Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
*Best Western Raffles Inn & Suites* *Best Western Raffles Inn & Suites*
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Best Western Raffles Inn & Suites
2040 S. Harbor Blvd.
Anaheim, CA 92802
714-750-6100

The newly renovated Best Western Raffles Inn & Suites is located within walking distance to Disneyland, Disneys California Adventure and the Anaheim Convention Center. The hotel was recently inducted into Disney's Good Neighbor program.Their brand new spacious guestrooms are immaculately clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel offers standard one king or two queen guestrooms. Also available are two bedroom/one bath suites and two bedroom/two bath family suites that can accommodate up to eight travelers. The hospitality/meeting room overlooks the pool and spa and each morning complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served in a charming breakfast room. Visit their tour desk where they can arrange for outings with front door pick up to additional attractions.

Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 28-January 1 2006
Reviewer: momuvseven reno nevada     January 02, 2006
WE just got back from spending the Christmas/New Years Holiday and had one of our best trips ever to Disneyland. This was our third trip this year and our first time staying at BW Raffles. Our check in went as expected and we were given a third floor room as requested. We stayed in the two bedroom/two bath suite. The room was clean and furnishings were in good condition. The remote was out of batteries but those were replaced within the hour of our calling the front desk. The room for the children had twin size bunkbeds, television and sofa bed. Our daughter loved the sofa bed and it seemed to have a better mattress than most we've seen. There are plenty of drawers for storage, a closet, two sinks on a large vanity and a bathtub/shower combination and toilet in a seperate bathroom. Plenty of space for four people to dress, sleep and bathe.
The larger room has two queens, a table with chairs, television, desk, drawers, closet, ironing board, iron and identical bathroom. A large refridgerator and microwave on a hutch. More than adequate accomadations for a family of eight.
As far as some of the complaints we read in other reviews. The hotel was quiet but we did request the top floor. There is an air conditioning unit in the main bedroom and a fan that must be turned on to ventilate the second room. We were comfortable but left the adjoining door open during the day and that helped to keep the rooms comfortable. We like to be a little cold and the kids like it warmer anyways.
Breakfast is a cattle herd but this is true at every hotel we have stayed at in Disneyland area. They have the typical cheerios, milk, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, instant oatmeal, danish, toast and waffles. There were also hard boiled eggs, butter, jam, and other condiments. It is not fancy but the breakfast room is large and clean. The kids were fine with it.
IHOP and Denny's are a block away if you want more. We ate at the IHOP and they have free meals for children. We still found it expensive but the service and food were excellent.
Target and lots of resturants and shopping are about 1/2 mile south.
Hotel has plenty of parking. Pool is small and we didn't try it.
We walked and took the ART bus service. Works fine either way. If you walk you can stop at Subway for sandwhiches, the donut shop or 7-11. There are some other shops as well.
We found this to be a fine place for families, not a luxury hotel but certainly will meet your needs.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Nov 17-22, 2005
Reviewer: truesally Vancouver, WA     November 24, 2005
For the space, we got a great rate - about $85/night through hotels.com. Warning: The rooms are all outside entry, facing the parking lot - VERY noisy! We were in the Kids' Suite, bunk beds in the back room with a door separating from the front room. Great for privacy, but the bathroom was on their side so when we stayed up late or got up early, the light & noise was bothersome for them. The room was clean but had a few 'maintenance' issues - tub stopper didn't work, two light bulbs blew and weren't replaced, huge rip in the sofa sleeper, ironing board missing feet (it rocked dangerously), TV channels nearly impossible to decipher, no clock. We were extremely disappointed with the breakfast - hardly any protein to start the day (basically, milk), one kind of cereal, thin oatmeal, white bread only, super-sugary danishes, no bananas.
The ART stop was in front of the hotel, every 20 minutes, very convenient. The pool & hot tub were warm & clean, if small (no towels available in the area, though). Our hotel staff was extremely polite & helpful - they set aside adjacent rooms for our party. Overall, adequate place to stay for the separate rooms and convenience to ART but bring your own breakfast foods & ear plugs.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Jan 10-16, 2005
Reviewer: char_m73 Alberta Canada     January 18, 2005
This hotel was great! We stayed for 6 nights in a kids suite. The kids loved the bunk beds and their own tv. Great price(89.99), ART stops right outside for travel to Disneyland (we walked the whole way more than once, not more than a mile). The free breakfast was good, cereal and oatmeal, waffles, white and brown bread, oranges and apples, 3 kinds of juice, coffe, and lots of variety of tea. Rooms always clean, lots of towels, staff somewhat knowledgeable, but with time, always found what we needed. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/21-3/26
Reviewer: zivismom idaho     March 31, 2004
We stayed in a small family suite with a couch and extra room. Having the extra room was nice, would have been nicer with the promised extra bathroom. However, we did have a/c in each room. The breakfast was a welcome respite for DL high prices. Simple, but adequate food- cereal, toast, english muffins, danish, muffins, oranges, apples, and juices. We brought a jar of peanut butter and were very satisfied. We ordered delivery in several nights. The pizza place was late and bad, but the chinese was quicker and acceptable. The ART bus system picks up right in front, extremely handy. At $12 for a 5 day pass, what a deal. The pool and hot tub were great for those few minutes not spent at the parks.
For the price we paid, $89, for 4 people, with room enough to be comfortable, and breakfast everyday I would definitely stay here again.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 22-29, 2003
Reviewer: kowen (kowen@velocitus.net) Hagerman, Idaho     March 30, 2003
This is a very nice hotel located 2 blocks from Disneyland. It was too far to walk in my opinion, but by using the ART (Anaheim Resort Transportation), it made for easy access to and from the parks. The buses run every 10-20 minutes depending on the season and fees are very reasonable. I was initially disappointed because every website for this hotel and every brochure we had stated that the shuttle was provided by the hotel free of charge, but upon arrival I was told "We need to change the brochures".

You can't check in before 3 - so don't even try. We arrived at noon and had to leave our stuff in our vehicle and go over to the parks and come back later to check in. The rooms are very nice. We just had the standard room with two queen beds. We had two adults and two children in our family and the room was large enough for us. There is also a fridge and microwave in every room which was very handy for drinks and reheating meals. Also the TVs are 27-inch which is large for a hotel and there are pay-per-view movies as well as internet and Nintendo 64 available for purchase to use. They also have coin-operated laundry and many items available at the front desk for free such as razors, toothbrushes, etc.

The air conditioning was a bit of an issue for us. It will not run continuously. My husband is always too hot and is was in the low 80's and got pretty hot in the room at times. It automatically shuts off and never got as cool as we would like.

The pool is very nice and clean, but small by hotel standards. Our children enjoyed it though.

On our second day we returned from the parks at about 3:30 so the kids could swim and we hadn't yet had maid service which was kind of a hassle. Also on the day we went to Knott's Berry Farm, we left at 9:30 and returned at 7:30 to find that the maid had not shut our door tightly and it was unlocked. I did notify front desk and it appears nothing was taken.

The rooms include a continental breakfast and we were even allowed to bring it back to our room which is wonderful when trying to get kids ready for the day. Nice selection or pastries, cereal, and fruits along with juices and milk.

I would definitely stay here again. We booked our vacation through getawaytoday.com and were thoroughly pleased (our second year using this company) with this hotel as part of our package.

 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 12-19, 2003
Reviewer: Delobear Nanaimo, British Columbia     March 21, 2003
I would highly recommend The Best Western Raffles Inn and Suites for families who want the extra room of a suite, but are on a budget. I was only able to find one review on this hotel, so I knew we were taking a chance in booking it for a week - but we are glad that we did!

Location: The hotel is located two long blocks south of the resort - which is too far to walk. The Resort trolley stops right outside the front, and came every twenty minutes (probably comes more often in the summer time).

Outside appearance:
Very well kept, with outside corridors. The building is in the shape of a U. The pool and hot tub are located at the end of the "U" which is a nice feature, as a lot of the other area hotels had their pools located right in the middle of the parking lots. The weather was too cold for us adults to want to swim, but the kids thoroughly enjoyed the clean pool area.

Rooms:
We reserved a kids suite for a manager's special of $79.00/a night. It features a separate room with bunk beds and sofa bed, and a second room separated by french doors. The bathroom in our unit was located by the front door with a separate counter area outside with a 2nd sink. There were armoires in each room for plenty of storage, 2 TV's, and the microwave and fridge were located in our room. We peeked into a few other units and discovered that our layout was different than most. Most of the other kids suites have a bathroom separating the adults room from the kids room, with a "pass through" area. Our only complaint was the air conditioning. The air conditioning unit is located in the children's room, and the cool air has a hard time passing through the single door to the adult's room. As we went to Disney in March it wasn't such a big issue, but in summer time I think the air flow might be a problem.

Service:
Maid service was good, everything was very clean. We only received 3 bath towels each day, so if you wanted extra towels for swimming you could ask at the office.

Breakfast:
It really pays to stay at a hotel offering continental breakfast. The hotel offered danishes, muffins, english muffins, toast, cereal, milk, 3 types of juice and tea/coffee and oranges/apples. The breakfast room was
very roomy with lots of tables, and pleasantly decorated. Very nice.

Bottom line:
If you are on a budget and want the extra space of a suite, stay here!

 
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page