-02
Reviewer: califtink Gold Country, Ca.     September 12, 2002
Can't help myself, I love the Blue Bayou.I eat one meal there every time I visit, unless it's closed! We arrived a little earlier than our Priority Seating time of 6:40 pm ,and were seated soon after. We had a very sweet waitress, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Entrees ordered were prime rib, beef tenderloin , and a special seafood platter. Surely there are less expensive places to eat, but we love the atmosphere. Oh- the clam chowder was great and my sisters liked their salad. We didn't have room for dessert,and I usually do. Must have been the rolls and the chowder! For my meal I paid approx $34, including my share of the tip. Love it!!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 25,2002
Reviewer: kranders Santa Maria, CA     August 26, 2002
Made reservations for 1:30 and showed up at 1:10 requesting a table by the water. They say that if you request a water table you have to wait longer. We were seated before out 1:30 reservation time.
This restaurant is great and a must for our family on any extended trip to DLR. The atmosphere can't be beat anywhere, the food is great, the service is great. I ordered the prime rib(finally got my craving satisfied) and it was tender and cooked like I wanted it. My wife and daughter shared the Monte Cristo like they always do.
I can't say much else except to recommend that you make a reservation(a must) and experience dining the Disney way!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/19/02
Reviewer: pompom616 Las Vegas, NV     August 21, 2002
Had lunch at the Blue Bayou on Monday, 8/19. We enjoyed the meal. I had the Monte Crisco and my husband had the Pork Tenderloin. Atmosphere was wonderful except there did not seem to be that many fireflies. I counted only five. Service was wonderful. Food was out fast and hot. I made reservations 30-days before and requested H20 seating. We showed up a little early and still needed to request H20 seating. They said it was a longer wait for these seats, we were willing to wait. We were actually seated before the time of our reservation. I have read how expensive the restaurant was so I was surprised when the bill came. It cost us only $35.00 for lunch. I feel this is pretty reasonable for the quality of food and the setting you are in. This restaurant will now be a tradition for my husband and I to eat at everytime we go to Disneyland.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/02
Reviewer: riksanders69 Missoula, MT.     August 20, 2002
Have eaten here on many occasions and the food has always been really excellent, add to that the ambience of "mood" lighting by a bayou and it's almost an attraction of it's own. Save your nickels and dimes because the dinner menu is $$$$, you'll do better trying at lunch. I recommend u follow many of Bernard's tips below...they're right on.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 7, 2002
Reviewer: bernard1825 (duque@nwi.net) Cashmere, WA     August 14, 2002

The Blue Bayou is a must for the total original Walt Disney inspired dining exerience. We made reservations through Disney's new phone reservation service. I HIGHLY recommend this! In times past we had to wait in line or run to the Blue Bayou for a reservation first thing when the park opened.

WHAT WE HAD:
Monte Cristo Sandwich - $11.99
Blackened Chicken Ceasar - $ 11.99

RATING: Very good service and food - large portions - I give it an overall 8.5 on a scale from 1-10, 10 being highest.

(Check this website for detailed menu options and costs!Mouseplanet has a great resource for all the restuarants at the resort and it really helped me when planning our trip.)

TIPS:

#1: As I said before, call ahead and make reservations when you are sitting comfortably at home or work planning your trip.

#2: If you want a table by the water - request it - if you don't make this special request, you most likely will not get it as most other people want it by the water also.

#3: Be on time. If you have reservations, they will seat you at the time you requested. We were there early and were seated precisely at 2:00 - the time of our reservation.

#4: The famous Monte Cristo Sandwich is good, but rich and full of fat (deep fried ham and cheese in battered white bread). If you just want to satisfy that curiosity of what it's like, plan on sharing one...it's big enough for two.

#5: Go there for lunch if you want to get just about the same thing (menu options and portion size) as dinner, but with the added benefit of less cost.

#6: All their dishes are large and they serve rolls as soon as you are seated, so plan on sharing a plate if you don't want to get too full or carry around left-overs.

#7: If you want to order from the kid's menu (very limited menu by the way), just ask your server. I was able to get the children's spaghetti for my 15 year old son because he didn't want the adult menu options. It cost less and all were happy - plus the waiter go an extra tip for his willingness to work with us!

#8: If traveling with children, see if they can count the fireflies!

#9: Most of all have lots of fun at this place - an all time Disney must-do favorite!

Yo Ho Yo Ho - the Blue Bayou's for me!
 
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/01
Reviewer: wendymom Portland, Oregon     July 07, 2002
Went here for the first time with a group of 2 adults, a 16 and a 6 yr old. We had lunch around 1130am. We waited a long time (20minutes) standing on the stairs waiting to go in but were paid off by having a water side table. It was dark and difficult to read the menu but my son got a kick out of being "inside with the pirates". The childrens menu had only two items, mini corn dogs and burger and fries. It was exactly the same thing he got at the Tomorrowland counter for $1 more. The adult fare was much better luckily. My friend had the Potabello mushroom entree. It was huge! We all enjoyed having a sample. I had the prime rib since lunch is a cheaper way to have this delicious treat. It was difficult to determine if it was prepared to my specifications because it was too dark. My friends son had a spicy cajun shrimp entree that was tasy if a bit spicy. We did not feel rushed through our meal even though I know the next group was waiting for us.
If price is an issue for you, try to go for lunch. Lots of the same food for less money. We had a great time.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 16th 2002
Reviewer: tiggerpoo Oregon     June 06, 2002
After alot of great reviews of this resurant we decided to eat there for the first time. 2 adults. We both ordered the crab cakes in lobster sauce for lunch. They start you off with sourdough bread rolls. That's where it got scary for me. They were so tough that I chipped my front tooth! Scared me to death. But it was just a very small chip. They really need to work on the rolls! So on to the main course. It was just o.k. What some people don't realize is that these little cakes are spicey hot! And I like spicey food but this was a little much. The sauce was really good. They also serve you steamed brocolli and califlower and cajun rice. It is extremely dark in the resturant but it makes for a nice theme with the pirate boats slowly passing by,and the fireflys and cricket noises. The only thing I didn't really care for was the people in the boats really stare at you, but you just wave at them:) They are on the high end for food. Our bill was about $55.00 not including the tip. The waitress was very nice. We went on a Thursday at 1:40 and it was busy. All in all I probably won't go again but had to do it at least once.
 
16 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  << 1 ... 6 7 8
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page