Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Homewood Suites by Hilton!
 
Want to tell someone about Homewood Suites by Hilton? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Description:
12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 18-23 2006
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 23, 2006
Just to be fair I will start by sharing what worked for us at this hotel. The rooms are a good size, we had the one bedroom suite with 2 queens, sofa bed and kitchenette. The room was quiet with the exception of some traffic noise and firework noise in the evenings. Otherwise quiet. Big towels and plenty of them. Kitchen is well equipped. Breakfast is provided daily with a good selection, plenty of tables and room to eat. Trays are available to carry back to your room. Dinner is served Monday -Thursday nights and was very conveniant. Swimming pool is one of the nicer ones we have seen in the area with towels provided. We were given a free crib for our five night stay. There is a grocery shopping service that was very conveniant however a bit slow since it took nearly twenty four hours to get our order.
Plenty of parking.

Now the part that didn't work for us. The beds are terrible, absolutely worst we have ever slept on. No way to get comfortable as they are very soft and lumpy, well worn. Pillows are just as bad and we could not find a way to fold them to support our neck in any kind of comfort. Didn't get much sleep at all during our stay.

Room was dirty, first thing I noticed upon entering was the dirty handprints on the tables, then a drip on the dishwasher front and on the wallpaper in the bathroom. None of this was cleaned during our stay. One day we didn't get any maid service at all despite her promise to come back. Housekeeping requests were answered very slowly, took several reminder calls. Same with the front desk, would promise to call back and hours later I would call and finally get an answer.

Rear doors did not always respond to the room key cards. Window was missing from the hall but replaced during our stay. No need for a secure door LOL.

We are far from picky but have had better stays at cheaper properties nearby like the Best Western Raffles and Portifino.

So if you can put up with poor housekeeping and terrible beds you may find the meals and pool to be fair compensation. In our case we will stay elsewhere and make other plans for our meals.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/14-12/16/2005
Reviewer: The Mouse Is Back Toluca Lake, CA     December 18, 2005
Since food and beverage prices at the Parks have gone completely out of control, I decided to try a hotel with a kitchen and included meals, to save some money. We took along a bag of groceries, but as it turned out most of them ended up coming home with us.

I paid a rate of $119.00/night, booked through the hotel website. We had a one-bedroom suite that faced DLR. Everything was spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The staff was absolutely wonderful. There is so much free stuff included at this hotel - free breakfast buffet w/trays to carry up to your room, included scrambled eggs (so-so), bacon or sausage, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, milk, cereal. Free reception from 5-7 M-F, which is really an evening meal; while we were there they had a pasta bar (freshly made!) w/garlic breadsticks, salad, two kinds of cake, and beverages, and on the second night it was chili dogs, two kinds of chips, salad, cake, and beverages. Free outgoing phone calls, free business center computer use to check e-mail (a charge for photocopies and outgoing faxes). When the business center computer decided not to boot up, the front desk staff let me use one of their office computers to check my e-mail.

There were two TVs with a full range of cable stations. The bathroom and dressing areas were well lit and the tub/shower was very large. Two BIG closets but there could be more drawer space.

The pool/spa area is very large but it was too cold to go swimming this time. There is a nice guest laundry, $1.25 wash and $1.00 dry. The little shop next to the front desk sells laundry supplies, along with snacks and sundry items. There is a Starbuck's a few steps away at the Sheraton Suites. A Target and Walgreen's are right across the street.

We had a great view of the fireworks from our window. Only the low fireworks were blocked by other buildings. I missed hearing the music but didn't miss the crowd one bit!

The ONLY real complaint I have is not about the hotel, but the ART. There is absolutely no excuse for the fact that they have not increased the number of trollies at busier times. On Wed. and Thurs., it was no problem, but on Fri. it was so packed that the aisle was full and people had to get off in order to let others off at their hotel stop. The driver told me that he was covering two routes because another driver was on a break. Extremely poor planning on the part of ART. The front desk told me that this has been a consistent problem and no matter how much they and other hotels have complained, nothing has been done to remedy the problem. If you have a car you'd be better off driving to DLR.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families. Not only is there the Target, but the hotel will go grocery shopping for you - no fee for the service, you just pay for your groceries.

Check-in time is 3:00 p.m., check-out is noon (an hour later than most hotels in the area). Parking is free and there are plenty of spaces.

The hotel is NOT within walking distance, so plan on either driving or taking the shuttle (or even the Orange County bus line, which has a stop directly across the street).

We will definitely be going back to the Homewood Suites on our next vacation.