Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
La Brea Bakery Café
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
L.A.'s famed La Brea Bakery operates this cafe at the intersection of Downtown Disney and the parks. Two service areas offer take-away snacks or sit-down dining.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 12 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 30
Reviewer: wwomant Sacramento, California     January 10, 2010
We ordered from the counter service side and dined outside. I have neither complaints or praise for the restaurant. The food and service was adequate. I would like to have give the restaurant 2.5 planets, but since that wasn't an option I gave them the benefit of the doubt and gave it 3.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   2-8-07
Reviewer: simnia Anaheim, California     March 09, 2007
I had a very tasty breakfast here for about $10 early one morning, of eggs, sausage, and potatoes. The price was right for the good quality and good quantity of food I received. The heating pole devices outside were appreciated on that cold morning. The lines here are usually annoyingly slow, though. On an earlier visit at night I had to wait a long time just to buy a lemonade, although the lemonade was great. The location is convenient, the hours good, the atmosphere nothing fancy. (What could anyone do with a bakery theme for atmosphere, anyway?) In general, I find it a quite acceptable place if you don't mind the slow lines and slightly high prices.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   August 22, 2006
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
There was an unexpected opening time change at DCA that caused DD to be overrun with guests killing an hour before DCA opened. That is probably what caused La Brea to be so busy. The line was out the door, but seemed to move, so I hopped in line. There were lots of items to choose from, but corresponding what was on the menu to what was in the service window was difficult. They were also out of many items, which caused the line to grind to a halt while guests figured out what else they should order.

When I finally reached the counter, I was shocked at the cost of a banana, muffin, and hot tea. It was $10! I should have walked over to the Grand Californian and at least spent $10 on the same breakfast with better service and better atmosphere.

The tea was fair, at best, and the muffin was tasteless. Can't mess up a banana, and it was actually perfectly ripe. There were no seats available, so people were table-sharing. People were complaining as they left the line (my table was immediately outside the cashier).

I wish the table service side would've been open; I would prefer that to the cattle call we went through.

I cannot recommend La Brea, despite the other postings I've read. I don't think I would even give it another shot. Not what I expected from that very recognizable name.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   feb 2004
Reviewer: gabrielle2106 Australia     July 22, 2006
Beautiful pastries, great coffee. Exceptional value for money. Great place to grab a coffee and snack after a day at the park. Very friendly staff, beautiful clean resturant.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/23/05
Reviewer: SnowJen22 Las Vegas, Nevada     August 25, 2005
The food was good, they offer a good selection of items. It was weird though that they give you salad greens with a vingerette with your breakfast. I had the platter, and my only thing was that the eggs were very runny. The service was okay, just do not expect to be in and out.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 19, 2005
Reviewer: cakediva Gladstone, Oregon     August 21, 2005
We went for breakfast because they offered something my husband loves. He had the salmon on a bagel with cream cheese etc. I had an fresh vegie omlette. The food is very fresh and a cut above most of the competition there. The coffee was very good as well.
We waited about ten minutes, and the service was good.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May, 2004
Reviewer: TP2000 Villa Park, CA     June 30, 2004
La Brea Bakery should be so cool and so good... but it's not. The bakery counter has a decent selection to choose from, but every time I've gotten a cookie or bread item it's hard and dry and crumbly. I have had a mocha there twice, and both times it was one of the worst mocha's I've ever had. I don't know how they could screw up a mocha so badly, but they do. The employees aren't very friendly either and they don't appear to have workable communication skills, so the bad coffee seems even worse when you pay five bucks for it and don't even get a "Thank you". Why couldn't they have put in a Starbucks or a Deidrich's near the entrance to Disneyland instead of this La Brea Bakery mess?! La Brea Bakery has so much potential, but it's really just a missed opportunity.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12/15/2003
Reviewer: Kevin in sacramento Sacramento, California     April 30, 2004
Went for breakfast prior to the park opening. Service was slow, understaffed for a pre-park opening crowd. The food was ok but less than I expected based on the reputation of the restaurant. Good mochas though. The restauarant is in a convenient location which is a plus. Overall it was adequate, not great.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/21-3/26
Reviewer: zivismom idaho     March 31, 2004
We had a sit down lunch here. The weather and people watching was delightful. We had sandwiches with side salad. The breads were extraordinary. The children's chicken fingers however, made my daughter very ill. Thank goodness they sell undies at the Disney store next door. The prices weren't any higher than any other dining experience in the parks. I'd try them again, but not get anything fried.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/23/2003
Reviewer: christinek1234 Canada     January 18, 2004
We went here for breakfast, before Disneyland opening, sometime just before 8am. My coffee was served cold, and while I like dark, strong coffee like Starbucks, this was strong like sludge! I ordered a BLT sandwich and my son ordered some breakfast dish (like eggs & pancakes or something, but basic breakfast) that he said was very good and was quite happy with, though I remember it being $10 which is a lot of money for breakfast. My sandwich was $10 or more, all I know is the bill was $33 with tip and that is quite a lot for breakfast for 2!!! I mean, a cup of coffee there is $3....My sandwich arrived without the bacon. I opened it up when the waiter put it down and the waiter quickly said, "That's mayonnaise". I told him that was fine, but where's the bacon? So he opens up the other half and starts looking which put me off, but he took it away and was back in less than a minute with bacon on it. The bread was good, but soooo crisp, dense & chewwwy, I thought I would break my teeth. Anyway, way over priced. Wouldn't dine here again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page