Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hampton Inn & Suites - Anaheim/Garden Grove
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
11747 Harbor Boulevard, Garden Grove
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 4 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 30, 2013
Reviewer: bennette Southern California     May 23, 2013
I stayed here for just one night at the end of April, sharing a room with a friend who was visiting for three nights. I had booked the room at the state government rate, which came out to $98 including taxes for a standard double queen. Free-wifi and breakfast; self parking is $12. "Local transportation" was advertised for a fee. On the advice of other travelers, I asked for a Disneyland facing room; my Hilton profile already indicates I prefer high floor rooms away from the elevator.

When we arrived around 3:30, I was surprised to see the hotel was undergoing construction, as I didn't recall seeing that anywhere on their website (but did find a tiny blurb when I checked later). The staff assured us we wouldn't hear any construction noise after 4:00 p.m. or before 8:30 a.m. and I didn't.

Our room was on the top floor on the Disney side but provided mainly a view of the Sheraton and Hilton convention center properties. I expect you would be able to see some of the fireworks but they weren't running midweek during our stay. At any rate, I wouldn't be disappointed if I got a room on the other side.

The room seemed a little worn (this isn't a new Hampton Inn) but well cared for. It was clearly designed with Disney families in mind. There was a good sized fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and even a small storage cabinet for food. Plenty of storage space in the closet and a long, low bench for additional suitcases. The bathroom wasn't spectacular but it was clean and had a reasonably large counter and plenty of light at the sink (the shower/bath was a decent size but a little dark, IMO). The beds were pretty good (I'm picky) and were covered with duvets rather than spreads. Duvets must be a little new to some guests as there were stickies over each bed explaining the duvets were made up fresh for each guest!

We stayed only long enough for me to realize I'd left my primary toiletry bag at home. Fortunately they provide replacements for the most commonly left behind items and the staff were very gracious about helping me out. We headed out for the shuttle. After waiting more than the requisite half hour, my friend went back inside to check on its arrival at which point we learned it doesn't pull up in front of the hotel but rather slightly to the side in the parking lot (there was a very small sign.) This seemed odd but we moved over and shortly after an ART bus (not a dedicated shuttle) came to pick us up. We were the only patrons and the driver was very pleasant, explaining where pickup would be and ART hours.

Upon returning to the hotel, we went straight to bed. I am a light sleeper and there was some minor street noise even on the seventh floor but nothing I couldn't deal with. I slept well.

In the morning, my friend was up before me since I was going back to work, not trying to beat the crowds into the park. After she left, I headed down to the temporary and crowded breakfast room (construction) where I ate a filling breakfast of highly processed food (yogurt with sugar as the second ingredient, peanut butter with sugar as the second ingredient, etc.) and some kind of premade omelette. It wasn't bad, just not the kind of thing I eat very often. The staff here were very gracious and helpful as well.

I pulled my bag out to my car and realized why the bus didn't come straight to the front of the hotel. A large crowd was waiting and amazingly my friend was in it! Apparently the prior scheduled bus hadn't come. I wasn't sure how they were all going to fit into the next one! From what I heard later, the bus service was rather a low point of the trip.

Other than that, it seemed like a nice place for the money.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 28, 2006-January 06, 2007
Reviewer: momuvseven North of DLR     October 30, 2007
Amazing stay here over the Christmas New Year's Holidays. We stayed on the top floor in a two room suite overlooking the pool with a balcony. Property was quiet all week and we never had any problems with noise at all. Manager allowed us early check in and use of the pool. Internet access in the lobby is great. Breakfast is always good. Rooms are immaculate and I really appreciate that. Wonderful stay and highly recommend this property. I think we paid about $125 a night and well worth it with the breakfast included, no charge for a crib and rollaway to the room. Lots of parking.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   02/04/2007-02/05/2007
Reviewer: neecee23 Pauma Valley, CA     February 05, 2007
This was our third stay at this hotel. We stayed in a standard room with two beds. The rate for this night was $89.10. I recommend joining the Hilton Honors club on Hilton.com. We usually get a good rate along with our AAA discount. This hotel is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was efficient and courteous. Breakfast is included in the rate and is adequate enough for most adults and kids with biscuits, scrambled egg patties, sausage, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, toast, bagels, muffins, pastries, coffee, tea, and instant oatmeal. Coffee is available in the breakfast room for 24 hours a day. The rooms include a hair dryer, refrigerater with small freezer, and a small microwave. Items are sold at the front desk that can be microwaved such as frozen meals and popcorn.
The pool is just okay, nothing special. But there is a hot tub.
Access to the Anaheim Resort shuttle is in front of the next door Embassy Suites. The only problem we have experienced with the shuttle is not knowing that they take an evening break and we were stuck waiting to get back to the park for the evening. So make sure you know when they take breaks and where you can catch another shuttle.
Taking the shuttle or driving to the park is a must, it is too far to walk.
One great thing about this hotel is that a Buca Di Beppo restaurant is just outside the door. We always eat there, if you like Italian food you can't miss. There are also several restaurants within walking distance, Joe's Crab Shack, Red Robin, Outback Steakhouse.
All in all, a great place to stay, especially with kids, you will save a lot on breakfast. Oh, and free parking!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 27 2005
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 28, 2006
We paid about $115 for our room. Room was arranged by GetAwayToday travel since at the last minute we decided to go an extra night and they couldn't add it onto our package since the other hotel was sold out.
Hotel was clean, fast check in. They provide a crib at no charge. Our room had two queens and a living room/kitchenette with sofa bed. Everything was great until we tried to go to sleep and discovered the headboard wall was shared with the elevators/ice machine. Every few minutes we were woke up by noise from people coming and going or the ice machine dumping ice cubes.
I would stay again but would be sure to request a different location. We didn't complain because at eleven at night when the kids are all settled in we are not about to move. Just thankful it was only for one night. Kids of course slept through it all. The rooms do have well eguipped kitchenettes with full size refridgerator/freezer, dishwasher, stovetop (can't recall # of burners) and necessary dishes, pots and utensils.

We didn't try the pool or anything since it was just one night but the pool looked great. There were computers in the lobby with a constant line of young people waiting to log on.

We took the ART shuttle which picks up and drops off in front of Embassy Suites a short walk across the parking lot. Parking is tight at this hotel so be prepared for a walk to your room, there are trolleys for your luggage.

The really good part of staying here was the breakfast. Large room well stocked and laid out in such a way that you never get bogged down in a line. Several hot and cold items along with the usual tea, coffee, milk and juice. They also offer premade to go bags which we picked up to take with us to the park. These contained bottled water, muffin, granola bar and fruit.

A nice property so long as you keep away from the elevators/ice machine. We will stay there again if the price is right. Most recently stayed at the Homewood and actually think the Hampton would have been a better choice. Still searching for the perfect Disneyland area hotel.
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page