Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Crowne Plaza Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
12021 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 14, 2012
Reviewer: bennette Southern California     May 18, 2012
I booked a room at this hotel using Pricelines name your own price feature for $60 plus tax, so approximately $76 total. I'd actually give it 3.5 stars if I could but there isn't an option for that and my stay was closer to 4 than 3.

I normally do not bid in the 3.5 star area of Garden Grove (area six on the Priceline Disneyland map) specifically to avoid the possibility of getting the Crowne Plaza because for some time they had many poor reviews. But I had several factors limiting my options for this trip so I threw caution to the wind and put in my bid.

When the Crowne Plaza came back as the winning hotel, I paused for a moment, then took hold of myself and went off to read recent reviews. While the Crowne Plaza is not the top rated 3.5 in the area, it was as well rated as the last place I stayed (the Marriott Suites) and the reviews were MUCH better than I was expecting. Nothing I couldn't live with.

My husband wasn't spending the night so he waited for me to check in, before we drove to the parks. It's not a terribly large hotel (384 rooms) but they have meeting space, several restaurants, a gift shop/convenience store--all the amenities I expect at this level.

The lobby was small but very well appointed. I had unknowingly arrived an hour before check-in (which is 4:00) but they had no problem finding me a room on their top floor, away from the elevator. They offered me a king or two queens.

I got a king room and headed up. They had a major overhaul in 2009 and I appreciated the choices they had made. The first thing I noticed was an electrical plug on the top of each bed table--just right for charging any device you might have. The table, while not at the best height it might be, had plenty of plugs as well. The bathroom was very spacious, with a nice, square layout and plenty of counter space. Amenities were made specifically for the Crowne Plaza so I can't comment on the brand. The hotel notes they will provide you with spares of any common toiletry you might have left at home.

The beds are described as having nine layers of comfort and are three-sheeted with many smallish down pillows (there were two standard pillows in the closet). I did not find it the most comfortable bed out there but as I was having horrible back pain from standing for Fantasmic!, they may have been better than I thought. They no longer offer their sleep tight package of sleeping mask and lavender spray (I've carried both in my bag since my first stay at a Crowne Plaza) but their curtains still have a handy clip attached that will help ensure no light enters the room if you don't want it to. (Use the clips on hotel hangers for this purpose if you don't carry your own clip and are a late riser like me!)

The rooms all come with a decently sized refrigerator with freezer section. There was a small coffee maker that made one cup at a time in a regular or to go cup. No tea service (grr!). The standard room includes a sofa bed although I would expect it would be awkward to navigate the room with it extended. The closet was a good size but there was limited drawer storage, which I think would result in a group of four needing to be creative with use of the space.

The pool area was pretty and well landscaped. The pool itself is not large but again, it's not that big of a hotel. I didn't have time for the best look around but it's heated and has several umbrellas and cabanas that seemed to be available for no charge. Poolside dining and drinks are available. They offer Disney and other family friendly movies outside at night in the summers, which I thought was a nice touch.

Coffee drinkers, they offer Diedrich's coffee (a local chain). They are across the street from a Target and Walgreen's. Very close restaurants include Oggi's (local sports-focused pizzeria, Red Robin, and Joe's Crab Shack.

They offer a shuttle to Disney on the half hour. I did not use it this trip but I have used it previously when it was shared with two other hotels (now it is just for the Crowne Plaza). I've always found it to be pretty good.

Downsides:

I found the wallpaper in the hallways a bit dingy compared to the rest of the hotel.

This next is completely my fault. I checked in in a rush, without my reading glasses, and just initialed "here and here." The next day I was informed I had signed off on a resort fee of $14 that included parking, wi-fi, use of their Disney shuttle, and use of the fitness and business centers. Fourteen dollars is actually a really good price for these services. The Hyatt would have cost $28 daily for parking, wi-fi, and shuttle, and the "big" Marriott nearby currently charges $24 JUST for parking. But I'm opposed to resort fees in general (give me the price up front, please, and don't charge me for services I'm not using). This was also the rare occasion I didn't make use of any of these services (normally I would have parked and possibly used the shuttle and/or wi-fi). Had I paid attention to what I was reading, I probably would have argued the fee. (And probably lost the argument, under the contract I signed with Priceline.) Overall, the value was still a good one, the stay was good, and I can recommend this property to others. But given my personal opposition to resort fees, I'm not sure I'll bid in this area again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2008
Reviewer: TheDisneyDude San Diego, CA.     July 25, 2008
I went here this last April 2008 (I can't remember the exact dates though) and every time I have stayed at this hotel it has been a wonderful experience. We always stay in a standard room which cost's us about $66 a night because our friends cousin works at the hotel and we get the friends and family discount. The bed's are so comfortable and really easy to fall asleep on plus they have all the standard amenities plus a few extra's if you call and ask for them. Since my last trip they added a charge to use the in room safe but it's only a few dollars a day which isn't bad knowing my stuff is safely locked up. I have been staying at this hotel now for the last 2-3 years and I have never had a problem. I do have to agree that yes the parking lot is a little far because it's located in the back of the Hotel, but whenever I'm staying at this hotel we usually just park up front with the valet so we can always get to our car quickly. It's got a free shuttle to Disneyland but I always drive from the hotel to the park so we can leave and come back if we want. It's not that far from the park (maybe a couple of miles at the most) so access to the park itself is really easy. I have had the room service for breakfast and the food was great and not really overpriced but I have never eaten at the restaurant/lounge area here. It's also close (I mean walking distance) to a Red Robin, Outback steak house, and a Joe's Crab Shack. Right across the street they have a target in case you need to get something you may have forget to bring with you, and a couple of fast food places in case your in need of a quick bite to eat. This place is a really great hotel that has gotten a bad rap for to long. Overall this place is wonderful, the staff is great and have always gone the extra mile for us.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/26/05 to 10/1/05
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 02, 2005
We booked our stay on Hotwire for $67 a night and the price was well worth it. However, I called to confirm a king non-smoking room several weeks ahead but when we checked in they gave us a double smoking room. I called down to complain and they put me on hold so long that I had my boyfriend go down to the front desk. He came back saying that they only had king smoking rooms available. I called down again and told them that I could not be in a smoking room so they then changed us to a double non-smoking. I doubt that they had NO king non-smoking rooms as we did not see any other guests on our floor until the last night. I have booked many rooms through Hotwire and never had a hotel give us the opposite of the rooms we requested unless the hotel was at capacity. Also we were never offered help with our luggage at either check-out or check-in. The parking lot was far from the entrance and there was no rear entrance. I, as a female, did not feel comfortable going to the parking lot alone because it was so isolated. The room, however, was nice and the beds were very comfortable. We did not use the shuttle to Disneyland as we planned to eat either before or after park hours and the shuttles only ran 50 minutes before and after. We still had to pay the $9 per day resort fee though. On our last night the smoke alarm's battery was running out and kept beeping every few minutes. We called down to the front desk so they could come fix it but they never showed up. We finally had to climb on our bed and take the battery out ourselves so we could get some sleep. Overall, I would stay here again if I could get the Hotwire price but I would not pay full price for this hotel.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   1/27/2005 - 1/31/2005
Reviewer: disneyhound Pacific Northwest     February 08, 2005
We liked the look of the hotel and our room. We stayed four nights. The shuttle to DL was convenient and ran like clockwork. The staff was less than I would have expected from a 3 1/2 star hotel; down right rude at times! They had only two washer/dryers available, one set on two different floors; not enough given the number of rooms. Most websites, along with Crown Plaza's website list an in-room refrigerator. True enough, but it is not a refrigerator that you can use, more like a vending machine. It is full of over-priced sodas, booze and snacks; all held in dispensing trays. Not even enought space to slip a water bottle in.
The location was OK, not walking distance to DL, but a coffee shop and a Target right across the street. All things considered, I would not stay at this hotel again, due entirely to the hotel staff!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/17/03 - 10/20/02
Reviewer: mg194 Reno, Nevada     October 29, 2003
We arrived at the hotel around 10:00. This was a priceline stay at $42 per night. I asked about the availability of a suite for some extra $$ and was told that they had 2 room sizes, king or double. I took the king and paid $15 more for a rollaway bed. The room was large, comfortable and new looking. It was roomy enough to handle the rollaway without overcrowding. High speed internet access for your laptop is $9.95 per day. The pool area was nice with a big hot tub. The pool itself is large but not deeper then 4-5 feet. The first morning we had reservations at Goofy's before the shuttle service started so we took a cab to the DL hotel, appr. $12 with tip. The next day we rode the shuttle . Crowne Plaza shares a shuttle with a couple of other hotels and is the last stop before DL. The driver was friendly and because it was the first shuttle of the day we ended up having to stand. We didn't use the restaurant or lounge. They charge $7 per day for self parking, the DL shuttle and some other things that weren't quite clear. We found a spot in the first set of parking spots around the corner from the front door. The main lot is farther out and appears to be a pretty healthy walk to the lobby. We enjoyed the CP and would likely stay there again. Usually where we stay is determined by Priceline or Hotwire.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   7-8 Jun,2003
Reviewer: lunite California     June 10, 2003
The hotel check in time is 4PM, "No exception!" according to one of the receptionist. So when I got to town early, I was forced to drive around until I could check in and freshen up.
I booked the hotel online and paid the hotel fees and taxes in advanced. But once I was able to check in, I was notified that there is an additional resort tax of $7/night.
My room was fine, just lack a mini-frig to hold my left over lunch.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/07/02 - 10/14/02
Reviewer: grandma1096 Mesa, AZ     October 19, 2002
This was a fantastic stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful, the rooms very clean and new. Great bus service to Disneyland. I can't say enough about this Hotel. Great management, hats off to the General manager Mrs. Hansen! You know how to make a guest feel welcomed and important. This is a great hotel for children too.
 
16 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page