Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
ESPN Zone
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Studio Grill serves fans and families alike.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 27 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   May 9th or 10th 2010
Reviewer: Cheryl051100 central california     July 14, 2010
First I just want to say before getting into what kind of experience I had. I'm just stating how disappointed I'm with this restaurant.

It was going to be dinner time soon. So around 5pm we headed over to ESPN Zone. There was a line forming outside my husband got a monitor, it was suppose to time us and go off to let know our table was ready. So 2 hours later we go to our table and the waitress kept taking off. She did this a couple of times and it took 30 minutes for her to come back. There were 6 people in our group but we were not counting on spending nearly $80 on dinner. I kick myself about choosing this place because ...
1) the service was lousy
2) there food was not that great
3) there food is over priced
All around this place makes fast food restaurants look good.I have ate here before this visit a few years ago and at that time. I was happy with everything service and food. With this visit it left me wondering what happened :(
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 2008, Dec 2008, Feb 2009
Reviewer: Jenasweetemotion Nor Cal in "The Friendly City"     August 27, 2009
I love the ESPN Zone. The food is really great and the portions are really big, in fact we almost always split the meal. We always start out with the Buffalo wings, they are really hot, but really great if you like spicy food. We have eaten here so many times and have tried quite a few things. The house salads are great, Fettuccini Alfredo is good, I have had it with chicken and did not like it as much, there burgers are all great.
What outweighs it to me is the fact that for lunch or Dinner I can get on the Monorail which is always great and take it where the stop is in Downtown Disney you are right there, this is a great get away. I have walked to it and it is a 10-15 minute walk if the Monorail is not running. I love sports and this was a must for me and my family. Just make sure one of the local teams is not playing if so it becomes a mad house. Another great thing is Disney Dinning now offers priority seating like they have for most of the other places.
If you love sports, this is a must on your trip!
 
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 29, 2008
Reviewer: ralfrick By the SF Bay     December 03, 2008
This normally wouldn't interest me, but the only football team I care about, the Crimson Tide of Alabama, were playing the pure evil of Auburn University, and it seemed better to watch here than in the hotel room. It took a while to sort out our best viewing option. Contrary to what the website had stated, another game was on the big screen, while ours was on one of the smaller screens that surround it. However, we were able to get a booth which had it's own screen and audio feed. Any game on any of the screens could be tuned in at the booth.

Since we had had a late breakfast, it was after halftime before we wanted any food, but there was no problem with that. We had the tailgate platter, which is $40 and includes chicken strips, mini burgers, wings both BBQ and hot, and tortilla chips with various sauces and dips. Don't be fooled by the three small bowls containing red, white and yellow sauces; turns out those are NOT ketchup, mustard and mayo. The mustard and ketchup is in standard bottles, and my first burger was more interesting than I expected. You may want to have a fire extinguisher handy for the hot wings.

The boy's sour apple beverage was like a non-alcoholic whiskey sour, and my cola consumption rose drastically after said hot wings; fortunately, refills were free.

The arcade is upstairs, and we went there at halftime. The main interest was a small hockey rink with a full size goal, randomly moving goalie and actual sticks and pucks which come at you automatically. It must be really embarrassing for a hockey player in his fourth season to be beaten by his born-in-Alabama-and-never-played-the-game-father; good thing no skating was involved. A pinball machine or two would be a good idea, though. The machines don't take coins, you have to buy a pre-loaded card, the cheapest of which is $10 plus a $1 activation fee.

While this is by no means a quiet and relaxing place, it served it's purpose. There was way more food than the three of us needed; fortunately we were in a hotel with a fridge and microwave, so we took what remained when we departed. The bill came with discount cards for the arcade, which by that time was too little too late, so I had the boy take them up for anyone he found standing in line to buy a playing card.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/24/07
Reviewer: jacandjan Portland OR.     September 03, 2007
Before we left I signed up for the ESPN Zone MVP card at this address, http://mvpclub.espnzone.com/ . Right before we left I made a reservation online for prioirty seating at 5pm. After spending the day at Universal we didn't arrive at ESPN Zone until about 7pm. They were very busy and were told the wait could be as long as 1 hour, I told them that I had a priority seating reservation at 5pm but due to traffic coming back from Universal I had missed it. They looked up the reservation and had us seated within 10 minutes. I would recommend signing up for this card before you go.

Our party consisted of 3 adults and 2 kids (5 & 8)
We found the atmosphere to be very nice and we were seated at a table just above the recliners. The kids could have cared less about the sports theme but were quite happy with the crayons and puzzles they were given.

Our waitress took our orders pretty fast however it took quite awhile to get our food , I guess this was because they were so busy with the dinner rush. She did make sure our drinks & water glasses were kept full until our dinner arrived.

I ordered the Triple Double Hamburger (1lb.) and it was very good all though I didn't make it through all of it. The wife had the half chicken and thought it was her best meal of our 6 day stay, my daughter also had a burger but I think it was only the 1/3 lb & the grandkids had chicken tenders, everyone was happy with the meal.

Our meal came to $57.05 plus tip.

We would recommend this restaurant and will eat there again.

 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 5, 2007
Reviewer: missm Seattle, WA     April 07, 2007
We went here for dinner on a Thursday night. They seated us in the recliner chairs down in front of the t.v.'s in the bar area. It was a nice break from walking around in the crowds all day.

I had the chicken ceasar salad which was excellent and really filling. Rick had the blackened chicken sandwich which he said was really good.

The recliners combined with the air conditioning was a really nice break for us.

For the two of us meals and two iced teas was almost $40 including a tip. Well worth the money to have a peaceful moment.

Service, price, and food were all good. Atmosphere was excellent. Keep in mind we don't have kids and like an adult atmosphere.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 2006
Reviewer: indysoarin19 Valencia, CA     July 17, 2006
I have been to ESPN Zone on several occasions and each time have been very impressed. The salmon dinner platter was excellent and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was great for our group several big sports fans, myself included. The service was a tad lacking, but it was also a late night dinner for a very large party. The only real negative flaw with ESPN Zone is the waiting. Even late at night, we still had a 30-45 minute wait. However, I would rather wait here for a table than at most other restaurants because of the second floor games they have that kill time very quickly. Highly recommended.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/18-12/22-2005
Reviewer: CamCay Oakdale, California     December 22, 2005
This was our fifth dining experience at this ESPN Zone. The first four were flawless, it is the best choice in Downtown Disney. The food is very well priced (about $15 per person) the proportions are huge! The service was timely and friendly; the negative side was that we made "Priority Seating" arrangements (disney's version of reservations) through the Disney Dining phone line; they had no record of this request (which could be either party's mistake), and that the first young lady we spoke to (didn't write down her name) was not only rude, but told us we couldn't seat six people in the tv room (we had done this the previous four times), when we told her this, she said "fine, it will be sixty minutes" when the young lady at the tv room desk said it would be ten minutes to set up a table. Out of pure frustration we attempted to leave and were stopped by a very kind young man (Zack, i believe), he let us know he would be able to seat us, and did so promptly. It is a shame that this young woman is allowed to keep her job. It made us think twice about returning ever again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 9-19th 2005
Reviewer: Disney4Me Canada     October 21, 2005
While visiting the skies opened up to rain. ESPN seemed a good place to stop. My son ejoyed the games and a plate of sliders he shared with me. Sliders are 6 mini burgers on a plate. I had a cold beer and he had a water. I had to order at the bar downstairs as there was no service upstairs at the time. It was good food and passed the time till the skies cleared. I cannot comment on the service as we served ourself. It was around 12.00 for the food and drink. THe ESPN card was 20.00 and that kept him busy for around 2 hours.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 2, 2005
Reviewer: laemee (laemee1@yahoo.com) North Bend, Oregon     July 13, 2005
We arrived around 7pm on a Saturday night & there was quite a line outside the building, but we decided to stick it out & wait. When we finally reached the host inside, we were told we would have a 90 minute wait. We agreed & were handed a pager (that only works in the building which I didn't like, because I would have loved to use that time to check out the other shops near by). After 35 minutes, the pager went off & we were seated.....we were in shock ! (so don't let the amount of time to be seated here, scare you off, you get seated much quicker than quoted). This meal was excellent ! For our family of 7, the meal ran us just over $100 and was worth it. The servings are huge & the food is delicious. The wait staff are friendly & energetic & even the manager comes by to make sure you are enjoying yourself & meal. We will definately come back when in the area!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/24/04
Reviewer: Chasb California     June 21, 2005
One of the best places to eat at in the Downtown Disney District . Reasonably priced (by Disney standards anyways), good (although far from gourmet) food, and great atmosphere (coming from someone who is not a sports fan). I had a good time using my ten free dollars on the games up stairs and enjoyed my meal.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page