Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel Disneyland Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 60 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   09/07/2008
Reviewer: MFletcher Oxnard, CA     September 08, 2008
WHAT A JOKE! My family and I were excited to finally stay at this hotel after always staying at the off-site hotels, let me say this we were better off at those other hotels. When we pulled in, we decided to park in the valet. It was $17 to do the valet and when the valet guy came to take our keys, my husband asked him if we pay with him or at the desk, my husband handed him a $20, he said that he would take care of it. Fine, so we checked in at 7am and waited at the Monarail for the early entry at 8am. Everything in the park was great, no complaints.
The hotel gave us a number to call to check to see when our rooms were ready. My parents room was ready at 12:30, but ours wasn't. We went back to the hotel to wait since we had connecting rooms. Well, we must of called about 5 times between 12:30 -3:00. The operator was real snotty and rude, kept saying "Gurantee Check-In at 3pm". So I called at 2:58 and she said that we'd have to call back at 3, cuz that's when the room would be ready. Fine, so we called back 2 min. later and she kept putting us on hold and finally at 3:30 the manager gets on the phone to say that we needed to give them 25 more min to clean and that they would lower the room price. By this time we were lit cuz we had dinner reservations at 4:30, and we wanted to clean up first. So at 3:55 we finally got in and we had to hurry.
The rest nite went fine and the following morning my parents checked out before us. She had a question about the bill and the clerk at the front desk was a Rude Jerk with her and basically told her don't bother him and to just read her bill, that would answer her question. She also told him we would be staying until 11 so that can't lock us out of the room. And, come to find out that valet pocketed that $20 and we had to pay for the valet AGAIN! He told us it was our word against his. So I had left to room to go and get ice and guess what my key didn't work and we were locked out. At this point we just wanted to get out for there. Left about 9. When my mother got home she was looking at her billing statements and she noticed was charged $179 instead for the AP price of $169 that she booked it at. After about 3 phone calls to the hotel and customer service they pretty much told her tough and that there was nothing they could do about it. So if you think that staying you will have a Magical Experiance, think again. They talk down to you here and treat u like an idiot considering how much money it costs to stay there.
Oh yeah, and the fridge in our room didn't work and our TV had bad reception! We were in Room 2453 in the DREAMS TOWER.

WE WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!
 
2 out of 33 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   5/25/08 to 5/28/08
Reviewer: RizzotheRat80 Chicago, Illinois     June 02, 2008
Our room was in the Wonder Tower on the 3rd floor facing the koi pond. The room was between $200 to $250 a night. We had just gotten off the Panama Canal Disney Cruise. Our smaller stateroom on the ship was nicer than the room at The Disneyland Hotel. Our room's upkeep was not good at all. The carpet was extremely dirty, ripped (repaired with duct tape), and there was a huge stain (which looked like it was either blood or feces) on the carpet. The bathroom was semi-clean (the tile grout was stained with something). The room temp gauge wasn't working real well because it would say that the room was colder than it actually was.

We were there Memorial Day weekend which was a big mistake. The crowds in the parks were terrible because all of the locals were there. I found a lot of the tourists/locals at Disneyland are way ruder than Disney World. At Disney World people appologize if they bump into you and at Disneyland forget it, they just run you over and keep going. The bathrooms were not clean at all. The park was not kept up very well at all. There was only one Monorail running; they were testing a new one. The Disneyland Express to the Airport was very disorganized (the driver didn't know what airlines people were going to and almost missed a few drop offs).

The three days we were in Disneyland I was very disappointed with. The west coast and Californians can keep it, I'm sticking to Disney World.
 
12 out of 49 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/8-1/13
Reviewer: lbrackjo Seattle, WA     January 15, 2008
We booked AP5 rate for downtown disney view $188/nt. Room was on 6th floor of the Dreams tower. (Others in our party had pool-side views in Dreams tower.) 2 Qs. room was clean, but the flo bulbs in the lamps left it a bit dark at times. about the size of a Paradise Pier room, but the bathroom is bigger. Very quiet at night, no hallway noise. A little above room shower/toilet noise. Excellent HVAC system.
Check in was slowish, but not bad. On only one of the morinings was coffee put out in the tower lobby--it was available each moring in the main tower lobby.
No problems with elevator waits. Very little interaction with CMs becasue you don't go thru the main lobby after checking in for this tower.
AAA rates it as 3 stars and that is right on the mark for the room. The pool area and access to on-site resturants makes it a 4 planet rating.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 2 thru Dec 7, 2007
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
We arrived around 7:30 pm or so on Sunday Dec 2, 2007. The parking was a little confusing since we were not sure if we could valet just our luggage with self parking. It turns out we could but didn't know that until later and ended up lugging the baggage to our room. The lobby was empty and we were able to walk right up to the check in area. The check in process was a pleasure. The CM was more than helpful and our room was upgraded to a pool view which was beautiful. Our room with a king bed was perfect for the two of us. We got the special AP room rate of around $149 or so before tax and extras. I could see how the regular room rate of apprx $350 would be a bit excessive for the room size but the sale price was great! We received a folder upon check-in explaining all the ins and outs of the hotel. Our bed was incredibly comfortable which made it hard to be on time for the early entry that comes with the resort hotels. Mousekeeping was terrific with new soaps and lotions provided each day. The walking distance to all attractions was easy and close. This is coming from a 53 year old fat butt with past ankle and knee injuries who walks at a snails pace! Everything was close even after spending the entire day at the parks. Once we left our car we never used it the entire week! Totally awesome! One kinda strange thing happened that is still puzzling us: On Tuesday I developed a huge blister on the bottom of my foot. I was complaining about it and wondering how to take care of it so I could continue walking the park the next day. Weds morning I noticed there was the message light flashing on the phone. It was a guest service CM who said they were aware that someone in our party was not feeling well and they just wanted to remind us that their service was available for any of our needs. Whoa!!! Talk about magic!!!! Oh.....we stayed in the Magic Tower, 5th floor facing the pool area. The pixie dust wall paper worked beautifully and we also enjoyed the classic Disney cartoons and bedtime stories on the hotel channel. This hotel is wonderful and we look forward to seeing how the refurbishment will update it.
 
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/1/07 - 10/4/07
Reviewer: Sussya Phoenix, AZ     October 06, 2007
We LOVE this hotel! We've stayed here on two separate occasions, and have enjoyed ourselves immensely. The first time (in January 2005), we stayed in the Wonder Tower (Sierra) and it was such a wonderful stay, we decided we would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are very nice and spacious. We paid the AP rate of $89/night, which was over $150 off the regular rate.

The second stay was in October 2007, and I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews here. All my fears were dispelled when we arrived. Everything was perfect! We paid $149/night on our AP rate, which was more than usual. It was still worth every penny. We stayed in the Magic Tower (Marina) and although it was different, it was every bit as nice. The staff is wonderful, and they allowed us to check-in several hours early. When our room wasn't ready at 3:30, they offered to treat us to ice cream at Goofy's Kitchen. Mousekeeping was great! Our room was always clean and fresh when we returned from the park. The kids love the pixie dust border and the Mickey Mouse wake-up calls. It's so nice to take the Monorail from the park and be home in minutes. And the Neverland Pool was so much fun. The kids enjoyed the water slides and all the special Disney touches (like Ariel next to the jacuzzi).

The grounds are well kept, and are beautiful to walk around in the evening. Don't miss the waterfall pond at night! It's beautiful!

Our only complaint is that this hotel books fast. We had to book our last night at the Howard Johnson, and after the DLH the HoJo looked like a cheap motel. It was disappointing. We paid $143/night for the HoJo, and we felt cheated. We wished we could have spent our last night at the Disneyland Hotel, but we were glad we had the opportunity to visit again for part of the vacation. It's well worth the money. We'll definitely be back!
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 17 - June 22, 2007
Reviewer: dcreinken Trenton, NJ     June 24, 2007
We stayed on points from Disney Vacation Club, so the category booked was standard. Arrived for check-in at 1 pm. Very efficient, complete with a DVC folder for materials and a "welcome home." We requested Marina Building at check-in (but meant Sierra, where we stayed last time, but got the buldings confused!) which wasn't a problem. After being happy they could accommodate us right away, I didn't change the request to Sierra at that point.

The room, with two Queens, overlooked the Coffe house location with a glimpse of the main pool through the trees. Just as spacious as Sierra, though the bathroom (one sink, separate room for toilet) was a different configuration. Everything was clean and fresh, mousekeeping was great. Bags delivered within 5 minutes of calling for them. Elevators were always prompt.

No exterior noise, unless balcony door was open; no noise from other rooms or hall.

My one complaint would be the difficulty of regulating the water temperature in the shower and the slowness of the drain in the sink (solved by removing the stopper entirely). Water temp stayed consistent if hot was turned on first and then cooled down with the cold, instead of the other way around. I recall Sierra Tower being a little better in the plumbing area.

All in all - very convenient; great, friendly service; nice grounds and pool. I would definitely stay here again.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   First week of March 2007
Reviewer: Inkyprintz Schaumburg, IL     June 23, 2007
I work in the travel industry and booked an industry discount so I did not expect a view- and did not get one! Our room over looked the shops- I don't recall the tower but it was the one across from Downtown Disney. We had no issues with noise- from outside or from the rooms around us. Our room was spacious, clean and had adorable Disney accents in the decor. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in, or for a number of hours later but that wasn't really an issue. And when we got in the room and called for our bags to be delivered, they arrived so quickly it didn't seem humanly possible! Our only real complaint was that one of our elevator banks was out of order and there were no soda machines in our building which I found odd for a hotel that size. Neither was a big problem though so I would have no qualms about staying there again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/21/06-12/26/06
Reviewer: AliCat Tracy, CA     January 12, 2007
We have stayed at the Disneyland Hotel many times and I felt it was time to write a review. I will base it on our last stay over the Christmas holiday. Me, my husband and our 3 children (8, 12, 15) stayed in a concierge room on the 11th floor of the Sierra tower facing Downtown Disney. Our room rate was $396/night plus tax and resort fee. Check-in was quick and it only took about 5-10 minutes. Our room was very good sized with 2 Queen beds and a daybed. The view was terrific, we could see Disneyland, Downtown Disney and California Adventure from our window. We also had a fairly good view of the fireworks. Our room was right next to the Concierge lounge (now called the E-ticket Lounge), but we never were bothered by any noise from there. The only noise that we heard was the door from the neighbor next door, since we were behind a common main door, but that wasn't really bothersome. We had ordered a Christmas tree and stockings from Vacation planning and they were already set up in our room when we arrived. We really love the concierge lounge and the availability of drinks and snacks all day, the continental breakfast and evening snacks and beverages. It's also nice to be able to watch the fireworks from there complete with music.

Our only complaint really was the difficulty in getting through to the front desk when something was needed. We were supposed to get turn down service every night due to being concierge level and we had to ask for it since we didn't receive it the first 3 nights we were there. (We kept trying to get through to the front desk and just gave up the first 2 nights because we had better things to do than wait on hold). A small item, but a nice touch that the kids enjoy. Getting the disney chocolates every night is a treat and we felt since we paid for it, we should have been getting it.

All the CM's that we encountered were nice and helpful. We just feel that staying here keeps the Disney magic going even when we're not at the park.

We had dinner at Steakhouse 55 on Christmas Day and the food was delicious and the service was excellent. It is pricey, but it was worth it for a nice Christmas dinner.

The monorail was working for part of our stay and made getting into Disneyland very easy. We did walk through Downtown Disney on several days though, and it really isn't a bad walk, maybe 10 minutes. We don't have very small children, so it's not a problem. Although we didn't use it this trip, the pool is great for a relaxing afternoon swim with the kids.

We prefer this hotel to the GCH, it has much more Disney ambiance, and I felt the service was better. The room was also bigger and more comfortable for our family of 5. It's our favorite place to stay when at Disneyland.
 
46 out of 46 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   9/5/06 to 9/9/06
Reviewer: Rabbit (tigger9394@sbcglobal.net) Fernley, Nevada     September 19, 2006
We had a room on the top floor over looking the Neverland pool. We could hear only the activity in the hallway. I liked the room. Two Queen size beds, T.V., and refridgerator. Disapointing that we did not have a balcony to enjoy the view. We also could not open our sliding glass door. Makes it kind of hard to warn anybody that we are in the room in case of an emergency, don't cha think? I was also dissapointed that the room didn't have a coffee pot. It comes with everything else. An ironing board, and iron, a hairdryer but no coffee pot. Next time I travel with my coffee pot.
I wasn't fond of the prices for roomserivice either. The food was second rate to say the least. No flavor. The second day they didn't completly finish cleaning the room either. No breakfast menu was left either.
I was very happy with the upkeep on the grounds. Also the service of the crew or cast members. Helpful, pleasant, always smiling.
The prices are what you expect staying in place like Disneyland. But we are furgal when it comes to spending our money we work hard for. We just thought it would be a fun experience. It was. I guess I had my sights set a little to high.
 
9 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 1st thru 4th
Reviewer: cwillis phoenix, arizona     September 11, 2006
pros:
staying on site, it is a nice walk through downtown disney
being able to call the front desk for info and reservations
excellent service by hotel employees
nice views if you check in early and ask/pay for them
cute blond furniture with disneyland engravings
tiny balcony on which you may enjoy your view, and possibly fireworks
awesome pool for kids
early entry

cons:
walk is actually 10 - 15 minutes from front gate
noise: walls are paper thin. you can hear activity in halls and outside.
noise: many rooms have adjoining doors, adding to the noise
noise: my fridge made a loud, high-pitched buzzing noise. they did bring up a new one within 20 minutes.
worn/dingy carpets. dirty grout in tile in bathroom.
size: my room was about 10 feet by 12 feet. Would have been WAY too small for more than 2 people on a two night stay. (this was a standard room in the bonita tower tenth floor.)
very random and unappealing art if any in the halls and rooms
overall disappointing aura in the rooms compared to the delightful detailing in the parks.
OVER 200 dollars per night.

These cons were a big deal for me. overall, i feel i got a poor value. I would recommend a nicer motel around the corner by the convention center called the Alpine Inn, which runs about 60 per night and better amentities.
 
9 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page