Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
category image  Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Paradise Pier Hotel
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1150 Magic Way, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 51 ( Displaying Reviews: 41 - 50 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   3/1-4/03
Reviewer: scbaldry Plymouth, MN     March 17, 2003
A good value Disney experience, if you can find a discounted rate. After reading wide-ranging reviews of this property, including a couple of very negative ones, we didn't know what to expect. We found most of the negative comments unfounded. The experience combined a quality hotel with the usual Disney amenities and a reasonable rate ($99/night Lower Park View, for a family of three, as part of a Disney Club travel package. This included a stay 4 nights for the price of 3 discount).

Location: Further from the park than you would expect for a Disney property. We didn't find the 4 block walk to the Downtown Disney monorail station as onerous as other reviewers, although it is surprising that Disney doesn't provide door-to-door service to its properties like it does in Florida. Although we didn't inquire about them, it appears that the hotel does provide some kind of shuttle service, but it appeared more upon request than regularly scheduled. Compared to the miles you put on in the parks, the walk to/from the hotel is minor. The walking path to DTD and the Disneyland Hotel for the Neverland Pool is nicely landscaped, so the negative comments regarding walking through a parking lot seemed overly critical. The only complaint that we had was that using the DTD Monorail or the California Adventure private entrances brought you into the middle of the park, which is fine/desirable for the second day at each park, but deprives you of the anticipation that a walk down Mainstreet creates, and you lose some of the magic that the park planners built in. As a result, we walked all of the way through DTD most days, which seemed like an extra mile. Again, nothing compared to the miles in the park, but more than you'd like. It appears that the non-Disney properties on the east side of the park are actually closer to the park entrances.

Hotel: The room was spacious, well equipped and clean. It also had the Disney touches in decorations and bathroom supplies that add to the experience. The lobby is cut up by a glass elevator in the middle, which makes it seem cramped and a little dark. The property was well maintained. The staff was courteous and helpful. We were offered a free upgrade to a higher floor at check-in. The parkview was nice, but I'm not sure if you would see much from the lower floors. We were able to watch fireworks and the electrical parade from our room -- not recommended versus being in the park, but if your little ones are worn out, at least you don't miss them entirely. Parking was included in the "resort fee" in a ramp behind the hotel.

Restaurant. The only meal we had at the hotel was a Character Breakfast. The room was bright and cheery, the food and service very good and the entertainment great for our 5 year-old. We were a little concerned that after 5 days in the parks, where we saw all of her favorite characters several times, that the breakfast with only 3 characters would be anticlimatic. It wasn't! Our daughter had a great time with Minnie, Pluto and Max. While more characters would have been nice, the kids didn't seem to notice. If we had it to do over, we would schedule the breakfast for the first day of the trip, when seeing a character would not feel so routine.
Service: Buffet, but server was very attentive with beverages and clearing plates.
Price: $25/adult $13/child. High for a breakfast buffet, but more reasonable when entertainment is considered. That said, at half the cost of a day in the park, if value is an issue, I would put the money into another day at the park.
Food: Very good, including omlettes made to order.
Atmosphere: Excellent. Characters and activity leader provide great entertainment.

Meals: We bought an add-on "Dine in the Park" package that offered a discount on food purchased in the parks. If you know you will be eating a lot of meals in the parks, it is a good deal -- but you are provided with "use it or lose it" vouchers good only in the parks, not at DTD, so be careful how many days you buy. We bought a 3 day package for 5 days in the park, and had vouchers left until lunch on the last day. Particularly troublesome are the vouchers good only for breakfast. You can't get in the park until 9 or 10 am, and breakfast is only served until 10:30. When you get to the park early, you want to take advantage of short lines for rides, and stopping to eat a late breakfast is task, not a treat. Although the vouchers state "breakfast only" it is possible they would let you use them later in the day. We never asked.

Pools: The hotel pool was closed during our stay, but the Disneyland Hotel pools were available a block away. The hotel pool appeared to be nothing special, and probably shaded in the afternoon. I doubt that we would have used it even if it was open. The Neverland pool at DLH was a festive atmosphere with a water slide and a pirate ship decoration. The pool itself was large, shallow (4 feet deep in the middle), and a little cool for early March. Beverage service and restrooms required a trip outside the locked gate, which was a hassle. The Cove pool offers a sand play area along with two smaller pools that seemed less crowded.

Overall: We enjoyed our stay and would go back -- but only at a rate comparable to other quality hotels in the area. Given its location and lack of Disney transportation, it cannot justify the normal Disney premium.
 
19 out of 21 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March, June, Sept., Dec. 2002
Reviewer: DocJazzRH Redwood City, CA.     January 08, 2003
I began visiting this hotel when it was the Pan Pacific years before Disney purchased it. I have visited Disneyland each year since it opened and have made at least 3 trips a year since the late 1980's. The service at this hotel is excellent, tops from my experience. I have stayed at all 3 Disney Hotels and this property offers much. Great views of DCA, a nice pool and excellent dining. I can't say enough about the service there, I have been treated so well I feel like family. There is a private entrance to DCA directly across the street and a shuttle pick-up point less than 100 yards from the main entrance. I have experienced concierge service and found it superior... but any room level is wonderful. Ask for a personal shuttle at the valet desk and be taken directly to Downtown Disney. Yes the room rates have risen over the years but this hotel is really worth the investment for your vacation.
 
16 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   January 1st, 2003 - January 4th, 2003
Reviewer: fizziwig Fremont, California     January 07, 2003
AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!

This hotel has seriously gone downhill since I last stayed there over the July 4th holiday. I just got back from staying there on my honeymoon and it was a disaster from start to finish.

First, they screwed up our parkhopper passes (they were somehow invalid and we were denied admission into the park!) Our breakfast vouchers were also screwed up, and our room charge slips were never activated.

There's no shuttle service anywhere. You either hoof it to Downtown Disney (a long hike if you have small kids) or stay in your room.

Practically Perfect Tea is no more.

The Yamabuki Japanese restaurant was also a huge disappointment. We were served old, curled-up sushi that took an hour and half to get to us. And at $30 a plate, none of it was any better than what you can order at your local run of the mill sushi bar found all over California.

Last but not least, the hotel OVERCHARGED ME ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS. That's right. ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS. We pre-paid for our stay over the Internet, yet they used the card I gave them for incidentals to re-charge me the entire balance! The card is a check card and now several expenditures are bouncing from my account, including my rent.

I'd sooner drive a pick through my head than stay there again. Can I put that anymore plainly??? ;o)
 
13 out of 57 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/8 - 12/10/02
Reviewer: roberts1398 Sacramento, CA     December 12, 2002
Stayed in a standard room, booked at AP rate of $79 per night for a lower level theme park view. Free upgrade to an upper level, on the 8th floor, room 802.

Incredible stay! Loved this hotel more than I can tell you. Spotless comfy room with EXCELLENT beds. View is beyond compare ... DCA & Paradise Pier are right outside your window. Service was flawless. Had room service that was reasonably priced, hot and fast! The Mickey soaps etc. were wonderful keepsakes!

Never went to the pool, but I understand there's a great view of the fireworks and they pipe the music in as well (but no snow!)

Only negative is the lack of a shuttle to DL. There is the private entrance to DCA, but it's limited to the operating hours of DCA, so you can't cut thru after DL's fireworks, etc.

But definitely a first class hotel in my opinion!
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11-10-02 (3 nights)
Reviewer: Zina Mesa, Ariozona     November 18, 2002
Nice large bathroom, comfy beds, (had king and pull out sofa for son), great view of DCA. The staff was great, enjoyed the Disney store located there. Pool stayed busy, although we never made it there. Could see fireworks from our room. The fridge was very handy and the business center helped my hubby a lot!
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 29 to Oct. 3, 2002
Reviewer: bosscougar Canada     October 30, 2002
2 adults, one child: 4 nights $698(Can) standard room
We stayed our first 4 nights at the Anabella, then moved over to PP. The only problem we had was that we couldn't pick up our park hopper passes until we checked in to PP, wasting one day of our 3 for 5.
When checking in we mentioned our displeasure and were immediatly upgraded to 13th floor CA view room. They also had special treats delivered that night, Mickey shaped RK Treats and character chocolates...delighted the whole family.
What a view...spent hours just sitting. Staff bent over backwards for us, well worth the extra expense. Loved being so close to everything. Exclusive entrance into CA, privelages at Neverland pool DLH, express onto monorail, special touches too numerous to mention.
Woke up one night to see Mickey ears on the ceiling. MM ears in the wallpaper, curtains, bedding, photos. Loved the Mickey coasters, shampoo, soap...wonderful souveniers for our daughter.
Hot tub on rooftop could have been MUCH hotter.
Highly recommened if you can afford it. Less than DLH and GCH with all the same perks. Bit of an extra walk to DL but CA right across the street.
 
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/16/02 through 7/23/02
Reviewer: SpamSpamSpam Astoria, Oregon     July 27, 2002
We stayed on the tenth floor city view side. Beds are large and comfortable and the room large enough to move around and not feel cramped. No room safe, but came equiped with a small fridge which was handy. Bathroom adequately sized. Just an average room really. The difference between this and an off-resort hotel of equal amenities was the proximity to DCA and to DTD where you can monorail it to DL or take a five minute walk to the maingate. Guest services are excellent. Our
bellhop gave us some helpful planning information on attractions and tips on fastpasses, and everytime I saw this guy the rest of the week he was just full of little helpful info tidbits. Guest services was also very helpful in planning extra excursions we were interested in including
a walking tour of Paramount Studios. Room service is
very good and quite fast, and the food from the PCH Grill was very good and well presented. I had daily internet access in the hotel business center and the receptionist actually waved charges for it for all but two days use. It wasn't expensive to start with and really helped me keep up with activities at my business. The private entrance into DCA was a handy touch and having access to the DLhotel was a great perk.
 
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 15-19, 2002
Reviewer: Shannon Bay Area     July 21, 2002
We were really pleased with the hotel. We were on the third floor, pool level. Had a view of Paradise Pier at DCA and could see the Disneyland fireworks from our room. Used the private entrance to DCA. Ate dinner at PCH Grill and found prices reasonable. Staff drove us in golf carts to Downtown Disney. Swam in the Disneyland Hotel pool twice. Being this close to the parks is worth paying more for a hotel room. Got a special discount rate "military discount" even though my husband works for the police department of $109. My son liked having his own bed (fold out single couch). Hope to stay here again in 2004.
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/02
Reviewer: hefferdude The West     July 17, 2002
We've been coming to PPH since it was the Emerald Hotel then the Pan Pacific Hotel from 14 or so years ago. I have great memories of my then 2 and 5 year olds (now 13 and 16) thrilled at riding the glass elevator. It has always been a nice 3diamond+ at the very least. Got a nice $99 special from Travelocity for ourselves and family. ( AP rates can go down to $79/nite on Sundays ) These rates will be rooms on the west side away from DCA but still OK. Rooms and amenities are standard but clean and very well maintained. Have enjoyed PCH Grill for dinner including viewing fireworks from the front atrium. Lobby coffe bar pleasant. Employees also couteous and prompt. Room includes co-pool privelages with Dland Hotel. Be sure to ask desk clerk for confirmation on this. Neverland pool was a great perk. Had a blast with our kids there swimming, sliding and snacking. No shuttle but very quick walk to DCA through special entrance to right of GCH. DTD not necessary. Return from DCA through DCH lobby. DLR accessed by Monorail station OK but DTD walk necessary if you want to enter by Main Gate. What we call strolling.
 
2 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   3/00
Reviewer: kld CA     June 21, 2002
We had a concierge room. I thought the hotel was grossly overrated. Check in was in the concierge room, fairly quick, but not particularly informative, and no hello to the children. There were snacks available in the concierge room, which helped given the outrageous prices of food in the park. There was a very overpriced gift shop in the lobby. The hotel room was average, pretty nice bathroom, but not particularly large, just a standard type hotel room. We paid $199 for it. The view of DCA from the window was nice. There was a small workout room in the hotel. Breakfast in the concierge room was unpleasant due to the large numbers of rude kids there who are apparently used to shoving in front of whomever they please and being loud and obnoxious in a restaurant setting. This was a somewhat depressing group of people to have to be around. The food was good, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, cream chesse, milk, juices, coffee. Surprisingly, there is no shuttle from the hotel to DCA or Disneyland; you are forced to walk through a large shopping area called Downtown Disney, which is full of unbelievablely overpriced merchandise. We even observed security guards asking children with wheeler shoes to put the wheels away for fear of getting sued if the kid fell. So we were all forced to trudge through this gaudy commercial area, I guess in the hopes that we would shell out even more money to the Disney company on our way to the park. These were stores with little/no interest to children. With two young kids this walk was really annoying, as they dont have stamina to stay on their feet all day and the last thing we want to do is spend more money at these stores. This set-up reeks of massive corporate greed. They should have some sort of shuttle service from these overpriced hotels to the actual parks. Also you have to walk through a large parking lot from the DP hotel to get to the Disneyland hotel pool, which is the fun pool for children. Unfortunately it closes early, so there isnt much time to swim there in the evening. They should have a walkway or a safer route to get from one hotel to the other. We ate at Goofy's kitchen which was fun for the kids, though really overpriced given the low quality children's foods offered (hot dogs, pizza, mac and cheese, packaged type). It was also trashy to have to pay up front before eating for your food. I woudl want to stay in a smaller, more reasonable hotel during any other stays. The walk to the park is just about the same from any of the other nearby hotels, and you can get excellent deals there.
 
21 out of 55 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4 5 ... 6 >>
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page