Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant!
 
Want to tell someone about Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Captain Kidd's Family Restaurant
Description:
1550 South Harbor Blvd, Anaheim

Table service restaurant featuring pizza and an all-you-can-eat buffet (formerly Mom's Restaurant)

Average Reviewer Rating: 1.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 51.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   10/21/08
Reviewer: rasberry6 Anaheim, California     November 21, 2008
Run away as fast as you can!
May god have mercy on your strangled intestines!

Me and my husband are both young adults, 20 and 21. We do not have picky tastes, in fact we pretty much eat everything. We eat continental breakfasts like its our job. When pulling into our room at the Best Western Anaheim, Disneyland we saw the sign for buffet. We were instantly excited. We were tired and starving and we wanted to eat eat eat. We looked at eachother and said "we know what we're having for dinner tonight, and oh my it's only 7.99$" Little did we know we were paying for horror. The mac and cheese was cold both times we selected it, The salad lettuce was dank and digusting and there was a little bit of it dripping at the bottoms of the platters, but very little. Only veggie choice was jalapenos. There was no pizza and garlic bread for the first 40 minutes of our dinner. When it came we realized we were not missing anything. The garlic bread was stale and unappealing. The pizza, obviously microwaved, was thin and like biting into cardboard, also very burnt and gross looking. Like dogfood. The meat dishes that my husband "enjoyed" were dry, decrepit, and falling apart on there own. The shrimp were overcooked and no sauce was available. The beans and cheese for the nachos had atleast 3 different foods falling into them and looked like a disgusting morphed chicken pot pit of some kind. The corndog was overcooked, hard, smelled awful, and tasted like terror. The pasta looked like it had been there forever and was hard and falling apart. The jalapenos and other peppers were mixed together and so were the variety of dressings. The seafood soufflé had to have been there for atleast a month and was decaying. Now if you like everything at the captain kidd buffet you're in luck, because pretty much everything is mixed together. Oh did I mention the rice was crumbly and falling apart as if it wasn't even cooked. Pasta from the opposite side of the buffet somehow found it's way into the nacho cheese. Now the dessert, thats a great one. The cupcakes tasted like dirt topped with cherry syrup frosting mixed with plastic and tapioca. What looked to be coconut cream pie, not suprisingly happened to be bavarian donut cream filling with whipped cream on top. The brownies were thin and had burned into the pan and were smoking, what little there was, didnt get replaced. The cookies must've came from a box from feburary because they were hard and tasteless
The best part of the buffet by far was the ice cream. We looked to the delicious soft serve ice cream machine to fill our desires, SURPRISE! its frozen yogurt! and gross at that! the toppings were scarce aswell. My husband walked over to a large freezer that looked promising. The large freezer was only filled a quarter of the way with 4 jugs of different hard serve ice cream. He asked the attendant of the food who could barely speak any english at all how to get it. He told him to go around, he did so and didn't want to go behind the counter so he handed the attendant his plate. He gave him a signal and said "ice cream there" and pointed to the soft serve yogurt machine. My husband confused walked around and asked again pointing to the freezer. He decipher the mumbling and signaling to an even more hilarious outcome. The hard ice cream was not a part of the buffet. You have to pay for it!
Absolutely disgusting I grabbed the check early. Our waitress was very nice and sweet and I knew it wasnt her fault so I still gave the buffet an undeserving tip. Her service was great but nowhere near enough to erase the disgust we encountered.
We are now feeling sick.
Save yourself money, time, and intestinal health and run as fast as you can. Yes it's cheap, but mac-donalds is better than that crap.
From the bottom of our hearts, we hope we've have saved you from a life changing experience.
(for the worst!)
Run awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 27th 2008
Reviewer: Mansioncreep San Jose, CA     February 14, 2008
We were at Disneyland the first week of February this year.
We were looking for a quick but filling meal our first night in town so we hit Captain Kidd's for the Dinner buffet.
There were 3 of us, My GF, her 12 year old and me.

We ordered the buffet and 3 sodas. By the time we got our first plates of food to the table there were our drinks, place settings, the table had been re-cleaned( it was fine to begin with), and they even brought the boy crayons for his placemat.

The food was excellent. Loved their Rice Pilaf and especially their BBQ Spareribs. The ribs were moist, and mouth wateringly fell off the bone. Fantastic I had 3 helpings. The pizza.. well it was frozen quality, but hey this isn't Shakey's or Pizza hut so there ya go. The mac and cheese was no better or worse than Home Town buffet's.
The Amount of items wasn't all that great but the variety of them was. Chinese food, ribs, burgers, hot dogs, pizza, mexican dishes, chicken in 3 varieties, 2 good soups, and a salad bar. Oh and lets not forgets some of the best Yankee Pot Roast that night I have ever tasted!

We couldn't even get our first sodas done when the waitress appeared with an entire carafe of iced soda for each of us. She and the entire staff were very friendly, quick to help with any request, and they bussed tables faster the Black Angus.

I'm assuming that since this was the off season at DL that these were the full time staff and not the tourist season (summer vacation student) staff so that may be why they were so good to us. Any restaurant's staff goes downhill during the summer months.

Our only complaint was the 3 bucks each for soda.. talk about price gouging( for those not in food service a 12 oz soda costs about 12-16 cents to dispense via fountain). I guess it levels the playing field for the low cost of the buffet. But having went to our local Hometown Buffet 3 days before our trip and having Lousy service, low quality food, slow bussers, and a their having jacked their prices to 11 bucks plus each, This was fantastic.
They got a big tip!

For the cost alone( we spent more on breakfast for 3 at IHOP down the block), but also for the convenience and the great hours of service, we definitely will be visiting them again on our next trip to DL.