Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Paradise Pier Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 51 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 11-14
Reviewer: Daisneyland_Momma (tomcat051100@msn.com) Central California     July 05, 2005
We arrived at noon and got checked in as soon as we got there.We were on the Concierge-level 14th floor room 1401 it was a nice veiw of the parking lot and pool side area.Everyone seemed freindly but the only thing that bothered me was when me,my hubby and our 3 kids went to eat at PHC Grill for dinner and the guy at the cashier had to go to the back to get our change.It took him at least 30 mintues to come back to give us our change and he wasn't even nice about it.
Next time we will stay here but we will avoid the PCH Grill.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 22-26, 2005
Reviewer: sec7g Patterson, CA     May 30, 2005
This is a great hotel. We had a standard room that overlooked the pool and nearby DL Hotel. The staff was very freindly from start to finish of our trip. We paid about $180 per night after all of the taxes and resort fees that were added on. The room was average sized and the beds were very comfortable. The best part is that is within walking distance to the parks and DTD- about 10 minutes. They also have a waterslide as part of the pool complex which was a plus. The pool also features a kiddie pool and life vests for children. CA can also be seen from some areas of the pool, which was nice. The Japanese restaurant on site was ok, but too expensive. PCH Grill was a better value. IN conclusion, PP is a very good hotel.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/20-23/05
Reviewer: cathyd2 Acton, MA     March 24, 2005
· Date(s) of Stay:2/20-23/05
· Type/Class of room (Standard, Concierge, Park View, etc) Concierge
· Accommodations Review:Checked in around 7:30 pm Sunday, having spent several rainy days in San Diego area. Got drenched getting out of car (canvas not sufficient to keep unloading area dry) so we left our baggage with the bellman. Front desk staff very friendly, advised us to get to Concierge loung asap as it closes at 8p. Traveling with husband and 2 sons, ages 9 and 6, we all loved the lounge and its treats, beverages and dvd lending library. Our room had fabulous view of California Adventure but due to rain no electric parade. Still, lights of the park boosted our mood as did the "Mickey" rice crispy treats! Spent next 3 days in ponchos slogging thru the park, some rides closed for renovations or for rain but the friendly spirit of Disney helped keep us smiling. Asked for and received late checkout so we could enjoy a last morning at the park, sun peeking thru clouds finally. Even went for swim/hot tub in the drizzle. Would recommend this hotel for families with young children so long as they can stand to walk. Cutting throught the Grand Californian definitely was a time-saver.
· Rate/Night (for your stay):$279/night
Appreciated, but Optional:
· Ease of Disney Park Access: As above, required a decent walk, shortened by cutting through Grand California Hotel.
· Park Shuttle Comments: Didnt use.
· General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions: (Please submit a separate Restaurant Review for more specific comments) Didnt visit.
· Pool Description/Comments: Seemed nice, empty due to cool rainy weather. Couldnt use slide due to rain but looked like fun!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   08/11/02-08/14/02
Reviewer: k_lov los angeles, california     February 08, 2005
I will never stay at PPH again. the cast members did not greet my children when we arrived, the first room that we stayed in was dirty and after we complained, we were moved to a new room which was a theme park view (which was one of the few good things). The roof top pool was cold even in the middle of summer. The only other highlight of the hotel was the entry into DCA, but the walk can seem very long for smaller children.
 
3 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/24-1/28/05
Reviewer: Karen256 Sacramento, CA     January 28, 2005
We had a very pleasant stay at PPH. We booked a standard view room and were upgraded to park view at no charge. Very close parking. We were on the 9th floor and the view of DCA was incredible, we could see just about the whole park as well as the tops of Matterhorn and Space mountain at DL. The room was spacious enough and clean. The decor was nice and comfortable. Had some minor plumbing issues that were addressed quickly. The Mickey shampoo/lotions/soaps were a great touch and will make neat souvenirs. The walk to the parks wasn't bad at all, I really don't think it's all that much further than DLH. Definately cut through the GCH to get either DL or DCA, it saves quite a bit of walking. Staff was very friendly, gave us an autographed character photo. I didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants but the gift shop was well stocked with all the essentials and then some. The pool was very warm and there is a large waterslide that looks like fun (we didn't use the slide). Had pretty short waits for elevators, but went during the week in the offseason, I could see problems at busier times.

I would definately stay here again. The view was fantastic, the rooms were comfortable, and the price was right compared to the other DLR hotels. It's not luxury, but we had a very nice stay here.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/08/05 - 1/12/05
Reviewer: lbrackjo Seattle     January 20, 2005
We stayed at the Grand Cal. in 04 and this year stayed at PP. We booked city view and were comp'd to park view. The checkin CMs were very friendly and provided ballons and signed photos for our kids. The rooms (we got connecting rooms) were a little larger than std. GC rooms. The hotel was fairly busy with some convention groups, but we experience little to no waits for elevators or at the espresso/snack bar in the lobby. If you are going to DCA the walk thru GC is only 4-6 mintues to use the entrance in GC. We also walked thru the GC to get to the DL maingate, 8-10 min. The walk to the monorail via the backdoor was about 5-7 min. PP is not as lux as GC (elevators are a little too shabby), but for the price difference we would stay at the PP again over the GC--especially when getting two rooms. 7th Fl., new carpets, good beds, handy sofa, large tv, safe, frig., bath fixtures a little dated. Slightest cig. smell from one HVAC, none from the other. Some street noise, but no hallway noise (opposite problem at GC).
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/29/04-11/01/04
Reviewer: Marox3 Palmdale, CA     November 01, 2004
We've never been to DLR for Halloween and decided to stay at Paradise Pier. We had a great, corner room on the 7th floor, with a perfect view of the projected Witch and Pumpkin on the Hotel (theme park view.). We've stayed at PP several other times with no problems. The pricing is good for us (AP's) and the staff have been very helpful and friendly. We had a couple problems this visit and my husband had to contact the Manager. The Manager addressed the issues immediately. His name was Joe (we don't know his last name). This was a shock, because we've had numerous problems at the Grand Californian. But, at Paradise, the staff was extremely accomodating. They could improve on the housekeeping level. We ate twice at the new PCH Grill Character Breakfast with Lilo & Stitch. Our son had a great time. The food is typical buffet, but the staff and entertainers were great. Overall, we totally enjoyed out stay.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 5-10, 2004
Reviewer: kyrie74 Honolulu, Hawai`i     October 12, 2004
Our family was thrilled with our stay at the Paradise Pier Hotel. We paid the extra for the concierge level rooms and were happy with our 14th floor room with DCA view. While checking in, they were very cordial and even wished my parents "Happy Anniversary" several times. Up in the concierge lounge, the staff was very helpful...they explained all of the services available to us and made us feel comfortable. The bell service was also very prompt.
We had a light breakfast every morning in the lounge where they served cereals, fruit, pastries, and beverages. We were also able to take bottled water with us to the park which saved a great deal of money. I also took advantage of the DVD's. I borrowed 2 during our stay. The concierge also helped with arranging dinner priority seatings as well as confirming super shuttle pick ups. They also recommended the yummy crunchy roll at Yamabuki restaurant.
I loved the turn down service nightly, which included the rice crispy treats, chocolates, and rose. They turn on the radio to classical soothing music nightly...

The one thing that was quite strange was (and I noticed another complaint) the smoke smell everynight. It wasn't bad enough to make a complaint, but there was a faint smell of smoke when we'd return each night. My mom just figured it came through the vents.
Oh! One more thing...the glass elevator reserved for concierge level guests was not always working. We noticed that it was down in the mornings.
Overall, we were extremely satisfied with our stay at the Paradise Pier and will definately stay there again, WITH concierge level services.
 
8 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   july 6-9 2004
Reviewer: stone1129 Lexington, Kentucky     July 23, 2004
We were very pleased with our Paradise Pier stay. We were on the 14th floor with a DCA view, and it was great to see the lights of the park at night. We paid extra for the concierge amenities, and it was nice to be able to grab drinks, breakfast & snacks there, and have a person to ask questions of. I can't remember any problems with the service, there were so many nice touches like the rice crispie treats in the shape of Mickeys delivered on the first night, the chocolate coins, being able to get DVDs from the concierge, and the cartoons that showed in the little cartoon lounge (do they sell those discs somewhere - I'd buy one at the right price).

The pool was okay, and my mom (my kids' grandmom) paid for the stay, so I'm not sure if it was priced well, but I enjoyed it.

An extra perk was being able to get early entry into California Adventure (not sure if this is always an option, and I think it is only for concierge level), but we were able to walk almost right onto Soaring over California, and had bug's land almost to ourselves.

Tip that no one will ever need: don't bother trying to do laundry at Disneyland. There is a laundry room, at the Disneyland Hotel, but it is 2 washers and 4 dryers, and even if there was no wait, why waste your time. Wear clothes again or buy a t-shirt and maximize your fun time.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   7/9/04; 7/10/04; 7/11/04
Reviewer: munchkinsmom0003 California     July 15, 2004
We did a three-night stay in a 1-bedroom suite up on the 14th (non-smoking) floor on the "city" side. The cost was $360/night with AP discount. The suite consisted of one bedroom with two double beds, a bathroom, fridge, TV, DVD, a chair for lounging and a desk on one side, and a living room area with a queen sofa bed, coffee table, round dining table for four, mirrored closet, TV and toilet/sink (no bath) on the other side. The suite was very spacious and clean, but from time to time during our stay, the suite's bedroom would smell like second-hand cigarette smoke. The smell came through the ventilation system in the room (A/C; fan) from the floor below us, designated as a "smoking" floor. It only affected the bedroom; the living room area's system was fine with no problems regarding any cigarette smoke smell. When we initially checked into the room, I asked for a suite overlooking DCA, as we requested on our reservations. The gal at the front desk confirmed that it was on the DCA side and I asked for re-confirmation of this again before the keys were handed to me. When we arrived in our room, it was OBVIOUS that our room overlooked the city. In addition, when we realized that our room smelled of cigarette smoke, we immediately called the front desk and talked to the manager at the time of our check-in. She claimed that she could not find us another room to stay in. She offered to send someone to "deodorize" the room and gave us a free breakfast at PCH Grill. The next day, the smell occured again and so we asked the front desk at least twice that day (in the AM and PM) to have the Engineering Department come up and check it out. The Front Desk stated on both occasions that someone would be up w/in the hour. No one came, and no follow-through. The front desk did make a suggestion to us to "turn off our A/C/fan and keeping the windows open" as a way to reduce the smell, but with the summer heat and slight humidity being a major factor during our stay, it would have been an uncomfortable night for us (especially for our two children, ages 3 and 16 months).

While extremely disappointed with the Front Desk, Engineering Department and Management at PPH, we have to commend the Bellhops (David in particular), Housekeeping and the Restaurant Staff at PCH Grill for their professionalism. We found them to be more attentive to our needs and quick to respond to our issues. We really liked the convenience to the parks and DTD, especially the private entrance to DCA. We even liked our room (sans smell and view that was promised), but for the price we paid, even at the AP rate, we truly expected better service and response from this hotel, especially one that is associated with Disney.

 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page