Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Paradise Pier Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 51 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 6, 2007 - May 9, 2007
Reviewer: AZStitch Phoenix, Arizona     May 16, 2007
This was our first visit to Disneyland. We decided to stay "on-property" as we would not be familiar with the local area. We booked our trip online, through the Walt Disney Travel Company on April 17th. Our tickets and vouchers arrived via UPS on April 20th. We reserved a standard room at the PPH for three nights, Park Hopper tickets for two adults and two children plus a character dinner at Ariel's Grotto in California Adventure - total cost $1346.16

We drove over from Phoenix early on the 6th. This was our first experience with California traffic and the MapQuest directions we had printed off did not account for the construction around Riverside. After we got ourselves turned around (always carry your own Road Atlas!), we arrived at PPH around 4:30 that afternoon.

We were immediately greeted by a bellhop as soon as we pulled up to the door. He helped us with our bags and escorted my wife and kids into the hotel lobby. Following his instructions, I pulled around the hotel into the deck and then returned to the lobby for check-in. That process went extremely quick. In 15 minutes we were riding the escalator up to our room on the 11th floor.

The room was a standard view, looking over the pool and adjacent employee parking lot. It was spotless and very neat. All of the furnishings were in very good condition as was the bathroom area. There was no signs of wear or tear whatsoever.

When we were there, we were advised that the pool was closed for "unexpected and unforeseen" maintenance issues. I don't believe that. From what I could see, the maintenance crews were doing a standard cleaning that every commercial/public swimming pool is subjected to every year. However, we were free to use the pools at either of the other two hotels, so that would not have been a problem had we had the time to go swimming.

I have read a lot of comments about the walking distance from the PPH to California Adventure/Disneyland. It is only about 10 minutes, maximum, to Disneyland. If you are used to the access convenience of the resort hotels at Walt Disney World, where monorail/boat/bus service to the parks is practically from your room, this may seem like an issue, but really, it is not - a 10 minute walk is not long at all! The hotels at Disneyland were added as an after-thought, at WDW, resort hotels were part of the original plan.

We ate at the PCH Grill once, the morning of May 7th, when we went to the "Lilo & Stitch Aloha Breakfast." It is an all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet where Lilo, Stitch and some other characters greet the diners at their tables while they eat. Cost was about $90 for the four of us, but our daughters absolutely loved it! The food is standard American breakfast fare, good - but you are there for the interaction with the characters. They took the time to meet, give autographs and have their pictures made with all of the young guests.

Our room had the nice convenience of a small - unstocked - refrigerator, so you could bring your own snacks, drinks, etc. and keep them in your room. There are soda/ice machines on each floor, but the drinks can be pricey - $2.75 for a can of soda.

Our next trip to Disneyland is going to be spent at the Grand Californian Hotel, simply because we want to stay there for a visit. However, I would highly recommend the PPH to anyone traveling to Disneyland. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was very neat and clean. The parking structure next door to the hotel was very convenient. Overall, I think the Paradise Pier Hotel is a great place to stay. It may not have the glitz or history behind it as do some other Disney properties, but it is clean, very well maintained and very close to the parks that you came to visit to begin with!



 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 11, 2006 - October 15, 2006
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     October 16, 2006
We had a nice time at the Paradise Pier. This was our third time staying there, and each time the hotel has been a good choice. The lobby area is nice and inviting. Check-in was smooth, and there were no problems with our standard room. The pool area is not anything out of the ordinary, but it was fine for a nice afternoon swim. Our 10-year-old daughter was not very impressed with the "big" slide ("too slow"), but enjoyed the pool.
The walk to the parks is not that long - 10-15 minutes. As a Paradise Pier guest, you get to use the direct entrance into California Adventure through the Grand Californian. The special entrance is a real time saver. You can also take a "shortcut" through the Grand Californian into Downtown Disney to get to the Disneyland Park entrance - also a time saver.
We did not eat at either of the restaurants in the hotel, but the maid service was fine.
If you want the benefits of staying on Disney property, but do not want to pay the higher prices for the Grand Californian or the Disneyland Hotel, Paradise Pier is a good option.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9-18-2006 thru 9-23-2006
Reviewer: Rookie California     September 25, 2006
We arrived monday afternoon and checked right in without a wait.

The room was on the 4th floor facing the pool. Nice room, spotless clean, and even had a 3rd bed (sofabed) in case you had more children or another guest.

Every morning we recieved a comlplimentary USA today, although neither of us are big newspaper readers.

I really don't understand this BIG walk to the park everyone is talking about. You go out the back entrance, down a small block, and you're in Downtown Disney, from there it's a hop,skip, and jump to the parks.

We had no problem parking and in taking the car in and out several time to visit other attractions.

We ate in the hotel PCH grill twice and while it was just standard fair it was tasty.

Yamabuki was closed for remodeling. Too bad we really wanted to try it.

Everyone was very nice, and when time came to check out it only took a minute.

A very, very pleasant stay and would go back again.

I thought we got a very good price booking thru WDTC. $1300 for 6days/5nights, parking included, 3-day park hopper passes, SoCal Citypasses for Sea World, Universal, and Sandiego Zoo or Wild Animal Park, and a bunch of little goodies thrown in to boot.

Really appreciated the "buy in the park and have it brought to your hotel for you". Very nice.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   3/5-3/10
Reviewer: luvindiznee (moakish@gmail.com) Houston     March 11, 2006
Got to hotel and was checked in by the nicest Cast member. I asked and he checked on upgrading to a park view - all five nights he checked and said that we could at no charge but some nights were booked on park views and we would have to change rooms a couple times during our stay. With 3 kids that was not an option but it was so good he checked. The hotel was very nice, very clean, the room was really nice, the lobby was nice, the pool area and slide was the kids' favorite. Cant say enough nice about this place.
 
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   1/22 - 1/27/06
Reviewer: Kristi Minneapolis, Minnesota     February 01, 2006
We've been to Disneyland many times, and this time we decided to try a resort hotel. We were looking for the Disney ambience, better convenience to the parks, and a more upscale experience.

Our family of four arrived at the PPH around 5 pm. Check-in seemed to take forever, but we soon discovered why: we were selected as the Big Kahuna family (one family selected at random each day) and it took the staff a while to get things ready for us. We got a balloon bouquet, Mickey rice krispy treats, leis, and a welcome pack with PPH key chains, trading pins, autographed photo of Mickey, & VIP passes to two attractions. Free parking would have been included, but we didn't have a car. We weren't offered any other benefit in lieu of the parking. There was supposed to be a voicemail message from Goofy waiting for us, but it wasn't on our voicemail and there were no instructions in the package as to where to call. My husband was generally underwhelmed by the Big Kahuna experience, but the kids (ages 8 & 4) liked the balloons and the pins.

We got to our park view room on the 13th floor, and it was a great view. (Cost: about $350 per night, including park hopper passes and $150 Disney gift card.) We looked right out on California Adventure. The kids spent a lot of time just looking out the window and pointing out their favorite landmarks. It was very pretty at night. The room wasn't overly large, but it was very clean. However, drawer space was somewhat lacking: only two large drawers and two small drawers for our family of 4, and we had packed a lot of clothes due to the weather (so we could layer in the morning and evening). Bathroom was fairly small and basic, but the kids liked the Mickey soaps. We enjoyed the chocolates that were left on the pillows every night. Staff was polite and always said hello when we passed in the hall. There was a refrigerator in the room. Vending machines were available on every floor. 20 ounce beverages (coke, water, etc.) were $2.50. One machine ate some of our money, but the front desk reimbursed us promptly. I thought the beds were uncomfortable, but my husband had no trouble.

We used the pool twice. It wasn't overly fancy by any stretch, but they had a waterslide, kiddie pool and hot tub in addition to the basic pool. The kids had fun, although the water in the pool was fairly cool. My husband and I stuck with the hot tub.

The Lilo & Stitch Character breakfast was a good character experience. The kids learned the hula with Lilo and played a game with Stitch. You can order off the menu, but by the time you factor in the cost of drinks, we figured we might as well get the buffet. We ate here twice for convenience, but at about $90 for our family of 4 (including tip), it's pricey. The better deal is at the River Belle Terrace in the park, where the four of us ate breakfast for $32. The hotel has a Japanese restaurant, and we tried it one night. We got takeout and ate in our room. The chicken teriyaki ($14) was fine but nothing special. It came with white rice, but there was no salad or garnish or anything with it. I wanted to try the sushi, but they were very busy and said it would take a lot longer for sushi, so we decided to pass. The only room service we tried was a cheeseburger kid's meal. It came pretty fast (less than 30 minutes), and one kid's meal came with two cheeseburgers and a ton of fries. My husband and I ate the leftovers, and it was pretty good (the buns were great, very fresh).

As for convenience to the park, of the three resort hotels, this one is the furthest away. It was about a 5-minute walk to the edge of Downtown Disney. Once in Downtown Disney, you can walk a few more minutes and enter the park through the monorail entrance. However, we needed to rent a stroller, so we usually made the trek down to the main entrance where the stroller rental is located (probably about 10 minutes total walking time to the main entrance). Our 4-year old was under the weather, so she wanted to be carried a lot. This got pretty tiring, and we were wishing our hotel was closer to the park entrances. Since we were staying at a resort hotel, we were eligible for early entry by showing our hotel receipt along with our park hopper tickets. Access to California Adventure was through the Grand Californian Hotel, which is across the street from PPH. It takes about 5 minutes or so to get over there and walk through the hotel. The hotel opens right into the park. There is no early entry at California Adventure, though, so we always trekked over to Disneyland in the morning. It looked like the Grand Californian is the best bet for overall convenience. It opens right into Downtown Disney, is much closer to to the Disneyland park entrance, and, of course, it opens right into California Adventure. It's also a more upscale hotel. We'd like to try the Grand Californian on our next visit.
 
16 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   9-25-05 to 9-29-05
Reviewer: pensiero (pam.pensiero@gmail.com) Central California     October 01, 2005
My husband and I are so discouraged with our stay at the Paradise Pier. This March we stayed at the Grand Californian, and we wanted to try the Paradise Pier this time. I have Multiple Sclerosis, but not in a wheel chair. So I am writing this from the point of view of a person that is slightly handicapped. The Paradise Pier has no shuttle to the resort. I thought this would be fine as I was under the impression that it was fairly close to the gates, and that there was a private entrance to California Adventure. The private entrance to the California Adventure is really the entrance from the Grand Californian. It is quite a walk to the hotel across a street. It is no small walk. So we ended up never even going to the California Adventure.

When we arrived we were told that the pool was under reconstruction, so we could not use it. I didn't mind as I didn't plan on using the pool. Then the "back" entrance to the hotel, the one you would use to walk to the monorail station, was blocked off so we had to walk a long way around to get to where we wanted to go. So the "quick" walk was more like 15 minutes (in 104 degree weather), then when we got to the monorail station they informed us that the monorail was down. They said they didn't know when it would be back up but we could wait. Then they said the walk to the park was only 5 minutes. Well, maybe it was for other people, but for us it was 20 minutes. By the time we got to the park we had walked close to 40 minutes. If you don't have a handicap of any kind, this would be no big deal, but for me it just simply ruined the day.

As far as the room goes, we had a park view room. What they fail to tell you is that this time of year the park is closed at 6:00 and there are no nice lights on. So there is no reason to pay for the park view. It was a nice room, bigger than the Grand Californian. It had a real refrigerator not like the Grand Californian that had a pre-stocked fridge that you couldn't put anything of your own in it. We had two queen size beds and a nice couch. There was a table with a pull out table for your laptop. That was nice. The bathroom was clean and nice but part of the wall paper was peeling off the wall. You would think they would glue it down. There was not extra fun stuff like at the Grand Californian. But the staff was courteous and polite.

We used the package delivery service. It is when you purchase things in the park they bring them to the hotel, however they came to the hotel the next day. And they lost one package and we had to leave. They did FedEx it though to us and we received it the next day. But sadly it was candy and some of the chocolates were melted.

All in all it was a fun trip (Disneyland always is) but next time I might try the Disneyland hotel or I have heard the Candy Cane Inn is great. It has a shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. and a free continental breakfast that is suppose to be wonderful. For the price of the Paradise Pier, I think they could be more guest friendly. Between the two hotels, I liked the Grand Californian because it was easier on me because of it's location.
 
11 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1 night: Sept 5th
Reviewer: banfam3 So Cal     September 09, 2005
We had an awesome experience at PPH. We arrived at 1pm, check-in is 3 pm. There was a setback at check in at first but it was quickly resolved. I had just made my reservations through expedia at 2 am that morning so expedia hadn't communicated my reservation with them by the time we arrived. They handled it quickly by calling expedia to confirm and let us in a room 2 hours early. The lady at check-in was very Disney-Perky and friendly, exactly how I love it!

We stayed on the 5th floor, poolside standard room. The room was clean and everything was perfect. Usually there is at least one thing I could note about every hotel we've ever been that I didn't like. This room was spotless. Smelled refreshing the second you open the door. Bathroom was spotless and I'm hard to please when it comes to cleanliness. Even the halls were clean and fresh.

The linens were soft, plush and clean. The bed a bit on the firm side for my preference but was of good quality and condition. The decor reminded me of East Coast Boardwalk and appeared in new, prime condition with excellent wall covers and paint condition. There was an oversized framed art of Disney California and a lamp with Mickey sitting on a tall lifeguard chair. The bathrooms had little Mickey soaps. Mickey detail also flowed to the shampoo, hand lotion, cups, coasters, note pad and pen. It was all just so cute, made me feel like a kid at Disneyland.

The pool at PPH isn't all that great (does have a 2 story slide though) but the good news is guests of PPH and DH are able to use either of the two hotel pools. So we spent most of the first day there swimming at the DH pool. They also have vest for children. Some as small to fit our 2 yr old. The DH has 2 different pool areas. The main pool has a huge boat featuring Goofy. There is a slide for tots... very short and slow.... good for 1-6 yrs old. There is also a huge spa and a tall winding slide which requires children to be good swimmers as it drops into the pool and they must swim to the ladder and climb out on their own. Plenty of life guards. The other pool was actually two pools, not sure what the difference was... they were basic. That pool area had a huge sand area for kids to play in the sand and on the climbing structure with slides. There was also a volleyball net there. This pool was steps from the laundry room if you need to use that and want to swim.

The elevators also seemed to accommodate the guest just perfectly. For a 15 story hotel I thought there might be some wait in the morning when everyone is going to Disneyland or at night when they were coming back. But there was no problem... never waited longer than a minute.

The room also had lots of extras. The double wide closet had extra blankets and pillows zipped away in plastic on a top shelf. There was also a playyard to use as a crib or play area for babies, iron, blow dryer, coffee maker, refrigerator, pull-out sleeper sofa.... all standard and in the room already.

Check-out was a breeze! By 7 am they put your bill under your door in an envelope.... it was itemized with all room charges we had incurred. The instructions were to dial an automated extension. Say your name, room number and time you were checking out. "John Doe, Room 534, 7 am" click! You can keep the room keys as souvenirs.

The benefits of staying at PPH:
-Early entry into Disneyland. Park opened at 9 am, we were able to enter at 8 am into Main Street, Tomorrowland and Fantasyland (the rest was closed till official opening time).
-Open Hotel Tab- the park tickets, purchase we made at World of Disney store in DTD, restaurants, all park purchases, were all able to be billed to our room up until the time of check out which is 11 am. That cuts back on the numerous individual charges you have to write in the checkbook. We liked that.
-Merchandise Room Delivery- they offer delivery but it didn't seem that benefited us personally. An employee at one store explained that purchases before 7 pm will be delivered next day by 8 am. Purchases after 7 pm would not be delivered till 8 am the next day. That may not be the case everywhere, don't know?
-Special line to ride monorail in Tomorrowland. At night when you want to head back and that line is so long to get on the monorail, get in the special hotel guest line which was very short that evening just after closing time.
-Free parking. We actually got a great spot in the covered section on the ground level by the entryway to the hotel.
-Room service which we didn't use because we love to experience all the great restaurants.

I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go again!
 
20 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July 22-24 2005
Reviewer: dws_60 France     August 22, 2005
What an horrible week end ! I booked for my daughter and our family in California for the summer, it was the 50th anniversary and they were talking about such a stay for years. So I did the great treat: 2 nights at the Paradise Pier Hotel with Concierge level on a resort view room. So here what happened to them:
-They checked in on Friday around 4:30pm to find that the concierge room was a standard park view on the 6th flood instead of the concierge level upper floor that I was guaranted 3 times on the phone with WDTC. They talked to the front desk and were told that our reservation was not noted and that this was the only room available. Then after dinner they were told by front desk to check back in the morning to get a new room, upgraded to a Family Suite on the 14th floor... They had to ask twice to have room key activated to access the concierge lounge for breakfast. They had to pack again in the morning before breakfast to be moved into new room. There was no turn down service that first night.
-They woke up the next morning to get breakfast and the new rom, we were told to get bags packed for bell service to hold things until 3pm when the other room would be available.
They left for the Concierge lounge, the room key didnt open it! They had to get a Cast Member to open the door for them.
Then after breakfast, they left all belongings to bell service and went off to the park (around 9:30am).
They returned to the hotel at 4pm and bell service said they would bring belongings right away into new room 1422. 5 minutes after being in the room they got a call from Chad the manager to say there was a leak from pool pipe and their belongings were wet and needed laundrying!! They got their wet belongings and were told to sort what was wet to have it checked and that the limited edition of the Musical Music of Disneyland cd set was dammaged (125$ on Disney Direct as soon as it got released!). The laptop case was wet, my daughter s Disney bear soaked, luggage wet, some clothes stained and ruined and pillows wet and so ruined. They talked with Chad for about 2 hours in trying to resolve some solutions to the problem. The soaked clothes were to be laundried by the resort, they returned 400$ to our credit card for inconvinience , plus 40$ to get a new Disney bear.
Chad told them that the laundry should be ready an hour later and that he would call on my brothers cell phone by 8 to update them. So they left for the park and dinner by 7. They never got the promised phone call.
-They returned to the hotel by 11:30-12 and they were told that the clothes were in the room washed and tidied. They found that one shirt was ruined and a pair of shorts were also, badly stained. 5 minutes in the room, Peter, the night manager called to check on the outcome, they expressed disappointment with Peter about the service for the last 2 days and were told it was all a computer error and equipment failure! Then they were told that the clothes had to go to Disneyland Hotel to be cleaned in the guest laundry due to the absence of laundry service in Paradise Pier and that they had to wait with clothes due to washers/dryers being used by the hotel guests!!! Laundry was washed by 10:30pm and returned to room mostly inside out, certain clothes ruined, the pillows smelly and ruined! The best of all, NO ONE checked on the bags at the bell service all day long! They were told all of this was fluke of nature and never happened to any other guests in the hotel, unforseen events that were out of resorts control!
Then again no turn down service that night!
-The voucher for the room reservation only proved that someone either at PPH or at WDTC messed up with reservation, but its so much simpler to blame the error on a computer bug even if we got charged of the whole bill amount 2 days after the last payment on the phone in May/June.
All in all, a dream week end that turned out to be totally ruined and very stressful for everyone.
Now they offer us a discount price for PPH standard room and an higher price (still discounted) for DLH... Were thinking it over, because we dont think the deal is so very fair.

Hoping to write a better review next time!
 
6 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 26-July 2
Reviewer: anu Hawaii     July 27, 2005
Hotel was excellent. Coming from a small Hawaiian island, we enjoyed ourselves. Entire accomodations were great. We also enjoyed the distance of the park from the hotel & restaurants. The fireworks were magnificent, everynight!
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7-16-05 to 7-18-05
Reviewer: dlfanshl Fresno, CA     July 20, 2005
Standard room on the 6th floor with a pool view. Traveling to Disneyland to celebrate my daughters 13th b-day with 3 of her friends. Arrived at 11:30 checked in but room wasn't available until 3pm. Enjoyed the park and b-day festivities. Room was clean and spacious for 5 guests. Staff was great...they delivered Mickey rice crispy treats, autographed photo, balloons and turndown service with chocolate coins each night in celebration of her b-day. It was a wonderful surprise.....
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page