Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Californian Hotel - Napa Rose
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Chef Andrew Sutton prepares meals with a California flair. The exhibition wine cellar features California vintages.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 16 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 6, 2004
Reviewer: dawnid Bellflower, Ca     February 24, 2005
This was our second experience at Napa Rose and it was excellent again. My husband absolutely loved the Blue Cheese, we tried to beg for a take out portion but no such luck, he said that it was the best he had ever had. I'm a terribly picky eater, it would be easier to list foods I like than dislike, and I just loved it. I had the Ribeye - very rare - and it was perfect. My best friend had the Ribeye - very well done - and her's was perfect also. The staff was great and very attentive. We will be returning in May and I can't wait!!!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 25-26 2004
Reviewer: disneymike1 Sacramento     January 04, 2005
What can I say about Napa Rose but WOW! This was my fourth visit to this great restaurant and the service and food were just as excellent as the first visit. I sat at the kitchen counter and being that I was alone I figured I might be kind of ignored but on the contrary was made to feel like a king. Chef Sutton first came by to say hello as the waitress came by with a little something to start the meal off which was totally unexpected but one of the great touches of a wonderful restaurant. I ordered the Ribeye steak which was huge and perfectly cooked medium with wild mushrooms and sprinkled with blue cheese. I had ordered a glass of wine and was given basically two glasses because the bottle was going to be short after the first glass - very thoughtful touch. At various times through the meal Chef Sutton would ask how everything was and talked about the preparation of the meal. For dessert I had wanted the creme brulee but as I was seated by the dessert station noticed that they had run out of the pastry cups the dessert was assembled in - no problem the pastry chef said as he found one that was not done yet and for the next day's menu and stuck it in the oven just for me! Overall, one of the best meals I have ever had and just the care and attention to one simple diner made the end of the day wonderful.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   11-25-2004
Reviewer: purcellfan Arizona     December 11, 2004
It has been two weeks, and we are still reeling from the exceptionally negative experience we had at the Napa Rose restaurant on Thanksgiving. We regularly eat at five star restaurants and the Napa Rose DOES NOT deserve this accolade. The service was awkward and uneven, and the management was rude on the level of Basil Fawlty (without being humorous). The food, while adequate, did not rise to the occasion, and suffered from what I can only describe as pretension without elegance.
The problems with the service began the minute we walked through the door. The hostess sat us at a table in the lounge which had been made up for dinner. We asked why we were being seated in the lounge when we had reservations. Her only reply was that the reservationist was supposed to have told us they only had lounge seating left. We had NOT been told about the lounge seating when we made the reservation was made, nor did they tell us the restaurant was serving only a special $65.00 per person Thanksgiving menu. One would think a fine dining restaurant would let patrons know these details before taking reservations. To further the insult of lounge seating, there were at least five empty tables when I walked through the dining room to go to the restroom halfway through the meal.
In the lounge we had three servers, and we still cannot figure out who was captain, busboy or sommelier. They all brought courses, poured wine and cleared plates. First there was the pressure to purchase a bottle of water instead of drinking regular water. Most fine dining restaurants I have eaten in automatically serve bottled water at no extra charge. One of our servers kept making unnecessary and presumptuous comments like "Please enjoy each others company" and "May remove this empty wine bottle?" One of our steaks arrived well done instead of the requested medium rare. Despite correcting the mistake, such missteps should never happen in a restaurant which claims to be five star. We were completely ignored after desserts were served and the check was brought; our coffee and water glasses remained empty. They must have been in a hurry to get us out the door and refill the lounge table. One waiter tried to take the check before we had even looked at it.
Naturally, with this kind of service, we wanted to see the manager. During the middle of our meal, the manager made his way around the lounge doing his meet and greet. He came by our table asking how we were enjoying ourselves. Specifically using his name, I told him we wished to see him as soon as desserts were served. One might think this would have set off a flag in his mind to keep on top of the course of our meal so that he might be there as soon as we finished dessert. Apparently he did not take the hint and kept us waiting for at least 20 minutes (with empty coffee cups and water glasses if you remember). I managed to flag down one of our servers (none of whom we had seen in the lounge for a good 5-10 minutes) and asked him for more coffee and water and to remind the manager we wanted to see him after dessert. Another 5-10 minutes passed and the manager appeared. His first action was to insinuate we had lied when mentioning we werent told about the lounge seating when we made the reservation. He said "That is impossible. I was standing behind the reservationist when you made the reservation, and she told you." He then proceeded to defend all of the inadequacies we faced in his restaurant that night, and made no gesture to compensate us. His palpable lack of concern only served to exacerbate our frustration at shelling out $250.00 for a poorly served dinner of mediocre food.
Apparently, the Disney Company doesnt care about customer satisfaction. I called the Disney guest communications number to complain shortly after we returned from our vacation. I was told they would look into the matter and get back to me. I was called back two days later, and was told that everything would be documented and that they were going to send me a $20 voucher to use on my next visit. I have grown up with Disney, and visited the park almost every year as a child. This says to me that nothing will actually be done. Due to this experience, the "magic" that Disney has cast on me has sadly been broken.
 
9 out of 48 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 6, 2004
Reviewer: bassett1976 Pasadena, California     July 07, 2004
The very beautiful Mrs. Bassett and I wanted to celebrate the end of our honeymoon stay at the resort with a special dinner. We heard this was THE place to go.

Not being used to the formal restaurant enviornment, the Mrs. and I felt a little awkward when walking in. Everything is beautifully decorated in the Grand Californian craftsman design with a modern twist. We were seated next to a window which looked almost directly into California Adventure, which provided a great view.

Our waitress, Denise from Long Beach was incredibly kind to us naive folks. She explained the menu, which meals were the best and most often ordered and was extremely attentive to our needs. We started with an appetizer that had the name beach in it (can't remember exactly what it was called) and it was served with a sizzling rock in which each piece of meat could be grilled upon before eating. It was absolutely delicious. For dinner, we had the filet minon. Again, delicious. Portions were fair, too.

We were about to wrap up our meal when Denise asked us if it was a special occasion for us. We told her it was our honeymoon and she returned with the desert menu, explaining that desert was on them to celebrate our special occassion. We were shocked and very pleased. I had the three ice cream selection and the Mrs. had the chocolate pate with hazelnut cream sauce. Both were absoultely delicious. Our plates were even decorated with the word "congratulations" in chocolate.

We loved this restaurant and will probably return again soon. Dinner for two is about $110 (minus desert and wine) and worth every penny.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/18/03
Reviewer: prudence Lake Forest Park, WA     July 06, 2003
This was the most amazing meal my husband and I have ever had. I'll start by confessing that in total, with tax and tip, we spent $220. For one meal. Now, you don't have to do that. We each got the $65 4-course tasting menu and split a $35 matching flight of wines (one per course). But we were on our honeymoon and we love food and there was no better way to end our stay.

The food was beyond belief. I ate things I would normally disdain and I loved every bite. I'm not a wine person, either, and I loved the choices. Even the bread basket is a cut above, including this cheese-topped flat bread I couldn't get enough of. you even have your choice of water -- the "house" water, or bottle (San
Pellegrino or Evian.) We even had a little starter included in addition to our four courses.

The service was also the best I've had. It was professional, attentive, and each course was presented just at the moment when I started to think "I'm ready for the next course." But at the same time, the service was very human. We don't get to enjoy meals like this very often and I'm sure it shows. Still, we were never made to feel awkward or uncomfortable in any way. I can be overly sensitive to that sort of thing and I was most impressed.

The atmosphere was also very comfortable. It was quiet enough that we could converse and loud enough that we didn't feel like everyone was listening to us if we did talk. The bathrooms have real towels. The waiting area included comfortable, overstuffed chairs.

It is an expensive venue. But it was worth every dollar we paid. We'll remember that meal for the rest of our lives.
 
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 22, 2002
Reviewer: harlan Palo Alto, CA     August 13, 2002
This is one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten in. (In
fact, my wife said it compared quite favorably to a 4-star
restaurant in Paris.) The food was outstanding, the staff
attentive, friendly, and helpful, and the decor is charming.
We liked the food so much we're going to stay in the
GCH on our next visit.

The prices are about the same as Granville's, if that helps.
(I'm sorry that I don't recall what it cost.)
 
13 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page