Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Redd Rockett's Pizza Port
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Pizza, salad and pasta are served at this buffeteria-style restaurant with both indoor and patio seating.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 25 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Feb & April 2012
Reviewer: ralfrick San Francisco Bay     April 23, 2012
For clarity my ratings are compared to restaurants within the Disneyland Resort only.

Generally, I have a rule: No theme park pizza! But after starting to get really hungry on Leap Day around 8PM, and sensing that the population of the Greater Disneyland Metropolitan Area was starting to drastically increase, I took the closest answer for dinner after a ride on Space Mtn. The 2nd visit was during a Friday the 13th downpour, also after a ride on Space Mtn, when we went for pure convenience, and because my earlier visit was at least tolerable.

I got a pepperoni slice both times, as did the boy on the 2nd visit, and the level of enjoyment and satisfaction is basically proportional to one's level of hunger. Bottom line is that although it is a big slice, pizza can be made to taste much better than this at half the cost for a slice as anyone in a decent sized city or college town can attest. It's especially frustrating knowing that the other theme park "staples" of burgers and dogs are both usually done well by Disney, making their markups easier to bear. But even in a rain situation, I'll have to be really hungry before returning to Redd Rocket's.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 9, 2011
Reviewer: Megan Mermaid Anaheim, California     January 10, 2011
Date: January 9, 2011
Meal: Dinner
Cost: about $28 (before passholder discounts) for 2 adults and 2 children

I came here for dinner with my daughter (5), my sister, and my nephew (3). I have eaten here before, but it's been a few years. I had a small side salad and a water. The salad was an average side salad you would find in just about any restaurant. I chose raspberry vinegrette for the dressing, which was delicious! My sister had a slice of plain cheese pizza and a drink. She said her pizza was really good, but she wasn't SUPER excited about it. And both of the kids had a mini pizza kids meal (came with a very small plain cheese mini pizza, bag of sliced apples, bag of baby carrots, and a drink). The little mini pizzas seemed to be slightly overcooked and the edges were kind of hard...but the taste was surprisingly yummy...I had a bite of my daughter's and personally thought it was good. The kids said they both liked the pizzas and of course they loved the apples and carrots that came with the meal.

Service: To be honest, the cast members behind the counter didn't seem exactly attentive. At one point, I walked up to ask for some dressing and stood there, looking right at a couple of cast members, and had to wait till they finished their conversation before they would help. But whatever, it's not the worst service I have ever had. There was a cast member bussing the tables and he was extremely helpful and kind! I wish I had remembered his name, he was great. I need to start writing down the names of the awesome CMs! The cashier was nice too.

Atmosphere: It wasn't busy at all, which was nice. Everything was clean and organized. We choose to eat indoors since it was a cold night. I personally usually love to sit out on the side patio area, so I can people-watch. I like the spacey-galaxy feel of the place.

I only gave 4 planets instead of 5 because the service at the counters wasn't exactly expected of Disney (but I forgive them! haha). And while I know the price is to be expected at Disney, I cringe at some of the prices sometimes! I know I shouldn't, but I can't help it...times are tough for most of us these days, prices of anything can kinda freak me out! hahah
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 8th and 9th, 2007
Reviewer: Mommy Mermaid Sacramento, CA     January 05, 2008
No trip to Disneyland would be complete for my family without a trip to Redd Rocket's Pizza Port. This time we went twice during our stay, we even ordeered the same thing both times! We ordered the Planetary Pizza Salad and Count Down Chicken Fusilli, we shared both (me,my husband, 2 and 4 year old girls) and had leftovers. The salad is very spicy and has a nice balance of flavors, the pasta is very filling and the sauce is creamy but not too heavy. I thinl what we like best about this place is that you can sit on the "patio" at the entrance to the Space Mountain que and people watch. Becasue we had the whole patio to ourselves our girls could get up and walk around a little while we were there. Our bill for 2 entrees, two sodas, and one toddler meal(chicken and rice w/milk) was $25
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10/4/07
Reviewer: Sussya Phoenix, AZ     October 06, 2007
Yuck! This place was not very good at all. Maybe our expectations were too high after reading the good reviews here. My mom had the Chicken Fusilli, and we both thought it was gross. The kids had the kids' meal pizzas, and they ate them, though they all remarked that they weren't very good. My husband and I had pizza slices, and those were pretty awful, too. The only good thing was that you can get refills on your sodas. The cashiers were friendly, too. If you're concerned about prices, it's about typical Disney value, and it wasn't very busy either. We paid about $40 for a family of 5. If you are looking for a good tasting meal, though, look elsewhere.
 
1 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Tuesday, July 17, 2007 2:00 PM
Reviewer: Andrew (andrew@mouseplanet.com) Palo Alto, CA     July 20, 2007
Guests: Jennifer and me, plus Steven, Jenn and AVP
What we had: (I only know when Jen and I had) Chicken Fusilli (Jen), Starfield Salad (me), focaccia breadstick

If Redd Rockett's can be said to have a signature dish, the Chicken Fusilli is it. It's lost some quality--and quantity--in the nine years the restaurant has been ZWwy (has it really been nine years?!) but it's still probably the best item on the menu. Jen said it was okay, but it was a good thing I had a packet of red pepper flakes in my camera bag because the sauce needed some extra flavor.

The Starfield salad contains field greens, golden raisins, candied walnuts, blue cheese and other good things. The Cast Member behind the counter kindly made a fresh salad for me sans tomatoes, and since the dressing comes separately it was easy to put on just the amount I wanted and not drown the greens. The focaccia bread used to be separate breadsticks, and then a long piece of bread sectioned into three parts, but it's now just the long piece with no cuts so you have to tear it. Marinara sauce is included for dipping.

Service: This is a "scramble service" place, so the level of service you get greatly depends on what you want and where you get it. I thought we did all right with our selections and interactions with Cast Members working behind the counter, and the person working the register did her job quickly and efficiently.

Would we go back: Yes.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/11/06
Reviewer: Doofy South Jordan, UT     July 15, 2006
We never leave DLR without a visit to Redd Rocket's Pizza Port. I get the Countdown Chicken Fusilli. The portion is huge and for park dining the price is very reasonable. The pizza is excellent and the slices are huge. We usually get the Far-Out Focaccia Bread to go with the pasta. A meal for two is around $20.

We still haven't had anything we didn't enjoy there.

The lines for the food can get pretty long during peak dining hours but they move fast. It is hard to find a place to sit here. The dining room is always very crowded. We usually end up sitting outside on the patio watching people getting in line for Space Mountain. We have a two year old and they don't have anything for him to eat that wouldn't end up all over him and us.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 18, 2006
Reviewer: Nancywitt Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania     May 22, 2006
I have two picky eaters and I always try to find a pizza place for them to eat at. I read some reviews on this place and they sounded good, so we gave it a try. I'm glad we did. The food was good and since I have a Disney Visa card, we received a 10% discount.

My husband had the Chicken Caesar Salad ($8.49) which he thought was very tasty. He does not like salad dressing and there was hardly any on it. I had the Planetary Pizza Salad ($8.49) that contained items you would put on pizzas. It was also very good but mine had a lot of dressing. So much so that I could not finish it. The salads are made fresh there, so you could probably try to snag a salad while they are making them and have them go easy on the dressing, but that is just me and my querks.

My boys (6 and 9) were hungry so they both got the children's spaghetti ($5.98 per meal) which included a small garlic breadstick, a meatball (you can get meatsauce or just the sauce, no meat) and a drink. It came in a cute plastic case. They also got a slice of cheese pizza each ($5.98 per slice). Of course my husband and I had to try them both and we pronounced them both good. The pizza was doughy, just how we like it, and the sauce was tasty, not too spicy for the kids. The spaghetti sauce was surprisingly good, but the portion could have been a bit larger.

We thought the place was so tasty that we went back the next night to feed our picky kids again. This time I had the Terra Nova Pasta ($7.99) which was outstanding. My husband just had two side salads with no dressing ($6.58 for both). My boys each got an adult serving of spaghetti with just the marrinara sauce ($7.75 each). This time it was too much spaghetti for them, but me and my husband helped them finish it.

All the cast members were very friendly. I believe a manager was even helping out the second night. He served me my pasta. The two people who checked us out both nights were super friendly, chatting us up a storm and were happy to give us a discount.

The place was very busy both nights, but the line moved fast enough. There were a lot of CMs trying to keep up with cleaning the tables, but we just sat down as soon as one opened up and didn't mind a few crumbs.

We enjoyed our two meals there and would recommend it to anyone who likes doughy pizza, tasty pasta and healthy salads.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 10, 2005
Reviewer: jo and bruce South Dakota     October 06, 2005
This supplied our need for food and sitting down on a busy Disney filled day. The food was better than most at a theme park. The tables were not wiped down. They seemed a little understaffed at the time we were there, but it still was pretty good. The salads were creative and fresh. The kids liked the pizza. We did appreciate that there was no charge for a glass of water. It was an overall pleasant experience to eat here.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/30/05
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 02, 2005
We did not plan to eat here but we were walking by after getting a fastpass for Space Mountain and it smelled so good we had to try it. Both my boyfriend and I got a slice of pepperoni and I had a small salad with Italian Vinagrette while my boyfriend had the Foccacia bread with a side of marinara. The pizzas were okay but my salad was excellent with really fresh produce and a delicious dressing. My boyfriend's foccacia was so good that I would go back next time and get that with my salad instead of the pizza. All of the pastas looked really good as well. There was pleanty of seating both inside and out and even the outside was air conditioned and completely shaded which was nice on a hot day. I have never eaten here before this but from now on whenever I go to Disneyland I will eat here as it can be difficult to get cool, shaded seating for the more casual restaurants.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/2/05-8/7/05
Reviewer: zerofan (mildchild_@hotmail.com) California     August 19, 2005
My brother and I ate here once for dinner, and were surprised by how good it was. I had a ceasar salad and a chocolate milk, my brother had a slice of pepperoni pizza and a soda. The salad was excellent; fresh, right amount of dressing, good all around. I also had a bite of my brother's pizza, and I've been craving it ever since. The tomato sauce tasted homemade, the crust was thick and fluffy-like, it was the best pizza I've ever had. Cast members were very nice and friendly, and we were allowed to get refills on the soda. Enjoyed seeing all of the old posters of Tommorrowland that lined the walls, and there was plenty of seating, even though we got there around 6:30. It was a little pricey but worth it.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page