Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Best Western Park Place Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1544 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 35 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Thu Aug 26 - Tue Aug 31, 2004
Reviewer: DrivingtoDisneyAZ Mesa, AZ     September 29, 2004
Room Type: non-smoking Queen/Queen minisuite
Room Rate: $59/night (an absolutely AWESOME rate), booked through their website
Proximity to Park: directly across the street; you can't get any closer

Our room had two queen beds, a sofa w/ coffeetable, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron. Beds were comfy and clean, and two extra pillows could be found in the closet. The TV armoire had three large drawers, sufficient to hold clothes for 2 adults and 3 kids.

It was a spacious room. Our double stroller fit neatly next to the desk. The Pack N Play set up well right between the closet and the sink. Kids still had PLENTY of room to move about.

Bathroom had a single sink located outside the shower/toilet room. Towels were plentiful (six sets provided for our room). My only complaint is the height of the showerhead...a complaint I'd heard echoed before about this hotel, so it wasn't just my room. I'm only 5'3" and had to duck a bit to wash my hair.

The refrig was huge!!! It would have probably held (4) 12-packs of soda with room to spare, to give you a general idea. We had a gallon of milk, a gallon of oj, some sandwich meat, cheese slices, leftover pizza, gatorade, and soda.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Check-in and check-out were a breeze, and our request for a room close to the front of the building was granted. Also we had originally only booked for 4 nights, but decided to stay an extra night. The hubby asked the front desk if we could stay another night at our awesome booked rate, and they agreed!!!

Housekeeping had our room cleaned up every day by the time we returned for naps (early afternoon).....which is something I had never experienced at any of the other hotels on Harbor we previously stayed at.

The laundry is located right next to the pool, so one could conceivably run a load of wash whilst swimming and still keep tabs on it. We didn't use the pool or whirlpool, but they looked inviting enough. No overwhelming chlorine fumes. It appeared a bit small, but doable. We also didn't partake of the free continental breakfast at Captain Kidd's (formerly Mom's), so can't comment.

Overall, we were extremely pleased with this hotel and will definitely stay here again.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 16, 2004 - July 21, 2004
Reviewer: wenderella Lehi, Utah     August 02, 2004
I booked this room on expedia as a last minute trip and I was pretty happy, overall. When we checked into our room, I noticed it was a smoking room on the 3rd floor. The room had a stale smell to it, but did not smell smoky. We were anxious to get to the park and did not press a move at that time. However, when we returned late that night, the neighbors had been smoking, and WHEW! A phone call to the front desk the next day got us a non-smoking room with no hassle. I was much happier with the move and pleased with the service from the front desk. Breakfast at Captain Kidds was great. I thought it was a good bargain, and you can't get any closer to the park than this hotel.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   03/21/04 - 03/25/04
Reviewer: jczehn75 SF Bay Area, California     August 01, 2004
Type/Class of room: Standard Suite
The room was decent quality for the price but we mainly choose this site for the location to the front gates. The rooms were not especially clean and did have a slight smell. The room was a little on the dark side and the water pressure was nothing special. The room came with a microwave and refridgerator which was good. They also provided a good continetal breakfast at the restaurant next door. The pool tended to be frequently crowed so we did not try it out.

We liked how close this site is to the front gates and felt that the location made up for it's down sides. For the price and location we would recommend staying here and will probably stay here again in the future.

Rate/Night (for your stay): It was a package deal but was aproximately $100/night.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   07-20-04
Reviewer: MOUSELUVR Sacramento, Ca     July 27, 2004
We stayed only one night in a mini suite at a rate of $98. We have stayed at this hotel before and have had a good experience in the past. This trip was not as good though. The room was clean, but smelled a little funny, couldn't pinpoint the source of the smell. The biggest problem was the sofa bed. Upon returning to the hotel at about midnight we pulled out the sofa bed and I got in with my six week old son only to have the bed promtly collapse on us. The back of the sofa flipped forward and hit me in the back. We pulled it all back up only to have it happen again. The only way to sleep on the bed was to lay sideways. We wound up folding it up and sleeping on the floor. When we complained about it upon check out we were told it was basically our fault for not call the front desk to report the probelm. Well, it was 1:00 in the morning and we just wanted to sleep. We were rudely offered a $10 discount on the room. Upon further discussion and requesting a manager, the room was discounted $30. The pluses to this hotel are its location and a decent breakfast. The pool was small and very crowded. We would probably not stay here again.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/25/04
Reviewer: Pirate33 San Francisco     July 01, 2004
I stayed in standard room, which was quite spacious and about what one would expect in this hotel category ($109). You just can't beat how close this place is to the main entrance, plus the great views of Space Mountain, the monorail and the Matterhorn on the walk over. It's actually a nicer walk in some ways than from the Grand Californian, where I've also stayed.

The only complaint I had is that the continental breakfast was just horrible. At this price range, I didn't really care, but the upstairs room where breakfast is served is dim and grim, and the selection of food was miserable: overripe bananas, overly sweet danishes and dry, very untasty bagels. (Where does one buy such bagels???)

With all this said, it is a very good place to stay, very near the park, if you are looking for a clean, basic room.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 7-11, 2004
Reviewer: theyates6 San Francisco, CA     June 17, 2004
We visit the BW Park Place Inn regularly. The rooms are clean, big & well appointed. The front desk is very helpful and friendly. We always stay in a room with two queen beds in addition to the hide-a-bed to accomodate our large family. The free continental breakfast is perfectly adequate for our family, however please be forewarned that the restaurant on the first floor is not very good. We ate there for dinner one night (chicken fingers, spaghetti, etc. standard diner type food) and the food was truly awful. It is a great place on the way back to the room to grab an icecream cone (dryers) and avoid the lines in the park. The swimming pool is very small and usually crowded. Parking is tight at times. There is a small gift store in the lobby that is open sporadically that has drugstore items if you have an emergency headache or allergy attack. The reason this is the hotel for us, though, is it is the closest hotel to the main gate. It was a closer for us to walk to the entrance than for our family members staying at either the Grand Californian or Disneyland Hotel. It is "miles" closer than the parking garage. This also eliminates the necessity of taking the hotel shuttle services that you have to wait for. The walk to the park entrances is just a few minutes away!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   03/29/04 - 03/31/04
Reviewer: PrincessPrunella Las Vegas, Nevada     April 03, 2004
We booked this motel due to the reviews on this site & we weren't disappointed. We stayed in the mini-suite, and because we have 3 kids, the third bed made the stay much more enjoyable than the usual 2 queen room. The mini-suite came complete with a small frig & microwave, so we were able to save a little $$ by packing in our own water.

The room was clean, the front desk staff was courteous & efficient. We didn't use the pool, but it looked inviting (especially the hot tub). Parking was a little tight, so, once we arrived, we stayed put. We didn't have a chance to check out the continental breakfast, so I can't comment. The proximity to the park, easy walking to family restaurants & the mini-suites will keep us coming back!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/18/2004 -Night of
Reviewer: kdrickard California     January 19, 2004
Clean room, "mini-suite"(?), right across from the parks -- can't get much closer. Paid $79 including tax for the night (Sunday night), and the Continental Breakfast. Don't expect resort class accomodations like Grand Califorian or the Disneyland Hotel, but a great place to stay. Continental Breakfrast upstairs at "Mom's" was good for getting to the park right before opening of DLR and hitting the popular attractions before the lines became too long.

Best Western Park Place Inn is on our list of places to stay again.

 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/03/03through 12/07/03
Reviewer: daannzzz Sunnyvale, California     December 09, 2003
The room decore was great. It has a tropical theme and is well done with good colors. Some may find the room a bit dark. The two queen beds were comfortable. The pull out couch was not comfortable for me but the person who slept on it was fine. You could not hear sound from neighbors but could hear some through the window and door. The place was clean on the inside but looks a bit worn in a couple spots outside. Parking is not plentiful and very tight in some spots. Service was fine as was check in and out. Free continental breakfast was decent. The pool was smallish and unmemorable and it was to cold to swim, though there were people in it!!!
Location was awesome only a few minutes walk to the park gates.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/03 (6 days), 4/03 (2 days), 5/03 (6 days)
Reviewer: TinkR Brentwood (not that one), CA (SF Bay Area)     May 29, 2003
Notice we've stayed here three times this year!!! Does that tell you anything? We really like this hotel and especially it's friendly staff. We have stayed here so many times that Nancy, at the front desk, bought me a Birthday Cake on our last visit!!!

The rooms are always clean (and I'm picky because of allergies and asthma) and if I am not happy with the room they've given me I've been able to change it. Occasionally we have a conflict with the times the housekeeping comes by (because of naps), but they are always willing to come back later.

Location couldn't get any better!! It is closer to walk to the lobby of this hotel (from Disneyland front gates) than it is to Grand CA! I clocked it with my pedometer. Closer to Disney and at a fraction of the cost of the Grand (yes, I've stayed there too).

Room size is excellent when you have kids who tend to 'bounce' around like Tigger! We always get a room with 2 Queens and a sofa couch. It really allows for us all to have our space. The fridge is a great size and the microwave has come in handy on many occasions.

We prefer the side of the hotel that faces McDonald's because is seems to be quieter (trucks deliver to Mama's on the other side).

Continental breakfast is quick, easy, and part of the room fee!! My little ones aren't usually too hungry first thing, so spending a lot of money on breakfast is a waste for us. They are happy with a danish, juice and banana.

The rates change with the seasons, but our average price is between $109-$125 (depending on season). We're Best Western Club members so we some perks.

Hope this helps!

 
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page