Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel Grand Californian Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1600 S. Disneyland Drive, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 67 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6-22-11 to 6-27-11
Reviewer: msjmendoza San Diego, California     September 11, 2011
My wife and I along with our 13 year old daughter and her 13 year old friend stayed in a parkview room for five nights. The room had a balcony overlooking the grizzley rapids river run. We booked the room thru CostCo for four nights and the fifth night was added thru the hotel for $600. We celebrated my birthday along with our daughters friend as both occured during our stay. Everything was perfect in our room and we plan a return trip in April for our daughters birthday.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 14-17, 2011
Reviewer: MouseMom13     May 22, 2011
This hotel is amazing. We normally stay across the street at a Good Neighbor hotel on Harbor Blvd. We decided to stay at the Grand Californian since this is the fewest days we've ever stayed, making it easier to rationalize the $300+/nt. price. We asked for and received a standard room with a double bed for my husband and I and bunk beds for our 7 and 8 year olds. There was plenty of space for the four of us. The room overlooked a courtyard. I love mission style architecture, so the room was wonderful. The kids loved seeing Bambi and Thumper on our shower curtain. Since it was under 70 degrees the length of our stay, the balcony went mostly unused, but the 2 chairs and small table would have been nice in warmer weather.

Check in was easy. The kids received balloons and a signed photo of Mickey and the gang. I didn't realize until later that there was a television of classic Disney shows playing in the lobby.

We spent the first day at the pool. Both kids loved the water slide. The water slide has a jet of water at the base that pushes the kids away from the next kid coming down - well thought out. I loved the comfortable lounge chair cushions; I spent 3 hours straight in that chair before I could talk my kids out of the pool.

I purchased several items at Acorn Gifts that are souveniers of the Grand Californian, including a lovely wall tile of the hotel logo. I enjoyed talking to one cast member about the arts and crafts style of the hotel.

All of our meals were eaten in the park, in Downtown Disney, or onsite at Whitewater Cafe. We loved that we were able to grab quick food at a reasonable (for Disney) price. My kids loved the Mickey waffles for breakfast. My husband and I could have split a biscuit sandwich; they were big. For lunch/dinner, burgers hit the spot.

Access to the parks was easy even with the monorail not in service during our trip. The main gate to Disneyland is an easy walk. We were far away from the elevator, but right next to a stairwell that took us out to the courtyard by the path to Downtown Disney. We used the hotel access to California Adventure. Temperatures were unseasonably cool, so the hotel access allowed us to grab additional layers as needed.

We used the Super Shuttle to travel to/from the Orange County Airport. We always seem to get the overly aggressive drivers. I'm not sure why the Disney Express cost more than the Super Shuttle since it makes more stops.

All of the hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. The only request I made, to not have a room overlooking the parking lot, was promptly granted.

I'm not sure if I can talk my husband into staying at the Grand Californian again because of the price, but the hotel made the trip very special. I think he's become a fan of the onsite hotels, though. We didn't have to deal with even one stoplight to get to the parks, which I appreciated even more than I expected. By the time we return, the Disneyland Hotel remodel will be complete, so I'll try to talk him into that location.
 
15 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/11-4/15 2011
Reviewer: shamblin Saratoga Springs, Utah     April 20, 2011
Usually stay at the Paradise Pier but decided to splurge and stay in the GCH. It was worth it. The room was great. We had a standard with two queen beds for Mom, Dad, and two little girls 9/12. Clean, and ready when we needed it.

Two small cons.
They did not text me when the room was ready on day one, I had to call to confirm. Inconvenient but not tragic.
The TV could only be controlled from the remote and the batteries were dead. Once again inconvenient but not tragic(except to the 9 year old). They replaced the remote by the time we returned from the park.

The convenience of being right next to the park is great for tired bodies. The room was quiet (we were facing the parking lot.) The maid service was pretty good.

No complaints and I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I can scrape up the extra money.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 16-23, 2010
Reviewer: prezcatz (jonespr95@yahoo.com) Abilene, TX     July 27, 2010
We stayed in a 1 bedroom DVC room. The room was very nice. Great decor and furnishings. The pullout twin bed from under the TV in the living room was great for the kids (along with the full pullout couch). The room was spacious. Our kitchen had the standard amenities and a nice island for preparing food or packing bags for the next park day. The master bedroom was roomy and very comfortable bed, only negative was it could have used more drawer space. Our room was on the first floor, and our patio opened right onto one of the entrances to the resort pool, another bonus for the kids. We loved the entire resort's decor and feel. The convenience of staying on property and being so close to the parks was a huge benefit. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this resort.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 10-14, 2010
Reviewer: Cyberkang (generalkang1969@yahoo.com) Canby, Oregon     July 19, 2010
My wife and three kids (ages 17, 12 and 10) just finished a five-day stay at the Grand Californian in a fourth-floor room with a view of Paradise Pier at California Adventure. After five days at the hotel I must say that my experience was 99% positive! The hotel is overflowing with helpful and responsive staff who had answers to every question and quickly came to our rescue whenever necessary.

Our room included kid bunkbeds with a pull-out trundle, which worked just right. The only knocks on the room were a broken handle on the trundle, a broken hinge on the toilet (which was fixed nearly immediately after we pointed it out) and a television that inexplicably turned on in the middle of the night - we suspect it must have been the timer that accidentally got activated.

The weekend was pretty hot, which made the VERY cool temps in the lobby more than welcome.

The Grand Californian has really easy access to Downtown Disney, and hence the monorail, so we made great use of that throughout our stay. Of course, it is really convenient to get in and out of California Adventure.

And we were able to watch World of Color from our room!

Finally, I am pleased to say that the listed rate for the room on the inside of the closet was $910/night, and we paid much, much less than that.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   June 16, 17, 18th
Reviewer: auntbea San Diego     June 22, 2010
Usually, we book 2 rooms because we have 3 children (teens) and booked the room by phone. We told them that we had 3 children and were told that they had a room with a sofabed. We reiterated that we had teens and we needed space for 5. We were told that it would not be an issue. We arrived on June 16th at 4:00, went to the room, and found 2 beds. We went back downstairs and told them that we had booked a room for 5. We were told that the hotel was at 98% and that they were sorry and would send up sleeping bags. They don't have rollaways. Sleeping bags at $500 per night! They were inflexible and said that those rooms were not guaranteed. We wouldn't have booked that room and would have gone to another hotel if we had known. They gouge you at this hotel both with room fees and the restaurant costs. We used to have annual passes but no longer do that because everything is about money now and not the family experience.
 
7 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 5 - November 9
Reviewer: mpkitkat Seattle     April 09, 2010
I have stayed at the Grand numerous times and in the past have been very happy, but it seems that repeatedly my expectations of the "Disney" treatment seems to be slowly lacking and the perfection weakening. I don't know how to explain it, something just seems to be missing. The experience just doesn't seem to be as magical. You definately get less for your money, which is sad because it isn't cheap. I still believe it is the best hotel around the resort and you can't beat the location, but the service just isn't what it once was..if you have never stayed there you really should at least once. Like one person mentioned when you are a repeat costumer you would think they would acknowledge you in some way, cause you know they have records, but they don't....hummm I wonder what Walt would think about that.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   6/8/09-6/12/09
Reviewer: Smithntj Medford, Or     February 04, 2010
We had stayed at the Grand Californian in 2006 and had a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, the 09 visit was terrible from the moment we arrived and persisted until our departure. We arrived to find the hotel under major construction which routed guests through the conference center rather than the main entrance. The pounding and ripping up of hardwood was noisy and far from a relaxing greeting. The staff at the front desk was not friendly or welcoming (probably from listening to the pounding). The housekeeping was spotty. We had to call many times after returning to the room and finding it in the same condition we had left it in. Two of the days of our visit, one of the pools was closed for powerwashing. You can imagine the noise of the powerwashing mixed with the construction sounds. We could not relax or enjoy swimming in the remaining pool. I wish the Website for the
Grand Californian had warned us in advance so we could have made alternate plans.
Further, We could not enjoy access to the balcony in our room because of the gentleman next door who was smoking cigars on his balcony. The smoke permeated our room any time we opened the sliding door. We were told they( managers) could not move us to another room.
To top off the experience, the concierge told us that if we went to the hotel entry to DCA, we could take a short guided tour into the park prior to the opening and be escorted onto "Soarin over California". A rude and officious castmember named "Dave" told us there was no such thing even though he was standing with two vacation club members who he was obviously taking on the tour. He demanded to know who the person was at the concierge desk who let "riffraff" like our family know about this secret. Our family and another who had been given the same information refused to leave. He indeed led us into the park and took us on "Soarin" but not before he let us know how contemptuous he was of us. I had never before been treated in this manner.
Given the hard earned vacation money we chose to spend on the Grand Californinan, I expected more. Our trip was unpleasant and it was because of the conditions at the Grand Californian. I don't know what happened between '06 and '09 but the changes were not positive.
 
9 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   December 20th-23rd
Reviewer: EsqDisney Sacramento, Ca     December 25, 2009
We were really excited to finally have a chance to stay at the Grand Californian, but found the visit very disappointing. We have previously stayed at the Disneyland Hotel, normaly once or twice a year, and really enjoyed it there. We arrived at 1 p.m. and checked in. We were told that our room would be ready at 3. After having lunch and walking around downtown disney we returned at 3 to be told that the room wouldn't be ready till 4. After waiting another hour we finally got into our room. And, the only reason we got our room at that point, was because my dad needed his medication which was in his bag stored in valet. At this point, it was not a "magical" experience for him. It was his first time back at the Disneyland Resort since I was 10, and I am now 25.
Since we went for Christmas we had purchased one of their holiday packages that included a tree and stockings. However, once in our room, they were not there. When we called down to guest services to inquire, their response was "well you will be here for 3 more days, so we'll put it up tomorrow." The tree did come the next day, but stockings had the wrong names on them. Additionally, the cast members at the snack bar by the pool were extremely rude. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is its location to the parks, and the lobby which was beautiful.
Overall we found the Grand California to overrated, lacking follow-through and personability. Our next trip, we will be back at the Disneyland Hotel in May.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/2/09 - 5/8/09
Reviewer: Nana55 Seattle     May 12, 2009
This was the 5th time we have stayed at the Grand...we love this hotel...the lobby alone is worth it. However this was also the most disappointing time we have had. When we checked in (I had my three grandsons with me) the kids were not acknowledged as they usually are with coloring books and special stickers, etc. After checking in the boys looked at me and asked why they didn't get any of the stickers and books...one cast member overheard our conversation and offered them some stickers.

Our room was about as far away from the elevator as you could get (so I am not sure if that counts for the lack of Mousekeeping attention mentioned later in this review).

While we hear about the Mousekeepers arranging the stuffed animals in the room and taking photos of them and leaving them on the beds, etc., we experienced none of that.

We had a room with the queen bed and bunk bed with the pull out tundrel bed. Even though we had three boys and needed all three bunk beds, we had to make up the tundrel bed ourselves 4 of the 6 nights.

Since we have stayed there so many times, you would think that they would have you in a database and give you a "welcome back" greeting when you check in, but that is not the case.

We love this hotel and even though this visit was a bit disappointing, we will probably stay there again next year.
 
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page