Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Crowne Plaza Resort!
 
Want to tell someone about Crowne Plaza Resort? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Crowne Plaza Resort
Description:
12021 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 14, 2012
Reviewer: bennette Southern California     May 18, 2012
I booked a room at this hotel using Pricelines name your own price feature for $60 plus tax, so approximately $76 total. I'd actually give it 3.5 stars if I could but there isn't an option for that and my stay was closer to 4 than 3.

I normally do not bid in the 3.5 star area of Garden Grove (area six on the Priceline Disneyland map) specifically to avoid the possibility of getting the Crowne Plaza because for some time they had many poor reviews. But I had several factors limiting my options for this trip so I threw caution to the wind and put in my bid.

When the Crowne Plaza came back as the winning hotel, I paused for a moment, then took hold of myself and went off to read recent reviews. While the Crowne Plaza is not the top rated 3.5 in the area, it was as well rated as the last place I stayed (the Marriott Suites) and the reviews were MUCH better than I was expecting. Nothing I couldn't live with.

My husband wasn't spending the night so he waited for me to check in, before we drove to the parks. It's not a terribly large hotel (384 rooms) but they have meeting space, several restaurants, a gift shop/convenience store--all the amenities I expect at this level.

The lobby was small but very well appointed. I had unknowingly arrived an hour before check-in (which is 4:00) but they had no problem finding me a room on their top floor, away from the elevator. They offered me a king or two queens.

I got a king room and headed up. They had a major overhaul in 2009 and I appreciated the choices they had made. The first thing I noticed was an electrical plug on the top of each bed table--just right for charging any device you might have. The table, while not at the best height it might be, had plenty of plugs as well. The bathroom was very spacious, with a nice, square layout and plenty of counter space. Amenities were made specifically for the Crowne Plaza so I can't comment on the brand. The hotel notes they will provide you with spares of any common toiletry you might have left at home.

The beds are described as having nine layers of comfort and are three-sheeted with many smallish down pillows (there were two standard pillows in the closet). I did not find it the most comfortable bed out there but as I was having horrible back pain from standing for Fantasmic!, they may have been better than I thought. They no longer offer their sleep tight package of sleeping mask and lavender spray (I've carried both in my bag since my first stay at a Crowne Plaza) but their curtains still have a handy clip attached that will help ensure no light enters the room if you don't want it to. (Use the clips on hotel hangers for this purpose if you don't carry your own clip and are a late riser like me!)

The rooms all come with a decently sized refrigerator with freezer section. There was a small coffee maker that made one cup at a time in a regular or to go cup. No tea service (grr!). The standard room includes a sofa bed although I would expect it would be awkward to navigate the room with it extended. The closet was a good size but there was limited drawer storage, which I think would result in a group of four needing to be creative with use of the space.

The pool area was pretty and well landscaped. The pool itself is not large but again, it's not that big of a hotel. I didn't have time for the best look around but it's heated and has several umbrellas and cabanas that seemed to be available for no charge. Poolside dining and drinks are available. They offer Disney and other family friendly movies outside at night in the summers, which I thought was a nice touch.

Coffee drinkers, they offer Diedrich's coffee (a local chain). They are across the street from a Target and Walgreen's. Very close restaurants include Oggi's (local sports-focused pizzeria, Red Robin, and Joe's Crab Shack.

They offer a shuttle to Disney on the half hour. I did not use it this trip but I have used it previously when it was shared with two other hotels (now it is just for the Crowne Plaza). I've always found it to be pretty good.

Downsides:

I found the wallpaper in the hallways a bit dingy compared to the rest of the hotel.

This next is completely my fault. I checked in in a rush, without my reading glasses, and just initialed "here and here." The next day I was informed I had signed off on a resort fee of $14 that included parking, wi-fi, use of their Disney shuttle, and use of the fitness and business centers. Fourteen dollars is actually a really good price for these services. The Hyatt would have cost $28 daily for parking, wi-fi, and shuttle, and the "big" Marriott nearby currently charges $24 JUST for parking. But I'm opposed to resort fees in general (give me the price up front, please, and don't charge me for services I'm not using). This was also the rare occasion I didn't make use of any of these services (normally I would have parked and possibly used the shuttle and/or wi-fi). Had I paid attention to what I was reading, I probably would have argued the fee. (And probably lost the argument, under the contract I signed with Priceline.) Overall, the value was still a good one, the stay was good, and I can recommend this property to others. But given my personal opposition to resort fees, I'm not sure I'll bid in this area again.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2008
Reviewer: TheDisneyDude San Diego, CA.     July 25, 2008
I went here this last April 2008 (I can't remember the exact dates though) and every time I have stayed at this hotel it has been a wonderful experience. We always stay in a standard room which cost's us about $66 a night because our friends cousin works at the hotel and we get the friends and family discount. The bed's are so comfortable and really easy to fall asleep on plus they have all the standard amenities plus a few extra's if you call and ask for them. Since my last trip they added a charge to use the in room safe but it's only a few dollars a day which isn't bad knowing my stuff is safely locked up. I have been staying at this hotel now for the last 2-3 years and I have never had a problem. I do have to agree that yes the parking lot is a little far because it's located in the back of the Hotel, but whenever I'm staying at this hotel we usually just park up front with the valet so we can always get to our car quickly. It's got a free shuttle to Disneyland but I always drive from the hotel to the park so we can leave and come back if we want. It's not that far from the park (maybe a couple of miles at the most) so access to the park itself is really easy. I have had the room service for breakfast and the food was great and not really overpriced but I have never eaten at the restaurant/lounge area here. It's also close (I mean walking distance) to a Red Robin, Outback steak house, and a Joe's Crab Shack. Right across the street they have a target in case you need to get something you may have forget to bring with you, and a couple of fast food places in case your in need of a quick bite to eat. This place is a really great hotel that has gotten a bad rap for to long. Overall this place is wonderful, the staff is great and have always gone the extra mile for us.