Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hyatt Regency Orange County (Alicante)
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
11999 Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 8 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 25, 2011
Reviewer: bennette Irvine, California     February 26, 2011
I booked a room at this Hyatt via Priceline's name your own price option. Priceline options move around; this is currently a 4-star hotel in the Garden Grove area. My price was $60 plus city tax. Self parking was an additional $15.

The hotel is always very nice but has just undergone a renovation. The lobby is a bit brighter. There is more casual seating available in the lobby and a child friendly area has been integrated into the far side of the bar restaurant. It has child sized furniture and a large screen TV playing Pixar movies; a nice spot to wait for the hotel shuttle. Lobby staff are pleasant and efficient.

The shuttle is currently running at 20 and 50 minutes on the hour and is still shared with the Crown Plaza and Sheraton. I didn't utilize it this trip but instead took a taxi to the Howard Johnson's for an event ($10). I personally prefer the shuttle for Disney transportation but if for some reason you wanted to take a car, I think I would suggest driving up to the Toy Story lot up Harbor rather than driving all the way to the Mickey and Friends lot.

The rooms have been redone since my last visit but don't look much different. It's a good sized room. Lots of granite, big flat screen TV, triple sheeted beds, nice fluffy pillows. Coffee is in individual filter packs that brew one cup each; tea service is Tazo (no plain black tea; grr). The armoire is well designed to hold the articles of a business traveler (suits, shoes, suitcase, safe) but not much more and there isn't other furniture in the room to make use of. If you have a lot of things to store, you'll want one of the suites, which also come with a fridge and microwave. Giclee prints of Disney and DCA decorate the rooms and available for purchase. The rooms now have T-Mobile wireless access for those with an account. Wired service is also available for a daily fee. I asked to be away from the elevator and received a room in the North Tower with a view of the pool and a neighboring hotel along with (could it be?) a grassy field.

The bathroom is quite large and stocks a fair supply of towels and Portico toiletries, including toothpaste. The shower has one of those curved rods and the curtain is one I've been seeing lately in nicer hotels. The top quarter of the panel is somewhat sheer, allowing more light in and providing one an opportunity to talk to another bathroom occupant while maintaining privacy.

In my review from 2009, I suggested that the GardenWalk facility was within walking distance. As I am currently recovering from a knee injury, I'm no longer sure how accurate that is for the average party; you might want to drive or get a taxi. Target and a drive-thru CVS are right across the street, as is Oggi's restaurant (a small, local chain with good food). There are several national chain restaurants nearby as well (Coco's, Buca di Beppo, Outback Steakhouse).

There is a full Starbuck's in the Lobby. A well stocked gift store sells lots of sundries, ice cream, and a large selection of junk food. There is a full service restaurant where kids eat free for lunch and dinner with a paying adult. The large bar also offers a brew pub type menu and a choice of table, counter, or cushy lounge seating. I had quick chili and fries at a table near the bar. The food was fine and service was cheerful but not terribly efficient when it came time to check out. I've had this problem at the bar before so you might not want to order here if you are in a rush.

It was cold and rainy during my visit so of course visitors were using the pool. Our "bad" weather just doesn't faze tourists! The pool has only a step entry. There are plenty of lounge chairs, towels, and decent looking restrooms. There is a small hot tub but most of the pool isn't viewable from it.

Quibbles:

Tea service not stocked when I arrived.

Spiffy iPod alarm had clear instructions but I couldn't get it to work.

Two light switches turn into glowing orange nightlights when switched off. That's a plus or a minus depending on how you like the room at night.

Front desk explained shuttle ran every half hour, but failed to mention specific times, causing me to miss a shuttle. (I assumed it would run on the hour and half hour.)

I love the quiet and calm of this hotel, even more so at this price. Depending on your party size and travel preferences, it won't necessarily be as attractive to the visitor looking for a room with a kid's pool or free breakfast.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/26/08 - 4/27/08
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, California     April 30, 2008
We spent the night at the Hyatt Orange County and had a great time. Our room was a standard accommodation with 2 queens, on the 14th floor with a view of the pool (not the atrium). It was in a quiet location; we didn't hear a sound from any other rooms. It also had great air conditioning (the weather was 95 degrees that weekend!) and was very clean. Our only "complaints" were the weak shower pressure in the bathroom and the fact that the pool area did not have much shade (remember, it was 95 degrees outside!). Because of that, we did not go swimming. We bought our Disneyland tickets from the Disney ticket desk in the lobby -- at a slight discount per ticket for 1-day (non-Park Hopper) passes. The shuttle buses were extremely prompt! They arrived twice an hour at the hotel, almost to the minute of their projected arrival time. The ride was 10 minutes at the most. The shuttles were air conditioned. Also, the afternoon drivers offered everyone ice cold water bottles; they only asked that we recycle the bottles at the hotel. This was so great! We never waited more than a few minutes for a shuttle either to or from the Park. (We returned to the hotel during the high "heat" of the day, so we used the shuttle service twice, round-trips.) We had the breakfast (Sunday) buffet at the Hyatt's restaurant, The California Grill, before driving home. We were pleased with the offerings -- an omelet and waffle station, scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, breads. Something for everyone. Check-out was quick and efficient, too. The atrium was pretty and spacious. There was a meeting and also an Indian wedding during our visit, but the atrium never felt crowded or uncomfortable. There was a good flow of people -- ie., the lobby was never too crowded or too loud. Parking was about $10 a day (I think -- or maybe $15?). We would definitely stay here again. It was about 2.5 miles from Disneyland. Kind of nice to get away from all the congestion around the parks -- !
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 4-6, 2006
Reviewer: kkmickey (kkmeador@yahoo.com) Vancouver, WA     March 01, 2007
I booked a room in this hotel last summer during peak season through Priceline at $50/night for a standard room. After driving 16 hours with two teenagers, my dh and I decided it was worth it to upgrade to a Kid's suite so the obnoxious and now smelly boys could have their own room and their own tv. The price to upgrade was $95/night (so worth the extra $45!)
*What I loved about this hotel were:
1. The convenient shuttle - very quick, only went to one other hotel
2. Starbucks in the lobby, also Pizza Hut express
3. VERY comfortable beds
4. Nice property
What I disliked: Self-parking $15/day

All in all for staying off site, not a bad option, especially if you can stick with Priceline for $50/night
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 15 2006
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     April 23, 2006
We got this room for one night on Priceline for $75. We were given a non smoking room with two queens and a free rollaway! I was able to call them immediately after getting my Priceline confirmation and make a request for the room type I needed.

The room was very clean and quiet with a great view. Housekeeping requests were met very quickly and politely. The beds were divine, heavenly! We tried the pool on the third floor and found it to be great fun for kids, very warm and clean. The pool is not very deep and my three year old was able to walk out to the center with her head above water. There is another pool but we didn't have time to check it out.

I would not stay more than one night because it lacked some of the necessities for traveling with a family to the Anaheim area. The room was small and did not have a fridge or microwave. Breakfast is not provided and is very pricey from their resturants.

Parking is $14 a night. That was made up for by having a free shuttle to the park. However the driver in the evening was very rude and surly. The driver in the morning was much nicer and he had the tips to prove it! The parking was good until midnight of the following day so I was able to park my car here for two days and use the shuttle to and from Disneyland. So that was a benefit.

It is a very nice place but if you are budget minded with a family you might be happier with a place that includes breakfast, fridge and microwave
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   5/22/04 to 5/24/04
Reviewer: sdfilmcritic Escondido, California     August 04, 2004
I would have rated this a "2 out of 5" but the property was well taken care of and the staff was really helpfull and nice. The problem I had was the size of the room and the parking fees. I had to pay the $12 a day to park my car in their parking lot, which is fenced off from neighboring lots. When presenting the issued parking voucher to the front desk upon check in the hotel clerk will charge the $12/day to the room for each day you are booked at the hotel. This can add up really quickly for those who are planning week long vacations. The room wasn't too thrilling. It looked like a standard room I could have gotten at a regular well kept motel. The room service was outrageously priced (i.e the menu listed a case of domestic beer at $75!) Luckily I had booked the room through an online discounted travel agency helping me save a load of money on the per night value. If I would have known about the parking fees and the state of the rooms I would have booked elsewhere.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Jan. 31 - Feb. 2
Reviewer: garkat Clovis, CA     February 14, 2003
I reserved a standard room for 4 on priceline.com and paid $35 + tax per night. Parking was an extra $12 per night at the hotel. The room had 2 queen beds and was okay (I don't think it would have been worth the "normal rate" of $150 per night). We had a nice view from the 9th floor and it was clean. The beautiful atrium lobby contained 1 full service restaurant, 1 large open-air bar and lounge, and a Starbucks. We didn't use any of them though. Shuttle service to Disney as on a very comfortable charter-type bus that serviced our hotel and 3 others in the area. Wait times both at the hotel and at Disney were only about 10-15 minutes that we noticed. They picked up twice an hour.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/30/02 - 1/1/03
Reviewer: bsimonis San Carlos, CA     January 15, 2003
We reserved a family suite using Gold Passport points to get a discount and paid $89 per night for all but New Year's Eve, when they charged us $125. Despite the crowds for the shuttle bus, we always made it on to the bus leaving the hotel, though we had to stand on two trips. Returning after the New Year's Eve fireworks, we were afraid that we would have to wait for several busses (they run every 30 minutes) but they ran continuously to bring the crowd back. The room was great and met our needs perfectly, the staff was wonderful, though the parking fee is a bit of a ripoff and we were not warned about it when we made the reservation. I'd return to the hotel, it was very convenient.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 22, 2002 through November 24, 2002
Reviewer: violetsiva Fresno, CA     November 26, 2002
Our room was practically the same as the ones you would find at Marriott, only not as convenient and Marriott would probably charge less per night than this hotel would normally. We got our room the night before we left by searching Priceline.com - we paid $37/night, whereas the room would normally be $89-$169. The room, including the bathroom, was larger than normal and you can check out using a menu on your television. We were on the 16th floor and had a spectacular view. The only thing that kept me from rating this hotel higher was the fact that they had the sink enclosed in the bathroom (it would have been more convenient for us to have had one across from the closet) and they charged $11 a night for parking. The lobby was spectacular and the valet and staff were extra friendly. We enjoyed our stay here. If you are picky about pillows, you might want to bring your own, as I found the pillows to be terrible - they were the kind that smoosh down easily and did not provide enough support for my head, even though I was using two.
 
14 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page