Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel Disneyland Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 60 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   7/3/06-7/7/06
Reviewer: kiki L.A. California     July 09, 2006
This was one of the worst expriences that I have ever had at this hotel. We made a request not to stay in the Bonita Tower because of a previous bad experience a couple of years ago( the linen closet on the 4th floor caught on fire) and that tower is just too far to walk to and from. We made our reservations in March for two ajoining rooms in one of the other two towers, mainly the Sierra tower because it's the closest to Downtown Disney. When we checked in we were placed in the Bonita Tower on the 4th floor. The manager of the Disneyland hotel said they never recieved our request, but we booked thru the Walt Disney Travel Company which what you use to book vacation packages. They said the hotel was sold out and they could not move us into another tower. The only good thing about our room was it was clean and we had a semi pool view. A good thing about the hotel was the pool was warm but that could have been due to the fact that is 90 + degrees and humid. The kids and I did enjoy the water slide and the baby enjoyed the kiddie water slide. I recommend that if you have a special request for any of the resort hotels and book thru the Walt Disney Travel Company, make sure that they send your request along with the resevation and check with the hotel to ensure that they have recieved it. Also the soda machines in the Bonita Tower were never stocked with the right drinks. I spend $2.50 on what should have been a Sprite and got Water. I know that you should drink water but I had plenty of water bottles in our room and did not want to spend money on something that I already had. Word to the wise get a soda from the snack bar Croc Bits and Bites they close at 10pm.
 
12 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   3/25-29-06
Reviewer: mickey fan65 Hanover, IN     June 30, 2006
I hate to say it but i have mixed feelings about this hotel. The decor and landscaping is superb, and the pool/lifeguards were great. So why the mixed feelings? For starters my room was not ready when I was told it would be and when I returned after that time (I was told 3--it was 4:15 when we finally made it back) I was treated very curtly and told there was nothing to be done but wait until 5 at the earliest. I was stunned as I've never been treated rudely by any Disney employee. Returning to the park was a pain as the monorail was broken down on our first day. On our last day to be in the park-which was also our morning for Toontown Madness, we discovered our outlet in the vanity area didn't work. As the hair dryer is anchored into that outlet, my 11 year old daughter had wet hair and it was 45 degress outside, I had a problem. I called the front desk and guest services, but no one answered. Evidently customer service doesn't start until after 8. I then called the Disney Travel Co (who booked my trip) and ended up on hold for half an hour. After desscribing the problem, I asked them to get it fixed and we went on to the park in hopes of not missing out on TM. We ended up missing Toontown Madness and still ended up in the park with wet hair. When we returned to the hotel, it still wasn't fixed. Upon discussing this matter with customer service both at the hotel and travel company (I presented them with date/time and the name of the employee involved), I rec'd no help or understanding. (I was offered a autograpehed photo--not quite the same as meeting MIckey) Not at all what I expected from Disney. Given that this trip was a big splurge for us, I resented the treatment I rec'd but still enjoyed the beautiful surroundings. My advice is that if it is well within your budget and you have plenty of time (a week or more)by all means stay here. Otherwise, stay at a good neighbor hotel, you'll save money and have better service.
 
7 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 17 through May 20, 2006
Reviewer: Nancywitt Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania     May 25, 2006
I have to start this review by saying I love this hotel. For me it is the perfect Disney hotel to stay at while visiting Disneyland. We have previously stayed there one time last March and loved it so much we had to stay there again. Because of the 50th Anniversary going on, it was hard to get a room, but we were persistant. We were able to book a room for the nights we wanted about five days before our trip, that is when a lot of people cancel. The only room that we could get at a decent rate was a city view. We used a travel industry discount and got the rate of $168 per night before taxes and fees.

We arrived at the airport around11:30am, rented a car and arrived at the hotel around 1pm. We immediately checked in. There was no wait and our CM who helped us, Alex, was great. I didn't ask for any upgrades because I knew the hotel was full. He assigned us the Sierra tower and I knew we would either be facing the pool or Downtown Disney. So much for city view. Our room was great! It faced the pool and had two queen beds and a day bed, just as I had hoped. Alex upgraded us and didn't even tell us. Thanks Alex!

The kids wanted to go swimming right away, so we did. It is such a fun pool, a nice environment, a great slide and a huge hot tub. I got us all snacks and drinks at the bar and we were one happy family. We also checked out the quiet pool. That pool was nice because it was a bit more shallow for my six year old, and it was right next to a volley ball net with sand everyone. Bring a bucket!

The great thing about this hotel is the closness to DD and the parks. Other people complain about the walk, but we didn't mind it. It was fun walking through DD and it put you in a good mood for the parks. One morning we even stopped for baignets and coffee. Yummo!

I'm afraid we didn't eat at any of the restaurants this time around. We were only there for 2 1/2 days and we wanted maximum time in the parks. Since I am an early raiser, I would go down to the Coffee House at the hotel and get breakfast for everyone. The boys ate cereal, bagels with cream cheese and a muffin with orange juice to drink. My husband ate a banana, an apple, a yogurt and a pastry. I always got a latte and a blueberry scone with all the jelly I could eat. It was pricey, but I knew that going in. But the food was good and filling and kept us going until lunch. It was fun getting the food around 7am when there were not a lot of people and then taking it back to our room and waiting for everyone else to wake up.

The gift shop they have there is great. That was one of our first stops when we checked it. I had to get a Minnie for our Mickey back home. Everyone we meet at the hotel was very friendly and nice. It seemed like they really enjoyed working there!

It was sad to leave on Saturday, but they had our bill under our door and since everything on it was correct, we just walked out. We had bought golden Mickey ears the night before and had a CM take one more picture of us in front of their neat 50th Anniversary display they had outside. The picture turned out perfect, just like our stay!
 
32 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   29 November - 3 December 2005
Reviewer: emmah australia     January 18, 2006
I *loved* the DLH. Previously I had always sworn that I would never pay to stay at a resort hotel when there are so many good value neighbouring hotels, but I may have difficulty sticking to this in the future. I booked on the AP rates ($89 per night, plus taxes and resort fees - it came to about $108 a night). I was on the 6th floor in the Sierra tower, right on the corner, looking over DTD. The kingsize bed was ultra comfy, the view superb, the bathroom and amenities fabulous. The only disappointment was that my pixie dust did not work. I used the pool each evening when I got home and it was a great way to wind down. The location was really convenient late at night (jumping on the monorail after the fireworks instead of traipsing down mainstreet with the hordes and then walking up Habour, was bliss), and the early entry each day was fantastic. I may become one of those people who organises their trips around AP rates at the DLH!
 
20 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/18-12/22/2005
Reviewer: CamCay Oakdale, California     December 22, 2005
wow! best trip ever to disneyland this year. The Disneyland hotel is our favorite; we have stayed at the other two resort hotels and have concluded this hotel has the most to offer our family. This particular check-in experience was flawless(less than five minutes), all of our special requests were met(adjoining rooms, high up floor, sierra tower, downtown disney view), and we were upgraded AT NO CHARGE to the Presidential Suite in the Sierra Tower, rooms 2953, 2957, 2959 on the 11th floor (top of the tower). It was more than we requested and offered by the CM checking us in (Matt C.). The Lost Bar is our favorite place to grab a casual bite and the kids enjoy the boats. The Fantasia Shop has an excellent selection of Disneyland apparel, pins, hats, etc. The Coffee Shop has great coffee and though the pastries seemed a little dry. We did not experience Goofy's Kitchen on this visit; though last year we did and found it pleasant and with many choices for the buffet. It is one of those things you must experience once, as the characters are abundant and stop at each table, but once is enough, as the cost is a little more than normal. This is a first class establishment and i could not go to disneyland without staying at this hotel. The pool is fantastic, housekeeping exceptional, and a great secret is that you can enter California Adventure through the Grand Californian by showing your hotel room key. It is so much faster than the main entry and gives you a chance to check out the inside of GC (though i did not enjoy our stay there, the lobby is incredible!)
 
23 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 27-30, 2005
Reviewer: potterphreak Modesto, CA     December 03, 2005
One word: Excellent!! We booked two rooms with a pool view and were placed in the Sierra Tower, rooms 2336 and 2338. 2338 had 2 queen beds and a day bed and 2336 (right next door) had a king size bed. From check-in to check-out, we were nothing but amazed and delighted with this hotel and it's staff. Check-in took about 5 minutes, bell services brought up our luggage and we were free to explore the parks. Walk to DTD took about 2 minutes and 3 minutes after that we were at the Monorail which took us into Tomorrowland. Staying here was ultra convenient and I do not think I will ever stay anywhere else in Anaheim.
 
15 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 6-10, 2005
Reviewer: baosmom (ovittlv@yahoo.com) Las Vegas     November 21, 2005
All I can say is I willl NEVER stay anywhere else! We stayed in the Bonita Tower. The rooms were spacious (2 @AP rate of $89 p/n!); awesome view; Mickey wake-up call; Disney-theme in rooms (we had the Jungle Cruise and New Orleans Square); new carpet, towels and linens. The only thing that disappointed me was the "pixie-dust" border didn't work. The atmosphere was the best, it truly made it more wonderful to us. The only weird thing was no liners in the wastebaskets. Pool was never used but we walked past it every night and it was always in use. We nibbled at Croc's Bits and Bites and had drinks at the bar. We had the internet access for our laptop so we could work and check email and stuff. We also ate breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen. This, too, a must! The characters come to you and sit down and chat. The had dancing and other fun activities to do while eating. And the food was pure Disney. All named after characters!
Seriously, I could go on and on. You just have to experience it for yourselves!!
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sept 13th - 19th 2005
Reviewer: ima_mickeyfan athena, oregon     October 20, 2005
This vaction was for a family of 6 - 2 adults, 4 children ages 4,5,8 & 10. Rate was about $475 per night x's 6 nights. We stayed in a 1 bdrm suite in the Marina tower over looking the pool. This hotel was just awesome, upon arrival to the front doors, we were greated immediatly by Valet (can't remember the gentleman's name) Anyway dh was trying to help get the luggage out of the Mini Van, and the gentleman told dh "Please let me do this for you, you are on vacation". WOW DH was impressed. Since we arrived way before checkin, he just kept our bags for us, wrote down the number of items on the cart and handed us our ticket. The childrens faces just lit up as we walked down the walk way to the front desk, they were excited to see the statues of Mickey. We arrived early and did our early check in, was told our room was not ready yet, that's fine. The children were handed cinderella tattoos and pooh and friend post cards. I was then handed 6 yellow envelopes each one had a name on it. Upon opening the envelopes there were 8x10 autographed photos of our favorite characters. We liked taking the monorail to the park and enjoyed the short walk to it. We took advantage of the pool a few nights while we were there. The pool seemed way to cold for it being a "heated" pool. the kids mostly stayed in the hot tub. dd age 5 was disappointed that she was not allowed to go down the water slide. Nice to see that there were several lifeguards on duty. Our room was nice and spacious, the only disappointment was that the garbage can was full of half eaten food, but no big deal. I do have to say the only problem that we had in the room was flushing the toilets, dd's ages 4 & 5 were not strong enough to push the button down nor did they want to be in there because the flushing noise was way 2 loud. The pixie dust border in our room did not glow as well as expected even with me leaving the lights on before bed for an extra charge...loved the mickey hand lights in the bathroom. We didn't have time to explore the water shows or waterfalls on the hotel property so we are planning another stay at the same hotel so that we can do so. This hotel is good for first time visiters who want to experience more disney magic than what the park has to offer.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July14th,July15th,July 16th,July 17th
Reviewer: MansionLover Florida     July 21, 2005
I stayed at THE Disneyland Hotel for the supposedly "SPECIAL" 50th anniversary.Well it STANK!The Hotel did NOTHING special for hotel guests and actually let about 5,000 OUTSIDE people who waited in line at the California Adventure the day before Disneyland opened on the 17th for some silly pin.We paid OVER $400 a night($1600 TOTAL)for the so called "Privledge" of staying on sight and Disneylands suits REALLY BLEW IT!I mean what was the POINT of us spending all that money and receiveing NOTHING SPECIAL in return?We got NO special treatment or early admittance.The Monorail just sat at the station till after 5000 pin collectors went in AHEAD of HOTEL GUESTS.What a load of Baloney!MANY Hotel guests were LIVID and rightfully so.What Disney SHOULD have done was give each Registered Hotel Guest On sight a "I Was There Pin" for ACTUALLY BEING THERE,and let us in FIRST.They should also have given out vouchers AT THE GATE for the fans who waited for their pins,they were sent to line afte rline after line.I heard them complaining too.What a RIPOFF!
 
9 out of 56 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 1-5. 2005
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     June 19, 2005
We lucked out with our Downtown Disney view room on the 6th floor of the Sierra Tower at a Cast Member friends and family rate of $225/night. (Say hi to my amazing friend, CM Shari at Star Tours/Fantasmic!) Hubby, myself, 3 1/2 y/o son, and my mother were quite comfortable in the large room with 2 queen beds, armoir w/ 27 in. TV, sofa daybed, desk, and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was large with two sinks and a shower/tub combo, then a separate door to the camode. The noise from Downtown Disney was never a factor as most of the sound was filtered out (never even heard the neighbors next door or above!), and the floor to ceiling windows on were slightly tinted, making the glare not bad at all. One night, we watched the fireworks from our room and opened the sliding glass door to hear the accompaning music playing in Downtown Disney. Very magical!

We used the Monorail to enter the parks on the days we went right into Disneyland, and never had to wait more than 2-3 minutes. The main enterence was only a short 5 minute walk through DTD - not bad if you are going to DCA or want to enter DL via Main Street. It only seems like a long walk back if you have stayed at the Grand Californian before and look longingly at that hotel as you walk past with aching feet after a long day.

The only problem we encountered was on the 3rd night of our stay. There were many teens/early 20's staying in the hotel - some on our floor - and one group decided to prank phone call our room. After the 3rd call, we contacted guest services and asked them to block our room phone until 7:30am the next morning. The calls stopped right then.

With the overall Disney themeing and close proximity to the parks, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. There's just something more magical about being imersed in Disney at your hotel while on a trip to the resort.
 
21 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page