Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Best Western Park Place Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1544 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 2005
Reviewer: debrobal Sacramento, CA     June 04, 2005
We stayed in a mini-suite with 2 kids, ages 1 and 3. The room was very spacious, not really a suite but a very large room separated by a low wall. There was a pull out couch, but the kids both slept in Pack-n-Plays. No trouble finding enough room to set up 2 Pack-n-plays. There was a fridge and microwave, both came in very handy. The room was very clean and had a slightly tropical decor which I found cheerful, but my husband thought the room was a bit dark and depressing. There was a sink and vanity outside of the bathroom which had a toilet and bathtub. We never had trouble parking and there was an elevator to the 2nd floor where our room was. We were facing a parking lot and it could be pretty noisy at times, especially in the AM.

Breakfast was kind of disappointing. There was a choice of a continental breakfast served on the 2nd floor of the adjacent restaurant, Capt. Kidds or pancakes at Capt. Kidds. The continental breakfast consisted of little danishes, toast (toasted by an employee and put into little warming trays so that it was always cold and hard by the time it was eaten), untoasted bagels, 2 kinds of cereal, milk, juice coffee (I thought coffee was o.k., hubby didn't care for it). Filling enough, but not really very good. The baby wouldn't eat much of anything, she kept trying to eat the toast but it was too hard. Pancake breakfast was better and included either regular, strawberry, or mouse pancakes but drinks were not included and service could be very slow. Also, how many times can you eat pancakes for breakfast?

The walk to the park couldn't be better. Just a few quick minutes and you are at the gate. There is also a small pool at the hotel. It looked very pleasant, but we never used it.

Overall, o.k. experience. Might stay here again, or we might try another hotel along Harbor Blvd.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 23-28, 2005
Reviewer: kuusimo Gilbert, Arizona     May 14, 2005
After reading many reviews, and finding the best deal, we decided on this hotel because of its location to Disneyland. I found the best deal through their website. It was $99.00 per night for their mini-suite. It was cheaper than Best Western's 1-800 number. I did however need to make several changes to our reservations. I called the number provided and spoke to many that were helpful.
When we arrived, I learned that someone had canceled our reservation. They did have a mini-suite available though. It did not have internet access though. (That was my husbands number one requirement since he needed to check email.) Internet access was available in the lobby though, so we took the room. It was a nice room for 3 adults and two toddlers. Two queen beds, a pull out sofa, room still for a port a crib. The fridge was dorm room size (there was a popsicle left in the freezer though that had dripped over everything) and the microwave was used once for popcorn. The microwave only popped half the bag of popcorn and burned it.
The breakfast was ok. They had orange/apple juice, coffee, two kinds of cereal, milk (in pitchers), fruit, muffins, and pastries. We did do the pancake breakfast at Captain Kidds one morning. They let my boys get the Mickey Mouse pancakes. I have never seen so much sugar on a pancake in my life! (Whipped cream, chocolate chips, candy sprinkles and more.) The strawberry pancakes were ok. They only gave you two strawberries though with this sauce. The prices of Captain Kidds for other meals are about $10.00. For that price, we ate at DL or went down to Mimi's Cafe where you can get much better food.
The internet in the lobby was difficult to access - literally. They had a wheelchair that was charging right in front of the data ports. It was there for two days straight. My husband could not understand why they needed to put it there. Also the internet was not working one day. He called later that night asking if the internet was working and the person at the front desk stated that he could not tell him if it was working or not. When my husband continued to ask him why, the front desk clerk just responded that, "It decideds when it wants to work. It isn't my job to know if it is working or not."
Another problem we had was with housekeeping. They had us on the third floor, and do not have a service elevator. Between 7:30 and 8:30 you have a constant stream of carts trying to use the one elevator. They always let us go first, but trying to go around them was the harder part. Also we put our sign on the door to have them clean the room early and they did not clean it at all that day.
We did laundry there. $1.00 to wash and $0.75 to dry. I brought my own soap so I would not need to buy it there. (Target now sells Tide degerent in their trial size area. I think it has 3-4 loads in it.)
The pool was packed and it was a little to cold to let my boys swim. (We are from Arizona where anything below 80 degrees is considered cold).
Parking was tight. We have a minivan, and there were a lot of SUV's there.
One more thing. After we got home, I wrote the hotel a note letting them know all of these things, and we just got a note back stating that they appreciated our comments and hoped that they would not discourage us from staying there again. You could tell it was a form letter that they send to everyone.
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 10-14, 2005
Reviewer: Bill Catherall     March 17, 2005
Check-in was quick and easy with the helpful staff. The rooms were very clean and in good order. Everything was working well. The room includes a microwave and refrigerator, which was really nice for our kids. We had a suite (double queen, sofa sleeper) that provided plenty of room for all 5 of us.

We had a couple incidents of the toilet getting clogged, but the staff was always quick to respond in getting it fixed, so no complaints there.

The pillows were just the way I like them, firm and thick. This helped a little to make up for the less than stellar beds, which were hard and really bouncy. Not really to my liking. I don't really expect much from a hotel bed, and maybe I've become really spoiled with my bed, (or it could have been the child kicking me all night) but I had the worst nights sleep.

The breakfasts are surved at the restaurant next-door, Captain Kidd's. The continental breakfasts consist of toast, bagels, cold cereal, fruit, and juice. Very weak. The pancake breakfast is much better, but you have to pay for drinks. The food they serve is good though, and having it right next door and open until 1am was nice for getting a little something to eat before bed.

The pool was clean and very well kept. The hot tub was very nice and the pool wasn't too cold, so the kids actually had fun swimming instead of shivering.

Overall, great value for the price. And the location is the closest you can get to the main gate.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/25/2005 - 2/27/2005
Reviewer: mgg1234 Clovis, California     March 08, 2005
Great accomodations, my new favorite Disneyland hotel! We had a king room on the ground floor, near the front, facing the restaurant. Unlike many of the other reviews here, we didn't find the room noisy at all. It was very quiet, very restful and a great room. The room, nicely decorated, had a king bed with a couch on the other side of a half wall. Bathroom amenities were plentiful. The rather larger fridge and microwave came in very handy for us - we like to pack sandwiches and snacks to take to the park.

You can't beat the proximity - just across the street! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but they allowed us to park there, check in and come back later for our key, saving parking fees. We were also able to park there until 4 p.m. the day we checked out. We had tickets for early admission on one day and were able to leave the hotel at 6:45 to be in line and in the park by 7 a.m.
We were up and out early each morning so we didn't use the free breakfast, although we saw the restaurant and it always seemed busy. We never used the pool, and it seemed a bit clausterphobic crowded between the walls.
The only negative would be the front desk crew. Although they were efficient, they seemed rather bored and unfriendly.
I will ALWAYS stay here when I go to Disneyland!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Jan.25, 2005 to Feb. 1, 2005
Reviewer: timthebaker Oliver, BC Canada     February 15, 2005
Good:

Proximity to Disneyland/California Adventure.
Proximity to Airport Shuttle.
Kids stay and eat free.
Pool and Hot tub were a plus
Restaurant on premises. (saves eating in Disney all day)
Free continental breakfast was good to get day started.

I'd like to say the price was good, but in comparison to the Best Western that I stayed in prior to flying to LA, it was high. Prices at both establishments was the same. Staff at the Richmond Inn delivered our luggage to our room without asking, staff at Park Place Inn gave us our keys and coupons for meals, leaving baggage in our own hands.

Less than good:

Front desk staff seemed less than professional.
3 calls and 3 days were required to get an extral blanket delivered to our room.
Arbitrary phone call to a fellow travellers room asking about noisy children @ 11 pm. There were no kids travelling with that person. A busload of Teens had however checked in at around 8 pm that evening.
On site restaurant was pricey. Quality of food not that great.

Conclusion:

Based on my experience, if you want to be close to Disney, stay here. If you want to be close to Disney and have good service you may want to try another establishment.
 
2 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 2004
Reviewer: The old man San Diego, CA     February 07, 2005
I'm finally getting around to doing a couple of hotel reviews from the past. This is actually a pretty crummy hotel. On the AAA rating system I would give it 2 1/2 stars. BUT--it was perfect for our purpose--a place for my wife and five year old daughter to stay at that was close to the entrance and RELATIVELY inexpensive.

Check in: slow, couldn't get the type of room we wanted, but finally OK. Tight, but free parking; never moved the car in the two days we were there.

The room: slightly depressing, dark, small, in need of refurbishing. Things that needed fixing--lights, plumbing, etc. But, did have a fridge, microwave & coffee maker.

Pool: very small, but only used once.

Continential breakfast: across alley on second floor of a bad restaurant. Adequate, but free and gets you started without spending a lot of money in DL or DDD.

The distance: Great! The closest you can be to the DL's entrance. Much closer than DLH and PP and I believe even closer than GCH. We spend minimal time in the room, but wanted to take a midday rest break and this hotel is perfect for that. The year before we stayed at the DLH which was almost 60% more money with twice the walk.

Conclusion: This is our hotel.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5 times in 2004 for a total of 27 nights
Reviewer: TinkR Brentwood, CA in the San Francisco Bay Area     December 29, 2004
We really love this hotel and have been staying here for close to four years now. We have three kids (9,7,4) and we get two queens with the pull out couch. This room has a fridge and microwave. There is a long counter w/ mirror and a seperate bath/shower/commode room. Love having the couch for the kids to play at or read at, everyone has their own space. When my folks come we get adjoining rooms. Hotel is just across the street from the parks (right at the only cross walk from the park). No climbing onto a shuttle (which can be difficult with strollers and sleeping kids). It is actually closer to walk, from the main gates, than any of the disney hotels. Rooms are very clean and the staff is awesome! Continental breakfast next door does the job and is convenient. Located near a variety of resturants (McDonald's, Mimi's, Millie's, Denny's, Ihop, Tony Roma's) and several mini marts. The kids love the swimming pool and we all love the Spa. We've stayed so often that we are recognized by many of the staff and have become good friends with a few. In fact when we've gone down for my Birthday I have been sent flowers and cake. We just received a beautiful gourmet gift basket from one of the ladies at the front desk for Christmas. Something I've learned, from my many stays, the north side (nearer McDonald's) is quieter because you don't hear the trucks delivering to the resturant next door. 3rd floor is quieter because noone is stomping over you and the back of hotel is quieter because less people walk past your room. This could become important if you have small kids that need to nap or go to bed early. The price for this hotel (for the 2 queen/couch room) is well within our budget ($100 avg.) and we've been able to get some great manager's specials the Best Western Club.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/8/04 to 2/11/04
Reviewer: GeminiAngel Las Vegas     November 09, 2004
standard room. was a wonderful room, #362. huge fridge, nice clean microwave. comfy beds, and tropical decor (nothing over the top, but it brightens the room up). we faced a very quiet alleyway, which had no traffic being foot or car traffic at all. At night when we got back, hubby would prop the door open while we watched tv. what can't be beat: Airport bus station in front of the hotel, Right across the street from the main gate ( just gotta cross Harbor blvd.) lots of dining options near-by so you are not a slave to DLR dining prices all the time.
We will return.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9-10 to 9-11
Reviewer: stu7692 Napa,Ca.     October 30, 2004
This place is perfect for our needs! We've been here 10 times now and are going back on Thanksgiving for 4 more days. We've never stayed at a "resort" hotel because we don't use the hotel for that. We just like a clean comfortable place to sleep that is close to the action and inexpensive. Besides, when you can park your car, register at the desk, get your room, unpack and walk onto Disneyland's property in 30 minutes, that says a lot.
Believe it or not, we won a contest with a San Francisco newspaper and received a $1000.00 travel certifcate to Disneyland! We went to our agent and found out that we could get 3 nights at the Disneyland Hotel and a pair of 4-day Disneyland Tickets (1999 no DCA) and it would have just cost us $38 more. We then checked out Park Place Inn and found we could get 5 nights, a 6-day ticket and 2 character breakfasts and dinner for 2 at Granvilles Steakhouse (an exceptional dinner it was) and pay nothing extra. Not hard to choose, I thought. we had a great 6 day trip!
We used to use 3A for our planning, but now that "Magic Morning" is no longer around (bummer), and we have enough pins and landyards, we just get a room on the internet ($59 this trip, $99 for Novembers) and buy our tickets at 3A and drive. We don't even use the free breakfast coupons that would come in handy for others, because we enjoy the offerings in the parks and Downtown Disney. All in all, we really just use Park Place Inn for its price, access to D-land, and the fact that in 10 trips (soon to be 11) we've never had any problems and they have always been courteous and helpful. The rooms come with refrigerators and microwaves and the staff cleans around your schedule. Besides, if you have ever stayed there it's fun to think about what's under the carpet that makes it that way!! Have fun!!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 26 to October 1, 2004
Reviewer: Lorene Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada     October 10, 2004
Room Type: 2 double beds
Room Rate: $93 a night CAN

First of all - I would stay at this hotel again. It was clean enough and it was just a quick walk across the street to the entrances of Disneyland, California Adventure, and Downtown Disney. Some of the things we disliked about the hotel may be specific to our trip alone and may not happen to other folks who stay there.

Likes: It had a larger-than-normal hotel fridge, a microwave, and a little table with two chairs. The cleaning staff were nice and the room was usually in good repair when we got back from the parks. The room itself was roomy - lots of room to leave out suitcases. There's a mini mart next door at the Tropicana where you can buy small items like bread, cereals, snacks, waters, pop, etc which we thought was quite handy. The continental breakfast was ok - not the greatest but there were bagels, bananas, oranges and stale little pastries. You can also have pancakes at the restaurant next door which are quite good; however, we spent a lot of money on drinks to go with breakfast (bad coffee with fake cream and gross flavored milks). My suggestion is to have coffee and juice in the hotel room if you want and drink water with the pancakes. My daughter loved the pool - it's small but was great to have after a day of walking.

Dislikes - The staff acted like we were interrupting their conversation when we checked in on the evening of the 26th barely said 10 words to us. They also need to buy new beds for the rooms (saggy and lumpy). And no hottub all week! They kep telling us "tomorrow" but it was never fixed and after doing all that walking - we kept wishing for that hottub.

Overall - we'd recommend staying here because it's a good hotel and it's right across from the parks.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page