Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1550 South Harbor Blvd, Anaheim

Table service restaurant featuring pizza and an all-you-can-eat buffet (formerly Mom's Restaurant)

Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 1.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   10/21/08
Reviewer: rasberry6 Anaheim, California     November 21, 2008
Run away as fast as you can!
May god have mercy on your strangled intestines!

Me and my husband are both young adults, 20 and 21. We do not have picky tastes, in fact we pretty much eat everything. We eat continental breakfasts like its our job. When pulling into our room at the Best Western Anaheim, Disneyland we saw the sign for buffet. We were instantly excited. We were tired and starving and we wanted to eat eat eat. We looked at eachother and said "we know what we're having for dinner tonight, and oh my it's only 7.99$" Little did we know we were paying for horror. The mac and cheese was cold both times we selected it, The salad lettuce was dank and digusting and there was a little bit of it dripping at the bottoms of the platters, but very little. Only veggie choice was jalapenos. There was no pizza and garlic bread for the first 40 minutes of our dinner. When it came we realized we were not missing anything. The garlic bread was stale and unappealing. The pizza, obviously microwaved, was thin and like biting into cardboard, also very burnt and gross looking. Like dogfood. The meat dishes that my husband "enjoyed" were dry, decrepit, and falling apart on there own. The shrimp were overcooked and no sauce was available. The beans and cheese for the nachos had atleast 3 different foods falling into them and looked like a disgusting morphed chicken pot pit of some kind. The corndog was overcooked, hard, smelled awful, and tasted like terror. The pasta looked like it had been there forever and was hard and falling apart. The jalapenos and other peppers were mixed together and so were the variety of dressings. The seafood soufflé had to have been there for atleast a month and was decaying. Now if you like everything at the captain kidd buffet you're in luck, because pretty much everything is mixed together. Oh did I mention the rice was crumbly and falling apart as if it wasn't even cooked. Pasta from the opposite side of the buffet somehow found it's way into the nacho cheese. Now the dessert, thats a great one. The cupcakes tasted like dirt topped with cherry syrup frosting mixed with plastic and tapioca. What looked to be coconut cream pie, not suprisingly happened to be bavarian donut cream filling with whipped cream on top. The brownies were thin and had burned into the pan and were smoking, what little there was, didnt get replaced. The cookies must've came from a box from feburary because they were hard and tasteless
The best part of the buffet by far was the ice cream. We looked to the delicious soft serve ice cream machine to fill our desires, SURPRISE! its frozen yogurt! and gross at that! the toppings were scarce aswell. My husband walked over to a large freezer that looked promising. The large freezer was only filled a quarter of the way with 4 jugs of different hard serve ice cream. He asked the attendant of the food who could barely speak any english at all how to get it. He told him to go around, he did so and didn't want to go behind the counter so he handed the attendant his plate. He gave him a signal and said "ice cream there" and pointed to the soft serve yogurt machine. My husband confused walked around and asked again pointing to the freezer. He decipher the mumbling and signaling to an even more hilarious outcome. The hard ice cream was not a part of the buffet. You have to pay for it!
Absolutely disgusting I grabbed the check early. Our waitress was very nice and sweet and I knew it wasnt her fault so I still gave the buffet an undeserving tip. Her service was great but nowhere near enough to erase the disgust we encountered.
We are now feeling sick.
Save yourself money, time, and intestinal health and run as fast as you can. Yes it's cheap, but mac-donalds is better than that crap.
From the bottom of our hearts, we hope we've have saved you from a life changing experience.
(for the worst!)
Run awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 27th 2008
Reviewer: Mansioncreep San Jose, CA     February 14, 2008
We were at Disneyland the first week of February this year.
We were looking for a quick but filling meal our first night in town so we hit Captain Kidd's for the Dinner buffet.
There were 3 of us, My GF, her 12 year old and me.

We ordered the buffet and 3 sodas. By the time we got our first plates of food to the table there were our drinks, place settings, the table had been re-cleaned( it was fine to begin with), and they even brought the boy crayons for his placemat.

The food was excellent. Loved their Rice Pilaf and especially their BBQ Spareribs. The ribs were moist, and mouth wateringly fell off the bone. Fantastic I had 3 helpings. The pizza.. well it was frozen quality, but hey this isn't Shakey's or Pizza hut so there ya go. The mac and cheese was no better or worse than Home Town buffet's.
The Amount of items wasn't all that great but the variety of them was. Chinese food, ribs, burgers, hot dogs, pizza, mexican dishes, chicken in 3 varieties, 2 good soups, and a salad bar. Oh and lets not forgets some of the best Yankee Pot Roast that night I have ever tasted!

We couldn't even get our first sodas done when the waitress appeared with an entire carafe of iced soda for each of us. She and the entire staff were very friendly, quick to help with any request, and they bussed tables faster the Black Angus.

I'm assuming that since this was the off season at DL that these were the full time staff and not the tourist season (summer vacation student) staff so that may be why they were so good to us. Any restaurant's staff goes downhill during the summer months.

Our only complaint was the 3 bucks each for soda.. talk about price gouging( for those not in food service a 12 oz soda costs about 12-16 cents to dispense via fountain). I guess it levels the playing field for the low cost of the buffet. But having went to our local Hometown Buffet 3 days before our trip and having Lousy service, low quality food, slow bussers, and a their having jacked their prices to 11 bucks plus each, This was fantastic.
They got a big tip!

For the cost alone( we spent more on breakfast for 3 at IHOP down the block), but also for the convenience and the great hours of service, we definitely will be visiting them again on our next trip to DL.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   8-11-07
Reviewer: BarbBo Texas     August 11, 2007
We had coupons for free breakfast, but it was up a high staircase and my legs wouldn't make it. We did without. We got coffee and were charged over $5.00 for it.

Today I tried the lunch buffet. What a big mistake. The food is all under yellow lights making it hard to see what the food really looks like. I tried the green salad, dressing, croutons, corn on the cob, cantaloupe, pasta salad, fried chicken, and two leftover sausage from the breakfast buffet. The croutons were coated with a heavy Mexican spice of some kind, the corn was all soggy and mushy, the pasta salad had a tin taste to it, the cantaloupe had no taste at all, and the sausage didn't even taste like ANY kind of meat. Oh and I got a piece of cake with red syrup or something on it that looked good, but it was all hard and stale. I cut up the chicken and mixed it in with the salad. I went back to get more salad, and found the first plate I grabbed was dirty, so I handed it to the server behind the glass panel. I got a second plate, and it, too was dirty. As I was handing this one back to him, I scraped my arm on the bottom of the metal frame of the glass panel ( I think it's called a "sneeze " panel?") The corner gouged my arm and I was bleeding pretty bad. I covered and held it with a napkin and asked if he had a bandaid. He had what looked like a manager come over and lead me to the back of the restaurant to sit down. A few minutes later, another "manager-looking man" came out. I told him I was ok, I just needed a bandaid. I already had a small scrape from a previous scrape a couple days ago, and this incident not only ripped the old one open, but gouged me in two new different places. He looked at my arm, didn't say anything ( I don't think he spoke English) and went and came back with two bandages. One was so tiny it wouldn't even cover either wound. I expected SOMEone to say, "they were sorry it happened" or ""can we help you clean it" or "we'll fix the corner on that panel" or SOMEthing..But nothing was said. Not even an apology.
I asked the waiter for my ticket, paid my ticket and I did go back and get a little more salad, and sat outside til my shuttle van came.
I am VERY disappointed with the horrible tasting food, AND VERY upset at the lack of compassion for someone who gets hurt unnecessarily. If it were my restaurant, I would never let a customer leave the premises feeling unhappy.

 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   3-9-07
Reviewer: simnia Anaheim, California     March 09, 2007
The tropical theme and atmosphere here are quite good, and I believe it's the closest restaurant to Disneyland that is not on Disney property, so I was eager to try it out, despite the frightening reviews I read here beforehand. I arrived shortly before noon on a Friday, skipped the buffet that was set out at noon, ordered the Monorail (warm turkey & cheese & onion sandwich) with fries for $10, was quite satisfied with the food and service, and didn't get sick. Nothing fancy, but nothing bad, either, and I liked all the paraphernalia: treasure chest, toucans, macaws, tikis, lions, elephant's head, flintlocks, pirate paintings, shoreline mural, fish nets, glass floats, ship's wheel, lanterns, spears, skull, outdoor fountains, thatch umbrellas with colored lights, bird-of-paradise trees, oldies in the background ("Reflections" by The Supremes), etc. Maybe if people stay away from the buffet (buffets are often annoying, unsanitary, and ripoffs everywhere, in my experience) they will find this restaurant to be as enjoyable as I did. I could really start to like this place, and I may well continue to return.
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   February 2, 2007
Reviewer: Leeski241 Anaheim, CA     February 02, 2007
It was getting to be around lunchtime while at the Disneyland park, when my cousins and I decided to leave the park to refuel our stomachs. Captain Kidd's, however, was not the right joice for the job. We were not greeted when we entered, just told to sit anywhere. The three of us decided the lunch buffet seemed to be the most reasonable of the available choices, seeing as normal-looking hamburgers were priced is the $9-10 range. Besides, how bad can you mess up a buffet?

Pretty bad, as it turns out.

The choices on the buffet line were scarce, and many of the food items looked very unapealling. After deciding on a few things that looked normal, we sat down, telling ourselves that looks can be decieving. In this case they weren't. The chicken was dry and uninteresting, the french fries were overcooked and stale, and most of the other choices either seemed to have been waiting too long to be eated, or were flavored completely wrong. That said, the dessert was good, but by no means made up for their dismal selections.

As for service, the waitress seemsed nice enough, but we couldn't get to know her because she showed up twice. One to take our drink orders, and another to bring our drinks. We had to ask to get our check, no joke.

Speaking of the check, $35 for what we recieved seemed a bit too much to ask. Another customer agreed, as halfway through the meal a man tugging a wife and child along with him expressed his displeasure at the establishment's poor quality, except he said this through many curses and yells. He was not happy, and neither were we.

All told, I would not suggest Captain Kidd's to anyone. Not even an enemy.

Oh, and one last thing. 8 hours after eating the food, I became very ill. Not having eaten anything before or after this meal, I do not doubt Captain Kidd's was to blame.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   November 18, 2006
Reviewer: backsthepack Phoenix, Az     November 20, 2006
Ok, this was a complete disaster of a dinner. We all ordered the buffet, thinking how bad could that be?? Well, it was awful. The food was all old and out of a box. Nothing was homemade. Everything was dry and just disgusting. The desserts were even all dried out. So not worth the price at all. I will never, ever eat there again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   june 2006
Reviewer: dee dee morris california     June 05, 2006
THIS IS ABSOLUTELY THE WORST RESTAURANT WE HAVE EVER VISITED. THE FOOD WAS VERY OLD, THE PIZZA WAS THINNER THAN A PIECE OF PAPER, COLD AND DISCUSTING.. AND OUR 5 YEAR OLD GRANDSON TURNED IT DOWN. THE MAC N CHEESE WAS SO OLD, IT WAS CRUSTY..WE ASKED THE 'COOK' WHAT SOME OF THE ITEMS WERE IN THE BUFFET, AND HE SAID...HE DIDN'T KNOW! PEOPLE WERE PUTTING THEIR HANDS DIRECTLY INTO THE JELLO BECAUSE THERE WERE NO SPOONS. OTHER PEOPLE IN OTHER BOOTHS WERE ALSO COMPLAINING. I ADVISED THE MANAGER OF HOW DISCUSTED WE WERE WITH THE FOOD AND SERVICE. HE DIDN'T SEEM TO CARE A BIT. I THINK THIS RESTAURANT REALLY NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED BY THE HEALTH DEPT...
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   April 8th, 2006
Reviewer: utscrapbooker SLC, UT     April 18, 2006
Don't eat here unless you're on a starvation diet or really enjoy badddd food. Even my 6 year old whose palate is pretty easy-going wouldn't eat her mac'n'cheese. I ordered the fish n chips and they tasted straight from the cardboard factory. My spouse ordered a wrap and I knew we were in trouble when it almost floated off the plate cuz of the amount of sauce. He said it was good tasting but the tortilla wrap was so soggy that the texture was all wrong. The veggies and fruit that were served with it were prepared pretty well--maybe that cook should be promoted to head cook?!?! Even the coupon I got from GetAwayToday didn't make this meal attractive.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page