Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Disneyland Hotel Disneyland Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 60 ( Displaying Reviews: 51 - 60 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/29/2003 - 7/1/2003
Reviewer: icewomin San Diego, California     July 17, 2003
· Type/Class of room: 2 Bedroom Suite

· Accommodations Review: We had 7 people this time around, so opted for the 2-bedroom suite. Excellent accomodations, as my mother said, "Oh, watch me live here!" The actual suite was 1-bedroom, but across the hall was a second room, with an exterior double door separating us from the rest of the hall. The 1-bedroom had a king bed, and my parents slept there very comfortably. One nephew had the fold out bed in the living room of the suite, and two nieces shared the other room with us. Our room had 2 queen beds and another couch bed. The real bonus was an actual balcony with chairs and everything for each room. Fantastic Disney touches as mentioned in other reviews. The view (mostly Anaheim) from the smaller room was not the best, but that was okay as we could go over to the suite and check out the pool area.

· Rate/Night: We went on a AAA package, the total cost was $2190 for the 7 of us. It was cheaper (with the number of people we had) to get a 2-bedroom suite rather than 2 separate rooms! Who knew?

· Ease of Disney Park Access: We were in Bonita tower, so the walk was a bit long for my semi-disabled dad. I really prefer Sierra tower.

· Pool Description/Comments: The 11 year old nephew wasn't impressed with the water slide, but we all loved the pool. The lifeguard in the quiet pool actually encouraged us to splash her!

· Lounge Impressions: Mom loved the concierge level (included automatically with the suite). It was REALLY helpful to be able to get water from the lounge all day.

· Overall: I really liked the suite experience, but would rather stay in Sierra tower. The rooms were just as lovely, but Sierra has view and access benefits that are extremely important to us.
 
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/2002
Reviewer: sierranevada Bay Area, California     April 06, 2003
This is my second stay at DH after staying at the Grand Californian the last time (see my review). Staying back at DH confirmed what I felt about the Grand Californian. The Disney Hotel feels like Disneyland! We booked at last minute (1 1/2 weeks in advance) and were not hopefully of getting rooms but given current economy, had no problems. Got pool view in Sierra tower - definitely request this tower. It is closest to everything - monorail, pool, and lobby. Last time we stayed at DH, we were in Bonita tower cuz Sierra tower was being rennovated. It showed! Rooms are now larger and very nice. We had two queen beds, pull out sofa, marble bathroom and still lots of room. We were meeting up with friends who were on Concierge level. We did go with them once (I know, not really allowed!!). DH concierge is about half the size of GC - which we did stay at - so it was constantly crowded - that is probably about the only negative about the hotel. When I booked the rooms, the rep asked if I had AAA in order to offer me a discount! We arrived about 10 am and had them hold our bags and went straight to the park. Came back each day for a few hours to enjoy the pool and escape the crowds at the park. Kids loved the slide but I did not notice as many lifeguards at this pool as at the GC - not sure why - but the pool is a little smaller. Easy access to Monorail so in park very quickly. Most meals were in Park or Downtown Disney except dinner at Goofy's Kitchen - we always end up here at least once each visit and the kids still love it! Overall, still my favorite Disney hotel although we will probably give the GC another try.
 
22 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/21--9/28
Reviewer: taylor99 (lababybop@cs.com) fairfield, CA     October 01, 2002
We stayed in the Sierra tower on the 5th floor in room 2358 with a pool view. It was perfect for us, we have a 2 and 4 year old and the room was very spacious it had two queen beds and a daybed/sofa. I would also recomend requesting this tower, its right in the center of everything. I reserved our room through the hotel reservation at disney and paid 119.00 with amex card. My main concern before making the reservation was the access to the park being a long walk, but it wasn't bad we only took the monorail once. The pool is great!
 
18 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/17 to 9/22
Reviewer: LPnerd Cape Coral, Fl.     September 28, 2002
We stayed on the conceiage (sp?) level.9th floor rm 2765. It was darn near perfect. 2 queen beds,big bathroom,hairdryer,iron,fridge,sliding doors on window
with railing . kidproof locks on them. Everyone treated us like VIP's,2 pools and the quiet pool was just that.nice water slide ,guest laundry is a bit hard to find same building as the fitness center.view over DTD was great. 1/2blk from monorail. Bit of a walk to ca.adventure.Goofys kitchen was handy and good.Beds comfy,only complaint is they need a shuttle to adventure.I wouldn't think of staying in another on site hotel.
 
8 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/24/02 through 7/28/02
Reviewer: wendybeth (toribeth724@cs.com) spokane, wa     August 01, 2002
We just returned from vacation a few days ago so I thought I'd submit a review while the details were still fresh. We booked a land only package through the Disney Club last April; the total price for room, tickets, character breakfast and insurance was around $1350.00. Initially we were charged $1550.00 but were given a refund after I checked online and discovered the discrepancy. Even so, after reading other reviews I feel we paid too much- it broke down to around $260.00 a night. We opted for the room upgrade, which gave us a lower level pool view but also landed us in a smaller room. It had two queen beds, an armoire, desk, single wash basin bathroom and ample closet space. It was small, but the view was really nice- I can't imagine a better one. We were staying on the fourth floor of the Sierra Tower directly overlooking Neverland pool. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. I was surprised by how quiet our room was- I'd heard that the resort could sometimes be a little loud but that never became a problem during our stay. We spent three days in the parks and took the fourth off to shop and swim. Hotel guests can catch the monorail from Downtown Disney to Tomorrowland, at least when it is working! It was out of order several times during our stay- when this happens you have to walk through Downtown Disney to the parks. Not so bad in the morning but it seems like miles at the end of the day. They really need to restore the tram service as the monorails are not very reliable. As hotel guests you get to sort of "fastpass" the line at the Tomorrowland station- just go up to the turnstiles and show them your hotel pass. When we weren't at the parks we were either eating or swimming- the pools are really great! My seven year old daughter even talked me into going down the big slide, and then she chickened out. We ate at Crocs' Bits and Bites and Goofys Kitchen, both of which were okay. The rest of the time we ate at the parks or had room service. Room service was good but very spendy- a pot of coffee cost us around $13.00. All in all we had a great time, but I think I would opt for the concierge level if we go again. One word of warning- if you need to do laundrey the facilities are tucked away behind the workout center and very hard to find. We spent about twenty minutes looking for them and then when we finally found them there were only two wash machines and two dryers. (And no soap). It would appear the hotel would rather you pay them to do your laundrey; they charge per item and it costs more than dry cleaning here at home. Luckily we had lots of clothes and were able to wait until we got home.
 
17 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/16/02--6/18/02
Reviewer: goofyfordisney San Jose, CA     July 15, 2002
We really liked the DLH. The resort had a lot of the Disney theme throughout. We paid $99/nite plus tax and resort fees.

We were in the Sierra Tower 6th floor with a DTD view. The Sierra Tower is closest to DTD and is close to the Neverland Pool. There is a large sliding door that you can open (no balcony). We had a room with 2 queen beds and a daybed. The room was very spacious and seemed to be recently remodeled. The beds were very comfy--lots of pillows and nice comforters. There was a large armoire with 4 drawers which also housed the TV and a fridge. There was also a closet. The bathroom was very large--2 sinks and a large vanity--plenty of room for the five of us to get ready at the same time! The toliet was in a seperate area with a door.

We enjoyed the location of the DLH--the walk to the main gates through DTD only takes a few minutes. The monorail station is only a two minute walk. We enjoyed being "on-site" rather than having to use shuttles.

We would highly recommend staying at the DLH! We will definitely stay here again!

 
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/01
Reviewer: wendymom Portland, Oregon     July 07, 2002
I fell in love with this hotel as soon as we arrived. All the holiday decor was magnificent. We got a newly remodeled 3rd floor room in the Sierra tower. It was the most convenient to the Monorail. We came back and forth from the park frequently to swim and nap. My son and I both celebrated birthdays that were perfect with the holiday Disney backdrop. I don't think I can stay anywhere else now. And going in December before the kids get out of school leaves you with few waits for anything. I paid for the Disney vacation package without air which was really wonderful for all the little extras that they give you. The Neverland pool was the hit of our vacation. My son (6 yrs) could have spent the whole trip at the pool. The staff was so friendly there for both of us ( enjoyed the sun). I can't say enough how much more exciting the hotel and parks are at holiday time. I would definitely go back the same place/same time.
 
13 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 12-16, 2001
Reviewer: icewomin San Diego, California     July 04, 2002
· Date(s) of Stay: December 12-16, 2001

· Type/Class of room: Pool View Concierge

· Accommodations Review: Excellent. Stayed in Sierra Tower, as is our preference. Loved the rehabbed room with ultra-theming. The glow in the dark pixie dust border was the best. Large room, accomodated four adults very nicely. Had some trouble flushing the toilet, but that may have been user error. One small problem - requested a pool-view smoking room as we're four smoking adults. In past visits, this was no problem. Discovered this visit all smoking rooms moved to Bonita Tower with a "city view" - overlooking Anaheim. Would have been nice to know prior to paying so much for a pool view.

· Rate/Night (for your stay): part of package... $1600 altogether for resort magic package (for four adults) with dining plan.

· Ease of Disney Park Access: Only okay. Before, you could take the tram or the monorail to DL. Now you almost have to walk through Dowtown Disney, which was fun at first but got old fast. Made good use of the monorail, though, which stops just this side of DD.

· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: Loved the Concierge Lounge, made total use of that for continental breakfast and snacks, plus adult beverages during the evening. Didn't eat anywhere in the hotel, other than that.

· Pool Description/Comments: Fantastic! Loved the waterslides - even in December we made use of those. Enjoyed the jacuzzi as well, very good location for that, semi-secluded from the main pool area.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2-4 May 2002
Reviewer: shevys Tucson     June 29, 2002
We weren't sure what to expect from the Disneyland Hotel, having never stayed there before, except for total Disney immersion. I made a reservation securing a military rate ($99 for Thursday night, $119 for Friday) that promised me a standard room between the first and fourth floor . When we checked in, I asked what kind of upgrade (if any) they could offer me. I received a room on the 8th floor in the Bonita tower, with an excellent view of the Neverland pool area, the Dancing Waters show, the Grand Californian Hotel and Disneyland Park beyond. Really a great view, and far superior to the original 4th floor and below I was told I would receive. The host at check in was very helpful and enthusiastic, making sure he gave us four keys to the room so my children would have extra souvenirs (you get to keep the room keys). My wife and I were very impressed with the room size, which was far larger than a normal hotel room. The room almost had a suite-like feel to it, with a smaller room as you walk in that had a desk and a place to leave our suitcases. The sleeping room had a small balcony, two extremely comfortable beds and a couch that is designed to sleep a fifth person, if needed. The decor was very lovely, with the armoire designed with original park sketches, the bedspreads themed with Disneyland attractions and the bathroom wallpapered with Disney character topiaries. My kids thought the Mickey arms holding the lamps in the bathroom to be the greatest idea ever. In fact, my children (ages 10 & 15) kept saying "Thank you, Thank you!" for picking the hotel. They really enjoyed the grounds, the pool (of course!), the restaurants and the park. All in all, I would highly recommend staying at the Disneyland Hotel.
 
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 1- June 4 , 2002 Super Sunday AP rates
Reviewer: funnygarcia Fridley,Minnesota     June 08, 2002
WOW!! We loved our stay here. We had two queen beds and one large single sized futon bed. We used the AP rate of $99 / $129 per night plus 19 % tax and $6.90 resort fee per day. Pricey but worth it!
Easy walk to parks thru Downtown Disney and use of Monorail.
Staff were wonderful from check in to check out! Easy check in process, information desk was helpful w driving directions to beach/shopping, housekeeping was wonderful and arranged stuffed animals in silly scenerios each day , used Express checkout via phone - easy to do! Beautiful view, room location was exactly as we had requested (Sierra tower, DTD view, upper floor). One disappointment - some areas need some refurbishment - penny press machines out of order, Fantasy waters show pool looked filthy, display cases outside of Goofy's Kitchen were full of dust covered items , some furniture in lobbies looked grimey , also waterfall paths are gated off - no way to get close to waterfalls.
Not to be missed : viewing fireworks from your room, looking for hidden Mickeys, swim in the Neverland Pool, feeding the Koi by hand , Goofy's Kitchen.
If they offer rates like these next yr - we will definitely go again !!!
 
32 out of 35 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  << 1 ... 6
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page