Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel Grand Californian Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1600 S. Disneyland Drive, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 67 ( Displaying Reviews: 41 - 50 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/12/04 - 12/17/04
Reviewer: sierranevada Bay Area, CA     June 16, 2005
Accomodations: DTD View with 2 queens AP rate of $189 per night. Our room also had a loveseat, a small table with 2 chairs and a balcony with chairs. The tv was set inside an armoire that had doors and 4 good sized drawers for clothes. The mini bar was also in the armoire but we had requested in advance a mini fridge which was in the room when we checked in. Never opened the mini-bar, did not want to touch anything! We had a coffee maker, and phone/internet hook ups, did not use the internet hook up. The hotel looked spectacular for Christmas! The tree in the lobby was at least 30 feet tall!

The bathroom area was a tub/shower with toilet and with a separate vanity area with 2 sinks. The shower was nice, with good pressure. The toilet paper, however, was standard Disney sandpaper so we brought our own Charmin (wonder what the maid thought!) The pillows were okay, not the best, and every day at turn down, they would squish them into small squares so we had to spend 5 minutes fluffing them up each night! I know it was suppose to look nicer but...

Services: Service was great upon check in. A cheerful CM was there to direct everyone to the next available registration CM and we waited at most, 5 minutes. We had minor problems getting our room cleaned in a timely manner each day. Twice we came back from the parks around 2- 3 and the room had not been cleaned. The first time, we called housekeeping and told them we were leaving the room again in an hour so they said they would send someone. When we came back for dinner, it still had not been done. We called again and they sent someone up right away but we had to go wait in the hall area while they cleaned. The next time, same thing when we got back in the afternoon. This time, we said to please send someone right away and when they came, we sat out on the balcony. Minor inconveniences and they did do a great job on cleaning. We had a little bit of a walk to the elevators but that is to be expected in this hotel. While the décor is a beautiful craftsman style, we missed the Disney touches we get at the DLH.

The highlight of the GCH service was a daily event they call the Grand Quest. It is listed on the daily information list they leave in your room at turn down. You go down to guest services at a certain time and get a clue map. It is very fun and family friendly and leads you around the hotel to different areas. We were the first family finished and were chosen as the Grand Family. Our prize was a photo with the CMs in front of the Christmas tree, a free photo with Santa and best of all, the key to the Craftsman Lounge that night for snacks, drinks and fireworks!

Food/Restaurants: We brought stuff for breakfast and lunch so did not eat at any of the restaurants. BTW, we brought bagels for breakfast which my son did not like "raw" - we found out you can lightly toast the bagels on the hot plate of the coffee maker!

Pools/Other: I love this pool! And yes, it was warm enough in December to go swimming! The slide is great and the lifeguards are ever vigilant!

The Eureka Spa/Workout room looked nice. We just went in during the Grand Quest.

Other: We used the exclusive CA entrance one morning to go on Soarin 30 minutes before the park opened. This perk is available to all DLR hotel guests. Loved sitting on the balcony in the morning drinking my coffee and watch the resort wake up, and sitting on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine watching the fireworks!
 
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 10-14, 2004
Reviewer: tkhatlen Vancouver, Canada     May 13, 2005
We had a wonderful time during our stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful when we checked in. We had a large party of 3 couples (incl. one child) plus a single. We originally were on differrent floors of the hotel but they made changes so we were all on the same floor only a few doors apart. We had Grizzly views and our 3 year old daughter loved it! She thought it was great to be able to look out the window and see the Bear every morning. She also loved the bunk beds we had in the room.
The room was clean and well maintained. We requested a fridge to keep some cold drinks and medication in and it was brought up quickly. It was a little dirty and beat up but worked just fine. The housekeeping staff were very accomodating and did a fine job maintaining our room and turning down the beds at night. We were very surprised by the chocolate every night. Our daughter wanted to collect them all and save them for having at the park the next day. Being environmentally conscious we were please to see that Disney is trying to save water by only changing linens every 3-4 days. We were happy to hang up our towels and use them again the next day before putting them in the linen basket to exchange for clean ones.
The lobby and restaurants were very impressive. We dined in Storytellers a few time and were impressed with the quality of the food. The service was on the slow side particularily at peak times but we found the friendly staff made up for it. Having Pluto, Chip and Dale there at breakfast was also lots of fun for our daughter, even though she was a little shy the first couple of days.

Our highlight was on our last day before leaving. Our daughter has dressed in her new Snow White dress and as we walked through the lobby a CM commented on how cute she looked. The CM asked what she had in her purse. When our daughter replied that nothing was there, the CM prompty said, "That won't do!" and went behind the concierge desk. She returned a moment later with some stickers, a pencil, eraser, tape and some other little items with the Princesses on them and put them into her purse. That really made our daughter happy!

I don't think we'll stay there again as the cost was high but it was worth staying there once. Next time we'll try the Disneyland Hotel!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 6-9, 2005
Reviewer: yiuyiu Fountain Valley, Ca     May 11, 2005
I took my mom to the Grand Californian to celebrate the 50th anniversary and Mother's day. We stayed in a standard room with 2 queen beds.
The good: The service was wonderful at the bell desk and with the valet service. (My mom is disabled and they were very helpful) We were also pleasantly surprised with the storyteller's cafe. Excellent service and great food! We ate there several times and my mother especially enjoyed their corn chowder!
The Bad:It took 3 phone calls and finally a personal trip to guest services (and a little over 90minutes) to get a box of kleenex. Everyday after returning mid-afternoon from the parks, we found our rooms had not been made up (despite the sign on door asking for maid service). This took another barage of phone calls to simply have the linens changed so we could shower for the evening. (We never did have the sheets changed during our 3 day stay). All in all, not an expirence I wish to repeat. So, I don't think I'll ever stay at the Grand Californian again...and I'm making sure to share this story with all my friends.

 
9 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/2004
Reviewer: Big Baloo Utah     May 09, 2005
The Good: We loved the resort. Our room was gorgeous. The storytelling by the fireplace was wonderful. The best part was the proximity to the parks. Having a 10 month old made this the ideal resort as we could go back to the rooms easily for naps and then head back to the park. The pool is AMAZING! Our kids hit the giant slide over and over. We found the staff to be extremely friendly.

The Bad: We spent 6 days. We did not have a rental car. It was nearly impossible to get out of the resort area to have a cheap meal. We spent more than double our original dining budget. I thought we had budgeted high! That notwithstanding, I would probably do it again.
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 3rd to April 6th
Reviewer: SeansMom Olympia, Washington     April 11, 2005
The Good: The exterior of this hotel is beautiful, and its location can't be beat. Every person we had face to face contact with was friendly and did there best to accomodate our requests. Having it's own location into DCA was very convenient, and the pool areas were ample and clean. It was great to take a quick walk after a long day and be back at our hotel. The lobby and public spaces were wonderful and well kept. Upon check in, we were given most of our "wish" list. Bunk beds, a courtyard view, and a higher floor (we'd requested 5th and got 4th.)

The Bad: Upon entering our room we of course had to open the drapes and doors and go out onto the balcony, where our noses were assaulted with a very foul smell which we soon realized came from a bag full of dirty diapers. We called housekeeping who arrived shortly to take it all away. When we returned that night we had turn down service (which was good), but our bedspread had either 1) chocolate (most likely) or 2) coffee or maybe even 3) blood on it. In any case, the underside was quite dirty, so we called down and maybe 20 minutes later we got a clean one. All this I probably would have taken in stride, but I awoke early and thought, hey, I'll take a bath and relax, then get us organized. When I went into the tub I at first thought there were stains from a smoker on the bottom of the tub. I ran some water and dropped some shampoo on it and rubbed my finger across it...gross....gross...gross. I'll assume it, too, had something to do with a baby. It also was the end of my tolerance so after a quick shower I took it up with the manager, who took $$ off our bill and offered to change rooms for us. I just said I wanted a CLEAN room, and our room WAS clean when we came back that night.
Would I stay there again??? Well...yes, if we got a really good deal. The location couldn't be beat, and every other level of service was great. I think they were "rushing" our room, which wasn't really needed, and they did respond when I spoke with a manager. But next time, I'd inspect the room BEFORE I unpacked! Also, we'll consider the Candy Cane Inn next time, as it's location seemed to be about the same (minus the entry into DCA!) Hope this helps you with your decision!

 
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 27, 2004-January 3, 2005
Reviewer: pisces Los Angeles     February 07, 2005
A stay at the Grand Californian makes a very glamorous and romantic Christmas.

I found the rooms to be very nice and there is nothing closer to both Parks.

That being said, it's not 5-star. The hotel is definitely not on par with Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons, yet Grand Californian charges just as much, or more.

Is it worth it? It was for me, only because I'd not visited the Park at all for 25 years before then. Also, I suspected the weather would be foul, which it was, and I wanted the shortest walk possible into the theme parks.

I would stay again, but only once a year. I had very realistic expectations, and even though they charge outrageous prices, I wasn't necessarily expecting anything extra-ordinary in terms of service.

The service was polite, if a bit abrupt. If you are pretty independent, and don't need to rely on the staff for any complex requests, it should be fine.

Again, you are paying outrageous prices, for the newest, and cleanest Disney property, in the very best location proximity to the parks, there is. Nothing more.

For me, once a year, that's fine. If I visited more frequently, I'd go the budget route for sure.
 
6 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec. 11-Dec. 16th 2004
Reviewer: wenidog Scottsdale, AZ     January 14, 2005
This is our 3rd consecutive year staying at The GC Hotel. We booked through Walt Disney Travel Co. which is still the best deal for non-locals (we live in AZ). The little perks offered by WD Travel continue to dwindle away (early entry, free /significantly discounted character meal coupons, etc.) but, if you need park hopper passes with accomodations you can't beat the '4th night free' package. If you need a suite, you can book at The Disneyland Hotel directly and get concierge upgrade included w/ room price, which can be money saving in terms of breakfast and snacks (the GC does not offer this deal.) Anyway, we love the GC hotel for its location (can't beat it when your cold and wet after riding Grizzly Rapids), overall service and theme. We request a view room of the Grizzly Park area and in the morning before the park opens it really feels like your in Yosemite! Plus, with a view room you get a behind the scenes look at Disney without any spoilers. We had wonderful service this year and a clean well-kept room. Last year we had poor service with check-in (snotty front desk employee) and our room had stained dirty carpet and alot of thick dust on nightstands and top of armoire. We will stay at the GCH again as our kids are over the DH theme (we all still love the waterfall and koi pond, pool area over there though!) It's not truly as 5 star resort but, location and theme is everything when visiting Disneyland.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Nov 30 - Dec 4, 2004
Reviewer: poohfan Northern California     January 02, 2005
The Grand is wonderful! My husband and I had the Paradise Pier View. I made reservations in April for our December trip. Many times I contacted them to have a Grizzly view. I even requested view over queen or king bed. Upon check-in we were given the Paradise Pier view. We were told to go ahead to the room and they would check on availability. Upon entrance to the room, we received a phone call stating that the Grizzly view was available. My husband had never stayed at the Grand and loved the lights of the rides in Paradise Pier. So I thanked them and we stayed. I wasn't quite understanding of why they could not accomodate us at check-in. But, all views I have stayed in are just as enjoyable as the next. Nothing is bad! The room was very comfortable and clean. The balcony had a little table and chairs. We were on the 3rd floor and had a beautiful view with no obstructions. When we closed the slidding glass door, the noise of the outside were completely cut off. (There was a hidden mickey in our light fixture on the balcony.) Each night we returned to a turn-down service of dimmed lights, bed turned, disney chocolate and a schedule of the next days happenings at the resort. The lobby was stunning and the fireplace was used on a nightly basis, with hot chocolate in hand, as it was so cold at that time. Their christmas decorations and christmas tree were beautiful and it was nice to see Santa there taking pictures with families. The grounds are also beautiful and relaxing to walk around. The Storytellers Cafe has a comfortable atmosphere with much to see, great food and service. White Water Snacks is great for a quick bite when you want to get to the park. My husband and I enjoyed the (free) "Washcloth Creations" and the "Learn to Draw Mickey" classes. We were surprised by the number of adults, as well as, children who take the classes. We learned how the housekeeping staff make the rabbit, the turkey and heart they sometimes leave. The draw Mickey class had a very nice surprise in the end. If you wanted to leave your artwork, they had Mickey sign it. They left it in our room with a certificate. Nice Disney touch...as usual! When you stay at a Disney resort hotel, you can have any purchases you make in the park sent to the hotel. It was ready the next morning at the Bellhop desk. Access to the parks is very easy. Entrance to the CA Adventure is there and Disneyland is a short walk away. I can't say enough great things about the Grand. The staff, the atmosphere, the accomodations were wonderful!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/8/04 - 11/10/04
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     December 24, 2004
I was excited about saying a second time at this great hotel. It was over my son's 3rd birthday, and we wanted it to be a special time for him since we couldn't celebrate with his friends at preschool. I booked a package through the Disneyland.com website, so price - including park passes for hubby and myself was just over $700 I think. Upon arrival, we handed the car off to the valet, and the same bellman stayed with our luggage while I went to check in. It was early in the day and our room was not yet ready. We left the luggage in storage and played at DL until it was time to come back to get our room number. When we did, they had some birthday surprises waiting for my son - both at the front desk and up in the room. It was great! They really know how to make him feel special. It was a long walk to the room but worth it! I had requested a courtyard view overlooking the monorail as my son loves trains and this trip was all about him. I learned at check in that not only did we have the monorail view, but they upgraded us to a King corner suite! The views of the monorail, Downtown Disney, and Disneyland in the distance could not be beat! The room itself was an L shape with the bathroom in the middle. My son slept on the sofa-bed in the living room while hubby and I were able to have the king bedroom all to ourselves. There was an honor bar in the bedroom, but also a fridge in the living area, which was prefect to keep snacks in. The only thing the room lacked was a microwave. That would have made it perfect I think.

While we didn't have time to use the pool this trip, it seemed big and never looked crowded. We did finally get a chance to eat at Whitewater Snacks, and were glad we did! The food was great, the atmosphere was quiet and comfortable, and the prices were about the same as the quick meals in the parks. I dont remember using the direct entrance to DCA like we have in the past, but the walk to the front gates of both parks was so quick there wasn't really a need. I was also able to go back down to the World of Disney store in Downtown Disney to do some shopping after the boys had settled in for the night. "Santa" got some great items to put away for Christmas that night!

Bottom line: if you get the chance, DEFINITELY stay at this hotel you will LOVE it!!!
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/3/04-8/5/04
Reviewer: termoo Livermore, CA     August 06, 2004
My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in a 4th floor standard view room ($248/night with AAA rates) and absolutely loved it! The room looked out over a courtyard and the monorail track. Didn't notice the monorail noise unless the patio door was open, and even then it wasn't bad. The most noise was during the fireworks, because the concierge lounge looked out over the the same courtyard and the music was blasting. Our room was lovely (1 King bed and a fold-out couch, a coffee table, desk, fridge--full of mini-bar stuff, though--coffee pot, iron, blowdryer, daily USA Today, late afternoon turndown service--beautifully done--with chocolates, and bathrobes.) The bathroom had two sinks, with plenty of storage underneath and a lovely dried flower arrangement on top. There was a basket for used towels, which was a very nice touch.

The entire staff was so friendly and helpful--not one "5-star resort snob" to be found--right down to the maintenance men and the maids. We had special boarding privileges on the monorail in Tomorrowland, as well as access to a free computer work center, and free bag storage before we checked in and after checking out.

The access to DCA is unbeatable; to DL, it's a small jaunt, but not bad (unless your feet are killing you at the end of the day!!) I don't think it's much farther than the motels across the street on Harbor.

When we left, we were given our room keys as souveniers, as well as a free trading pin pack from the gift shop.

The pools were nice--although I wish they had an adults only hot tub. This was the only time I noticed kids as an annoyance there. The atmosphere was so serene and calming throughout the hotel, which was a nice break from the crowded parks, without losing the magic.

I'm going to have a hard time staying anywhere else now!
 
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page