Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Napolini
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Patina Group's latest Downtown Disney offering is an off-shoot of Naples Ristorante e Pizzeria. Napolini offers a grab-and-go quick-serve menu, with indoor seating and tables in front of the restaurant.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2.8 out of 52.8 out of 52.8 out of 52.8 out of 52.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 12, 2007
Reviewer: Rooj1949 Tracy, California     October 13, 2007
Party of 5, 3 adults, 2 children. Left a standing room only DL looking for the first restaurant available. All the eateriies in the park were slammed.

Sat in 10 minutes, busy but not too much. Served by Katy, attentive and provided good service, always ready with drink refills, order taken within 5 minutes and drinks and cut sourdough were delivered. They also provided olive oil and balsamic vinegar. We ordered the Pizza Siciccila, a childs cheese pizza and childs mac & cheese. The food took the expected 20 minutes to deliver.

From here it was all downhill. The pizza was bland and soggy. Not something I'd order again. The children's pizza was much better and the mac & cheese was a winner. Over all a good place for a rest, I don't ever see me ordering a Pizza here again. Domino's could deliver a better product in my opinion.

The Pizza was a med. $25, the kid's items were $9 with drinks we dropped $70 with tip. Service was good. This is an acceptable price for eating at Downtown Disney.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   August 17 2005
Reviewer: cakediva Gladstone, Oregon     August 21, 2005
My husband and I went for dinner, it was so noisy we almost couldn't talk. My husband had the Margharita pizza and said it was good. I had a pasta and vegie dish that was tasteless, very few small pieces of vegies. Very disappointing. I thought the prices were high for the quality of food offered. We won't go back.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 6, 2004
Reviewer: kyrie74 Honolulu, Hawai`i     October 12, 2004
We were starving by the time we got to Napolini. My dad bought a pre-made sandwich from the refrigerator case, and mom got a panini sandwich. I got the mac and cheese, and a greek salad. Overall, the taste was pretty good, though my mac and cheese needed some salt and tabasco... but the salad was good and these jalapeno chips we bought were yummy!!!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   June, 2004
Reviewer: TP2000 Villa Park, CA     June 30, 2004
Napolini is a great concept marred by a bad setup and the same poor service found next door at Naples. While it's very spendy for the deli food it offers, the food I've had was always very good. The Cobb sandwich and tomato salad is a favorite, and tastes freshly made. The big refrigerator case has a great selection of bottled beverages and treats. But what frustrates me most and prevents me from visiting Napolini more often is the poorly designed queue/counter area and the terrible employees behind the counter. It is very unclear where you order and what you do afterwards, and the employees making the food have limited communication skills and do not tell you anything. Several times I've been trying to order food while several other groups of tourists are trying to figure out where to order and where to pay, and everyone seems to become very confused and frustrated. On every single visit the cash register has been staffed by a very bored looking young lady who never looks at you and barely mumbles something in your general direction when you pay. Napolini is a great place to grab a quick and tasty meal, but the employees are awful and the design of the place is confusing if there are more than two people there at the same time.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 21, 2003
Reviewer: AVP     November 01, 2003
* Date of visit. 10/21/03
* Type of meal: Dinner
* Service: Slow and ineffcient
* Price: Fair for portions.
* Food: Could be great, but is not prepared correctly.
* Atmosphere: Typical counter-service, with too-little seating.

This was our third visit to Napelini, and we keep hoping that the restaurant works out their opening problems and becomes the location they have the potential to be. Sadly, it hasn't happened yet.

What keeps bringing us back is the food. The calzones, hot from the Naples oven, are great. The pizza-by-the-slice, while not the great deal it used to be at $5 including a drink, is still a decent value compared to other park offerings. But there are two great sandwiches on the menu, and we keep hoping to get one prepared correctly.

The panini sandwiches are pre-made, and stored in a refrigerator until you order. Then the sandwich is heated on a sandwich press. This should result in a hot, crispy sandwich with melted cheese. Unfortunately, the result on three occasions has been slightly burned bread with still-cold cheese and meat.

The other drawback to the prepared sandwich route is that some ingredients can't be removed - if you don't like pickled onions, avoid the potato and fontina cheese sandwich. You can ask for a side of the fantastic balsalmic vinegar served at Naples to garnish your sandwich if you wish.

On our most recent visit, we waited 15 minutes while the sole cook and the sole cashier tried to cope with the out-the-door crowd. My husband ordered the pizza, which was ready instantly. My sandwich would take more time, so the cashier told us to grab the last open table, and she would bring my order out when it was done.

My husband was done eating before I even saw my food - unable to keep the orders straight, my sandwich was given to the wrong person twice. The third time was the charm, and I finally got my cold-and-burned meal.

Even half-burned-yet-cold the sandwiches are good - imagine if they were properly heated!

Overall, this restaurant has so much potential, but they need a lot of help to increase efficiency and quality. The lack of seating is an issue, and we wondered what even happened to the planned patio seating.

We'll be back, just because I love the grilled ham and cheese so much, but we don't hold out much hope for a turnaround.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 12-16, 2003
Reviewer: curtisnore Salem, Oregon     October 30, 2003
The deli/cafe Napelini is such a great place that I think visitors are keeping it a secret. I stumbled on it looking for something to feed the two kids and wife as passing through DD to Lego store on the third night of our visit. WOW!! $4.00 a slice for gourmet pizza that hangs over your hand. Fresh squezzed orange juice and watermelon juice for 1.30 a glass that at Denny's would cost $3.00. Kids gulped it down!!! Lines of 4-8 people every night, though on last night when we left park early there was no line. Two registers for quick deli foods, seating outside on flower beds, live music, hot tasty food!! The line for the resturant side was always long and I could taste why!! Wide range of cold deli items and counter service with wait in line on hot items. October was my best kept secret at Disneyland till I found this place!!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page