Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
House of Blues - Anaheim
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The food is sometimes secondary to the music at the House of Blues, where people come for southern cuisine and current artists.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2.2 out of 52.2 out of 52.2 out of 52.2 out of 52.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 4 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 6, 2007
Reviewer: Maus Yorba Linda, Calif.     April 07, 2007
My daughter and I ended up dining at this restaurant on a Friday in Spring Break because her Deluxe Annual Pass was blocked and she couldn't go into the park with me. (Oops, she forgot to check) We settled for the House of Blues because she had never eaten there. I've been only once before for a private party so the menu was new to both of us.

For a busy Friday we were seated immediately and the server was attentive at first. The menu had a lot of variety. My daughter ordered the breaded artichoke hearts, which was currently a special appetizer item. She also wanted a salad and asked for it to be brought first. The entrees sounded good but I didn't want that much food so I simply ordered a hamburger and topped it with mushrooms. I would have liked Jack or Pepper Jack cheese but they don't offer it so I declined another variety.

After waiting awhile my daughter flagged the server and asked about her salad. The server apologized for not bringing it because "most people want the two items served at the same time." I guess we aren't most people, oh well. Everything arrived right after that misstep and was very well presented.

The salad and artichoke hearts were both tasty, though nothing special. There was a piece of chicken mixed in with the artichokes, vegitarians beware. My burger was a little too well done for my "medium" preference and presented without condiments so I had to flag our server to request mayo. To her credit she brought it almost before I finished requesting it. Unfortunately that was the last we saw of her until she brought the check.

The restaurant offers an Annual Pass discount so that was a nice perk. All in all we were satisfied with our meals but probably wouldn't rush back any time soon. On this busy Friday it was nice to find a restaurant without a long wait.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 21, 2004
Reviewer: sdfilmcritic Escondido, CA     August 23, 2004
I had stopped by the restaurant for dinner to receive the early entry pass for the concert that night. Upon reading another review regarding the bad experience the reviewer and an early entry pass I was a little concerned about not gaining the pass myself. Well, I got the pass with no problem. For food I had ordered the buttermilk gracy chicken with potatoes and vegetables. It was like having boneless fried chicken with gravy on top. The mashed potatoes was very good, and the serving of vegetables the menu refers to was a side of fresh cut, steamed broccoli. I wish the chef had put more gravy on top so that I would have had enough to go around for both the chicken and the mashed potatoes. The person I was with had ordered the special of the day, which was chicken and artichoke pizza. She really enjoyed the pizza, which was about 10 inches big (I think) and was cut in to six slices. It had a thin crust and was covered with the sauce and toppings. The waitress was very nice and helpful. I would definitely try the restaurant again to try out some of the other meals. Also, regarding the concert hall I had a problem with the camera check in. The house rules ask there are to be no cameras (photo or video) to be allowed in to the auditorium, so they charged three dollars to babysit my disposable camera during the duration of the concert. The house was really packed with concert attendees and the room temperature grew hot rather quickly making it uncomfortable for some people. It was a standing room only concert so everyone was trying to find a comfortable spot to lean up against something. The only seats that were available were either reserved for VIPs or you were obliged to order something from the bar to keep your seat. Otherwise there were only fifty stools available for seating for the whole hall that didn't require paying extra money for. I wasn't lucky enough to get one of these barstools so both of us had to stand for about three hours.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   10/31
Reviewer: cryan71 North Hollywood, CA     November 17, 2003
The food was okay -- i've had better at chain restaurants like TGI Fridays. I ordered the Ribs, which were slightly dry.

I sat at the bar to eat and have a drink before a show (Zebrahead, The Matches). People should be forewarned that HOB will authorize your credit card for $100 if you sit at the bar to eat. For a $30 bill, I found this excessive.

The drinks were very expensive and very very weak.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   May 2001
Reviewer: blusilva Downey, CA     August 06, 2002
The food is indeed secondary to the music in this venue, but sometimes absolutely imperative!

Having been a Duran Duran fan since 1981, I was thrilled when Duran was one of the first bands to perform at the HOB Anaheim. I had seen them the year before several times at the HOB in West Hollywood, and every one of my dining companions had seen them in HOBs across the country. We all knew the system. Get there early the day of the show, eat, get a receipt and get in line. Folks with receipts get "pass the line" privileges.

The day of the first show, we came, we dined, we conquered. Had pizza in the bar; it was expensive and greasy but worth the front of the line pass.

The second night, we decided to do it up in style; eat a real dinner in the patio. We asked our waiter right up front for seperate receipts, explaining that we all were dining for "pass the line" rights. He said he had to check on the status of "pass the line" rights that particular night, but that he was sure it was in effect. When pressed, he insisted he would check with the manager and let us know if the "pass the line" policy was not in force that night before our meal was served. Then, he took our order and left.

We inquired again when our order arrived. He hemmed and hawed and said he'd be back soon with an answer. We, starving at this point, dug in like wolves.

I ordered a steak, one of the most expensive items on the menu; and, yes, it was excellent. My entire party dined high on the hog that night and were impressed by the food. Yet, as the bill was presented, we were informed that we would not be allowed "pass the line" rights that night and our server could offer no explanation. We then demanded to and spoke directly with a manager, who offered no other explanation than "it's security's call on a nightly basis - and sometimes even on an hourly basis." We paid immediately in order to take our place in the growing line for the show.

We wasted an hour and a half dining, and a ton of money (on admittedly great food) for nothing. Our goal was first row, not eating. We would have gotten far better placement in the venue for the show if we had not eaten at the restaurant that night. And, surely, we would have consulted security if we had known that they were the ones to make the final decision.

Yes, we would have left the restaurant before our order was placed if our server had told us before we ordered that "pass the line" was NOT standard procedure that night; I suspect that was the reason why we were not informed in a timely manner.

Simply put, HOB Anaheim needs to conform regularly to what other HOBs across the country regard as policy; or, they need to inform their diners BEFORE they order (if they specifically ask) as to what the policy is for each performance.
 
20 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page