Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel Disneyland Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 60 ( Displaying Reviews: 41 - 50 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 17th to 21st 2004
Reviewer: MeganPierce (meganpiercern@aol.com) Nebraska     May 25, 2004
We stayed in a concierge park view room. Check-in was a breeeze. There was no one in the lobby. I was suprised that our room (Sierra Tower 2839) was ready at 12:30. We stopped by the room. It looked nice but nothing super swanky. Similar to a Sheraton. Our view was fantastic. Right above Downtown Disney. We headed up to the concierge lounge (this was my favorite part of the trip). We ate many meals here and were able to take pop, juice boxes, and water to stock our fridge in our room. The food there was good. Breakfast was cereal, rolls and fruits. The evening hour had breads, crackers, cheeses, salsa and chips, veggies, assorted dips, and wine. Beer was available to purchase. At night they had milk, cookies and reice krispie treats. We checked out DVDs from the concierge lounge because the Toon Disney cable channel did not come in good in our room. The pools were nice but it was very chilly when we were there so we did not swim a lot. My family actually like the quite pool near the sand area over the Peter Pan pool. The fountains were nice. The walk to the monorail was not very far. To get to the front gate wasn't too bad but on the way back after a long day at the park it can feel like forever. Now for the down side of the hotel. Someone around our room was smoking. It was very strong in our room. My husband has asthma and the smell of it makes me nauseated. The first time I smelled it I notified guest services because the Sierra Tower is supposed to be nonsmoking. They told me they could not make anyone quit smoking in there room because it was a violation of their privacy. So we had to move rooms which made me upset. When I went down to the main desk the staff was very unfriendly. We were moved to Sierra Tower 2847. This room was partially located behind the concierge elevator which blocked our view of the DL park. We could only see DCA. Also the birds have nests built behind the elevator so our "balcony" was covered in bird poop. We really never opened the windows in the new room for fear a bird would fly in. The room was nice. We had 2 queen size beds and a daybed. There was a table with 2 chairs and a desk with a chair too. The bathroom had a double sink, full tub and a seperate room for the toilet. The closet was ok in size and had a wall safe. After the big smoking event I was near the pool and could see many people standing out on their balconies smoking in the Sierra tower. The annoying thing is the non smoking policy really isn't posted anywhere so these people may have not known. The rooms don't come with ashtrays though. If I had to do it over again I would have stayed at GC because first, it is an enforced no smoking hotel, second it is closer to the parks, third, they offer an early morning tour of DCA with a ride on soarin' (we tried to do this but since we were at DLH they said no) and fourth, after walking through it I wished I had stayed there because it is really beautiful.
 
19 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/04/04 - 4/08/04
Reviewer: Zigen     April 09, 2004
Wife, 2 kids 2.5/7yr. and me booked the cheapest price we could find, City View. When we arrived, vacation planning goofed up and only ordered 2 reserved seats for Fantasmic instead of 3. Not a big deal in my book, they quickly got another seat. It took an extra 5 mins but it was well worth it. When we got to our room I noticed that they had put us in a very good spot to view the fireworks facing the parking lot on the east end of the Marina tower. I thought to myself, the front desk upgraded our room after the mix up with our reserved seating. Perfect since our 2.5 yr old needed to be put to bed at 9:30ish at night, we could watch the water show at the hotel then watch the fire works from the room then go to sleep.

The room was great. It included a couch, a fairly big entry room, comfy beds, nice closet with extra pillows blankets, safe and sheets, bathroom was well stocked with towels soap shampoo etc. TV, fridge, it was everything we needed. We never had to wait for the elevator more than 1 or 2 mins on the 7th floor. The cleaning crew was great, did everything as expected of them.

A big plus was the fact there was a lot to do at the hotel. You had the great resturants, pools, water show, koi ponds, water falls, RC boats, a nice gift shop, arcade, coffee shop. With the 2.5 yr old it was nice to be able to spend a day relaxing at the hotel and still be able to do stuff without going to the very crowed park. Goofy even made several appearances at the front door which made my kids happy.

The peter pan pool was nice but we liked the smaller less crowed pools near the water show more. It ran from 2 ft deep (perfect for my 2.5 yr old) to 5 feet. This pool was heated. The peter pan pool would have been nice but just seemed to many people were in it. It was 4 ft deep throughout and deeper where the water slide was. The littler pools had just a handful of people using it Also by the smaller pools was a play ground and sand area.

Monorail was great. Never had to wait more than 1 tram to get on. The hotel gives you a fastpass to the monorail "express boarding" so that you dont have to wait in line at tomorrowland to get back to the hotel. This was very nice since the line to the monorail was always long at tomorrowland.

The walk to the parks were not bad at all. Took about 10-12 mins to walk from toontown to the hotel (hard to tell because we stopped at the stores in DTD). The walk never bothered my family or me.

All in all I don't think I could have been happier with this hotel. I'll most likely book a room next year here. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
 
28 out of 29 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/7/04-2/11/04
Reviewer: cactusgirl Lubbock, TX     February 18, 2004
Party of 3--two adults, one three year old. We booked a city view--cheapest--and were upgraded to pool view. We had an incredible room. However, some members of our party did not have incredible rooms. Thus, I have decided that it is the type of room, not the tower that is the most important thing. We were in Bonita Tower, 11th floor. When you walked into our room, you walked into an 8 x 8 "entry hall." The "hall" included a desk. The closet was across from the desk. The bathroom was off of this "entry hall." This area was VERY nice as we had our jogging stroller with us and we could leave it in this area without cluttering the room. The room included two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The beds were--muy bueno. The room itself was very large. Outside of our windows, you could see all of the pools and even part of the parks. It was incredible. Walking into our tower, we would pass the water gardens. The sound of the waterfalls is so refreshing. It would always bring a smile to our faces when we walked in--no matter how tired we were. Then there were my in-laws rooms. . .they were in the Sierra tower--what we had originally requested. One room was tiny. It had a king bed, chair, desk, and entertainment center. Our room was almost twice as large as this one. Although they had a "pool" view--8th floor--they were on the West side of the tower. All the rooms on this side got to see the roof of Hook's Pointe. If you walked out on the balcony you could see more, but basically they had no view. Now, another group was on the 7th floor Sierra Tower with a Downtown Disney view. Their room had a king bed and a sleeper sofa--what we had originally requested. I am so glad that we did not get this room. It did not have the "foyer" area. You walked in--bathroom the the left, closet to the right. The room held a bed, entertainment center, sofa, and a desk in the corner. Square foot wise, it was 2/3 the size of our room. Now, all the rooms were nice, but if you want space, request TWO QUEENS with a sofa. They also have rooms with double beds. Once again, these were much smaller rooms. Now, some people have complained that Bonita is the most removed tower. You may have to walk an extra 100 feet for it. However, in our estimation, to have the room we did with the view, it was worth it.

Now, the best part of staying at the hotel--the service. It was my husband's birthday and every request we had was met--even though we were in a "standard" room. For your birthday, they provide a button, an autographed picture of your favorite character, and some balloons. Usually, you can pick this up at the front desk. But, I wanted a surprise for my husband, so they agreed to deliver it to the room. Anytime we had any request, they granted it. I have never had such service--from teh bell hops who gave the kids "adventure rides" on the luggage carts to the waitstaff at Gooffy's Kitchen--all smiles--to the "pampering" we received at Hook's Pointe. The service was superb. We had a great time and will be going back soon.
 
27 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/1/04-2/5/04
Reviewer: JohnnyBravo Tucson, AZ     February 06, 2004
My wife, Daughter 5 yrs. old and myself booked a 5 day concierge package at Disneyland Hotel with Disney Travel Company. The dates we stayed were 2/1/04-2/5/04. Off season and the best time to go....
We arrived at the Hotel about 8am, the room wasn't ready but they gave us our concierge keys to enjoy the lounge before hitting the parks. (Check in is 3pm, or if they have a room ready) They honored our request for the Sierra tower, where Concierge lounge is located on 11th floor.
We checked our luggage at the Bell desk and enjoyed a fantastic spread of continental breakfast items at the concierge lounge. Bagels, pastries, coffee, fruit. (Basically the food is the same as the character breakfast but without the hot items. ) Since it was Sunday, the concierge lounge was crowded, but not so that you coudn't get a table. We were the only ones there Monday-Thursday to give you an idea of what kind of crowd the concierge lounge has. We grabbed some bottled water for the park and headed out to Disneyland via monorail. The monorail takes a little longer than the 5 minute walk to the front gate of either Disneyland or California Adventure. It's not far people...Don't believe the reviews that claim it's a long ways to the gates from the Disneyland Hotel...Longest line waited on Sunday 20 minutes for Autopia...Rest of the week no wait for any ride. Monday-Thursday best time to go to either park. It's well worth going during Off peak months like January-February. To put it another way, we went back to the Hotel late afternoon Wednsday because we had done everything at both parks about 3 times each...
Checked into Hotel at 3 that day. Stayed 10th floor of Sierra Tower. Perfect location to get to lounge. Nice room with DVD Player and free DVD rental at concierge lounge. No complaints about room size or anything, we were just there to sleep. .....
After 10am each day lounge has chips, cookies, preztels, fish crackers, apples. Cokes, bottled water, Juice boxes available at anytime. 5-7pm Assortment of cheeses, chips and dips, veggie-trays, cookies, rice krispie squares and all the wine you can drink. Nice variety of 7 types of wines. (Price at bar for a glass of wines to buy is $7 per glass), take advantage of these 2 hours.
We only ate a late lunch everyday, because we were too full from Breakfast, snacks, from Concierge lounge to eat anymore. Great trip. Well worth the money to stay at Disneyland Hotel Concierge Level.
 
18 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/27/03 - 12/31/03
Reviewer: whiles (whiles@lbl.gov) Oakland, CA     January 06, 2004
Well we stayed at the Disneyland hotel again this trip down (5th of the year - 3 previous stays at Paradise Pier)

The first stay in October we stayed in the Marina tower with a great view of the Parking Lot - but a good view of the Fireworks.

This time we stayed in the Bonita Tower and though I liked the Waterfalls near the entrance, I could not help but feel shoved off to the corner : > (~.

The hotel staff were wonderful and friendly as normal. Handed out some stickers for our Niece and Nephew who accompanied us and the cartoons in the lobby are a lifesaver while the adults wait in line to check in or out.

The gift shop is really the best at Disneyland Hotel compared to the other hotels although Pardise Pier's is close second.

The resturants at the Hotel leave something to be desired. Goofy's kitchen isthe showcase destination but I have have good a bad experiences there. Sometimes you get seated where the characters come around so often it takes and hour for you to finish your first plate, and sometimes your off in siberia, where it hard to meet goofy in one hour. This trip to goofy's was so so - Lots of characters but a snooty waitress who did not check on us even once to see how we are doing. : > { GRR!

To sum this trip up the Hotel stay was nice, bonita tower is not that great, I recommend the "Sierra" tower especially for viewing the fireworks and Downtown Disney.

Goofy's kitchen is a must on at least one day especially if you have children with you - but don't forget to call ahead there is no more walk up seating : > ( .

A good trip - but left me wanting more and not having the feeling of being stuck in a corner. I look forward to our February trip in 2004 and asked ahead if we could get the Sierra tower.

PS Great advice to those on Birthday trips - City Hall in Disneyland has a Birthday call from Goofy available just ask the CM inside for details.

Thanks,
whiles
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 18, 2003 - October 22, 2003
Reviewer: derraj25 Mid-Willamette Valley, OR (Eugene Area)     January 06, 2004
We booked concierge level accomidations through our local travel agent. When we arrived at the hotel, the check-in line was extraneously long. I was told upon booking our trip that we would have priority check-in, but to my dismay, the sign was put away, and the priority check-in desk was unmanned. I caught the attention of a hotel clerk, and explained to them that I was a concierge guest, and without question, they opened up an additional check-in computer and within minutes, I was checked in.

We ran into a small problem though. We were traveling with two other parties, and though their rooms were ready, ours was not (keep in mind, check in time is 3:00pm and we checked in right at 3:00). They allowed us into the concierge lounge where we ate our fill of cheese, crackers, wine, (juice for the kids). And finally at 4:30pm our room was ready for check-in. For our inconvience, every member of our party (not just my family) was issued unlimited fast-pass tickets for each fast-pass ride for each day of our stay. (That is 16 people) (Now that is service!!!)

Our room was not exceptionally big, but talk about service, maids were at our room within minutes of our call...chocolates on the pillows every night, cookies, extra towels, very quiet! (We were on the 10th floor overlooking the pool in the Sierra Tower).

Whenever we wanted to make a dinner reservation, all we had to do was call the concierge desk, and within 5 minutes, we had a call confirming our reservations. They arranged our limo pick up taking us back to the OC airport. They helped us plan out our entire day so we could see everything in both parks that we wanted to, and not be hurried.

We arranged my 5 year old to have her birthday at Goofy's Kitchen and we were completely impressed. Sleeping Beauty sat at our table, (by the birthday girl) for the extent of our entire meal! Goofy, Baloo, Max, Jasmine, Pluto all came and ate with her, played with her (not for a minute, but for an extended period of time (7-10 minutes or greater). They interacted with our four children, but made the birthday girl the focus. It was definitely one that she won't forget!!!

You may be asking yourself why only the 4 planet rating though...Well, we were disapointed with the "skimpy" food selection in the concierge lounge during the day. The Continential Style Breakfast was superior. Cereal, fresh muffins, fresh fruit, etc. But when it came time for a light lunch, there was nothing there; only beverage, crackers, cookies, etc. I am not asking for anything cooked to order, but how about some deli meat, cheese, sandwich spreads etc.

Also there needs to be "shuttle service" to and from the hotel to the front gate. You see, when we were there, the monorail was running one train every 15 minutes. And sometimes we waited 30-45 minutes for our turn to ride into the park. (We were informed that our priority pass was only good from the park to the hotel; not from the hotel to the park). Where the problem laid, was we have 3 yr old twins, and the walk to the front gate from the hotel to get a stroller was enough to wear them out!!! And keep in mind, there are no strollers at the hotel (for rent, or for sale). This NEEDS TO CHANGE!

Overall, this was a beautiful hotel, and I am glad I took my family and friends there. The fish ponds are a real treat in themselves. The dinner at Hooks Pointe was 4 star, the birthday breakfast at Goofy's Kitchen was one to remember (and I typically do not like the buffet concept). Next time though, I will stand in line for a half-hour or so to check in, bring my own continental breakfast food, light lunch food, strollers and save $500!!!

So, would I stay there again, yes. Would I upgrade to concierge? NO! (AND FOR THOSE WITH SMALL CHILDREN, BRING YOUR OWN STROLLERS incase the Monorail "derails".
 
15 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/15/2002
Reviewer: Disney Vault     January 06, 2004
When we stayed here a few years ago it was great. The feeling when you are there is so magical and I would never stay off the resort again. It wasnt a bad walk to Disneyland and I enjoyed walking through Downtown Disney. I highly recommend this hotel to any first time visitors.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   11/3/2003 - 11/5/2003
Reviewer: billlund Provo, Utah     November 05, 2003
I would NOT recommend the Disneyland Hotel. Although the room was nice and the environment is classic Disney, access to the parks is horrible! Your only options are to hike (and I mean HIKE) to the front gate of Disneyland or California Adventure, or take the Monorail which drops you off in Tomorrowland.

Walking to the front gates of Disneyland or California Adventure is probably as much as 20 minutes! At the end of a long day this is a horrible option. When I was a kid they had trams going from the hotel to the front gate. So what happened! Why was it too far to walk back then, but OK today?

Most of the hotels outside of the Disneyland Resort offer tram service which is much more convenient that walking from DCA or DL to the hotel.

The Monorail doesn't help you at all if you're coming from DCA and as they are only running one (at least this week) if you miss the train you've got between 20 and 25 minutes to wait.

The only Disneyland Resort hotel I would consider is the Grand Californian. Otherwise, bring your hiking shoes!
 
12 out of 26 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 17 - 21, 2003
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     September 29, 2003
I haven't been to DisneyLand in 10 years or so, well before the renovations started--and have been going to DisneyWorld yearly since. Of course, we decided to stay on property and the old hotel was the place.

To those who complained about distance and that one tower was better than another--it's not bad. To those who have a WDW perspective, everything was right there. We stayed in the Bonita Tower, just above the waterfalls overlooking the pool--free upgrade we did not ask for. The rooms are much larger than at WDW-greatly unexpected and welcomed as we were travelling with a one year old who needed the pack-n-play. Bathrooms were tiny though--decorated nicely, but tiny. We had 2 queen beds (yes, queen, not double), plus the daybed.

The dining options in the hotel area are not vast, but available. There is only one grab-and-go type place with a very limited menu (nothing for vegetarians). We ate at Goofy's Kitchen and were terribly disappointed. Goofy came around twice and we saw only one other character in over an hour of dining. Our server was less than friendly--and I expect that at Disney. The food was fine--large selection of breakfast and early lunch foods with great themed names. I'm told that the storytellers dining experience is better, though we didn't get a chance to try it. There is a terrific, though expensive, little coffee bar next to Goofy's that has wonderful pastries for breakfast. I can't speak to this trip, but in the past Grenville's has been wonderful--expensive and not a place to take the small kids to, but great food!

The front desk staff was wonderful and helpful. My only complaint there is that there is a key for the room, a separate piece of paper (yes paper no less) to charge things back to the room on, and another card for admittance into the parks. They need to get on board with WDW and get one key card for everything--much easier.

Housekeeping did a fine job. They didn't arrive at 8am like in some places, so we were never awakened by them knocking on the door. Our cm was kind enough to keep our piles of junk together, but still clean the room each day--a tough job for our group!

Finally, the grounds had changed a lot since I was there last. There are several places to take photos with cut-outs of characters--and generally there is someone walking around to take a family pic withyour camera. The pools were clean (you need your room key to get in) and packed during the hot hours. The gift shops were well stocked and the service there was great.

Finally, in terms of ease to the parks, well, bring a good pair of walking shoes. There is really no other way. It's really not that far, no matter where you stay (remember your last WDW stay!), but you do have to walk--even if you're in the Sierra Tower and use the monorail, which only goes into Tomorrowland and not the CA. To give you and idea, the distance from the door of the Sierra Tower to the door of the Bonita Tower (the furthest away from DD) is about 30 - 40yards. And at the end of the day, just walking to the front of the park can be tiring!:) I don't understand in the renovations why they didn't include a stop in the California Adventure.
 
15 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 2002
Reviewer: disneyprincess81 Pennsylvania     September 27, 2003
The first time we stayed at the Disneyland Hotel we were placed in the Bonita tower. I wouldn't recommend this tower for families with small children since it's considerably farther from access to Downtown Disney and the Monorail for Disneyland. Our second visit to the DLH we stayed in the main tower and had a view of the pool area that was superb. The quality of service here has always gone above and beyond our expectations. The restaurants, the shops, the rooms, the entire Disney cast makes you feel special. It isn't cheap to stay here but if you ever do something in your life, put this on your list. The Disney experience becomes even more truly magical when you can stay at a Disney resort. Looks beautiful during the holidays, pools cool you off during the summer. Highly recommended, especially for families, very convenient.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page