Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Royal Street Veranda
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Soup and gumbo bowls, fritters, and specialty drinks.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 6 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 6 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 14, 2010
Reviewer: Cyberkang Canby, Oregon     July 20, 2010
My wife made sure I got to try one of the soup-in-a-bread-bowl options at Disneyland on our last day in the park. While the kids scarfed on turkey legs from a cart in Frontierland we headed to the Veranda to share a bread bowl of steak gumbo.

Luckily, we managed to get there at just the right time, as after we got our food and sat down at one of the couple tables near the counter the line filled to about 25 people (whew!) The two of us shared the gumbo and the bread that came with it (isn't the bread bowl enough bread? OK, whatever). It was tasty, but truth be told, some parts of it were a little bit cold - especially the okra. We figured it might have been added right near the end of cooking.

Three planets may not accurately reflect how much we enjoyed the gumbo - and it was enough for both of us (but not too much for me to munch on the kids' turkey legs after we met up for Fantasmic afterward). Just didn't feel right continuing to give 4- and 5-planet reviews for every place we ate. We were quite satisfied and would recommend Royal Street Veranda for a quick soup snack.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Week of Dec 3-Dec 7 2 or 3 times
Reviewer: WhichIsStitch Flagstaff, AZ     December 27, 2007
We like to get fritters and hot chocolate here. It does get a little congested this time of year when the other window in NOS that has mint juleps is closed. We just wait til the line dies down and the fresh fritters come out! Mmmmmmmmm ........ yummy! Usually we get the seasonal mugs with the hot chocolate but the only ones they had were from Halloween. The only thing I would change is somehow increase the seating. There are only a few little tables that fill up quickly and don't seem to vacate at the same rate. We found places to sit along the river which was nice. We think this is the best place in NOS for a quick snack or bread bowl!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   08-06-05
Reviewer: sangriaflygirl california     July 06, 2006
The food here is fantastic. But the line moves way too slow. I waited in line during Fantasmic and it took about 45 minutes ... at least I caught part of the show! Still though, it took entirely too long. At least the yummy clam chowder made up for it!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Thursday, 9 March, 2006
Reviewer: coniemouse Salt Lake City, Utah     March 16, 2006
We walked right up to the window around 2 p.m. The cast member who took our order was delightful. I got the steak gumbo in a bread bowl and my husband got the clam chowder in a bread bowl, $8.49 each without tax. The clam chowder was the best I have ever tasted - better than next door at the River Belle. I don't know if it was a different recipe, or just different batches. The steak gumbo was also _excellent_. The spicing was just right and the okra and steak were cooked just right and seemed very fresh.
For those who don't know, the bread bowls (from what I understand) are made fresh next door at California Adventure in the Boudin Bakery. I wasn't excited at first hearing about the bread bowl part, but this was excellent, fresh, flavorful bread. Here's a hint - eat the soup with a fork so you get more of the bread bowl with each bite.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 2002
Reviewer: ShannonTorg Seattle, WA     January 13, 2003
The gumbo in a breadbowl is to die for at this place. It's a great place to grab a meal while you're waiting for Fantasmic to start, as it is never very crowded, and the food is great, and it's very close by!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   06/13/02
Reviewer: bleme Visalia, California     June 24, 2002
Located near the entrance to Pirates, the Royal Street Veranda is a great place to have a meal. All we have had there is the Clam Chowder in a bread bowl, but we go back for it every year. The bowl is $6.99 and fills you up nicely (if you eat at least some of your bowl), which is a pretty good value as far as Disney restaurants go.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page