Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Fairfield Inn Anaheim-Disneyland
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1460 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 3-5, 2011
Reviewer: adriennek     September 05, 2011
Ok, I debated between 3 and 4 planets. I would give it a 3 1/2 planets if I could:

THE ROOM - THE GOOD: The room was very lovely. It seemed recently refurbished. We had two queen beds but the best part was the chair that folded out to an extra bed. We're a family of 5 so one of the boys usually ends up on the floor. They LOVED that chair bed and have declared the Fairfield is now their FAVORITE hotel and they want to stay here from now on! I liked that the sink was outside the bathroom.

THE ROOM - THE INDIFFERENT: There was a lovely framed print on the wall of a Disney Theme Park castle with smaller pictures on the bottom of the castle under construction. It was the castle from ORLANDO, not Anaheim. Yes, I did notice, LOL. I don't know if every Disney guest would, but we did. Obviously, this is NOT a deal breaker, it was just something that made us go "Hmmmm...."

THE ROOM - THE DISAPPOINTING: We were very close to the elevators and could hear the noise of the elevator cars moving up and down. It was especially bad Saturday night because we went to bed early (we had to get up very early Sunday morning for the Half Marathon!) and then Monday morning when we were "sleeping in" until 8:30 am. When we stay here again, we will call ahead and request a room away from the elevators, FOR SURE. Not a deal breaker but I won't stay in a room close to the elevator again.

Now, please don't get me wrong: We were very pleased with our stay. Very. Like I said, the kids have asked us to please stay there again in the future. They liked the pool, they liked the lemon water and lime water in the lobby, we all really liked the hotel. The location was terrific, parking was not a challenge to find, the noise level was comfortable (outside of the elevator issue,) but, that said...

THINGS WE DIDN'T LIKE THAT MUCH:

PARKING FEES- We had to pay a parking fee. I realize more and more hotels on Harbor are charging fees but my other favorites do not yet charge parking fees yet. They charged us $9 per day to park. But to make it worse, the day we checked out, they charged us an additional $9 to keep the car in the parking lot after 3:00. By the way, when we returned to get our car, the parking lot was VERY EMPTY, so it was not an issue of gosh, we need the spots for incoming guests. I suppose, in theory, it could be, but it wasn't. So I was very disappointed that not only were we charged but we couldn't use the parking lot the entire day we checked out.

THE DINING NITPICK: They have a nice little "marketplace" on the third floor with a Pizza Hut Express. They had reasonably priced breakfast options in the morning and Pizza Hut options in the evening. They had a great selection of beverages, including several styles of milk (I drink nonfat milk so I notice when it's available as an option.) BUT the marketplace is closed from 10 am to 5 pm. No later breakfast options, no lunch or mid-day snack options. (One day we really needed a mid-day snack and fountain soda but it was closed. We saw several guests come in Monday morning between 10 and 10:30, bummed to find it closed (we got our breakfast at 9:55!) So if I had one wish, besides the parking thing, it would be that they extend the hours at the Marketplace.

Oh, and as Drince said, yes, the towels were very thin. Again, not a deal breaker but they were very thin, especially considering how lovely the rooms are with the fresh new carpet, linens & furniture.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 7-11, 2011
Reviewer: Drince88 New Orleans, LA     April 12, 2011
Although it may seem like it, you CAN NOT get to the Fairfield from the road that intersects with Harbor by the HoJos. And I don't think there's a break in the median until you get to the Disneyland crosswalk.

We had a 2 queen guest room and booked it with a pre-paid special, for $116/night.

The beds were comfy, though the refrigerator didn't really fit in the little cabinet right, so the 'pretty' doors didn't close - and it seemed like the foundation had slumped a little bit where we were, because the bathroom door didn't hang/close right and the main door had to be really pulled to close securely.

Big 'rain shower' shower head, and not too short for me (I'm 5'10") - towels have seen better days, but they didn't have holes.

We were on the first floor facing the HoJos, basically, and there was plenty of parking right there, which was nice.

The Pizza Hut was nice - but one time when my sister went to get us beer, when I was printing my boarding pass - it took FOREVER. (You can't buy beer in the store, but they do have wine and hard stuff, because the Pizza Hut sells beer. So if you want a beer before Pizza Hut opens in the evening, you're out of luck.)
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 22-26, 2009
Reviewer: korikelly Medford, OR     January 11, 2010
· Checked in December 22, checked out December 26th, 2009

· Standard 2-Queen city view room

· Check in was fast and easy. We arrived around 8:30am, so our room was not ready until 3pm, but they checked us in and let us stow our luggage while we went to the park. I didn't get the clerk's name, but she was incredibly friendly. We got popcorn, coupons for a free pizza at the on-site Pizza Hut, a coupon for a free movie, and a coupon for 99 cent meals Millie's restaurant on the property. I got a call around 11am telling us the room was ready. The room was definitely large enough for the four of us and our luggage. My daughter loved that the chair folded out to a single bed and she didn't have to share with her brother! Very clean room with a large vanity area outside a small toilet/shower area. It was great to have a mini fridge, and we had use of the microwave outside Pizza Hut, which was on our (3rd)floor. The beds were very comfortable. We never had trouble with long waits for the elevators (one of my pet peeves).

· Not sure of the rate, it was part of a package

· It was an easy, 10 minute max walk to and from the park each day. Crossing Harbor in a big clump of people was the hardest part!

· The pool and hot tub area is decent sized and well kept, very clean. It was never very crowded while we were there mid-afternoon each day. May have been because it is an outdoor pool and it was not very warm out. We're from Oregon, so my kids will swim in any weather!

· I would highly recommend this hotel. It is clean and nice, nothing fancy, but perfect for our needs. My only complaint is that this is the only Fairfield/Marriott property I've ever been to that does not have breakfast. I knew ahead of time there was no breakfast, but I still find it strange. I would probably request a park view room in the future.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 2nd - May 3rd, 2009
Reviewer: Sansarc Los Angeles, California     May 03, 2009
Dates of Stay: May 2nd - May 3rd, 2009
Class of room: Standard, with a park view
Accommodations Review: I had booked our room through the Marriott.com internet site and requested early check-in, but the only room available when we arrived was by the elevators on the 9th floor. The front desk clerk was kind enough to tell us this, and even explained that we may hear elevator noise, so we declined this room and decided to wait until another room became available. She was upfront -- explaining that the other rooms would not be available until 4:00 p.m. I appreciated her telling us the pros/cons of the 9th floor room and for being honest about availability. We knew what to expect and weren't deceived. Our family went to Disneyland for the day, and then at 3:30 p.m., my husband returned for check-in. He waited in the lobby and was able to access the hotel's free wi-fi. This was a huge bonus for him and really appreciated.

Our room was clean and of standard size. The closet and sink are in an ante-chamber area -- totally accessible from the bedroom. This gave the room a feeling of more space. We all liked this feature! There was also a mini-refrigerator -- very helpful. The bathroom was small, but exceptionally clean. We all liked the big shower head, too. There were nice Disney posters on the walls and a comfortable chair for reading, a desk and good sized TV. The air conditioner worked perfectly, too. It was fun to look out the window and see the pool and Disneyland in the distance.

Because the hotel is set off of Harbor Blvd (with the parking lot and Millie's restaurant in front, at the street) -- it was quiet. No street traffic, nothing like that. The only time we were heard any noise was after Disneyland closed and people returned to their rooms. There are outdoor corridors, so we could hear other guests walking past. There was no screaming or loud talking, though.

It's true that the rooms don't seem to have thick insulation -- but the other guests near us were quiet. We heard a baby crying in the morning -- but we've heard that kind of sound in other hotels, too. Occasionally, we heard a shower . . . or people walking by on their way to the parks. None of it was disturbing or disrupted. It was "expected," as obviously everyone is there to go to the parks, and there are families with children.

During the afternoon, my husband worked in the room for several hours. He said it was completely quiet. He was able to access the internet from his laptop without the need of a password -- and it was free! This was really great. He didn't even hear any noise from the pool below. But again, we were on the 7th floor.

The towels were not plush -- they were thin and serviceable. I had requested extra towels when I'd reserved the room -- and sure enough, 4 extra towels were neatly stacked in the bathroom! Yay!

The lobby had ice water available and a small gift shop. No one was at the information desk, though -- which I imagine would have been used for Disney tickets. I didn't see anyone at that desk during our entire stay. I think the tickets must be sold through the front desk. We wanted 2fer passes, which were not available through the hotel.

Rate/Night (for your stay): $134 AAA rate. We were also given a $50 coupon when we checked out for use towards our next stay! Nice!

Ease of Disney Park Access: It took us about 10 minutes to reach the front of the parks from the Fairfield Inn, just as everyone else has said. It was an easy walk, and so much nicer than having to rely on a hotel shuttle or pay for parking. The hotel gave us a parking pass during our stay. After we checked out, we kept our car in their lot with the pass -- and spent the day at DCA. This was nice, too.

Pool Description/Comments: We walked by the pool, but didn't use it. It looked clean, though, and the landscaping was pleasant with potted palms and other flowers.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   March 31-April 4
Reviewer: ksuwildcats97 Herriman, Utah     April 08, 2009
When I had made the reservations, I requested to be on an upper floor facing Disneyland. We ended up with a room that was right across from the pool. So every night it was extremely loud from the huge teenage swim party going on! They would make them clear out at 11pm but that is really late for my 5yr old & 7 yr old, who's bedtimes are usually 8:30pm. The room was outdated & very warn. Also, a bit frustrating that this Fairfield Inn does not do a continental breakfast unlike every other Fairfield Inn that I have ever stayed at! The only reason I would book this motel (it is not a hotel) again is for the close proximity to the park.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 16 - 21, 2007
Reviewer: ORDUCK Gladstone, OR     April 28, 2008
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc): I reserved a standard King room. When I called to confirm the reservation a few weeks prior to the trip, I asked for a Park View if available. I was told it wasn't available and would have cost extra. When we checked in at almost 11 p.m. I was pleasantly surprised to be given a Park View room at no extra charge!
· Accommodations Review: The beds are SUPER comfortable. I found the rooms to be clean and spacious. We never heard noise from the other rooms, only from people walking outside on the corridor. The walk to Disneyland was easy, my 8 year-old didn't complain once about the walk.
· Rate/Night (for your stay): $97/night

 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 23- May 1
Reviewer: GrumpyUTboi Salt Lake City, Utah     May 29, 2006
We got to the Fairfield at 3 pm. Being a Platnuim reward member I was expecting a little bit more from the front staff than what I got. We requested a room on the upper floor facing DL, but our room was not ready and they told us that all they had available was on ground level. We took it because we wanted to get to DL as fast as we could. It turned out that we actually enjoyed having the ground level instead of being on an upper floor.

As I stated the front desk staff was less than cheerful. I am used to the front staff being very nice and very cheerful.

When we got to our room I thought that I had traveled back 30 years to the 70's. I have to admit that the room was ugly, real ugly. This was the extent of our displeasure.

We did get a knock at our door and the extra pillows and towels were delivered as was requested in our profile.

The beds were very comfortable. We got the King room with a sofa sleeper. The sofa sleeper was comfortable for our kids and the bed was what we have come to expect from Marriott.

THe shower head was a HUGE one. I mean it was as big as a persons head, and I guess if you are a tall person you would not like the shower head because it was about 6 feet high. Anyone taller than that would be really disappointed. The shower head was not like a high pressure sprayer which was very nice and we did not run out of hot water and believe me the kids and wife tried.

The pool was nice. Nothing like the pools at the resort hotel, but it was nice. There were plenty of towels for the guests to use.

What I loved the most about the room was the air conditioning unit. At many Marriotts the air conditioner is pretty flush with the wall so when you turn on the air it blows up the curtains so you do not get any heat or cold air at night, but this was different. It was about 6 inches jetted out from the wall so that there was air flow all night long.

I also appreciated the fact that we did not get charged a pre-authorization for the total amount plus a little extra. We were charged about $300 and then we were charged the rest at the end of the trip. We also had to leave a day early because my daughter came down with a horrible cold from a gentleman that was coughing on her in line at the park. We did not get charged for the night that we did not stay. Other hotels around the resort would have charged us for the night and then rent out the room.

Over all we were very satisfied with our stay. The ladies that made up our room did so quickly and did avery good job. The walk with 2 little ones was a bit long at night, but we were close enough to make it a nice trip. We booked our next trip in OCT 2006 and look forward to staying there again and agian.

THe cost was $109 Sun-Wed and $129 Thur-Sat
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 13-17 2005
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 28, 2006
DH, daughter and I stayed at this hotel as part of a package purchased from Disneyland Travel Services. Room was probably about $100 a night. We found it to be one of the nicest and most conveniant places we have stayed in the area. We were downstairs in a corner room by the security office and never bothered by noise.
Our room had a King Bed, really comfy and a sofa bed that we never used. All the furnishings were new and beautiful. We really liked the decor and found the room to be relaxing. There was a refridgerator but I don't recall a microwave. We did have a problem with the fridge getting too cold and freezing our snacks and beverages.
We didn't use the pool but it appeared to very nice and busy all day long.
We tried the Millies Resturant but didn't care for the food. For the same price we can enjoy eating at our favorites in downtown Disney or DLR.
It is an easy walk across the street to DLR and McDonald's is on the way so we could grab coffee or whatever on the way. The McDonald's tends to be very busy all the time though.
Parking is very tight at this hotel. If you leave and return it is a challenge to find a spot.
There is not any breakfast other than room service or the Millies Cafe.

We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sept 30 - Oct 9, 2005
Reviewer: lovesthemouse New York City     October 13, 2005
Quick check in even though we arrived nearly 2AM. We had a room on the 8th floor facing the Parks. It was large and clean. There were 2 Queen size beds that were very comfortable with 5 pillows each. There was also a large chair that opened to a single sleeper- we never tried it, a desk and a dresser with 6 large draws.The sink/vanity had plenty of cabinet space underneath- great for keeping all the toiletries out of sight. There was also a small refrigerator and a coffee maker in the room. Coffee was provided on a daily basis. There is also free wireless internet service from your room. Internet service for a fee was provided in the lobby and on the 3rd floor. Room service could be ordered from the adjacent Millies Restaurant but the prices were higher nad the selection much more limited then at the retaurant itself. The cafe of the 3rd floor had a very limited menu but was fine if you just wanted a bagle, cereal or such. There was also a game room on the 3rd floor. There was also a concierge available during the day if you wanted to book other tours or needed to book transportation to the airport. She also sold DL/DCA passes. The pool and whirlpool were average size for this type of hotel. The were set off from the parking lot by extensive shrubbery. We didn't incurr any noise problems. It was an easy 10 minuet walk from our room to the entrance gates. We would stay at this hotel again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 17 - 28, 2005
Reviewer: Llisa Calgary, Alberta     August 30, 2005
Excellent location, clean rooms, nice pool and hot-tub, great staff. Nothing fancy (it doesn't claim to be 5-star and it isn't) but it's a perfectly good hotel within EASY walking distance of DL. Lovely view of pool and DL/DCA from our 8th floor room; great view of fireworks from the end of the hallway. Coin operated washer/dryer located on every floor came in handy to dry kid's running shoes that got soaked (too long a story to tell here!).

Contrary to some other reviews, we had no problems with noise at all. The "cafe" on the third floor was expensive so we bought munchies etc. for the room from local grocery stores.

Internet access available from 3rd floor and Lobby - for a price.

I highly recommend this hotel - we'd stay here again in a heartbeat!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page