Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Mimi's Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1400 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim

Table service restaurant with a New Orleans accent.

Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 22 and May 24 2011
Reviewer: babytmakes5 Twin Cities     June 03, 2011
I have given Mimi's Cafe only 3 planets because of the inconsistent service we received on two similar meals. The first time we went to Mimi's was a Sunday afternoon for lunch. The restaurant was busy, we waited about 20 minutes to be seated. My three children ordered from the kids' menu, and though they all three didn't LOVE their meals, it was a good value for what they got. My son ordered the flat bread pizza and it was awful...truly. Ketchup-like (yet chunky) sauce, stale cracker crust. My son's description: "It was bascially a saltine with chunky ketchup and cheese baked on it." But the alfredo pasta and cheeseburger meals on the kids menu were both winnders. They all received a chocolate pudding dessert too. My husband order the jambalya and I had the bleu cheeseburger. Both tasted wonderful and the portions were generous. Service was fantastic! Our glasses were always filled, the food was hot and fresh, the server was friendly and attentive. We loved our meals (excepting the pizza) so much we looked forward to eating at Mimi's Cafe again two days later.

Our second visit to Mimi's Cafe was a very, very different experience! It was a Tuesday afternoon, and although the restaurant was almost empty at lunch time, our service was slow. We were in the restaurant for over 90 minutes, and didn't spend time waiting for a table. No excuses for the slow server as there were several other servers just standing around chatting while our food customers waited. The food was barely warm, and our glasses sat empty much of the time. My daughter and I split the artichoke pasta, and we were both sick later that night. It truly tasted like it was warmed up in the microwave. Horrible service was the biggest surprise, since our server from our last visit was so fantastic. We honestly thought "Is this the same place we ate 48 hours ago?" My son's cheeseburger was blackened...actually, burned. My husband's chicken sandwich was cold.

The location of this restaurant is ideal, it's too bad the service is so bad (half the time). My advice: go on the weekend. They must have the better employees working those days.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 5-9 2008
Reviewer: jamielj McMinnville, Oregon     February 11, 2008
We read about MiMi's here on Mouseplanet and decided to check it out the second night of our visit to Disneyland. The food was so great that we ended up there the 4th and 5th night of our visit, also! The kid's menu is exceptional with lots of choices. It was enough food for my hungry 8 yr. old. It came with a free drink and and oreo dirt cup complete with gummy worms for dessert.

We loved the country fried steak, the chicken cordon bleu, and the Thai chicken wrap. The girls thought the marinara sauce on the pasta dishes was fair, but the meat on them excellent. (one had shrimp, one had chicken)

Hearty meals were around $13 and you could get a soup or salad with them for just over $1 more. Those meals could easily feed two people if you're not in the mood for huge portions.

The Thai chicken wrap with a salad was less than $10. I thankfully ordered the spicy peanut sauce on the side because it was delicious but very spicy!

The meals also came with a bread basket with some carrot raisin bread and a small white bread loaf. We were cheerfully given a refill of bread after eating the first basket full.

The staff worked together to deliver our meal, keep our water filled, and meet our needs.

With a variety of choices along Harbor, MiMi's was excellent enough to avoid the other places and keep returning.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Saturday, October 13, 2007 11:15 AM
Reviewer: Andrew (andrew@mouseplanet.com) Palo Alto, CA     November 14, 2007
Guests: Jennifer and me
What we had: French Toast Breakfast (Jen), Belgian Waffle Breakfast (me)

After dressing up as The Waffler the previous evening, of course I had to have waffles for breakfast the next morning. My Belgian waffle was... acceptable, nothing special. The eggs were quite good, however. Jennifer enjoyed her French toast and said it was made well, slightly creamy in the middle.

Service: A little slow but not unusually so for this particular location.

Would we go back: Yes, for convenience if nothing else.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   09/22/07
Reviewer: ekkhogge Honolulu, HI     October 02, 2007
Breakfast ~ good as always. Mimi's Cafe has such generous portions at reasonable prices and the food is so tasty. DD had mimi mouse pancakes with scrambled eggs and OJ. I love their OJ. I had a special, a sandwich on ciabatta bread (eggs, ham, spinach, bacon, tomato and sauce probably some other things i don't remember) with potatoes. My fiance had eggs and corned beef hash which he said was tasty. We never miss Mimi's cafe when visiting Disneyland. The service is usually very good but this year it wasn't that great.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 5, 2007
Reviewer: Jagdcarcajou Elk Grove, California     July 09, 2007
This was our best meal of our recent trip. We went in for dinner on our final day at Disneyland resort. We have eaten at Mimi's before in other locations, so knew what to expect in terms of menu, service, etc. However, the service we received was exceptional and friendly. My glass was never empty, and all of our food came as ordered (including modifications). I ordered the Beef Dip (French dip) with fries, looking for some nice solid comfort food without a lot of spice or embellishment. It was served on soft bread with a light toasted crisp to it, and the beef was ample and tasty. My wife had the soup and salad combo which she loved, and my son had the same with a different salad. They both had the broccoli-cheese soup and loved it. All of this for the price of feeding two people questionable meals inside the park.

I will definitely add this location to our dining rotation for future visits.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 7th and May 16th
Reviewer: superhero99 Alberta, Canada     May 17, 2007
My boyfriend and I ate our first meal here while waiting to check-in at the Howard Johnson. We had lunch, I ate the corn chowder which was delicious! And cheap, around $3 for the small portion. My boyfriend was pleasantly surprised that they had Arnold Palmers, with free refills. They brought us a kind of nut/banana bread to start which was fantastic. We returned for our last meal, on May 16th, for breakfast. My boyfriend had the eggs benedict which he thought was excellent. It came with a side of REAL cut up potatoes. I had a honey-nut muffin and a side of fruit (cantelope, honeydue melon, watermelon, orange, strawberries, and grapes). The muffin was very large and moist. Both times our bill came out to under $20. We were always seated right away and the service was very prompt and friendly. I also loved all the decor, it was interesting and unique. All the food tasted homemade, nothing canned or pre-packaged.
I am planning to eat here again on my next visit to the park!! Definatly recommended!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 9-13 2006
Reviewer: Kelli and Mark's mom Chino Valley, AZ     December 04, 2006
After a long day of Disneyland we decided to eat at Mimi's. Best decision we could have made! I ordered the Pot Roast Dinner. YUMMY!! The roast was very tender and it came with REAL mashed potatoes! Hubby ordered Shrimp with angel hair pasta. Very good! We ended up eating there 3 more times for dinner. The kids meals were huge and absolutley Yummy also!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Jan 27, 29, 30, 2005
Reviewer: Shortiemetoo Northern CA     February 04, 2005
First visit for dinner, my daughter and I shared the turkey dinner which was HUGE. We ordered an extra cup of soup for an ample meal. With tea and extra soup bill was under $20. Service was great. A bit noisy, ok if you don't need a very quiet atmosphere. Second trip we had a problem with our service. We ordered quiche, which comes with fruit and potatoes. Bill was approx. $22. Very yummy, but with all the problems ended up receiving a $15 gift certificate from the manager. We used that for lunch on Sunday, service was great. We had the Classic beef dip. It states with 1/2 lb beef. Well I believe it was and it was yummy, no fat and very tender. You could choose from many sides. I had fries that were wonderful. Total bill with drinks was $24, which included a side of fruit for my daughter. Wonderful overall...manager was a dream! Clean, well priced and good food!!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 30 - December 7, 2004
Reviewer: Disney Freak! (thenakatsus@shaw.ca) Victoria, B.C. Canada     December 29, 2004
There really isn't a whole lot to choose from on the "strip". We ate at Mimi's 5 out of 7 nghts. Great food and service and the prices were more than reasonable. We would call over in the morning and run across and pick up breakfast before heading to the park -we stayed at HoJo's. My only complaint upon returning to Victoria was the definite lack of veggies in the States. Mimi's offered more healthy sides than the usual fries, fries and more fries. Great restaurant!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August, 2004
Reviewer: Tara Anne California Desert     August 29, 2004
We had never been to a Mimis and we were delightfully surprised at the wonderful food and atmosphere! We ended up eating here three times during our stay (dinner & 2 breakfasts). For dinner I ordered a fettuccini alfredo-ish meal with artichoke hearts, chicken and sundried tomatoes. The dinner was DELICIOUS, hot, and there was a LOT of it! I would definitely order that again although there are a LOT of good-lookin' choices on the menu. My husband had the turkey dinner and boy was it good! Fresh turkey breast on top of yummy stuffing, chunky (ie. REAL) mashed potatoes, great gravy, cranberries... a Thanksgiving meal. He hardly made a dent in it as they give SO MUCH. The before-dinner bread was great... white rolls, dark rolls, some sort of spice-bread... YUM. Just what we needed after walking around Disneyland all day! Our breakfast was also really good. My husband's only complaint is that they give a muffin (your choice of about 6 diff kinds!) with eggs instead of toast. That wouldn't be a "complaint" with me, though. One of my breakfasts was the Quiche Lorraine... wow was that good!!!!! I skipped the potatos (who needs potatos with Quiche?) and had fruit, which was fresh and plentiful. Anyway, since i've been home I went to the Mimi's website (believe it or not!) and found one fairly close, within 30 miles, of my house. We will definitely be going. Oh, another refreshing thing about Mimis is that the prices were "regular", not jacked up just because they were across from Disneyland. I couldn't say the same about IHOP (where we had our gross third breakfast) where we got hit with a $35 bill for a disgusting breakfast.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page