Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel Grand Californian Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1600 S. Disneyland Drive, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 67 ( Displaying Reviews: 51 - 60 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/2/04 to 2/6/04
Reviewer: duckie Sacramento, Ca physically, mentally @ Disneyland     July 02, 2004
This was our first stay here. We checked in early. Unfortunately, our room wasn't ready yet. So we checked our luggage and headed off to the parks. It wasn't too long that we were sitting in the room enjoying the great theme park view. We had a little patio to enjoy the view at night or in the early morning. The spa services are nice too! Teddy, thank you for the awesome massage and scrub! The check out process was easy and simple. This hotel is a little pricey, but if you can afford it you have to stay here at least once. Every cast member we ran into was helpful even for Disneyland veterans. We're going back in September! I can't wait!
 
2 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/25/03-12/29/03
Reviewer: socalgyrl Torrance, CA     January 06, 2004
We had a wonderful time at the GCH this past holiday. We wanted a "special" holiday, and decided on a suite at the GCH. From the concierge lounge to the updates throughout the day from the concierge cm's, we felt truly special from the time we checked in and a cm was awating our arrival as we pulled in. He took us to the check in counter and we were told we could wait in the concierge lounge until our room was ready. We proceeded upstairs and began our wonderful journey. We decided to go get some food from LaBrea Bakery and bring back to the lounge, by the time we returned our room was ready. That wasn't so bad since it was 1:30PM. Before leaving the lounge, the CM asked how long our stay was going to be and if she could reserve priority seating for us at the Aladdian show, and sign us up for early entry into Toon Town, we took her up on both and the reserved seating for Aladdian was such a blessing. I didn't think we would ever see the show all together until my grandaughter was a bit older. We proceeded to our room and what a view, we had a corner suite looking at the Paradise Pier area of CA. The master bedroom had a nice king bed with plenty of room and the second room had the two queens. Everyone had plenty of room to roam and rest and take in the view! The rain was still coming down so we decided to stay put for awhile. I did go into DL for a short time in the evening on Christmas to just take in the whole Disneyland Christmas Magic! The wind kept kicking up and the rain was off and on, so we only lasted a couple of hours. We got up first thing the next morning and took advantage of our early entry in to Toon Town and then over to CA to the Aladdian show. With the priority seating the wait time was less then 10 minutes for the show and my grandaughter loved it! My younder daughter and granddaughter went into the park very late on Friday to hit a few rides before the night was over, we went on the HM twice, the Pooh ride (of course) and watched Fantastmic and just wandered around main street, it was beautiful. We took advantage of the endless water and sodas and snacks provided by the lounge throughout the day, and of course the continental breakfast and the evening wine and cheese hour. My most favorite time was the story time in the lounge for the children, nothing says magic then watching those faces light up during their favorite stories being read and sipping on cold milk and cookies. We didn't splurge on any sit down dining, we took advantage of White Water Snacks, La Brea and Napolini. I cannot say enough good things about the GCH, this is the second time we have stayed there, the first time with the concierge level, and I only hope I can do that again sometime. We will definitely be back to stay at the GCH. We are already scheudled to stay a PPH utilizing the AP special! Have a safe 2004!
 
18 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 2003
Reviewer: Club 33 hopeful Silicon Valley, CA     November 26, 2003
October 2003 trip Grand Californian 5 days 4 nights Concierge level

Checking In
At the gates we were met by a friendly CM who asked for name, reservation number etc, by the time we pulled up to hotel, we had personal CM waiting for us who help unpacked and rounded up a valet and bell hop. The greeter took us into the main hall giving a brief history of the facilities and waited with us until a CM checked us in, provided us with maps and other useful info.

Concierge level-
Absolutely loved the concierge lounge, free DVDs to check out, always fresh fruits and fresh baked cookies and soda, plus milk and cookies at night for the kids and a personal story teller shows up to read to the kids. It last for about half an hour but if kids really ask for more, he stayed for a couple more stories. Pillows are provided so are comforters, bed time attire seemed to be the norm for the kids, but I saw an adult being asked to put on their shoes and told not to show up in a bath robe(it was not confrontational, guest apologized and left). There is a key needed for the lounge, breakfast is standard continental, do not miss the wine tasting in the afternoons, excellent selection of wines (merlot, chardonnay, zinfandel), cheese and fresh fruits. The turndown service at night is a nice touch, you can ask for extra mints if you time your exit just right as the person is about to enter the room, tip well also. CM was great I had a problem with DVD player in room and mentioned it in passing to the CM in the concierge lounge. By the time I got back to my room from the park new DVD player was waiting, plus asked for extra refrigerator, because of babys milk and other items, also refrigerator showed up immediately. Beware if travelling with small kids, the standard fridge stacked with 10dollar soda and 5 dollar candy is motion activated so if the item is picked up even if it did not leave the fridge, you will get charged. Got to love technology.

Room
Nice room, abit small but had nice touches that made up for it. Snowhite cell painting on the walls, earth tones for the room, nice touches of wood. Great pillows, clean spreads and a soft comfy bath robe. Bathroom doors slide open and shut similar to a Japanese style room, putting the faucet outside the bath room was great idea. The babys playpen that came with room was very clean almost new. Great view of park, did not hear noises from other rooms. Extra refrigerator came in handy to store bounty from concierge lounge.

Perks
Dont miss the chance at getting in DCA an hour or so before it opens every morning hotel guest are met at the entrance to DCA and are given a brief history of the park and get to ride soaring over California before everyone else. Also lounge is great place to stack up on water and soda and fruits before heading into park, make sure no items are in glass containers. Unlimited DVD borrowings also great, what better way to get your child a more connected experience at the park than to have them watch dumbo or peter pan the night before and then see their little faces light up one they get on the ride and begin to put the two together. View of the park from romm was great, especially at night. If someone is having a birthday, make sure you have the Mickey Mouse party in the park, get the sticker with your name on it and ride autopia. You will get a nice prize from the CM. My daughter was pleasantly surprised.

Pool
Weather was becoming cold but pools and slides were great, the slide is not just for kids, I had a blast on it.
Lots of towels and CM on hand to make sure no one got hurt.

Fitness Room
Appeared smaller than it truly is, located beside arcade next to the entrance to DCA, had free weights and other standard equipment, as expected never pack.

Restaurant
Chip and Dale character breakfast was great, make sure you ask waiter for Mickey waffles, no extra charge if you bought character dining. Also you will not have to wait in line, just show up as a hotel guest and you are in, saw several people who were waiting and my group was just whizzed past. Excellent for young kids, Chip and Dale was very interactive plus Pluto showed up, played follow the leader and tons of opportunities to take pics, due to popularity of characters some kids in pics may not be yours ; ). Food quality was way better than what we had in the past at Goofys kitchen, plus a lot bigger and newer facility also.

Overall great time was had. Will be going back again this Christmas.

 
27 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/2/2003
Reviewer: DisneyQB Fresno, CA     November 04, 2003
Arrived 10:00am on Sunday. Scheduled for early arrival, so we could get everything into our room and get to the park with no more hassles.

Everything was excellent. From the valet parking and helpful bell persons. They removed everything from our car and we were off to the very courteous checkin desk. All was as expected, received keycards and went up to room.

Within minutes of getting to the room (2nd floor, overlooking pool) the bell person arrived with our luggage and placed it all in our room.

Room was very clean, no "used hotel" smell. Seemed just like brand new.

When checking out, simply called to confirm the bill, kept the key cards. Call for a bell person to get our luggage. The bell person took all of our luggage and our valet slip, asked how long we think it would be to be down, then went on his way with our stuff.

As soon as we left the hotel, we saw our van being pulled up and luggage placed inside. Bell person was very courteous, made sure to get our attention and have the van placed in an easy accessible place. He even gave us some driving directions to a few stores blocks away we wanted to hit after leaving.

Overall experience was EXCELLENT. Never felt so well taken care of at a hotel. Will stay there again next time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.
 
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   06/22/03 thru 06/25/03
Reviewer: sleepyjeff Parkrose Oregon     June 26, 2003
Very nice hotel with a nice staff and services. Checking in was a breeze and before we knew it we were in our room planning our next couple of hours. The Lobby is Gorgeous. Our room was very nice with a partial view of DownTown Disney and a silent Monorail traveling right underneath us. The walls were very thick in that if we closed our balcony door we could not hear a peep from outside or inside. We like to nap on our Disney trips and the curtains at this hotel don't let in any light. The room was a bit small for what we paid.....but it was well laid out and the smallness was only a factor due to our kids buying too many toys and stuff:) The water got hot instantly and never wavered in pressure. A small safe in the closet was convenient as was the wall mounted hair drier(after all Grizzly River is so close). We had a room near an elevator(which by the way move much faster than the other two DLR Hotels). The hall ways go on for what seems forever if you get turned around. The pool area is VERY NICE. The life guards are very good--watchful without being obtrusive--my son had trouble gaining his feet after coming down the slide; from the time he said help to the time he was whisked out of the pool maybe 3 seconds had elapsed. A medium sized game room is opened 24 hours. A good sized gift shop is located off the Lobby. Several Restuarants are located here but we only ate at one. It was the Story Tellers Cafe and it was quite good. We will stay here again but not until the prices come down a bit in line with the other DLR Hotels.
 
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/15 - 6/20
Reviewer: only1mouse Portland, Oregon     June 25, 2003
We had a room overlooking downtown Disney and it was fabulous. We love to people watch and it was great sitting up above watching everyone, plus we had a view of the fireworks from DL each night. Although we'd read comments regarding the rooms being small, they weren't any smaller to us than we expected. We had two adults and three children, and while my friend and I split the queen beds, the kids loved the mats and the sleeping bags on the floor. The staff were always very professional. The access to DCA was wonderful especially after getting soaked on GRR. The walk back to the room and then over to DL for a late evening was nothing compared to what it could be by staying offsite or even at the other two hotels. Because of our annual passes we were able to get the room for $159/ night and we felt it was well worth every penny. White Water was quick, never really crowded, and the food was pretty good. We didn't eat at the other restaurants, but the during the stay they were filming a show at the Napa Rose which of course the kids thought was very cool. I'm definately hooked and will be hard pressed to stay elsewhere. We did look at the other hotels and while the rooms at DLH were larger and the view from the room at PP was exceptional this is my choice from now on.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Feb 18-22, 2003
Reviewer: Bears_777 Denver     May 21, 2003
Eye stunning in side and front door. But dont let that fool you. DON"T PAY THE PRICE!! Not kid friendly. More for adults! We had one nice bell hop. The rest needed some people skills. When you go to check in there is no real line or sign. So we went up to the check in persons and they tell you there is a line and you need to wait. So a lady grabs us and shows us a pole where there is NO ONE ELSE! so we stand there and 2 seconds latter that person calls us over. DUH??? Well we are checking in and the person goes in to this office and we notice that they all do this? They stay in there for 5-10 minutes. They come out and hand you a key. WOW I think they had to make the key. So after our 15 minute walk to our room it was no better then the Holiday Inn. Bad View! Oh If you don't vallet park you get dirty looks and you have to park accross the street. Another 20 minute walk back to the hotel. You do more walking then anything. We will never stay there again!!!!!
 
8 out of 60 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/9/2003 - 2/12/2003
Reviewer: ESS Heckler (kimkinney@msn.com) Denver, CO     February 14, 2003
This hotel truly is Grand.We had a standard view of the courtyard. NOT concierge level. We booked through Disney Travel and got two nights (we added the extra night of the 9th later for an additional $275) and two five day park hopper tickets + one airfare from Denver for $1100. We checked in late on the night of the 9th and headed straight for the Hearthside Lounge - this is a very nice bar and we enjoyed a couple of hot buttered rums by the fireplace before going to bed.

Although I loved this hotel, there a few areas where TGC could improve. The first is the self-park lot. If you choose NOT to valet your car ($12/day) you use the self-park lot which also seems to be the parking lot for the AMC Theatre. The problem is that you can't get to the self park lot from the hotel! At first, when you look at it, the most direct route would be straight across the street from the GC main entry - Don't be fooled. We tried this and ended up in the middle of the street - no sidewalks, trying to bushwhack our way through a heavily shrubbed median. Thank goodness we didn't have any children with us. They really need at least a sidewalk/cross walk and a traffic light allowing people access to the self park lot. It wouldn't be that difficult.
Next - everything you've read about the REALLY long hike from the elevators to your room is true - bring breadcrumbs :-)
Our room had a very boring 'view' of the courtyard - which includes the monorail tracks. The monorail is virtually silent - unless you're out on your balcony watching for it, you'd never know it was there. Why this hotel doesn't include a monorail stop is beyond me - it looks like the planners and engineers may have considered putting in a stop at some point and then changed their minds. (I always liked having monorail access at the DL Hotel)

OK - now for the cool parts! You walk past the Hotel conference center and restaurants, and you're IN DCA, right at the entrance to the Grizzly River Run. We took advantage of this every night we were there by going on GRR several times, just before closing and then going up to our room to change out of our wet clothes before heading over to DL or out to dinner in DD.
The hearthside lounge is VERY nice. One night after getting wet and cold on GRR, we changed into our hottub gear (including the nice robe provided by the hotel) stopped by the Hearthside Lounge and had the bartenders put our hot buttered rums into 'to go' cups. This turned out to be great. We had the hotub and pool area to ourselves. And on another note - even though the 'to go' cups are about 3 times the size of the normal mug in the bar, the bartender only charged us the 'normal' price. It was almost a bargain :)

We'll be going back in October and will definitely stay at the GC again.
 
20 out of 22 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb 02 to 04
Reviewer: miris Los Angeles, Ca     February 10, 2003
My Wife's birthday was on the 3rd of Feb. so we checked in the the 2nd. After waiting in line to check-in ( no getting wisked off to check-in at the concierge desk, like in Disney World)we were off to the room. The room was very nice, finally a king-size bed at a Disney property that was wonderful. The view was of DCA, quite nice. Well off to the concierge lounge to check it out. I must say that we were not impressed. It was 3:45 and there was hot water, coffee, decaf and some cookies to be had, it seemed pretty sparce. Well maybe the "Grand Hour" would be better, it's off to the park, Disneyland that is. It was very easy to access Downtown Disney from the hotel then a little stroll to the gates of Disneyland. We returned to the lounge about 6:15 that evening for the "Grand Hour".
It's actually from 5:00pm to 7:00pm but it was far from "Grand". There was a basket of veggies with dip, some wedges of cheese from which you could cut some off for yourself, slices of bread, crackers, butter , bags of chips and small wedges of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. A cast member asked us if we'd like some wine, we said yes and off he went, then returned with a glass for each of us, other drinks cost extra $5.50 to $8.00 , beer ect. It all seemed very cheap to us, for this we had paid $461 per night ?(that was with annual pass discount) We didn't get out of bed in time for the breakfast at the lounge so I can't reveiw that. I don't want to sound spoiled, but I am, by Disney. We've stayed at the Disneyland hotel, Animal Kingdom Lodge and we love the Polynesian, each time at concierge level. This was just bad. Where was the soda and water and juice so readily available at all times of day, where were the hot nibbly things, the vast amounts of sweets and the cordials later in the evening all included in the price you paid for the room?
The hotel was wonderfully decorated and the room was excellent but I would not recommend the concierge level at all. Turn-down service was nice but the lounge was a very big let-down. It needs a lot of work to be brought up to the standard that Disney set for itself and is quite capable of delivering.
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 7-11, 2002
Reviewer: tlovesdis Antioch, CA     January 02, 2003
We booked a package through Walt Disney Travel. It was for 4 adults & 1 child for 4 nights including hoppers and an upgrade to a character breakfast for a total of $1380. Overall we loved it here and if we got another good deal we would stay here again. The location can't be beat! The staff was very friendly. It was a great experience.

We arrived at the Grand Californian at 12:15. We did pre-check in and were told to check back in a few hours since our room was not ready. We walked around the hotel. It is stunning! The Christmas tree in the middle of the hotel was beautiful. Everything about it was nice! The staff was very friendly and helpful. At about 1 we went over to White Water Snacks for lunch. We had chili dogs, a burger, and a chicken sandwich and everything was good. The prices here werent too bad. After lunch we checked out the pool and then at about 2:30 went to see if the room was ready. They told us that it was almost done. We sat in the lobby until 3 then went to check in. Well, once again we were told that it would be another half hour. I was getting a little annoyed now, since our plan was to be in DCA by about 3, but there was nothing we could do. Finally at 3:30 the room was ready. We reserved a Downtown Disney view room, which seemed to be the farthest rooms away from the elevator! We got off the elevator and had to trek down two very long hallways in order to get to our room! Once we got there, though, it was worth the walk. The room was very nice! It had two queen beds and was not as small as I was expecting it to be based on reviews I had read. There were 4 adults and one child and we were fine all week! We were on the third floor right above the entrance from DTD. We could see Petals, Build-A-Bear, Wetzels, Hagen Daz, Basin, and Naples from our room. It was a great view. I found out that the reason our room wasnt ready at 3 was because my parents had ordered flowers, balloons, and Mickey and Minnie stuffed animals for me for my birthday and we had to wait until those were in the room before we could check in.

Our room was very well cleaned every day when we came back and the maid even made little displays on the bed with my nieces toys that were laying around. It was cute and she loved it.

If you can afford it or you can find a good deal, this is the place to stay!

 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  << 1 ... 6 7
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page