Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Homewood Suites by Hilton
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
12005 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 4 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 18-23 2006
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 23, 2006
Just to be fair I will start by sharing what worked for us at this hotel. The rooms are a good size, we had the one bedroom suite with 2 queens, sofa bed and kitchenette. The room was quiet with the exception of some traffic noise and firework noise in the evenings. Otherwise quiet. Big towels and plenty of them. Kitchen is well equipped. Breakfast is provided daily with a good selection, plenty of tables and room to eat. Trays are available to carry back to your room. Dinner is served Monday -Thursday nights and was very conveniant. Swimming pool is one of the nicer ones we have seen in the area with towels provided. We were given a free crib for our five night stay. There is a grocery shopping service that was very conveniant however a bit slow since it took nearly twenty four hours to get our order.
Plenty of parking.

Now the part that didn't work for us. The beds are terrible, absolutely worst we have ever slept on. No way to get comfortable as they are very soft and lumpy, well worn. Pillows are just as bad and we could not find a way to fold them to support our neck in any kind of comfort. Didn't get much sleep at all during our stay.

Room was dirty, first thing I noticed upon entering was the dirty handprints on the tables, then a drip on the dishwasher front and on the wallpaper in the bathroom. None of this was cleaned during our stay. One day we didn't get any maid service at all despite her promise to come back. Housekeeping requests were answered very slowly, took several reminder calls. Same with the front desk, would promise to call back and hours later I would call and finally get an answer.

Rear doors did not always respond to the room key cards. Window was missing from the hall but replaced during our stay. No need for a secure door LOL.

We are far from picky but have had better stays at cheaper properties nearby like the Best Western Raffles and Portifino.

So if you can put up with poor housekeeping and terrible beds you may find the meals and pool to be fair compensation. In our case we will stay elsewhere and make other plans for our meals.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/14-12/16/2005
Reviewer: The Mouse Is Back Toluca Lake, CA     December 18, 2005
Since food and beverage prices at the Parks have gone completely out of control, I decided to try a hotel with a kitchen and included meals, to save some money. We took along a bag of groceries, but as it turned out most of them ended up coming home with us.

I paid a rate of $119.00/night, booked through the hotel website. We had a one-bedroom suite that faced DLR. Everything was spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The staff was absolutely wonderful. There is so much free stuff included at this hotel - free breakfast buffet w/trays to carry up to your room, included scrambled eggs (so-so), bacon or sausage, muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, milk, cereal. Free reception from 5-7 M-F, which is really an evening meal; while we were there they had a pasta bar (freshly made!) w/garlic breadsticks, salad, two kinds of cake, and beverages, and on the second night it was chili dogs, two kinds of chips, salad, cake, and beverages. Free outgoing phone calls, free business center computer use to check e-mail (a charge for photocopies and outgoing faxes). When the business center computer decided not to boot up, the front desk staff let me use one of their office computers to check my e-mail.

There were two TVs with a full range of cable stations. The bathroom and dressing areas were well lit and the tub/shower was very large. Two BIG closets but there could be more drawer space.

The pool/spa area is very large but it was too cold to go swimming this time. There is a nice guest laundry, $1.25 wash and $1.00 dry. The little shop next to the front desk sells laundry supplies, along with snacks and sundry items. There is a Starbuck's a few steps away at the Sheraton Suites. A Target and Walgreen's are right across the street.

We had a great view of the fireworks from our window. Only the low fireworks were blocked by other buildings. I missed hearing the music but didn't miss the crowd one bit!

The ONLY real complaint I have is not about the hotel, but the ART. There is absolutely no excuse for the fact that they have not increased the number of trollies at busier times. On Wed. and Thurs., it was no problem, but on Fri. it was so packed that the aisle was full and people had to get off in order to let others off at their hotel stop. The driver told me that he was covering two routes because another driver was on a break. Extremely poor planning on the part of ART. The front desk told me that this has been a consistent problem and no matter how much they and other hotels have complained, nothing has been done to remedy the problem. If you have a car you'd be better off driving to DLR.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families. Not only is there the Target, but the hotel will go grocery shopping for you - no fee for the service, you just pay for your groceries.

Check-in time is 3:00 p.m., check-out is noon (an hour later than most hotels in the area). Parking is free and there are plenty of spaces.

The hotel is NOT within walking distance, so plan on either driving or taking the shuttle (or even the Orange County bus line, which has a stop directly across the street).

We will definitely be going back to the Homewood Suites on our next vacation.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Nov 20-26, 2005
Reviewer: msgmg68 Stockton, California     December 01, 2005
My family of 5 really enjoyed this hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze, with no problems. I had gotten a travel agent rate of $69.50 per night and we had a 1 bedroom suite. In the suite, there were two queen beds in the bedroom with a door that closed between the living and bedroom. In the living room there was a pull out sofa bed, chair, coffee table, TV and a kitchenette. The kitchenette had a table with two chairs, full size refrigerator, two burner stovetop, microwave, sink and dishwasher. Plates, cups, utensils, and pots and pans were also included.
This park is about 1 mile from Disneyland, so not walking distance. The first two days, while we were without our vehicle, we took the ART shuttle ($3 per person/per day). Because of it being a very busy time for Disneyland, the hotels were packed with people, so we encountered shuttles becoming full and us having to wait for the next shuttle, which came around every 20 minutes. The rest of our family arrived on the late evening of our second day with a minivan, so the rest of the trip we drove in.
The hotel and our room was spotless! The maids were pleasant and housekeeping brought us an extra blanket within 3 minutes of us requesting it.
They offer a full breakfast in the am (eggs, potatoes, toast, fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee, bagels/toast, muffins, sausage, and one day pancakes instead of eggs). The food was very good and filling. Mon-Thurs. they offer a "light dinner". It was anything BUT light! To us, it was a full dinner. Every night there is a salad bar, chips/salsa, free beer/wine/soda. There is also a hot item included which they alternate. While we were there they had enchiladas/refried beans, sloppy joes, BBQ beef sandwiches, and turkey/mashed potatoes.
I will definitely stay at this hotel in the future. The "normal" rates for this hotel begin at about $129 and even at that rate, I would return. It saved us a lot of money since we didn't have to buy breakfast or dinner.
One drawback....the elevator is slow, but we took the stairs.
You won't be sorry staying at the Homewood Suites!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   01/18/03 thru 01/20/03
Reviewer: hefferdude Central Coast California     January 21, 2003
We decided to book a suite type hotel room for our stay while at DLR for the extra room and to reduce our cost on meal expenses. We don't mind the break away from the park to cook our own meals. We booked a standard suite for $116.00/night plus tax. The total for two nights was ~$256.00. The room had a small but nice main room with a kitchenette. The seperate bedroom had two queen beds. The bathroom sink was in a well lit seperate alcove. The commode and shower were again in
a seperate room. While the bedroom was large and roomy, the main living area seemed a bit small for the fold out bed. The extra reclining chair wasn't really necessary and got in the way. The kitchen had a large refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and sink but the stove did not have an oven. The kitchen was stocked with dishware for four and a few small pots and pans. It worked well as we had prepared our dinners in advance ( spaghetti - turkey cassarole ) and frozen them to act as cooler ice for the trip to DLR. The rest of the time we had sandwhich items, snacks and beverages.
Overall the room was exceptionally clean and neat and took a very small amount of time to settle into.
The park shuttle is a contracted carrier that works stops at the Hyatt and Marriott Suites that are nearby. They were as prompt as the traffic allowed and some drivers were downright funny. The trip takes about 10 minutes - hotel on the 0 & 30, DLR white zone on the 20 & 50. Being MLK weekend and with a huge music conevntion in town, traffic was a nightmare. The shuttle was forced to take an alternate route around gridlock on Harbor Blvd
when the convention got out. This saved us 30 minutes per trip and was appreciated.
The breakfast included the usual continental items as well as steam tray eggs and bacon ( which ran out and wasn't replenished immediately ). Only one really big faux pas was a staff member dragging a dumpster through the dining room and emptying trash cans and liners during our meal. Ummm, not the greatest timing.
The pool is long and rectangular only going to 5 ft at the deep end. The jacuzzi is OK but a bit small. They have a seperate kiddie pool too. ( All very clean but with a hint too much chlorine. ) One nice surpirse though.The sunset lit up the SW side of the bulding with a wonderful bloom of red ochre light which made relaxing in the pool at that time special.
Overall: Its somewhat comparable to Embassey Suites but a bit less expensive. Good choice for families wanting the extra space, savings on meals and don't mind being a mile or so from the park. We enjoyed our stay here and will consider it again on another trip to DLR.
 
73 out of 74 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page