Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Hyatt Regency Orange County (Alicante)!
 
Want to tell someone about Hyatt Regency Orange County (Alicante)? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Hyatt Regency Orange County (Alicante)
Description:
11999 Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 8 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 25, 2011
Reviewer: bennette Irvine, California     February 26, 2011
I booked a room at this Hyatt via Priceline's name your own price option. Priceline options move around; this is currently a 4-star hotel in the Garden Grove area. My price was $60 plus city tax. Self parking was an additional $15.

The hotel is always very nice but has just undergone a renovation. The lobby is a bit brighter. There is more casual seating available in the lobby and a child friendly area has been integrated into the far side of the bar restaurant. It has child sized furniture and a large screen TV playing Pixar movies; a nice spot to wait for the hotel shuttle. Lobby staff are pleasant and efficient.

The shuttle is currently running at 20 and 50 minutes on the hour and is still shared with the Crown Plaza and Sheraton. I didn't utilize it this trip but instead took a taxi to the Howard Johnson's for an event ($10). I personally prefer the shuttle for Disney transportation but if for some reason you wanted to take a car, I think I would suggest driving up to the Toy Story lot up Harbor rather than driving all the way to the Mickey and Friends lot.

The rooms have been redone since my last visit but don't look much different. It's a good sized room. Lots of granite, big flat screen TV, triple sheeted beds, nice fluffy pillows. Coffee is in individual filter packs that brew one cup each; tea service is Tazo (no plain black tea; grr). The armoire is well designed to hold the articles of a business traveler (suits, shoes, suitcase, safe) but not much more and there isn't other furniture in the room to make use of. If you have a lot of things to store, you'll want one of the suites, which also come with a fridge and microwave. Giclee prints of Disney and DCA decorate the rooms and available for purchase. The rooms now have T-Mobile wireless access for those with an account. Wired service is also available for a daily fee. I asked to be away from the elevator and received a room in the North Tower with a view of the pool and a neighboring hotel along with (could it be?) a grassy field.

The bathroom is quite large and stocks a fair supply of towels and Portico toiletries, including toothpaste. The shower has one of those curved rods and the curtain is one I've been seeing lately in nicer hotels. The top quarter of the panel is somewhat sheer, allowing more light in and providing one an opportunity to talk to another bathroom occupant while maintaining privacy.

In my review from 2009, I suggested that the GardenWalk facility was within walking distance. As I am currently recovering from a knee injury, I'm no longer sure how accurate that is for the average party; you might want to drive or get a taxi. Target and a drive-thru CVS are right across the street, as is Oggi's restaurant (a small, local chain with good food). There are several national chain restaurants nearby as well (Coco's, Buca di Beppo, Outback Steakhouse).

There is a full Starbuck's in the Lobby. A well stocked gift store sells lots of sundries, ice cream, and a large selection of junk food. There is a full service restaurant where kids eat free for lunch and dinner with a paying adult. The large bar also offers a brew pub type menu and a choice of table, counter, or cushy lounge seating. I had quick chili and fries at a table near the bar. The food was fine and service was cheerful but not terribly efficient when it came time to check out. I've had this problem at the bar before so you might not want to order here if you are in a rush.

It was cold and rainy during my visit so of course visitors were using the pool. Our "bad" weather just doesn't faze tourists! The pool has only a step entry. There are plenty of lounge chairs, towels, and decent looking restrooms. There is a small hot tub but most of the pool isn't viewable from it.

Quibbles:

Tea service not stocked when I arrived.

Spiffy iPod alarm had clear instructions but I couldn't get it to work.

Two light switches turn into glowing orange nightlights when switched off. That's a plus or a minus depending on how you like the room at night.

Front desk explained shuttle ran every half hour, but failed to mention specific times, causing me to miss a shuttle. (I assumed it would run on the hour and half hour.)

I love the quiet and calm of this hotel, even more so at this price. Depending on your party size and travel preferences, it won't necessarily be as attractive to the visitor looking for a room with a kid's pool or free breakfast.
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/26/08 - 4/27/08
Reviewer: Sansarc Pacific Palisades, California     April 30, 2008
We spent the night at the Hyatt Orange County and had a great time. Our room was a standard accommodation with 2 queens, on the 14th floor with a view of the pool (not the atrium). It was in a quiet location; we didn't hear a sound from any other rooms. It also had great air conditioning (the weather was 95 degrees that weekend!) and was very clean. Our only "complaints" were the weak shower pressure in the bathroom and the fact that the pool area did not have much shade (remember, it was 95 degrees outside!). Because of that, we did not go swimming. We bought our Disneyland tickets from the Disney ticket desk in the lobby -- at a slight discount per ticket for 1-day (non-Park Hopper) passes. The shuttle buses were extremely prompt! They arrived twice an hour at the hotel, almost to the minute of their projected arrival time. The ride was 10 minutes at the most. The shuttles were air conditioned. Also, the afternoon drivers offered everyone ice cold water bottles; they only asked that we recycle the bottles at the hotel. This was so great! We never waited more than a few minutes for a shuttle either to or from the Park. (We returned to the hotel during the high "heat" of the day, so we used the shuttle service twice, round-trips.) We had the breakfast (Sunday) buffet at the Hyatt's restaurant, The California Grill, before driving home. We were pleased with the offerings -- an omelet and waffle station, scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, breads. Something for everyone. Check-out was quick and efficient, too. The atrium was pretty and spacious. There was a meeting and also an Indian wedding during our visit, but the atrium never felt crowded or uncomfortable. There was a good flow of people -- ie., the lobby was never too crowded or too loud. Parking was about $10 a day (I think -- or maybe $15?). We would definitely stay here again. It was about 2.5 miles from Disneyland. Kind of nice to get away from all the congestion around the parks -- !