Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel Grand Californian Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1600 S. Disneyland Drive, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 67 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 40 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Nov.17-21, 2005
Reviewer: smkymtgrl Florence, Kentucky     November 30, 2005
Outstanding experience! Rooms were quiet and beds were comfy. Stayed on 4th floor with two queen beds.The lobby was decorated for Christmas and was gorgeous. The entrance to California Adventure was awesome and easy to access. Downtown Disney was also an easy access. Housekeeping and turn-down service was outstanding. Would love to return soon...
 
9 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 22-23
Reviewer: MsYumiBr San Diego     October 26, 2005
Typically we stay at the DLH so this is probably a biased review. The room was smaller than the DLH but comfy. I liked the design very much but for $500 a night I expected perfection. The staff was very friendly and helpful and did not have to wait very long for anything. I called for room service in the morning and now realize why they give you the meal request door hanger. The line was busy and I called 5 times. Storytellers had "technical difficulties" in the kitchen so they were closed too. We had a pretty good view of the bear rock in California Adventure park but could only get a good view from the balcony. We got lucky and although originally had one king and a sofa pullout for 4 girls, they got us two queens. They had robes and a portable crib in the closet! So was that touch worth an extra $200? We were not there long enough to enjoy any of the "guest exclusive perks". Not even swimming. The kids got wet enough on the rapids they went on 5 times in a row. I really enjoyed sitting on the balcony at their little table. Would I stay there again? Only if it was just me and my husband.
 
10 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 15-18, 2005
Reviewer: tlovesdis (tlovesdis@yahoo.com) Antioch, CA     October 25, 2005
We stayed at the Grand Californian Saturday October 15th through Tuesday October 18th. We splurged and got a theme park view with concierge! It was amazing! The hotel is stunning! The staff was great! Our room was perfect and concierge is something else! When we arrived we were greeted by someone from concierge and they took us right up to the 6th floor check in area. While I checked in, the other 4 in my party were taken to the lounge. Check in was very quick and smooth and the CM was great! I joined my gang in the lounge. It was breakfast time and there were bagels, cereal, fruit, muffins, juice, coffee, and more! It was quite a spread! Over the next few days we would enjoy sandwiches, veggies, crab cakes, quiches, cheese and crackers, and more. It was so cool to be able to take as many waters and sodas as we wanted throughout our trip! The view from our balcony was incredible. We were directly across from the Paradise Pier area of California Adventure. At night it was stunning! We completely enjoyed our stay and would do it again in a hearbeat!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/1/05-10/5/05
Reviewer: amwiddis Mesa, Arizona     October 12, 2005
This hotel was everything we imagined and more. Absolutely one of the best vacations our family has had! The service by the employees was awesome too. Everyone was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us. Our beds were turned down every night, even the day-bed. The only complaint I had was the fire alarm went off at 12:30 in the morning and we had to be evacuated. I recommend the Storytellers restaurant. It is, as everything else in Disneyland, expensive, but the food is actually good. The rooms and grounds were beautiful, and I loved the convenience of being close to the parks. It was awesome to come back from the park and sit in the hot tub! It was as if we were in a whole different world, I hated coming home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and won't stay anywhere else (if we can afford it!).
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 26th through 29th. (4 nights)
Reviewer: cjkeys (carol@stewartholdings.com) El Paso, TX     October 12, 2005
My grown daughter and I stayed on the concierge floor at the Grand Californian September 26th through the 29th. As soon as we pulled up to the curb, we were met by a CM who took us up to the 6th floor (where we were checked in) then he gave us a tour of the concierge lounge. It was barely 3:00 and our room was ready. It wasnt as small as I had anticipated after reading some reviews. It was spotlessly clean. Had asked for and received with no problems a room with 2 queen beds, not terribly far from the elevator, and with a fridge we could use. All the CMs were friendly and the utmost professionals. Every CM we passed made it a point to smile and offer some sort of greeting. Any time we asked a question for which they didnt have an answer, they were on the phone and getting an answer immediately. I believe that concierge was worth it in food and beverage savings. In the four days we were there, we only had to purchase 4 meals. And I figure my daughter went through at least 8 bottles of water a day which she got from the concierge lounge. Had we purchased those eight bottles of water in the parks wed have spent $22 per day on that one thing alone. Another concierge perk is the ability to borrow a DVD from a catalog of Disney films (old and new). I dont know if all the rooms have DVD players or just the concierge rooms. The Grand Californian is so convenient to Disneyland and California Adventure that we didnt even have to rent a car. We just got a shuttle to and from the airport.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct. 2-7 2005
Reviewer: pirateabbie (gardnerab@hotmail.com) Northfield, MN     October 09, 2005
Our stay at the Grand Californian Hotel was, in a word, superlative. In our group of eight we had four rooms which we wanted as close together as possible, near the elevator (for my pregnant sister) and as quiet as possible. All of our requests were met. All of our rooms were on the sixth floor and faced the parking lot. Where else can you go but Disneyland where even the parking lost offers a pleasant view. I adored the fact that we all had our own small patios. The rooms were immaculate and we had more than enough space. I loved all the attention to detail. From the shower curtain to the roses on the super-soft sheets everything was beautiful. Our rooms were cleaned well and in a timely manner each day. Even if I tried I could not find a single fault with any of our rooms.

The staff of the hotel was extremely efficient and courteous. We arrived in the morning, well before check-in. Our rooms were ready several hours before we expected them to be and our luggage was already waiting in our rooms when we went upstairs.

The hotel itself is stunning. I could have sat in that lobby all week and have been perfectly content. I adored the faux Tiffany lamps and the beautiful floral arrangements.

The pool was wonderful as well. It was large enough not to feel crowded and was beautifully landscaped, as were the hotel grounds themselves.

Perhaps the best feature of the GCH is its close proximity to the parks. It really felt as though the parks were right outside our door. After a long hot day of playing in the parks, it was nice to have a very short stroll back to paradise.

This is truly a magical place to stay!
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/22 /05-9/25/05
Reviewer: lbrackjo Seattle, WA     October 08, 2005
We had a downtown disney view room at an AP rate of $199. It was the standard configuration of two queen beds, 2 sinks, small balcony, 4th floor. The room was very clean and maid service was prompt and well done each day. We were worried about potential noise from the Downtown distric, but with the slider closed it was barely noticable and the music was more mellow in the evening. Now, this was midweek so it may be different on weekends when things are open later. We did hear matinenace and construction noise early in the morning. The proximity to the parks was the key for our staying here. We also found that by going down the stairs by the ice room you could cut out the long walk to the lobby elevators and long walk back to the pedestrian mall.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 6-10, 2005
Reviewer: PamPensiero (pampensiero@sbcglobal.net) Central California     August 17, 2005
We had a wonderful time! Full of surprises! First, there was candy every night on our beds! We were greeted the first night with a plate of BIG cookies and the next night with a balloon bouquet and an autographed picture of the Disney Characters. This made the stay fun and unexpected. The room was clean. We had the standard room with 2 queen beds. We had 3 adults in the room and it was crowded. But you don't spend much time in the room. We didn't have a balcony and didn't have a great view but we didn't pay extra for it so really can't complain. The rest of our party had a balcony, if you can call it that. It was so small only two people can kind-of sit outside. It is expensive, but the closeness to the park makes it well worth it, especially if you are handicapped in any way. I have M.S. so it was nice to be that close to the park. And like one other reviewer said, you are suppose to spend money when you are on vacation. It is a simply beautiful hotel. The Lobby is amazing. The people are courteous and kind. We never ate in the hotel restaurant as we did most of that at the park or in Downtown Disney. We plan on visiting again and trying the other resort hotels just to see how they compare. I think what I enjoyed most about it was the closeness to the park, how clean it was, and the beautiful lobby. There are a lot of other perks, but we didn't use them. You will enjoy this hotel, if you realize you are paying for a private entrance into California Adventure and easy access to Disneyland. The rooms are small but clean. If the view is important to you then you need to pay for it. If you want a balcony, you must request a room with one. But all in all a wonderful time!
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   07/06-07/09 2005
Reviewer: CyberStitch Sacramento, CA     August 04, 2005
· Type/Class of room: Downtown Disney View
· Accommodations Review: The "Grand" is an AWESOME hotel! First let me start by saying that this hotel is definitely worth the price! I mean, if you've never stayed at a 4 star hotel, then you don't know what you're missing. This was the fifth time we've stayed at the "Grand" in the past 3 years and have always had a great experience. We finally convinced our family to stay there and when they did for the first time, they absolutely loved it. The room that we usually get is the 2 queen beds, DTDisney View. The "Grand" ALWAYS has activities for the kids and adults. This is usually outlined the night before by a memo that they provide when they turn down your room. If you get a chance to participate with the hotel activities, DO THEM, they are a great way to start off the morning before going into the parks, especially for the kids. For the past few years we have stayed at the Grand, we have had an excellent experience again and again. The atmosphere is definitely pleasureable and family-oriented. The hotel staff/cast members are wonderful and very courteous, especially if you lose your sense of direction after a long, exhausting day at the parks, or even in the middle of the night when you just want to hang out in the lobby, they are ALWAYS willing to help out and chit chat to make sure everything is going well. I don't really know what else to say, but I do know that we stayed at a Good Neighbor Hotel once (the Grand was sold out those days) and it was the BIGGEST MISTAKE that we made. Once you go Grand, all others just won't stand! LOL.
· Rate/Night (for your stay): We usually book our hotel with the Walt Disney Travel Company so it includes EVERYTHING. We're on vacation...You're supposed to SPEND MONEY on vacation...That's what people do.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 24 -28, 2005
Reviewer: CA Screamin Northern California     August 01, 2005
This was the first time our family stayed at the Grand Californian Hotel. It was also the first time my daughter visited Disneyland. We were very impressed. The hotel staff was very friendly. When checking in, the person at the front desk spent time answering all my questions. He provided me four room locations to choose from for the resort view which was part of my vacation package. I chose the 4th floor with the Paradise Pier view because my daughter wanted to see the lights of all the rides at night. She was not disappointed. To my surprise the room was already available at 11:30AM. (It was our lucky day) That was a big plus for my tired family.
Our room had a queen bed and a bunk bed with a trundle. The double sink vanity outside the bathroom was a big plus for a larger family. We requested a fridge which is available at no extra cost. Maid service was spotless. The maid would arrange my daughter's stuffed animals and Disney characters by her pillow. The maid also would turn down our beds in the evening.

The two pools are a good size and there is plenty of seating around the pools. My daughter spent most of the afternoons in the pool during our rest break.

My daughter also celebrated her birthday during the week we were at Disneyland. The hotel staff presented her with birthday balloons, a personalized birthday pin with her name and age. She also received an autograph picture from Minnie Mouse. The staff throughout the Hotel and the restaurants were very friendly.

Another big plus was the location of the hotel to both Disneyland and California Adventure. 5 minute walk to Disneyland thru Downtown Disney and the exclusive entrance to California Adventure for the hotel guests.

I would highly recommend staying at the Californian Grand Hotel. The extra cost was well worth it.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page