Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Portofino Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1831 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 4 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 19 - 21, 2013
Reviewer: adriennek Southern California     January 21, 2013
I would actually give this property 3.5 planets but I can only give whole planets so I rounded down.

The GOOD!

*The kids suite was great for our family of 5. Each of our children had his own bed. The 14 year old said the sofa bed was very comfortable - he'd been very worried about it but slept well. The boys with bunks really liked their individual lights for reading in their beds. They also had their own television which we all appreciated. I loved being able to close their door when I wanted them to SLEEP.
*Liked having a refrigerator and a microwave.
*Like having an extra sink outside the bathroom.
*The room was reasonably clean.

The MEH-
*Inside the drawers of the furniture, the linings were stained and I'm sure they were clean but I didn't want to put my clean clothes in them.
*The furniture - there wasn't really much counter space anywhere in the room, only one small table in the boys' part of the room. There was a big space in our half of the room, perfect for a low cabinet or desk. I really missed having a counter to use and I didn't like having to crowd the bathroom counter or put stuff on the floor. There was very little counter space at the bathroom sinks. Very little. We live driving distance from the resort and Doc mentioned that if we stayed there again, we could bring one of our tables from home and set it up in the big empty space so we'd have the extra counter space we wanted.
*There aren't as many off property restaurants in the area - Jolly Roger is closed.

The walk to the resort, from Harbor, wasn't that bad. It felt a little longer than the walk to Hojos. I would say it took us 15-20 minutes. We walked down Katella when we wanted to go to the resort hotels or Downtown Disney and down Harbor when we went straight to the parks. We did like being able to go to the hotels and DTD without having to go through Park bag check lines.

BOTTOM LINE:
I would stay there again if I could get a better rate than my preferred properties on the north end of the Harbor block.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 6-11, 2005
Reviewer: momuvseven Nevada     December 10, 2005
We stayed in the family suite for about $89 a night. I had reserved an online rate on their website in March and was quite pleased with this amount. The room is very large and they checked us in quickly. We felt the room showed quite a bit of wear and tear but that seems to be the norm in Disneyland area. I don't remember anything about breakfast but we did have a refridgerator and microwave in the room that we used. Beds were great for our needs (two adults, four kids and a baby who still sleeps with us), King in one room, twin bunks and sofabed in the other. My husband took the kids up to the pool one afternoon but was not really impressed since it is small and rooftop. It is an easy ten minute walk to the park with 7-11 on the way which is great for grabbing morning coffee and slurpees for the kids. We also picked up Subway and other food items at the shops across the street. Overall it worked out OK for our family. It wouldn't be our first choice but would stay there again if price was right.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 13, 2005
Reviewer: karene Sacramento     April 18, 2005
We stayed in a Kid's Suite for four nights. The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful and courteous. The major drawback was we were staying on the third floor and we could hear people below us and especially people above us. When the water was running, it was especially loud. On our last visit we stayed at the Disneyland Hotel, which was much more convenient and quiet than the Portofino. Also, the wait to catch the shuttle to Disneyland can be up to 20 minutes long and it's only 10 minutes to walk. There are many hotels in the area and we decided that staying at one of the Disneyland Hotels is worth the extra few hundred dollars!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 30, 2004 - May 3, 2004
Reviewer: heidiwhr Salem, Oregon     June 17, 2004
We stayed in a kids suite at the Portofino for around $95.00 a night (I think). If was quiet and clean, and the rooms seemed brand new. The layout of the kids suite was nice, but the sliding doors don't close the rooms off completely, so you can still hear every sound. It served its purpose, though, for getting our 2 1/2 y/o to sleep while we watched TV to wind down. we didn't use the pool, but it was always busy - almost too busy for what looked like one that was relatively small. A big drawback for me is that the Portofino does not have a restaurant, or any kind of continental breakfast. They give discounts at the Jolly Roger restaurant next door, but the food and service was horrible. I will never eat there again. The parking was ok - we never parked in the garage - but spaces were limited. Parking was free, unlike some of the other nicer hotels, but sometimes you get what you pay for. It's a long walk to the parks - driving is a better option, but the ART shuttle does stop right outside the hotel if you wish to pay for that service.

Bottom line? The kids suite was a good configuration of the room, but I'm not sure that is enough to considder staying there again when there are so many other options.
 
22 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page