Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hilton and Towers
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
777 Convention Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 53.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 29,30 and May 1 2009
Reviewer: DisneylandDad Reno, Nevada     May 08, 2009
We booked a priceline name your price deal for less than $40 a night so the rate was great but that was where the greatness ended.
I stay at Hilton when traveling on business quite alot but this was the first (and last) time we will stay at this Hilton property when traveling as a family.
I am well aware of the priceline policy that states a room will acomodate two adults. I have booked well over a hundred times thru priceline and until this stay have never had any property stand firm on that issue.
The room itself was satisfactory and the hotel did "upgrade us" into a king park view room on the 11th floor. I had stayed at this hiton twice before on business and may stay again but would not attempt a stay here even if booked through the hotel drectly if I had my family with me.
The parking was $15 I think, my wife says $18 but either way it was way too much for what it is and where it is. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment there. When I use priceline I do not base my expectations on what I pay, I base them on non-discounted rates as the rooms that are booked through priceline are supposed to be of an equal quality to a room that is not booked through priceline. That being said I would never pay "rack rate" at this property. If you can get a room here for around $100 a night you might consider staying but I would not pay more than $75 or $80 to allow for the parking fees.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 5-6, 2008
Reviewer: bennette South Orange County, CA     December 06, 2008
I booked a room for $60 the same day I stayed using the Priceline name your own price option and choosing a three and a half star hotel in the Disneyland area, which usually returns either the Hyatt Regency, the Hilton, or the Sheraton. I was hoping for the Hyatt but you get what you get.

I am local but don't like to drive home after fireworks, particularly at a busy time of year. I've stayed at the Disneyland Hotel, the Candy Cane Inn, and the Hyatt in the past year, with various family members and consider myself a fairly seasoned traveler. This time I was childless and fancy free, although hoping my husband would join me at some point.

Parking at the hotel is a little awkward, due to the arrangement with the convention center. It's off a side street from the main sign directing people to convention center parking. I know my way around but the three people ahead of me all stopped in the middle of traffic to ask someone if the smallish sign pointing out hotel parking was correct. The parking structure is large and dated, but not difficult to navigate. Parking is $12 a day, with in/out privileges. I have a Premium Annual Pass so could drive to and park in Mickey and Friends lot for no charge but that takes forever. I bought an ART pass instead, from a machine in the lobby. It was easy to use with few or no stops but since many of the other hotels have their own shuttle, it seemed a little chintzy to have to pay. Location is convenient to GardenWalk restaurants and facilities.

I stay at Hilton properties often. This, like many of their large-scale convention properties, is well run but large and impersonal. The registration system crashed when I got there (unusual, in my experience). There was a large convention going on using several hotels including the Hilton, so I gave them my HiltonHonors number to be sure they'd keep a room for me, left my bags with bell check, and went directly to the park.

I had a King room with Disney (theme park) view. Disneyland is at a distance but I was directly in line with main street and the castle. I had an excellent view of DCA, which is much closer. In the morning, with a clear sky, I could see all the way to the mountains. On a morning like today's, it's easy to see why people love visiting here.

The rooms were all refurbished in 2007 and are roomy, with very nice beds. Down comforters are placed with a sheet below and above, so no gross comforter issues. Large flat screen tv's, i-Pod connectors for the alarm clock, good work space. Bathrooms large, bright, and well appointed. I was on the twelfth-floor, VERY quiet. No fridge of any kind. No (gasp!) robe. (Robes are a personal selling point for me.) They had not checked my reservation against my personal history so I did not have my usual down alternative pillows and comforter. At midnight it didn't seem all that critical. I took an antihistimine rather than wait for them to change it out.

Elevators seem inadequate for such a large facility, although I did not wait long. Hilton nickels and dimes you for everything in return for those decent convention rates so I limited my purchases to one glass of room-service wine. It was delivered in minutes and came with a rose.

I didn't check out the gym space. There is a very nice UPS store. Restaurants seemed 4-star average, which is to say decent but overpriced food. I was amazed to see a line of at least eighty conventioners at the Starbucks in the morning. All Hiltons these days have a very handy little coffeemaker that does one or two cups of Starbucks directly into a large mug or to-go cup. I bring an infuser and make my own tea so I can't say for sure--could the in-room coffee really be bad enough to wait in that line?

No problems checking in or out.

All in all, a very reasonable stay for the price. Although I usually stay Hilton on business, when visiting Disneyland, I would prefer the Orange County Hyatt Regency, which is a smaller, brighter place with equivalent amenities and a direct shuttle. I am often upgraded there to a two-room micro and fridge suite or they have a suite available for a very low price at check-in if they are not all reserved. Plus robes! I definitely would not want to pay rack rate if could get the Hyatt or perhaps the Crown Plaza for less.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 7, 2007
Reviewer: DisneyWaldo Hemet, CA     May 09, 2007
Let me start off by saying that I work for Hilton and as such my review may be a little bias. I stayed on night at the Hilton (Monday May 7th). Self parking is $11, I've herd quite a few people complain about this. Just to let everyone know the parking structure is not owned by the Hilton and as such has no control over the prices. I arrived to the Hotel prior to check-in time (I arrived around noon check-in time is 4pm). Check-in was easy. I got a room on the 12th floor. Now decor is quite dated, as such I am please to say that the Hotel has plan for renovation to start in the near future. The Hotel staff is accommodating and professional. To get to the DLR the Hotel utilizes ART which is $3 a day per person. Other then this I didn't use much of the facilities. Most of my time was spent at the Parks which were a short ART ride away.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 10 - April 14 2007
Reviewer: Tinkerbelle380 Union City, CA     April 17, 2007
This hotel was huge! The room was a decent, though the beds weren't the greatest. You could feel the springs in the mattress. I guess I was expecting more from the hilton than what we got. We did have quick check in and check out. The restraunt was pricey but good! Everyone working there was pretty friendly as well. Also the tram to disneyland was right outside the front doors and always ran on time.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/7/04 thru 11/11/04
Reviewer: sleepyjeff Portland, Oregon     November 12, 2004
We stayed at this very Huge Hotel thru the Walt Disney Travel co. Checking in was lightning quick and the early hour(about 10am) did not stop our group(15 persons in 4 rooms) from getting all our rooms within a few doors of each other.

Our rooms were very clean and seemed "newish". The rooms were a tad small however with only full size beds. We had a view of the pool deck which is down on the 5th floor(we were on the 9th). We could see parts of DCA and Disneyland from our room but only when pressing our faces up to the glass. Curtains were only ok for daytime naps(they let in a little light, but not terrible). Maid service was Excellent as was room service. The only family restuarant in the Hotel(Cafe oasis) was pricy, we generally walked over to the Clarion Hotel accross the st. for a much more reasonably priced menu.

The Coke machine on our floor would not take dollars all 5 days we were there. The machine one floor down(8th loor) also would not take them. I had to go all the way down to 7 to get pop which made me appreciate my floor all the more(I think 7 must be a smoking floor as it really stunk)

The pool was nice and warm for our November evening swims. They have 4 hot tubs near the pool which were nice after walking around all day. The pool is simple with no slides or diving boards and only a 5.5' depth at the deep end. Fine for lap swimming in the off season, but I would hate to see how crowded it gets durring the busy Summer months.

There was a convention in town our final two days. Trips on the elevator required waits that were sometimes longer than many rides at Disneyland. The public areas were very crowded on our final day, which did take away from the enjoyment of our vacation to a small degree.

Overall this Hotel is pretty nice but it feels more like a Airport or Mall than a Hotel; it's just too big for my purposes. If the price were right I may stay here again, but throughout my stay here I was looking at other Hotels wondering if any of them would have been better suited for my family.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Night of October 2
Reviewer: figmentspark San Diego, CA     October 07, 2004
Got it on priceline. I thought the Hotel was beautiful and our room was nicely kept up and everything. Main problem: the hallways echo so, at night when you are attempting to go to sleep and people are talking in the halls you can hear every word even though they are not talking especially loud. It is rater obnoxious. Besides that, though the room was a great place to sleep.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 14-20, 2004
Reviewer: momto3princesses (mjdandkgd@aol.com) Seattle, Washington     August 22, 2004
We paid $79 per night and it was worth that price I guess but I was quite disappointed - it was not what I expect from Hilton. Just a regular hotel room - small, needing renovation (especially the very squeaky mattress - you couldn't roll over without waking everyone).

The first day we were there, there was a large convention group and you had to wait through two or three trips to get on the elevator.

Waitresses at the Oasis? (main restaurant nearest to the elevators) were very helpful but the food (everything we ordered for six days - chicken dinner, french toast breakfast, etc.) was nothing special. The omelets were fairly good, as was the fish and chips - if you do eat there. However, the room service (you can get Domino's pizza for a great, inexpensive dinner) was wonderful - ice water in goblets, variagated rose in a vase, cloth napkins, nice china.

When I asked the woman at the customer service counter if there was anywhere in the hotel to get ice cream, she said no. 30 feet away in the gift shop, they have a small freezer full of dozens of different kinds!

ART was ok but get a five day pass instead of a new one day each time. Most of the ART drivers were extremely curteous/helpful with us and our three kids and stroller. With little kids, it is too far to walk to the park - a block in Anaheim is about four or five blocks where I live.

The pool had warm water and three hot tubs and plenty of clean towels but no slide or diving board or anything fancy.

If you can get a good deal (I think our $79 was pretty good - congrats to the person who got $40!), it is an ok place to stay but don't expect anything particularly fancy.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March 2003
Reviewer: funnygarcia Minnesota     April 03, 2004
Stayed here on a Priceline bid of $40 a night. Called hotel with my confirmation number for request of two double beds and upper floor with theme park view. They gave their standard line of "no guarentees".
Upon arrival we found that we indeed get our requests.
Room was typical arrangement.
Beds were not very comfortable- the mattress swayed every time we moved/turned over and was not very firm (older mattress?). We pushed mattress up against the wall to support it which helped a lot.

We had a wonderful view of DCA - enjoyed the lights form Paradise Pier area and were able to see part of the fireworks from our room.

Two floors below us were the roof top swimming pool and FOUR hot tubs. The swimming pool was clear and clean- not too fancy but just fine for our boys.
The four hot tubs were wonderful! Each have a small fence or bushes on the back side of them. Situated on a raised area with steps/ramp leading to the tub. Very roomy - enough for 6 adults and plenty of "personal space". With four tubs there was never a need to share a tub with anyone.
Towels are available in a small hut like building near pool, though there was not always a staff person to help you locate towels.
I noted wait servers taking orders for drinks - we were not offered any assitance (because we were a family and not busineess travelers??).

I had read about the "Vacation Station" offered for children. We had to wait for someone to be at the desk for the boys to receive their gift. They then had to call a manager because no one could find the items. They gave us cups -taking out the expired free drink coupons inside - and zippered CD holders. We could have checked out games and toys during our stay - most of the toys were for younger children.

There was some confusion on how ART system works and we were not offered any brochures on ART or the parks. They sold us passes each day - they had no knowledge of a multi day pass. They wanted to charge the pass to our room each day and had to find a manager to take cash instead.

We were diappointed to find that all the gift shops and cafes close in early evening and were not open in early morning hours. The only one open was the reatuarant on the main level. Too pricey for this frugal family- we did have breakfast on our last day. Thye have a breakfast buffet but it is not on the menu nor did the server inform of the option. We had to ask for prices. The server asked us to place drink orders and we just asked for water- went thru buffet and found that it included milk, juice, coffee..

Overall, it was a decent and affordable stay. I would not choose to stay here if paying full price. Very much geared for business traveler and not family/Disney traver friendly. We preferred the Marriot directly across the street. Family friendly, very comfy beds, Pizza hut in lobby is open very late.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10/21-10/24/2003
Reviewer: crazydad123 Phoenix, AZ     October 25, 2003
I was booked into the Hilton for a convention, and looked forward to their famous service. Boy, was that a mistake! I had requested a King, was told that in order to check me in right away they could only give me a double. Okay, no big deal. Double room was no better, bigger or nicer than any of a million other hotel rooms. Bathroom was so tight that you could not open or close the door if you were on the throne. Clean, well-kept, but nothing special in any way. Staff is very polite, very efficient, but no better or worse than any of the large chains.
Then came the dollars! Three bucks each way for a shuttle to DLR. I was given a variety of excuses why the hotel didn't have its own shuttle--after all, the Candy Cane Inn has one! I was told that the city made them drop their shuttle, that it reduced pollution, or that "everyone used ART"--a lie. Follow that with $12 per day for the fitness center. $9.95 per day for internet. I'm surprised it didn't take a quarter to call the elevator! Talk about chintzy!
I had just had a GREAT stay at the Residence Inn at Harbor and Chapman. Free shuttle, breakfast, internet, and a huge room for $40 a night less! The group hosting the convention dropped Anaheim for their main annual conference, and I will lobby hard to drop Anaheim for this one as well. Everyone I talked to felt used by the convention center and by the hotels. Transport after park hours is so bad we had to walk home from a formal dinner at Club 33. I love DLR, but not its "good neighbors".
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/01
Reviewer: wendymom Portland, Oregon     July 07, 2002
We got there at 1am and our room was taken. The people at the desk were so nice and gave us vouchers for free breakfast during our stay at their cafe. Unfortunately, we spent the first night in a concierge room on the 5th floor that stunk like cigarettes (I had requested a non smoking room). The next morning I asked if our other room would be available so we could move to a non smoking room. They appologized about the inconveience and promptly moved our things to a corner suite on the 11th floor with a beautiful view of the parks on one side and the pool on the other. We had front row seats for the firework display two nights in a row.
The service was outstanding. It was obvious that this hotel wants your business. What little food that we did eat there was outstanding. The shuttle back and forth to the parks was easy and efficient.
Hilton was having some sort of special so for my 6 yr old son and I had 4 nights with passes to the parks for $400 total. We got this through the Disney Travel company and I highly recommend them for your vacations. Lots of fun extras like free games at ESPN Zone ($40 worth!) I also have a Disney Club membership which helps on the price too.
My number one choice in Disneyland is the Disneyland Hotel but if your budget won't allow it stay at the Hilton!
 
30 out of 31 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page