Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Paradise Pier Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 51 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 40 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 7-12, 2004
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     June 14, 2004
We were THRILLED with the Paradise Pier Hotel! Our room was newly refurbished and we loved the nautical touches. The fold out couch was a big hit with our kids and the beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept on! Guest services went above and beyond, calling the airlines to make sure they had found our luggage (at 3:00am...husband couldn't sleep from worrying about it!!) PCH grill breakfast with Minnie was super fun and we loved being so close to everything. We will definitely return to this hotel the next time we get to go to Disneyland!
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 1 - April 4th
Reviewer: only1mouse Portland, Oregon     April 11, 2004
We booked a non-view room for the above listed dates. We arrived at the hotel at 10am in the morning and asked if there might be a theme park view and a remodeled room available. There was, but it wouldn't be available for a little while. That was fine, we stored the luggage and off to the park.

We arrived back at the hotel at 4pm, and went to our room. We got a room on the 8th floor. It had a wonderful view of the park and the newly renovated rooms were great. There is now a sofabed in the room and it seemed pretty spacious. I do miss the fact that it doesn't have a balcony like GC does. We were very disappointed when we returned to our room later that evening. You could hear the cars below. They seem to be the original windows in the hotel and have not been upgraded with the recent renovation.

We paid $156/night with our annual passport, which is to horribly bad for being the beginning of spring break in SoCal.

The access to DCA was great, and if we were going to DTD or DL we cut through GC and were there in a heartbeat. Although this can't compare to staying at GC.

We ate at PCH Grill the first night we were there and were disappointed with the revised menu. We had eaten there once before when we brought the kids, and neither item we had last time was on the menu this time. I don't know if they change their menu regularly. Everytime we got into the elevator they had a poster of food served at PCH and the item the gentlemen was eating was not on the menu.

We didn't use the pool, but we could see that they are adding some new things which should help this lacking pool area out.

If we couldn't get into the GC again next time we go, I would stay here, but that's only if GC is completely booked. I think we got spoiled having stayed there first out of all the hotels.

 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/15/03 - 12/19/03
Reviewer: sierranevada Bay Area, CA     March 07, 2004
We stayed at the PPH last December to specifically be able to have stayed at all three DL hotels and compare them. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised by PPH when we stayed there. We were on the 9th floor (Upper Theme Park View) and had an awesome view of DCA. They do not turn off the lights at night and it is great to enjoy the site. If EP is showing, you can even view it from your room.

Our room was not one of the remodeled rooms but I thought it was quite roomy. It had 2 queen beds, a desk, side chair, hair dryer, mickey soaps and shampoo, coffee maker and small frig. I believe the rehab is set to be completed by May and they will be replacing the chair with a sofa/daybed.

I had read alot of comments about how far PPH is from everything. Yes, the entrance to DCA is across the street but honestly, it took us at most a few minutes to cross that street and walk down the path into DCA. If you want to catch the Monorail, go out the BACK of the hotel and follow the brick path and it will take you right there. It is only a few minutes longer than walking from the Bonita Tower at DH (furthest tower). If you want to walk directly to DL, go out the front of the hotel, cross the street and CUT THROUGH THE GC LOBBY. We found this easily saved us 7-8 minutes. As for the elevator wait, we never waited more than a few minutes for an elevator except for Friday morning check out when we waited at most 6 -7 minutes.

As far as the pool goes, it was just a bland rectangle pool. However, it is being rehabed right now and I have heard that it will be "Beach" themed and they will be putting in a slide with a "roller coaster" theme so it sounds like they are trying to bring it in line with the pools at DH and GC. We did not swim in it but did notice alot of people in the pool - it was great weather for December. One nice thing, you can watch the fireworks from the pool area and they pipe in the music. They are working hard to tie in PPH with the Paradise Pier area of DCA. The renovated rooms will have surfboard room numbers on the door, Mickey with surfboard lamps, new carpet in hallways in coordinating colors. They are redoing lobby to also fit into the theme.

We had two meals at PPH. First was Breakfast with Minnie. It was suppose to be at PCH Grill but they had a major pipe burst so it was moved to a conference room. So, unfortunately, we lost the ambience but there were still lots of characters. We order dinner one night from room service. I don't remember exactly what dinner salad I had but it was a Sante Fe type chicken salad that was delicious and huge - easily big enough to share. The other two adults both had club sandwiches which they said were terrific - again, big enough to share! The service was prompt and extemely friendly - we almost had to push the waiter out the door!!

I really was expecting to be let down when we stayed at PPH after numerous visits to DH and a conceirge suite stay at the GC. I actually think the service is better at PPH than at GC (my heart still belongs to DH!!). I came back from that trip very impressed and have recommended it to several people.









 
17 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 2003
Reviewer: Photographer Boston, MA     January 11, 2004
In celebration my and my roomate's birthdays, I booked us a room using my AP discount. We got a room on the 11th floor facing DCA. It was a fantastic view! I absolutely loved seeing the park lit up at night and you could hear the music playing when you cracked open the window.

The rooms were a good size with 2 beds, table and chairs, a dresser and TV. Bathrooms are good size and I really liked the wallpaper. It's a soft yellow and white vertical striped paper with beach chairs. How perfect! You also get Mickey soaps, shampoo and lotion.

They have a glass elevator so you can look down into the lobby as you go up or down. Kids and adults can watch movies in a beach set-up room near the lobby. There's a great buffet with Minnie at the PCH Grill. I've also had dinners there that were great.

I'd stay there on all my vacations if I could afford it.
 
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/10/03 - 10/15/03
Reviewer: whiles (whiles@lbl.gov) Oakland, CA     January 06, 2004
I was extremeley pleased with our stay at Pardise Pier this time. (We stayed at this hotel three times this year).

We were up graded to a suite for the one night we stayed at this hotel. The room Service failed us as we arrived late (After 9 pm) they did not feel like providing our food to us. The manager on duty provided snacks and sandwiches for us and also gave us a free Breakfast at PCH grill for the next morning.

Now after staying at all three hotels, I can say that you get what you pay for at Grand California, Disneyland Hotel is in the "Heart of it all" and Paradise Pier is the place to stay on property at a "Resonable cost".

The secret to Paradise Pier stays is to save the long walk to Disneyland, Just ask the Bellmen to drive you to Downtown Disney. If you call the hotel bell desk they will picj you up too! Saves a lot of walking and gives you that extra special feeling of Disney Personal service without spending any extra dollars. The best part is this service is free - although I alway tip the bellman a dollar per passenger. Still a bargain to save you the walk.

Also the two resturants at Pardise Pier offer a fine fare at a resonable price. Our Niece and Nephew always ask to eat at PCH so they can make there own Pizza and I have never been disappointed with a meal at this hotel. Service is another story, but the food is very good for the price you pay.

Yamabuki is a good facsimile of a Japanese resturant that offers the seafood and sushi options if you like to partake but also caters to the milder & child appetites. The Yakitori skewers are very good too.

I like the Paradise Pier especially the face of the hotel looking into DCA - Paradise Pier area - There is no area of Disneyland that looks that cool at night - Too Bad it is not open late!

I have stayed in the normal rooms looking out to the Employee parking lot, The pool cabana rooms o nthe 4th floor and now the suite level looking over DCA. I have had great rooms each time and a fine stay. Service at times can be a bit vexing, but Paradise Pier gives you a great deal for your dollar spent and at Disneyland that is ahard claim to make sometimes.

Thanks,
whiles
 
10 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 9- march 12 2002
Reviewer: tinktris Sacramento, California     September 08, 2003
We stayed here for our son's 3rd birthday. This place is fantastic. I am always impressed with the magic of these disney hotels. We are annual pass holders so we got our annual pass rate, they booked our hotel even though we had not yet activated our annual passes, and with the AP rate at that. The service was impecable. Everyone was so nice, the room are beautiful and clean. They gave us a room overlooking the Ca. Adventure park at no extra charge beacause it was my son's birthday. They helped me arrange a party at goofy's kitchen, and gave me all the information I needed for in the park to make his birthday special, including telling us about the birthday call at city hall for my son from goofy! They treated us wonderful and made us feel special. We are returning again in Dec. for new years, our room is already booked at Paradise Pier!
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   6/15-6/19/03
Reviewer: prudence Lake Forest Park, WA     June 30, 2003
We had a great park view room on the 14th floor for our honeymoon. I'm not sure what the cost per night was as we purchased a travel package. We splurged for the concierge service because we've enjoyed it so much in the past. Unfortunately, it failed to deliver this time. We did not receive the advertised nightly turn down service every night and when we asked about this in the lounge we were told that they only do that for the first night and that additional nights cost more money. What?! (It is still advertised as nightly service even now, so I'm sure she was making stuff up as she clearly wanted to get rid of us; we were interfering with her other, more important work of sitting around.) Most of the other concierge staff were very pleasant but totally unhelpful -- wouldn't make dinner reservations for us, couldn't provide park or area information, etc.) In some cases, we were directed to Guest Services -- who were VERY helpful -- but available to all hotel guests. In short, the very nice breakfast did not even begin to make up for the lack of other services and we sure won't be trying the concierge level again.

And this is really too bad, as we love the ambiance of the hotel. We loved Yamabuki, the gift shop was nice, and the laid back atmosphere (and fewer screeching children) really suited us. Rooms were quiet and spacious, non-concierge staff were excellent, and the park view was amazing. I could have spent hours just people watching out my window. We discovered there actually is a park shuttle (golf cart) as one slowed down to offer us a ride back to the hotel at one point. As it was the end of the last day it couldn't have come at a better time; my feet were killing me! I wish the shuttle were a little more publicized. The bell staff/valets/guest services folks were excellent and very helpful in making sure that you had a shuttle reservation and quickly retreiving stored luggage.
We had no problems with the elevators. One of the joys of being on an upper floor is that the elevator's always got room left when you get on to head down.
Overall, if we didn't have the previous concierge service to compare this to we would have rated this much higher. However, we're disappointed enough that we'll try something else next time.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/2/3-6/5/3
Reviewer: callthedoctor (callthedoctor@hotmail.com) Flagstaff, Arizona     June 09, 2003
Overall a good place to stay...

About 15 minute walk to MonoRail at DD, 20 minute to Front Gates (w/stroller)...

Only 5 minutes to California Land...via gate across the street from hotel.

Worst part of our stay were the elevators...extremely hard to catch in the morning...as well as evening when everyone returns from the park....

Also, the water temperature in the showers was always changing...seemed to always be dancing around super hot or semi-cold...

The staff was very nice and helpful...the hotel was clean and service was prompt...

Had free OJ and Fruit in exercise room...this was not near as nice as Grand's exercise room and that room was the only amenitiy that was not shared by all 3 hotels...for some reason, you had to be a Grand Resident to use their exercise room...kinda made me mad.

Pool seemed colder than Neverland at DLH.

Parking was kind of a hassle also, there is no elevator in the tiered parking and if you choose to carry your own bags it was quite the effort...

Did not eat at PP, did eat at Goofy's (at DLH) once...(very $$$)

The USA Today at the door every morning was a nice touch as was the cartoon waiting room for the kids down at the lobby.

However, overall a good place to stay and worth the few extra bucks to stay on Disney Property....
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Feb 22-23, 2003
Reviewer: Bears_777 Denver     May 21, 2003
We liked this hotel the best. Bell hops were great! Check in was painless. Rooms were nice roomy. We paid $259.00 for one night. That was alot. Request a room facing the park. We got to see some behind the scene things!! We had a turn down and chocolates. Also it was my daughters birthday and she got a great bag of goodies, balloon, Mini singed picture, and 3 mickey rice crispies treats. The staff made us feel great and at home. I was very ill and the kitchen staff made me soup even when they were closing. We Likes this so much we are going back in a couple months. You will love this if you want to stay at there hotel but don't want to pay as much unlike the other 2 hotels. Oh we even got to see the fire works from our room!
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/22/03 - 3/29/03
Reviewer: KaneoheDad Kaneohe, Hawaii     April 01, 2003
Room: We had a standard room for a seven night stay. The room was spacious, very clean and the beds very comfortable after a long day in the parks.

Staff: The staff was very very friendly and helpful. The kids were given balloons and autographed pictures of Mickey and Minnie which made their day. Even the security staff offered us local dining tips.

PCH Grill: We ate one dinner here. The food was great but a little pricey, but that's expected in a resort environment.

Yamabuki: Pricey but very very good.

Park Access: My family and I took advantage of the exclusive entry to California Adventure thus bypassing the long main entry lines. As far as the walk to the Downtown Disney Monorail station goes, it was not nearly as far as some say. My 4 and 7 year olds had no problem making the walks several times a day. We sometimes walked all the way to and from the main entrance with no complaints.

Shopping: The little Disney Store in the lobby was so convenient. We made several small purchases there and had several rolls of film developed taking advantage of the same day service.

Price: We booked a package through AAA and the Paradise Pier was not that much more that the Fairfield Inn. (off peak rates)

Misc: The elevator wait did tend to be lengthy during peak times (before park openings and after closings) and the fact that the glass elevator was out of order during our stay didn't help.

Summary: Other than the elevator waits, the hotel far exceeded my expectations. My family and I would surely stay at the Paradise Pier again. The exclusive entry/exit to California Adventure was just so convenient and the Disney touches in the room extended the children's Disneyland experience all the way to their beds.
 
16 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page