Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Marriott Anaheim
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
700 W. Convention Way, Anaheim
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 7 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 7 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 1 - 3, 2006
Reviewer: ladodgerjon (ladodgerjon@hotmail.com) Sherman Oaks, CA     February 22, 2006
This was our third visit to the Marriott. The hotel went through an extensive rehab about three or four years ago, and the rooms and public areas are quite nice and holding-up just fine.

The staff has always been incredibly friendly, helpful and prompt.

The rooms don't have much of a view (all three visits have given me a look at the neighboring Hilton), but they all have large bathrooms with double pullman sinks (a requirement to keeping a happy marriage). The beds were comfy (we really liked the down comforters), and ample seating (a desk and chair, as well as a small couch). Every room has been modern in appearance and very clean.

The mind-boggling thing to us is that we've always stayed for under $80 per night-- a real steal in Los Angeles/O.C. (especially considering the 'resort-like' quality of the place)

On Housekeeping: We requested addditional towels and a crib, and both appeared at our door within minutes. A nice touch when you don't have to wait around to get your day moving.

Room service was, OK. Nothing to write home about... but promptly delivered (at a price that wasn't outrageous).

We spent an afternoon at the pool, and enjoyed a nice lunch. The outdoor grounds are not very expansive, but they are lush. The Sunday brunch was fine-- not great, but a decent deal for the $ (arrive early as crowds form at the entrance). The lobby bar is a fun place to people-watch.

We appreciated the various choices of where to eat or grab a drink or a trinket (gift shop, cofee shop, pool bar, Starbucks, etc).

The park is within walking distance for some... but when you're schlepping a baby, the Anaheimer Shuttle Bus is an easier way of getting around.

My biggest complaint is that parking tends to be a bit pricey (around $12 per day). The structure itself is a bit creepy.

If you have an event at the convention center, the Marriott is a GREAT choice (a thirty-second walk, and you're there).

Having stayed at other hotels in the area, allow me to do a comparison:

When viewed against the other nearby 'mega hotel' (the Hilton), I think the Marriott more than holds its own. The rooms are comparable, and the ammenities and services offered are every bit as good (big lobby, nice pool, several dining choices, etc., etc). I think the Marriott surpasses the Hilton in 'personality'-- the staff seems not as overwrought and overrun (the Marriott has fewer rooms). The staff at the Marriott actually remember your name.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 18, 2005 - November 20, 2005
Reviewer: fshagan Oxnard, CA     November 20, 2005
I stay in Marriott properties on business quite a bit, and decided to try this one for our Disneyland weekend. We obtained a rate of $129 per night, parking included, for the two nights we were there. They were the cheapest nights available that month, with most of the posted rates another $30 higher.

Our standard King, non-smoking room was smaller than I was used to in the other Marriott properties, and the air conditioner had a hard time keeping the room cool during an unseasonably warm spell (the dry Santa Ana Winds had come to town, and it was 85 F outside). Our room was in the Oasis Tower, and faced south, and I suspect a north facing room would be cooler. We also had a bit of trouble with the TV, but a call to the desk helped get that straightened out. One thing that surprised me was that Internet access ... free at all the other Marriott properties I've stayed in ... was $9.99 at this hotel. It was a fast, wired ethernet connection rather than a wireless connection, and they included all local and long distance telephone calls to the US in that price, which might make it worth it for some. The bed, as is almost always the case at Marriott properties, was very comfortable. And, most importantly for me, this hotel is quiet; you don't get the noise you do in the motels along Harbor Blvd.

We found we could walk between the Hilton Hotel across the street and the Convention Center in a wide, well lit sidewalk that led to Katella, with a security guard there every time we crossed through. Crossing Katella at the stop light near the "spaceship" style Convention Center building, it was a short walk into the Lion King and Friends parking lot to catch the tram to the front gate. We never had to take advantage of the $3 per day Anaheim Resort shuttle service, as the walk was short enough for us. We found this very convenient, and less taxing than walking across harbor with crowds of people.

The staff was very friendly and professional, and the hotel has the amenities I expect in a more expensive hotel ... room service, lobby gift shop, etc. I would return there again for both the convenience and the quiet ... especially the quiet!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 2002
Reviewer: funnygarcia Minnesota     April 03, 2004
Hubby and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary- won the Marriot via first experience using Priceline at $45 per night. As a frugal person, I was overjoyed to find the hotel was more than expected and was money well spent.
We were greeted very warmly by the door man, offered banana bread by a server upon entering the lobby (nice treat while having a short wait for check in), check in went smoothly and wer had very friendly helpful staff.
Lots of smiles from staff made me feel welcome.
Room was clean and comfy - only two of us so size of rom was not an issue.
The beds were wonderfully comfy. Plush mattress top with firm support- felt like my bed at home which is saying alot for a hotel bed!! Soft to touch comforter, down pillows. I slept very well for the entire stay.

We had a little balcony overlooking the partially covered pool. Lots of flowers and other greenery at pool level.
We found that our particular room was far form the entrance/lobby. We took the stairs down two levels and walked thru the pool area and cafe to exit/enter the hotel which shortened the trip considerably.
Staff cleaned the pool each evening and wiped down all tables/chairs in the poolside cafe each morning.

Picked up a meal at Pizza hut- they are open very late which was great when returning from the parks. Staff were pleasant to talk to while waiting for pur pizza to bake.
The Starbucks was a nice treat- but very pricey.

The ART system was easy to use and staff explained how it works. It was nice to wait outside at the bus stop as they have music playing (from well concealed "rock" speakers) and a bench.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would love to get a Priceline bid here again in the future. Full price rates are beyond this frugal family.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 2003
Reviewer: JD Books California     January 13, 2004
The Marriott is a very nice hotel that is great if you like to get off the beaten path. It is located right across the street from the Hilton and both are next to the Anaheim Convention Center (making it very convenient for visits to the CC) The hotel grounds are very nicely kept and there are two pools, one of which is a somewhat indoor, covered pool in the middle and the other a traditional outdoor pool. Both pool areas were very clean, as were the pools themselves during our visit.

The standard room at the Marriott with 2 beds comes with double beds, so it can be crowded if there are 4 in your family like we have. The rooms are average in size but feel somewhat cramped with 4 people and luggage in them. The bathroom size is okay and the shower is pretty good for a hotel. The room was clean during our stay, but the bath showed signs of wearing out and needing a refurbishment.

The main family restaurant is okay but nothing special. The Pizza hut was closed during our visit, the Starbucks carries a variety of treats, but at hotel prices. It had fairly late hours if your staying around the hotel and was a nice place for that fancy cup of coffee if you like to spurge on that kind of thing.

There are shuttles to get you to Disneyland but there is a charge for all day use (believe $3 for adults and $0 for kids). The shuttles are very convenient and pick up right outside but do stop at other hotels too. Make sure you remember the letter of your shuttle since there are many that service the Anaheim area and you gotta get on the right one to get back to YOUR hotel.

Overall, this is a nice hotel IF you get a VERY good price to stay, which I would put at no more than 50 per night. (I would check everywhere for discounts, typically this is a very expensive hotel @ 80-100 per night) They do charge to park per night, which IS EXPENSIVE and adds to your overall cost. For any higher cost, there are better options which might be a few more minutes away, but offer a better deal for yours and my money.

We used to stay here all the time over the past 15 years but have found other nicer (and cheaper) places to stay by shopping around a little. But if you can get a great deal, (and especially if you don't have a car) go ahead and stay here, you will probably like it. Just remember that the Anaheim shuttle transportation system makes it very easy to stay at the other spots to save some money. Have a great trip!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sept 13-17 2002
Reviewer: PrincessMinnie (princesssteponme@aol.com) Waterford, CA     January 24, 2003
This was the first time I stayed at this Marriot as an adult. My boyfriend was traveling with me. My first impression of the staff there was an interesting one. I drove up my older car to the valet paking area, (not to be valet parked but to unload my bags before parking in the lot) and the attendants were waving "no no" to me, which I thought was a little rude, and strange. I rolled down my window and asked what the problem was, and they replied, "Well you don't want a valet do you?" I said, "No, I guess I don't" and drove to the parking garage. Parking was a little pricey for me at $12 a night, where most hotels in the area have fee parking. So we lugged our bags from the garage to the hotel. We checked in and got to our room, only to discover that it had an awful view. Our balcony overlooked a gravelly roof top. I assume that being an annual pass holder for disneyland and getting the special rate of $69 dollars, that we don't get a preffered view. Oh well, no big deal. Also, we were a little dissapointed in the size of the room, as we were comparing to the neighboring Hilton and Towers, which we stayed at the trip before and had huuge rooms. The room was very clean though, and for a smoking room did not smell bad at all. The beds are super comfy, with a big fluffy bedspread and down pillows. The kind of bed you want to sink into after a long disney day. Good selection of movies to buy on the In-Demand service that they offer. Nice to have a fridge in the room as well, so we can bring leftovers from Disneyland. The lobby was always quiet and peaceful and a nice place to sit back and have a drink. On the second night, we decided to take a break and go down to the poolside resteraunt. I can't remember what the name was, but excellent service. We ordered a wood fired pizza, and it was amazing. The bar staff was also friendly, we sat there and talked to the bartener for a hour. The Anaheim Resort Transit was the best. This is the shuttle that picks you up right in front of the hotel and brings you back whenever you need. Shuttles ran every 10 mins. One thing I would advise is to make sure you ask for the passes you need for the "ART" at check in, cause sometimes they forget to give them to you. The only bad thing about the shuttle is overcrowding during peak season. Sometimes you have to wait 1 or more trips. Overall it was a wonderful experience for us. Also with the Marriot chain, you can sign up for the "Marriot Rewards" program, and earn 10 points for every dollar spent, which in turn will eventualy add up to free stays for you.

Our second trip there was about the same, except this time we were put in the Oasis Tower, which is the little tower to the right of the main tower. Our room was a corner, and not spacious at all. I felt really cramped. We were on the west side, and the whole room was windows, and the maids, (despite my notes) liked to leave the curtains open after they cleaned so it was nice and hot when we got home in the afternoon. This time around we ate at the pizza hut, which was a little undercooked and not very tasty. The starbucks was convenient as well. Prices were the same as any other Starbucks, but they closed to early. Like 8 pm or something. The other downside of the 2nd trip was there was a huge convention in town, and half of them were in our hotel. So it was very crowded and noisy all the time. We didn't even go to the bar this time, too many people. This hotel is really more for business people and young couples, not so much for large families. I havent seen any of the rooms that are bigger than the standard, but I can only imagine that they won't accomodate a family of 5 comfortably. I do highly reccomend this hotel though, I won't stay anywhere else.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 23 - May 29 2002
Reviewer: wadenewer Helena, Montana     July 01, 2002
The very fist responce our family had upon check in was, "We wish we were at Wilderness Lodge!" The quality of this hotel was very disapointing. The service was poor. We had called the hotel before arriving to confirm the type of room we would receive. When we arrived they told us that they didn't even have that type of room. So we came up one bed short, having to then order a roll away bed which made the room more cramped. Once we got to the room the bell hop then tried to sell us the larger room we had orginally asked for and confirmed. The fornt desk negleted to give us the bus passes for the new Anaheim Trasnports, which were free once we received them. They put us in the 19 story tower. The room was very warm as the air conditioning did not work very well. The rooms were clean, but house keeping was very slow to get to our room, even with the sign hung requesting it. As a result when we came back from the parks to rest we were kicked out of our room so they could clean it. A number of time we called housekeeping with requests and a number of times those requests were ignored or over lookd. Including our request for a roll away bed. It took them 24 hours to get us the bed. They had two pools, but the one in our tower was constantly closed for special events. They had teenagers, many who had the demeniour of gang members, who were there for the Grad Nights. It made my wife very nervous and afrad to leave the room with out myself. They were runnig amok in our tower, making the wait for the elevators very long. Seems as though riding the elevators in our tower was more entertaining to them than the pre Grad Night Blast Off at DCA. Securty in the hotel was lacking. There were only two washers and two painfully slow dryers for our tower. It took us 6 hour to do four loads of laundry. This pretty much wasted our one day off from the parks. The Pizza Hut had a limited menu and their small overcooked pizzas were very expensive as was the starbucks. The eatery staff was very "just order and get out of my face" rude. The Starbucks closed rather early. It seemed that most of the hotel staff spoke spanish. I'd hadn't had this much trouble with communications in a hotel since Eruope. IT was a long walk through their convention center to the parking area. The parking had been advertised as $10 per day but was $12 when we arrived. We were a 15 minute walk to the Lion King tram. On the good side the Anahiem transports ran frequently. The facility was very clean and well cared for with the exception of the laundry area. It was close to the parks and had easy access to Harbor Blvd. Overall our stay at the Anahiem Fairfield two years ago was a much better value! While not as bad as some of the other hotels I've stayed at in Anahiem Resort area, I was dissapointed in the Anahiem Marriott. And we only paid $50 per night though a Marriott Employee Discount.
 
7 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/19-6/24
Reviewer: nachmann (j_nachmann@yahoo.com) South of San Francisco     June 24, 2002
I have never been one write reviews of any type but this Hotel deserves it. I arrived with my wife and Niece from the SF bay area in the late afternoon after being stuck on Highway 5 for a long time. First impressions are everything and we where greeted buy the Bell staff. I couldn't guess why they where so happy. They took our luggage and sent us to the check in desk. We where greeted twice before we got to the desk. Once in our room, we decided that we wanted to change rooms that took about 3 minutes and we never had to go back down stairs. The room comes with a refigerator to keep things in. and the rooms are really clean!! The reaturants are really good and kids eat for a dollar. I even called down for take a few times and saved a bundle by not using room service. The Hotel has to great pools. One of them is real shallow for kids. The service is fantastic. The room prices where really good to. We paid 69.00 per night. We had problems connecting to the internet the first day and they comped me all four days of access. No questions asked. They made a mistake on dinner one night and we got the meal free. Wow!! I will never stay at any other hotel down there.
Also so many people are so concerned about being across the street from the Park they get caught up in "location". The shuttle I took was run by the city and I never waited more than 10 minutes and the ride took 5 minutes. It was really nice to be away from the park and the crowds.
 
21 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page