Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image   Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Grand Californian Hotel!
 
Want to tell someone about Grand Californian Hotel? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Grand Californian Hotel Grand Californian Hotel
Description:
1600 S. Disneyland Drive, Anaheim
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 67 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6-22-11 to 6-27-11
Reviewer: msjmendoza San Diego, California     September 11, 2011
My wife and I along with our 13 year old daughter and her 13 year old friend stayed in a parkview room for five nights. The room had a balcony overlooking the grizzley rapids river run. We booked the room thru CostCo for four nights and the fifth night was added thru the hotel for $600. We celebrated my birthday along with our daughters friend as both occured during our stay. Everything was perfect in our room and we plan a return trip in April for our daughters birthday.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 14-17, 2011
Reviewer: MouseMom13     May 22, 2011
This hotel is amazing. We normally stay across the street at a Good Neighbor hotel on Harbor Blvd. We decided to stay at the Grand Californian since this is the fewest days we've ever stayed, making it easier to rationalize the $300+/nt. price. We asked for and received a standard room with a double bed for my husband and I and bunk beds for our 7 and 8 year olds. There was plenty of space for the four of us. The room overlooked a courtyard. I love mission style architecture, so the room was wonderful. The kids loved seeing Bambi and Thumper on our shower curtain. Since it was under 70 degrees the length of our stay, the balcony went mostly unused, but the 2 chairs and small table would have been nice in warmer weather.

Check in was easy. The kids received balloons and a signed photo of Mickey and the gang. I didn't realize until later that there was a television of classic Disney shows playing in the lobby.

We spent the first day at the pool. Both kids loved the water slide. The water slide has a jet of water at the base that pushes the kids away from the next kid coming down - well thought out. I loved the comfortable lounge chair cushions; I spent 3 hours straight in that chair before I could talk my kids out of the pool.

I purchased several items at Acorn Gifts that are souveniers of the Grand Californian, including a lovely wall tile of the hotel logo. I enjoyed talking to one cast member about the arts and crafts style of the hotel.

All of our meals were eaten in the park, in Downtown Disney, or onsite at Whitewater Cafe. We loved that we were able to grab quick food at a reasonable (for Disney) price. My kids loved the Mickey waffles for breakfast. My husband and I could have split a biscuit sandwich; they were big. For lunch/dinner, burgers hit the spot.

Access to the parks was easy even with the monorail not in service during our trip. The main gate to Disneyland is an easy walk. We were far away from the elevator, but right next to a stairwell that took us out to the courtyard by the path to Downtown Disney. We used the hotel access to California Adventure. Temperatures were unseasonably cool, so the hotel access allowed us to grab additional layers as needed.

We used the Super Shuttle to travel to/from the Orange County Airport. We always seem to get the overly aggressive drivers. I'm not sure why the Disney Express cost more than the Super Shuttle since it makes more stops.

All of the hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. The only request I made, to not have a room overlooking the parking lot, was promptly granted.

I'm not sure if I can talk my husband into staying at the Grand Californian again because of the price, but the hotel made the trip very special. I think he's become a fan of the onsite hotels, though. We didn't have to deal with even one stoplight to get to the parks, which I appreciated even more than I expected. By the time we return, the Disneyland Hotel remodel will be complete, so I'll try to talk him into that location.