Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Paradise Pier Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 51 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/13/2009 - 5/18/2009
Reviewer: Buttercup Spokane Washington     March 17, 2010
My daughter (16) & I arrived at hotel just before noon and were able to check in early. We were assigned a room with only one king bed (which was mentioned while checking in), we asked for a room with two beds & they switched us no problem. I appreciated that it was mentioned before we took our luggage to the room.

The front desk and bell staff were extremely helpful. Explained many things about our stay: how to walk thru GCH to get to Downtown Disney or DCA, when our early entry days were, where things were in the hotel, etc - just really friendly & helpful. I had a grocery delivery coming later that afternoon & was able to coordinate with the bell staff when we checked in. They took care of it for me (so we didn't have to leave parks) and it was waiting for us that night when we returned.

We had a room on the pool deck (3rd floor), looking right out at the pool area. It had a nice patio area, with table & chairs and we could go right to pool from our patio without going out into hallway and taking the long way round. The slide is fun and the pool is a standard hotel pool. Other than the big slide it's nothing exceptional - it was very clean and well maintained. You can see the fireworks from the end of that 3rd floor pool deck which is nice if you aren't in the park.

The room was exceptionally clean and we really enjoyed the decor not only in our room, but throughout the hotel. It has wonderful Disney touches without feeling like it's designed for little kids. We loved the beachy pier atmosphere. We checked out the sofa bed in our room, it seems a little small - not good for adults - we didn't sleep on it so can't comment on comfort.

Housekeeping was great! Our room was spotless every day and they would do cute arrangements on the bed with my daughters special pillow and her magazines. We ordered room service a couple times and the food was quite good, it arrived promtly and the hot food was still very hot and the cold food/drinks were nicely cold. We ate at the PCH Grill as well and it was a nice meal. Little overpriced - but all the resort sit-down restraurants are.

It's an easy walk to the monorail, or you can cut thru the GCH into DCA or into Downtown Disney. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel has fun decor and nice ambiance, but the staff were truly exceptional and really made the difference for us.
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Dec 10 thru Dec 17, 2009
Reviewer: Gilesmt Pasco, Washington     December 25, 2009
We arrived at 9:10pm, bell hop helped us with our luggage and we went right in to desk, no line, we had a CM who was from London, England. She was friendly enough, but she smelled of alcohol. At first I thought it must be a plant, flower, perfume but no it was the CM. We had booked our ressies two different ways to save money, 3 days were under military rate ($119)and 4 days was under Expedia($100). I had called a few days before, asked them to be joined together and also asked for connecting rooms. They had joined the ressies, but you would not have known that from the lady because she was having trouble getting everything together. She could not give us connecting rooms that night but could the next day. We requested that she put the baby in the room that would not have to move, she said she did but the next day we found out she did not, everyone had to move because she also neglected to tell us one room had only a king bed and sofa and not two queen beds and a daybed. She then had major problems excepting payment from me. All in all the experience took us 1 1/2 hours to check in and then we had to move the next day. While there we had major problems with the room keys also, even the maid could not get them to work, we had no less than 25 keys made and in the end could only get into one room thru the other room.

For the good, we liked the size of the rooms. We were located on the 4th floor, 415 and 417, we liked the view, right into the pool. The beds were comfortable. The room with a King bed and queen sofa had a desk that opened up and that is the room we used to snack and join together each day. The room with 2 queen beds and a daybed was big. The pull out queen sofa in the King room was not very long, even my daughter who was 4'9" had trouble sleeping on it, uncomfortable and not long enough, so she slept in the King bed and we did not use the sofa. No one used the daybed to sleep but it was comfortable to sit on.

Management was no where to be found when we had trouble checking in, and they did not help with the key problem. When we had to move everyone, we asked for an upgrade but was not granted one.

We had problems on our last day also, maids were outside the hotel trading left behind goodies from the guest rooms. They were out of the hotel and on the street in front of the hotel but I found this very unsettling.

So all in all we give the hotel as far as comfort and beds, room size and views and decor high marks. We give CM, management, check in and maids, poor marks-below 1 if possible.

Oh the elevators were adaquate we did not wait at all except last day when 5 of us with 5 suitcases had to wait for the second elevator, about 1 minute, and the walk to Disney was great, we went out door, across to parking lot, up path and was at the monorail in less than 2 minutes.

We would probably not stay at this hotel again but would stay on property at DLH.
 
8 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 15-20, 2009
Reviewer: DebT Modesto, CA     May 21, 2009
Arrived at the hotel on Friday night at 9pm after a 6 hour long drive. Front desk staff were very friendly. My daughter and I received birthday balloons and pin even though our birthdays were after our stay. We have stayed at PPH 4 times previously and always liked the size of the rooms. This time we were given room 745. It is at the end of the hall and a handicap room. There was no closet or counter space in the bathroom. That night we were too tired to complain. The next day (Saturday), my husband spoke with the manager. He said our family of 4 should not have received that room and offered to move us to a park view room on Sunday. The manager gave us 3 golden fast passes good for six people each and good for any ride. By the time Sunday came, we were too nested and didn't feel like expending the energy to pack and unpack again. We'd rather be playing in the parks. Overall very satisfied with the customer service and response we received. Only other comment is specific to the elevators. During peak times we would wait up to 10 minutes on the 7th floor. Often the elevators would be full when they stopped. Finally decided to catch an elevator going up, and then just ride it back down. Because we have loved the rooms previously and the customer service is always great. We will visit again.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 9-10, 2008
Reviewer: IdahoMike Kuna, ID     October 22, 2008
We had booked an AP7 rate for 2 nights to surprise the kids with a Disney hotel before we went to our usual Hojos. Checked in around 3pm, no problems. Parked in the structure, but unloaded in the front with the help of a very nice bellman. Found out we had been upgraded to a theme park view room when we had only booked a standard room, so that was a nice surprise! The man at the front desk was very friendly as well. Beds were comfortable, and my son loved the fold out couch because he got it to himself. Rooms were a bit smaller, but we only brought in 2 days worth of clothes, rather than all of our luggage, so it wasn't too bad. They were very clean though, and the hotel was very quiet during our stay. We also liked the mouse ears on all the shampoo and conditioner bottles. The only thing bad I would say about this hotel is that it just doesn't have as much of a Disney "feel" to it as the DL Hotel or the Grand Californian. For the price we paid, it was very nice ($139 per night), but I don't think I would pay much more than that.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/5/08-6/9/08
Reviewer: AliCat Northern California     August 30, 2008
This was our first stay at the Paradise Pier Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The trip was with my husband and 3 children (17,13,10), we booked a concierge room with a standard view since no theme park views were available when we booked. We got an AP7 rate.

Since we had concierge we could have gone directly to the lounge on the 2nd floor to check in but nobody told us that until we had waited in line in the lobby and the CM told us to go up there. When we got up there the CM was extremely nice and we were able to wait in there while our room was prepared. We ended up getting upgraded to a theme park view which was a nice surprise. We've stayed on Disney property many times before and never gotten upgraded, so that was nice. I was able to view the electrical parade one night. The room was spacious with 2 Queens and a sofa that turned into a bed. The bathroom was a little small, but manageable. It had a cute California beach theme and was light and comfortable. There were rice krispie treats waiting for us in the room and it took very little time to get our luggage sent up.

The walk to the park was a little longer than we're used to, but it wasn't bad. With older kids they can handle it fine. After a long day it's harder, but we managed. The pool was very nice and my 10 year old loved the slide. The fitness room is small, but had adequate facilities and was clean. The concierge lounge was great. There were always Disney movies playing and the CM's were very nice. We really had no issues with the elevators and using the glass elevator most trips was a time saver.

We would stay here again in the future with concierge. I'm not sure we would without it, but it's nice to know it's an option.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   09/22/07-09/23/07
Reviewer: ekkhogge Honolulu, HI     October 02, 2007
Concierge Pool View: Concierge was worth it (being only an additional $20/nt). We only stayed one night. Checked in at the concierge lounge which was nice. Enjoyed cereal (raisin bran) fruits and water/soda in the morning and uncrustables in the afternoon. We had deep fried shrimp in the late afternoon along with chips and salsa, cheeses and fruits with crackers. The room was nice and did not feel cramped. We did have to wait for the elevators a few times during our stay. The only bad thing about this hotel is the walk. Even pushing my DD in her stroller (instead of carrying her) I found the walk to be too long. We paid $169/nt + 15% taxes and $10 resort fee. We didn't use the pool but the slide looked fun.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   sept 2006
Reviewer: mashelle (arjabeci@yahoo.com) centeriala<washington     August 25, 2007
i stated here durring the vaule season I loved this hotel because of how warm everyone was. My room was ready when i checked in and every afternoon when i retune from the parks. i loved the candy that was wating for me after the bed was turned down. That was so cool!!!. The pool is small but nice,the veiw isn't bad. I was so inpressed the staff durung would you belive a fire drill? they kept thier heads and made the experie not scary. I would say stay at the hotel. The walk to disneyland isn't bad. Just use the enternce at the grand califoinana hotel. Ten minutes tops
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   08/01/2007-08/05/2007
Reviewer: 3duckgirl3 (my_ducks_rock@hotmail.com) Grants Pass, Oregon     August 05, 2007
*Standard Room*
We just got back from our four day, five night stay at the Happiest Place on Earth, and I've gotta' say, we loved everything about the Paradise Pier! Our experience started with Reggie, the best dang CM in any park in the world, as far as we're concerned. As soon as we arrived, he raced over and greeted us like old friends, rushed us through check in, took our bags to the bell desk, and zipped us over to the parks on his golf cart. He was, in a word, phenomenal. Aside from our Reggie Experience, the room was good-sized, even for four adults who might have overpacked just a little, the bathroom was perfectly adequate, and we had no complaints whatsoever with the maid service. The beds were clean and comfortable, and we wanted to take the pillows home (although we were so tired most nights that rocks would've felt just fine). Two of us used the pool facility and had a marvelous time (not crowded at all, even during the summer), and had we not seen the occasional glimpse of others, we wouldn't have known anyone else was in the hotel from the noise level. The only time I ever had to wait for an elevator for more than a minute or so was one afternoon, right as a pediatric nurses convention was breaking up--not much the hotel could've done about that. The distance from the park was a little daunting at midnight with our sore feet, but using the monorail out of Tomorrowland helped with that. I used the highly convenient "send the shopping bags to the hotel" service several times, and the folks at the bell desk were prompt and professional each time. All in all, I'd love to stay at the Grand Californian next time just to feel all rich and stuff, but if that doesn't work, I'll gladly come back to the Pier!
 
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/15/2006-10/22/2006
Reviewer: jennynoel Boulder, Colorado     June 03, 2007
The Good:
We were extremely happy with out decision to stay at Paradise Pier. We got a great deal, with Disney's "4th night free" promotion. I asked for a park view room on check in and got a complimentary room upgrade, which was great. The lights of California Adventure at night were beautiful, and we could see all the way to the Matterhorn.

The room was large enough for 3 adults to hang out in comfortably, and the beds were very comfortable as well.

The staff was great, and we came home to find "Year of a million dreams" themed cupcakes and balloons one afternoon.

Another highlight was watching the "Wishes" fireworks from the pool deck. They pipe in the music, and the view is pretty good. We had already seen the show one night from in front of the castle, so seeing it again from a more convenient location was really nice. Plus you get an idea of where all the launch spots are and what really goes into that amazing show.

The Japanese restaurant, Yamabuki, was absolutely fantastic. We also did the character breakfast with Lilo and Stitch at the family restaurant, which was fun. The breakfast buffet was really good. They whipped up an egg-beater omelet for my mom and the wait-staff was wonderful.

The walk to the front gates, cutting through Grand Californian , was not bad at all. The monorail was not operating while we were there, or it would have been even easier. We could also use the side entrance to California Adventure, which was convenient access to that park.

The not as good:
We sometimes had to wait a few minutes for an elevator.

The pool is pretty small and often crowded - and not themed like the other hotel pools

My Mom had a stain on her bedspread that bothered her - but she didn't ask housekeeping for a replacement.

The hotel was quiet with two exceptions. The kids above us woke up REALLY early - like 5am - one morning and were bouncing off the walls. Then, one night California Adventure was hosting a corporate party with loud music and the rides going until late at night. I always bring earplugs with me so I was able to use those on both occasions and it took care of the noise.

Overall, I would stay at Paradise Pier again without hesitation. It was a great experience.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 17-May 20 2007
Reviewer: vavamaxmom Salt Lake City, UTah     May 21, 2007
This was our first time staying on property, but not our last. We arrived early (8:00am) from the airport and the bell service gladly stored our bags for us. It was our daughter's 5th birthday and they upgraded our room to a park view on the 11th floor (Thank you Donny!). They also provided my daughter with a coloring book and balloon bouquet which made her very happy. My children loved the view from the room.
Reggie at bell services gladly drove us to GCH on the golf cart the second morning. The walk is not bad at all and I loved walking through GCH.
We ate a Yambuki once and I found the sushi menu limited. The kids loved the bento boxes. The meal cost $150 with tax, tips, and drinks.
The room was clean and the staff extremely friendly.
We used the pool and waterslide once and it provided a nice break in the afternoon from the park.
We booked our trip through JetBlue vacations and paid $450 a person for airfare, room and 3 day park hopper passes. Not bad at all!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page