Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Embassy Suites - Anaheim South
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
11767 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/1 - 1/4/09 (Thurs - Sun)
Reviewer: beebers Phoenix, Arizona     January 04, 2009
Traveled from Phoenix, AZ via car with hubby and 2 kids (5 & 9 yrs). I reserved a 2-room king suite (withOUT parlor, which is a more expensive room), non-smoking for $113 per night prepaid. They accommodated my request for a DL park view (though it is over a mile away) and we stayed on the 7th floor. Nice, classy lobby and very clean throughout. The staff was always upbeat and friendly - from check-in through housekeeping. Room was very crisp and clean and inviting. Smaller kitchenette than what I expected, but included all needed appliances. The wet bar sink was a nice touch as I didn't have to fill the coffee pot in the bathroom. Also, there was a dining table for 4 people which came in handy. Both TV's worked fine and had ports in front where I plugged in the boys' DVD player. The pull-out sofa bed would have been a bit uncomfortable for me (as most are), but the boys didn't mind one bit. The king bed and pillows were very comfy. The bellhop and housekeeping immediately brought 4 extra pillows per my request as soon as we got to the room. I would recommend you also request an extra bedspread for the pull-out as they only provide a sheet and blanket. We just put our bedspread on their bed, no big deal. Room temp was easily controlled and could change several degrees in mere minutes. Quiet equipment and very quiet room (7th floor helps I'm sure!). We only occasionally heard our neighbor's door close; that was it. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic - during our stay we had scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast sticks, cereal (fruit loops & honey nut cheerios), milk, orange & apple juice and coffee, all of which was delicious. Didn't try the made-to-order omlette. Did try the pancakes and they were pretty bland. We ate in the lovely atrium and staff was always picking up trays/plates, sweeping, and keeping everything clean and refilled. The kids enjoyed looking at the turtles and koi fish in the ponds. Also, the animatronic lion was fun - he roars every 30 minutes during the day (not annoying). You can also take food and drink on a tray to the room with no hassle. You will see food trays outside people's doors because that's where you place them when done with a meal - they are picked-up throughout the day. Most of the room cleaning seemed to happen in the middle of the day when most people are at DL. We came back for a mid-day rest before heading out again for the fireworks, etc. Rode the ART (Anaheim park shuttle) each day; the tram stopped just steps away from the lobby on the hour and every 25 minutes. It's a 5 minute ride to the park. Personally, I prefer shuttles that face riders forward rather than sideways, but it looks like most were sideways facing. Also, the advertising mesh that goes over the exterior windows makes for a sort of discombobulated feeling because you can't quite see out the windows. Next time we'll try a hotel right across from the park entrance though I understand they can get noisy. I can see how staying in or across from the park would be ideal as it's not much further to walk than the DL tram drop-off. The shuttle was cheap ($24 for 2 adults + 2 kids, 3 days) and convenient, though. Feel free to contact me with any questions.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   06/07 & 08/07
Reviewer: Tink San Diego, CA     August 09, 2007
On our trip in June we had problems with the A/C not working. The front desk sent someone up right away to work on it. It seemed to work fine that afternoon. Later that night we went out to dinner got back late in the evening. The room felt okay but not cool at all. By the middle of the night we were all miserable. It was too hot to sleep. We mentioned it to the front desk upon check out and they comped a meal we had gotten a couple of night previous.

I normally don't have the maids make up the room due to past bad experiences (stolen items) but decided that since my teenager and her friend were in the room to go ahead and let them tidy up - bad choice. Sometime between then and the time we checked out, my daughter's $250.00 Ipod was taken from the room! The management did nothing to help other than suggesting that we could file a police report.

During our stay in August (yes we went back...) we made spur of the moment reservations for my son's birthday. Went online in the morning for reservations for that night - no problems.

We arrived around 3:30pm and had no problems checking in and had no problems getting our preferences filled (lower floor, double beds, non smoking). As we exited the elevator on our floor we all noticed a room service tray filled with breakfast items that had not been cleared.

Our room was big and clean and the beds cozy just like always and the window in the bedroom faced the direction of the park where we watched the fireworks later that night.

Shortly after we had arrived I was getting ready to go out, so my kids and I were in the bedroom with the door shut when I heard a noise from the front room. I flung open the door to find a maid crouched by the refrigerator. I think I scared her as much as she scared me! She pointed to the water bottles she was placing in the fridge as part of our Hilton Honors rewards. I just wish they would have done that before we arrived. Our purses, electronic games and other things were scattered around the front room. My daughter's purse lay open on the table with money spilling out of the top of it. What a horrible feeling it gave me after what had happened on our last trip. From then on I placed the "Do not disturb" sign out and hid any valuables if we weren't in the room. Not that it would probably do any good...

We ate in the restaurant downstairs that night and had great prompt service. The food was fine. When the check came however I noticed a $5+ service charge on our $24.00 bill. When I asked the waiter about it he said it was a gratuity! Is this standard practice? Unfortunately I had already written in a tip. So he got a $10.00 tip for the night.

Breakfast was cooked to order and very good the next morning. But believe it or not, the room service tray that we noticed from the afternoon before was still outside a door down by the elevators! And there were 2 large bags of trash leaning against a trash can between the elevators.

Will we go back - most likely.
Will we take precautions - definitely.

Overall the feeling of the hotel is great. But these last 2 trips have been different. Hopefully it is not a sign that things are going downhill for this hotel.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 9-13 2006
Reviewer: Kelli and Mark's mom Chino Valley, AZ     October 23, 2006
We always stay at Embassy Suites here in Arizona and have never had a problem. This Embassy was up to par with the rest of them. Very nice room, very nice and helpful staff. The only thing negative is the view from our window. Facing a driving range, Yuck!
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 2005
Reviewer: MikeP Austin, TX     July 18, 2005
We had a very good experience. The suites are roomy and very clean. The back bedroom was very quiet and the front room had just a little noise from the atrium but not bad. The breakfast was great and not too crowded although we ate early in order to beat the crowds to the park. The managers reception was free!, can't beat that. The shuttle was convenient and cheap. You do have to buy your shuttle tickets at a vending machine just outside the hotel. Some people had trouble using the machine but we didn't. The shuttle made only one additional stop on the way to the park but no additional stops from the park to the hotel.
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March 26 - March 29, 2005
Reviewer: Siglite Fresno, CA     March 29, 2005
We arrived at about 1 pm on Saturday, the 26th of March, 2005, a bit sooner than the normal check-in time of 2:00, but they let us check in early with no hassles. The front desk staff was very helpful and they were all very courteous and friendly. Check-in took about 5 minutes. The hotel is 13 stories high (although the elevator buttons superstitiously skip 13 and the 13th story is labeled 14 instead). The center of the hotel is a large, beautiful atrium that is as high as the 13th story, with running streams, foot bridges, and koi swimming in the various pools. There is a waterfall and the atmosphere of the atrium is very nice. We headed towards the first elevators to the right of the main entrance. A word of caution for those of you afraid of heights here: the elevators are glass-walled from top to bottom, and you can see out and into the large atrium all the way up and all the way down. The floors are not glass, thankfully, as that would have been extra spooky. I'm not afraid of heights, however, so I thought it was pretty cool. However, mind your kids closely, as the railings around the elevator are not childproof, and I have a kid who loves to climb things.

THE GOOD

Our suite (this hotel is all suites) was 1403, on the 14th floor. It was very nice and large. The room was absolutely clean, and looked brand new. Even the tile in the bathroom was spotless, and the grout was immaculate. I was impressed. There is a separate living area that is sectioned off from the sleeping area by a door. We got a double suite, which meant that there are two full-sized beds in the bedroom, and a sleeper sofa in the living room. There were two TVs that worked nicely and got good reception. There was a coffee maker with complimentary coffee (not the greatest, but it was free), a good sized mini-fridge, and small microwave. The bathroom had a hairdryer that worked well, and the sleeping area had an ironing board and iron in case you had wrinkled clothes. You could actually take the hangers out of the armoire to hang your clothes up, as compared to other hotels that have them permanently attached to the hangup bar.

The cooked-to-order breakfast we had in the mornings of our 3-night stay was great. (Although the only cooked-to-order part was omlettes) They offered pancakes, French toast, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, etc. buffet style. But these were good and filling, and you could get as much as you wanted. Even my super-picky kids (two girls, aged 8 and 4) were able to find food that they liked. I would advise you, however, to get breakfast the sooner the better (6 through 9:30 on weekdays, and 7 through 10:30 on the weekends). As the morning wears on, and more people get up, the breakfast area (in the atrium) can get pretty busy and you can find yourself in line for a very long time. Not pleasant when you're just waking up. The hotel also offers a manager's cocktail time from 5:30 to 7:30, but I did not partake of this amenity, since we were at Disneyland during this time. The Serengeti Grill, which is the hotel's restaurant, serves excellent food, although a bit pricey (of course) but I will write about this in a restaurant review.

There is a shuttle that runs to the park every 20 minutes or so, and it was very convenient. However, if you do not buy a vacation package from Disney like we did, you will have to pay for the shuttle pass, which is I believe 3 dollars per day (uncertain, since we did not buy it). The shuttle starts running about an hour before the park opens (convenient for those with early-entry passes to the park) and the last run is 12:30 am from the park.

THE BAD

So, why do I only rate the Embassy Suites South 3 planets? There were only two flaws that I could find in this otherwise excellent hotel, but they are big enough flaws that they can make your stay pretty miserable. The first was that the two double beds were rock-hard. They were extremely uncomfortable to sleep on, and I usually like a firmer mattress. The sleeper sofa was a lot more comfortable, and my wife slept on it since she has hip problems. The kids didn't seem to mind, but my 30-year-old body sure did. I checked the beds in some empty rooms on our second day there that the maids were cleaning and sure enough, they were also very hard.

The second flaw, and I think the largest, is the design of the hotel itself. The atrium is very nice to look at, and it lends a very elegant air to the space. But it can echo loudly, and these echoes carry all the way up through the space. Since every floor (yes, every floor, from 1 through 14) is open to this atrium, every floor and almost every room can hear every loud echo that reverberates through the atrium. Nothing worse than waking up to the sounds of kids screaming and yelling outside... you're going to get enough of that during the day, right??!!! I was awakened every morning by this din from what seemed right outside my door.

Overall, I would say that I liked the amenities this all-suite hotel has to offer. At $100+ per night (what we paid booking through Disney.com), it was not money well spent since I hardly got any sleep due to the rock-hard uncomfortable bed, and the noise. I would not recommend this hotel if you need to get your Z's.
 
46 out of 49 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/30/03 to 11/05/03
Reviewer: sdfilmcritic Escondido, California     August 04, 2004
The room was amazingly comfortable and large. It's a mini-suite with a bedroom seperated from the kitchenette and living room by a closeable door. The kitchenette includes a sink, refridgerator, and coffee maker. The living room included a matching sofa (with a pull out bed) and seat, a dining room table that seats four people, a coffee table, and a mid-size television (est. 32"). The hotel offered a healthy portioned breakfast every morning, containing the same breakfast favorites everyday (i.e. pancakes, bacon, sausage, eggs, omellets, etc.). Also every evening for about two hours they had a happy hour with free drinks. The staff was very helpful and the stay was enjoyable. The prices were in the range of around $90 to $115 a night depending on the time of year. Steep prices, but worth the stay.
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   05/27/04 - 05/28/04
Reviewer: hhsdc34     May 31, 2004
I really like Embassy Suites and this hotel is no exception. When you step through the lobby it looks reasonably new. We got a single king room that was very quiet. The room included a seperate sleeping room and a living room. There was a microwave, refigerator, and coffee pot. There was a tv in both the living room and bedroom. The room was very clean. The atrium is very beautiful. You have Koi ponds with meandering streams and flowing waterfalls.

We arrived towards the evening so we were able to participate in the managers social. This includes free drinks, popcorn, pretzels and something I had never seen at other Embassy Suites, Slurpees. If you arrive during the weekend I don't believe they have the manger social.

The breakfast was great. You have a chose of waiting in line for special orders like omlets, or you can take advantage of the express buffet which was scrambled eggs, pancakes, sauage, bacon, and potato's. Be aware that if your are planning your day the later in the morning breakfast results in the longer line. The have a sheet in the rooms telling you of the optimal times for breakfast.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located within walking distance of some restraunts and a Target. There is a little store inside the hotel if you are in a hurry.

Now for my complaint: There was no longer a free shuttle to the park. For Adults it will cost you $3.00 for a round trip pass. The first night we wanted to go down to downtown disney and didn't really want to drive, we were in for a rude awakening. Since it's free to park at downtown disney for three hours and the transit stops 1/2 hour after the park closes we chose to drive. The parking is free at the hotel, but be aware that it's going to cost extra to use the transit. Don't be fooled when you go to the website of the hotel and see the words "adjacent to the park". This hotel is about a couple of miles away from the park.

Other than that we had a great time.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/5/2003 - 11/7/2003
Reviewer: billlund Provo, Utah     December 17, 2003
I found this hotel very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was as good as ever and the shuttle to the parks was convenient. The rooms were clean, the environment pleasant. The only thing keeping this from getting 5 planets from me is that it isn't within walking distance of the parks.
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 18-21 2003
Reviewer: dsnylndmom Stockton, CA     June 05, 2003
We stayed at the Embassy and really enjoyed our stay. As the above reviewer stated it is a very nice Embassy!

The rooms were very large and spacious we had two types in our party.

The first had two queen beds in the bedroom and the second room had a king bed, bay window and a recliner style chair and ottoman near the window.

Both rooms had a clothing armoire, desk, entertainment cabinet for the tv and 3 large drawers and a night stand between the beds. Both had a nice living area with sofasleeper, table and chairs(seats 4)and another chair next to an endtable. The wet bar had a sink, microwave and frig and the bathroom had a large tub and lots of counter space.

The breakfast was wonderful, made to order omelettes, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, french toast, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, muffins, hot and cold cereal, toasts and bagels. Coffee, juices, tea and milks also. There was ample seating area for the breakfast and the food was hot and fresh.

The manager's reception had chips and salsa one night, chips and cheese sauce, veggies and dip one night and pasta one night and popcorn each night.

The menu in restaurant/bar downstairs was quite good and reasonable. The Crab melt and Turkey Club sandwich were both delicious as were the chicken quesadilla and the hot crab and artichoke dip. The kids meals were decent sized and included a drink and cookie for $5. My boys had chicken strips(loved it), cheeseburger(eh), spaghetti(loved it)and hot dog(loved it).

Room service was quick and decent priced as far as room service goes, between 3 adults one night we ordered 4 different appetizers and split it and had a big amount of food leftover!

The pool was large and clean and there is also a spa, but no kiddie pool. There was a ton of lounge chairs and tables and chairs outside for seating and there were outside showers to rinse off. There are towels outside so you don't have to bring any with you from the room!!

There was also a workout room and a game room but we didn't use either.

The staff was great VERY FRIENDLY!

The shuttle was quick and efficient and the kids loved the corny jokes from the drivers!

Be aware if you plan on visiting DTD after the park closes there is no shuttle but it's a quick cab ride for $6 inc. tip!!

We would defitnely stay here again!!
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 15 - June 17, 2002
Reviewer: MichelleC Gilbert, AZ     July 09, 2002
We stayed at the Embassy Suites DL South hotel a few weeks ago and we were very impressed with this hotel. This is the nicest ES we have ever stayed at. The rooms were very large with a refrigerator, wet bar area, and coffee maker. The bathroom was large, with a nice size shower and granite countertops. The room was very clean and the housekeeping service kept it that way throughout our trip.

The rooms surround an atrium of this at least 12 story hotel. The atrium is very pretty with a large waterfall and stream flowing throughout.

As Embassy Suites normally does, there is a complimentary breakfast and evening beverage reception. The breakfast had a great selection. There was a made to order egg station as well as, already made eggs, bacon, hash browns, french toast, sausage stations. There were bread and pastries, cereal, juices, milk and coffee. There was 3 or 4 stations, which helped the flow of people getting food. We were there Fathers Day weekend and it was very busy at the hotel.

There were lots of tables throughout the atrium area and we never had trouble finding a table, even with the crowds.

The evening beverage reception included beer, soda, wine and a full bar. There was also chips and sala and popcorn available.

There is a full service restaurant and a bar. The hotel has room service as well. We picked up a bottle of wine from the bar and took it to our room, which saved a few dollars.

Service was attentive and friendly. We did not use the shuttle to Disney but there was one available that ran about 1-2 times per hour.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance of the hotel Buca di Beppo, Joe's Crab Shack and Red Robin to name a few. The hotel is set back from Harbor, behind a Hilton Garden Inn and Buca, so you don't notice the traffic on Harbor.

We drove to DD one night and it was a quick ride over. We were not in the area to go to the parks, so that was our only experience with getting to Disney, but it is definitely close.

I would highly reccommend this hotel. We will definitely stay again.

 
72 out of 72 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page