Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Desert Palm Inn and Suites
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
631 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   December 27, 2006
Reviewer: momuvseven North of DLR     October 30, 2007
We booked a week here but left after the first night it was so bad. Honestly the worst place we have stayed in the DLR area. Thank you Get Away Today Travel for rebooking us immediately at the Hampton in Garden Grove and saving our vacation.

Noise was one of the biggest problems. The parking is horrendous. The pool, is that a pool or a birdbath? Really just a cement hole in the ground surrounded by towers of rooms. Not even a place to sit and watch the kids.
Breakfast was one of th worst I've seen with many items for sale intermingled with free items which made for confusion. The room was large with nice views of DCA.

The rooms were small, very worn with a very loud fan that came on in the bathroom, it was part of the light switch and could not be seperated.

Stay anywhere but here. It is not any easier to walk from here than other properties in the area.

If you need a big room try Best Western Raffles two room two bath suites or Comfort Inn Maingate for the same. I think you will be much happier at either place.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   July 2005
Reviewer: CA Screamin Northern CA     July 31, 2005
Stayed in the Kalahari Family suite. $189/Night

Pluses: 15 minute walk to Disneyland. Standard continental breakfast. Room was a good size with 4 queens and two full baths. Room had two TVs, a medium size fridge and a microwave. There is a 7-11 minimart next door to the hotel. Put in a early request for maid service and the room was ready when we returned at 1:00PM from DL.

Minuses: Front desk clerk not very informative when checking in. I had to ask for a map of the hotel to find my room. The indoor hallways didn't seem to be air conditioned (seemed like a constant 85 degrees). The elevator was like an oven. My family decided to take the stairs every day. We ended at the far section of the hotel which has only one elevator to cover 4 floors. The pool water was cloudy. Could not really see the bottom of the pool. Room walls were thin. We heard the people next door singing at 7:30AM. Our room was next to the elevator so you constantly heard people waiting for the elevator. Don't plan to move your vehicle. Parking is very limited. Only one parking permit per room. I heard a family complaining at the front desk about the one parking permit rule when they have booked a large suite for 8 people and had two cars. The answer I heard from the desk clerk was "Sorry, I don't have an answer to where you can park the second car."
The layout of the hotel is a little strange. From our room, we would have to take one elevator to the first floor then walk to another elevator to go to the garage level. Also had to take a third elevator to go to the continental breakfast located on the 5th floor. Beware of surpise charges: Daily paper (see small sticker on the cost on the front page). The cost of using the room's safe in the closet is identified only in the hotel book.
The fitness center on the web site shows 7 exercise equipment. Actual had only 4 equipment available.

Overall, we were a little disappointed after reading earlier reviews. For our next trip, we will look for another hotel that can accomodate a larger family.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 26 thru July 1, 2004
Reviewer: jenndisney Dodge City, Kansas     July 09, 2004
We stayed here for 5 nights and it was wonderful. Our room was very clean and gave the three of us (2 adults and 1 child) more than enough room. We had a king suite with whirlpool tub. That tub was wonderful after a day at the park. We got a rate of $105 per night for the room. Our 8 year old daughter slept on the hidabed in the living room area. (Mom and Dad loved being able to close the door and have some time and space to ourselves.)

The pool and restaurants were nice to have right on site. The pool was not large, but for a quick dip it was just fine.

Each morning we would walk about two blocks to the Parking lot and catch the Disney tram to the park. It was nice not having to pay for parking at the park.

We did not take part in the breakfast because we are not breakfast people. The parking is very limited, so when you find a spot, you do not want to move your car.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped to spead a bit of magic our last day. I had left 9 postcards on the table that were all made out, but needed postage. I forgot to pick them up on our way out. We realized it after we left the LA area. I called the front desk and was told not to worry, that they had mailed them for me.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We really enjoyed it.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 7th-11th
Reviewer: bubblyone Portland, OR     April 16, 2004
Our family of six checked into the kids suite on the 7th of April. It was very clean and extremely spacious. With four kids, there was more than enough room. Most of the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, they were very happy to answer all my questions and always had a smile, the only exception was the front desk clerk on Friday evening (late) just didn't seem very happy. The pool is small in size as well as the jacuzzi, but efficient. My only complaint is with the layout of the kids suite, the room with the bunk beds and pull out was the only room with a window. The room with the two queen beds had no window at all and this was a problem with my wife and I. We enjoy seeing outside and this isn't possible from this room. All in all, though it is a very good hotel for the money.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 15 thru March 19
Reviewer: IluvMinnie Denver, Colorado     March 26, 2004
Good News !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I was kinda of scared to stay here with the bad reviews-was glad we took the risk ! We arrived early and couldn't check into the room, as they were sold out the night before and rooms were being cleaned. They offered to check our luggage and gave us a parking pass. We were suppose to have the kids suite,but it wasn't available, so they upgraded us for free to a large family suite - 2 queens in 1 room, a kitchen/dining room and a living room with pull out queen sofa. The kitchen had a sink, microwave, full size refridgerator and dining room table. This room was on the 4th floor and all brand new. There is self serve laundry rooms that helped since we packed light and had to do laundry. We used the air conditioner and heater and were at a comfortable temp. the whole time. The construction was done on everything except the restaurant and gym. The offered a continental breakfast on the 5th floor from 7:30-9:30 every morning- toast,cereal, rolls,oranges,apples,juice and coffee. The gift store in the hotel had very friendly staff and soda in plastic bottle (which you can take to the park) for $1.25 !
We had no problem with noise, in fact it was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Housekeeping was timely and they even folded the towels special everyday. The towels were extra thick and extra big - no motel 6 linens here ! We never took the car out of the covered parking lot during the 5 days we were there. We walked everyday- took about 10 minutes and was fine with kids 15,13 and 9. The room was $98.00 a night (for a kids suite) would have been about $30 more for the suite we were in. We would stay here again in a heartbeat !
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   5/06 - 5/10 2003
Reviewer: sbnuggie (sbbaarryy@comcast.net) Sacramento CA     August 16, 2003
Hello,

WARNING****WARNING****WARNING

Do not stay at this hotel until at least November 2003. They are in the middle of remodeling the entire property and the only hint of it on their website, is a small little blurb at the very bottom of the page (which you have to scroll down to see) stating that the pool area is closed for renovation. Based on that you would think just the pool is being refurbished only. That's an understatement, they're ripping the entire building to shreds and pouring concrete for new units. The entire place is a mess. Oh, did I mention that in California you can begin construction at 7 am! Trust me they start banging and sawing right at 7.

Avoid this place like the plague until construction is complete. The room we were in was the F-2 Suite. It was adequate for our needs. It had not been renovated yet so everything was worn. We had 4 adults and my twin 18 month old daughters. My wife and I setup the porta cribs in our room and Mother and Sister in law slept in the other bedroom. Plenty of room for all of us and with two bathrooms, made it very convienant to get ready in the morning. The only downside was there was only one way to get in and out of the room. Other properties basically have two adjoining rooms and call it a suite, I think that would be better then the end to end format that we had. There was a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker (3 cups), Iron and Ironing board. Also an in room safe which was free to use, big enough to hold a Sony laptop (which I brought to show the girls there Baby Einstein Videos to calm them down, those of you with toddlers know what I'm talking about).

Price is reasonable for what you get, we actually got %15 of of our rate at the end after discussing with the manager the lack of disclosure the property makes regarding the ongoing construction. Ended up being about $95.00 night after discount and including taxes. You get one parking spot per room, despite the number of guests/cars. During the construction, there is one small parking lot on the property, it only holds about eight cars plus two handicap spots. Everyone else has to park across the street at the Joly Roger, huge inconvienance if you plan on driving anywhere. And remember, when I say accross the street, it's Katella Ave, which is 3 lanes in each direction, with high speed traffic zooming by at all times. Take the time to walk down to Harbor and cross at the light (about 100 yards), nothing would ruin a vacation faster then being hit by a car!

There is a continental breakfast served. Be mindful that this is an Anaheim continental breakfast: Oranges, Apples, Toast, Danish, two kinds of Cereal (Cheerios & Corn Flakes), milk and orange juice. Small eating area with plastic chairs and tables. They say you can't take food up to your room. Nobody stopped me or said anything and other guests were as well.

Ease of Access: Pretty easy, but there is walking involved. The property is located at the corner of Harbor and Katella, across the street from the convention center. As you leave the property, you make a right turn and walk for about 300 yards, there is a walkway entrance to the Timon lot, which is back behind DCA. You walk into the parking lot for about another 100 yards to the Timon Pkg Lot Tram. Catch the tram, which comes about every 10 minutes or so, to the front enterance. The time from leaving your room to the front gate at it's longest (Tram wait time) is about 20 miinutes. If you catch a tram right when you get to the parking lot, you can be there in 10 minutes. Convienance/location is the best thing going for this hotel, especially if you have to come back with kids for afternoon naptime. Be mindful that there is some walking to be done but it's not that bad (Especially compared to the walking you do all day visiting the parks) but at the end of the night, it does seem that the hotel is farther then you remembered it being ;-).

Summary:

The renovation is scheduled to be completed 10/2003, but based on the fact that this place is totally being redone, and construction projects are always delayed, I would wait until Nov. or Dec 2003 before going. The rooms are adequate for what you need, a place to sleep and shower. The price and location are good. After the renovation is complete however, the price may skyrocket. As is stands now, I wouldn't recomend this place until the construction is complete. After that, this place should have everything you need.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/10/02 - 5/15/02
Reviewer: Flynn Mountain View, CA     June 07, 2002
Always a wonderful stay. The rooms are somewhat oddly shaped, but extraordinarly well priced for what you get. For $79/night (with AAA discount) you get a good sized room with king sized beds and a whirlpool bath. The rooms are nothing much to look at, but the 6x6 whirlpool tub is amazing at the end of the day.

While the hotel appears far away from the park, a short walk to the Timone parking lot puts you on the parking lot shuttle right to the front gate. Much better than having to wait for one of those shuttle busses.

Be warned, however, they are planning on expanding in the next year or so, taking over the lot of the next hotel over. Construction noises may be present during the day.
 
12 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page