Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Ramada Inn Maingate / Saga
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1650 S. Harbor Blvd, Anaheim
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 26- September 28
Reviewer: familymemories Northern California     October 21, 2011
Sept 26-28, 2011
Economy Room, Clean, One of the new renovated ones.
4 People per room, 2 Double Beds, Microwave, Fridge.
Rate was $89.25, Two nights at that rate, Third night FREE Special.
Customer service wonderful. Broken fridge, within 15 minutes maintence had a new one for us. Also found out we can do early check in even if room is not ready and get the parking pass for our car. No need to park at Disney parking garages. Staff is wonderful. Simple Continential Breakfast good. Pool is really nice since renovation. We are loyal return customers. Always check their website and Trip Advisor for specials.The main entrance to Disneyland is just across the street. Really close. So close we can walk to our hotel room and eat than back to the parks. Most people are on tight budgets and this hotel won't drain your pocketbook.

tripadvisor.com
Ramada Maingate At The Park

ramadamaingate.com
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/20 to 10/2
Reviewer: RossiP Australia     December 02, 2009
We have just returned from a 12 night stay at this establishment - and thought I would post a review - .

Ramada Maingate was not our initial choice - the other 2 we were seriously considering were already booked so we searched around TA and found this one , it was rated #7 of the Anaheim hotels so that was appealing as was its proximity to DL.

We booked it about 6 months before our trip and we checked the updated reviews regularly - a couple of not so good ones had us a tad concerned however we chose to persevere - a good decision in the end .

Strangely there is very little written about this hotel on this board or any other board , nor is it advertised in any of the Australian Travel Brochures .

Now to our review !

We stayed in a premium room and I concede lesser standards of rooms may affect the experience.

Our room was located at the rear of the property on the third floor . It was furnished with 2 exceptionally comfortable Queen beds and plenty of soft pillows . A Fridge , Microwave , Iron and board and 32 inch LCD TV were also in the room. Two tables and chairs and a good size bathroom and sink and bench completed the room along with a small wardrobe. The room was a very good size and accomodated 4 of us and all our baggage easily . From the front door you have a great view of the fireworks - however we only watched them from here twice as we were in the park the other nights . The room was exceptionally quiet and that is a big factor for me

Stepping back a bit our reservations were made directly with the hotel and were done easily , efficiently and friendly . It was not the cheapest hotel but that was not a deciding factor in the end.

To be honest we didnt have much to do with the front desk during our stay however if we did they were very friendly , polite , helpful and respectful .

Location is excellent - a 50 metre walk to the crosswalk and then the standard 5 minute walk to the entrance . There would only be 2 or 3 hotels closer than the Ramada . An example one day we took our places front and centre of the castle for the fireworks when we decided we needed sweats as it was getting cooler , it took me 21 minutes round trip back to the ramada that included fighting the crowds and queueing to come back in .

The property is large with ample parking in fact it has more than enough parking . There is a very good size pool set in the middle of the property . It is heated and has a shallow end for the little kids and a deep end for the oldies . A Nice warm spa is set beside it , there is ample seats and tables poolside . The pool water quality was exceptionally clean ( believe me I know my pool water quality !) .

Breakfast is included - this was a bit bland to be honest - toast , limited cereals , donuts and danishes , fruit and coffee and waterdown juice . Having said that it met our requirements and certainly saved us a few dollars each day . Next time we will take our own honey and jams . Some days they had muffins and they were beaut !

Housekeeping was fine , they made the room daily and kept it spotless for us , sometimes they didn't leave uis enough towels or took the shower caps and didnt replace them but this wasnt a real issue - we were able to source them quite easily from annother maid or the front desk .

A couple of fast food shops out the front as well as numerous restaurants within walking distance made eating easy after a hard day . Also out the front was a tour desk , T Shirt shop and photo shop .

I have no trouble recommending this property whatsoever and after doing a casual walk thru of the other 2 properties we were seriously considering we are so glad we chose this property
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/16-5/18/2000, July and April 1993, Aug 1992, June 89
Reviewer: 2002 TC eL Salt Lake City suburb, Utah     May 24, 2008
We stayed at the Ramada Maingate when it was the Saga Inn and we could book thru Disney Magic Kingdom Club. We had clean, large rooms every time and rooms were always ready before 3 PM check-in time. We have not stayed at the Ramada Maingate recently because we like the Park Place Inn, Tropicana Inn, or Camelot Inn better since they are closer to the Disneyland Crosswalk on Harbor Blvd.
.......( However, we do not recommend the Park Vu Inn even though it is one of the closest motels to Disneyland Crosswalk. Neither of the 2 Park Vu rooms where we stayed were as clean as the other 4 motels and the Continental Breakfast was very spartan. Our neighbor bought a large bottle of Lysol aerosol spray to disinfect their room at the Park Vu and will never stay there again).
......The Ramada Maingate/Saga rooms vary greatly in size and quality. One recent reviewer obviously got one of the small, "not-very-nice" rooms so BE CAREFUL and specify the nice, large rooms in the southwest corner-also identified as being in the part with 4 floors - if you stay at the Ramada Maingate.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 21st through April 22nd 2008
Reviewer: rosie Portland Oregon     April 25, 2008
My daughter (21 yrs) and I had spent three days in Disney at another hotel along Harbor Blvd. It was nice but somewhat expensive. She and I decided to go back to Disney for another day of fun (she lives in LA) and this time we stayed at the Ramada Inn Maingate. I was nervous because I knew this was an economy hotel and I'd read some negative reviews, but when I found a great internet rate of $88 I thought I'd be able to handle it for one night. My first indication that I was in for a nice surprise was when the web site was being difficult I called and the rate was honored over the phone.
Second surprise was when I got there. The room was clean and had plenty of lighting. It had a microwave and a fridge which in my opinion is a great bonus. (the first hotel only had a fridge... leftovers are useless if they can't be heated up!)
It was wonderful to be able to walk to the park and back to the room without feeling any strain. We had two double beds which fit us both very comfortably. If you were planning to share these beds I think it would be snug for two adults.
There were plenty of food options around, my favorite being IHOP., but Ramada had a coffee shop, pizza place and a little market all right there!
We did not use the pool so I can't comment on that but it was right outside our room and looked clean and well lit.
Checking out the next day, I remarked at how pleased I was with the room, and that for the price I paid it exceeded all my expectations. The assistant manager Angla was very pleased to hear it. I then asked if they had availability for another date in which my daughter and her boyfriend were coming back and she gave us a suite for only $10 more.
I will definately book this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone looking for a clean and affordable place to stay..so close to Disneyland you can see the entrance when you hit the sidewalk.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   february 16-21, 2008
Reviewer: LoveDISNEY Sunnyvale, ca     February 21, 2008
The WORST hotel I have ever stayed in! I don't even know where to begin! The room was VERY small with NO counter space in the bathroom and the room had a horrible smell. The bathtub was filled with coffee grinds and hair- it was bubbling up as were were standing there!
They fixed and cleaned the tub then we had crickets and bugs on the wall. After a day at the park out room keys did not work and the maid never cleaned the room that day. Very close to the park but not worth it - horrible and dirty.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 6-10 2007
Reviewer: tby789 West Point, Utah     May 14, 2007
We flew into John Wayne Airport on a Sunday and were very surprised when we arrived at 12:30 pm and were able to check in. They had to check to see if the room was clean first, but it was so we were given our keys. We had 3 people in our party and stayed a total of 4 nights, 2 of which were free with my husbands TripRewards points. I think we paid $89 for the other 2 nights. My husband said he wanted to be somewhere quiet so we were given room 102. It was right next to the office, which made our walk even shorter. And the price is certainly better!

We had a non-smoking King room, and I was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door. Our last trip in November we stayed at the Disneyland Hotel, so I expected to hate the Ramada. The room was pretty big, it had a table and chairs, a fridge and microwave, and the sink area was outside the bathroom. My husband loves this, because this way my daughter and I dont monopolize the bathroom. The bathroom looked like it had been recently remodeled, but my six year old pointed out to me during her bath that the new finish on the tub was flaking off. The room was clean but well worn.

Each day we would wake and walk over to the park. We never rushed to get there early, and were lucky to find very short lines on this trip. The walk to the park is very short, but I really missed walking through Downtown Disney each morning from the Disneyland Hotel. The walk is probably just as short if not shorter than walking from the Disneyland Hotel though. And the price is certainly better!

We only tried the complimentary breakfast once and were unimpressed. We usually ate at the Dennys. It was so hot that week that we came back to our room each afternoon to cool down and nap. I agree with the last reviewer about napping. Once we were woken up by the front desk calling about cleaning our room, and once by boys outside playing basketball. The air conditioning worked great, and each day we came back to a cool room. I can never sleep on vacation and I slept great on the beds. The store on the property was great, but it was cheaper to buy bottled water at the Dennys for only $1 a bottle.

I didnt expect to like this hotel but was impressed.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 11-15, 2007
Reviewer: annebkpk California     April 24, 2007
We picked this hotel because of it's proximity to the park. That was my favorite feature. I enjoyed the short walk back after a long day at the parks. Our room was in the very back of the property. We were disappointed that we couldn't check in at 2pm after a long hot drive in the car. We went over to Denny's for ice cream and hung out at the pool until 3pm and we could check in. The room was HUGE with a king size bed and a whirpool tub. The room was very well worn with bare carpet spots, stains, and the tub wasn't totally clean (hair on the walls). The tv also had some quirks that we figured out. One of our routines when going to the parks is to get up early, go to the park, come back for an afternoon nap, and then go back to the park at night. When we were at the hotel for our naps (with the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door) we were woken up BOTH days with a phone call asking if we wanted our room services. Geez what does DO NOT DISTURB mean?!! Even after a complaint to the front desk there was no change. Also, we were rudely woken up again in the afternoon by kids up above our room jumping on their bed and banging LOUDLY on the floor. The $140/night we paid was a ripoff! The breakfast was a joke. Next year we go back to the Candy Cane Inn.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 30- April 6, 2007
Reviewer: missm Seattle, WA     April 10, 2007
Our rate for the hotel was around $450 for the week. We booked it in a package so we can't be exact. We had a standard room and we loved staying here.

I have never been treated that well at a hotel before. Everyone we encountered was so nice and friendly starting with the front desk worker that checked us in. The front desk is under construction but it didn't affect us at all.

Our room was 141 and it was perfect for us. It was in a little cove thing in the back part of the hotel. It was quiet because there was no one above us and we couldn't hear anything from the pool.

The bed was so comfortable. I am a terrible sleeper but I slept through the night every night. We had to request a roll away one night, I called to request it and it was there when we got back to the hotel. When we needed it gone the next day they came to get it right away.

The best part of the room was how huge it was. I am so used to tiny little hotel rooms down there and this one was huge. We had a little kitchen in the room and the bathroom was quite large too.

I was concerned about the walk but it was no problem. Even with a small child with us. We walked back to the hotel a few times a day when the crowds were too much.

I really liked this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. I would be interested to see what it's like when they finish construction.

One thing bad. The air conditioner was loud. We solved that by using just the fan. Not a big deal in April but in the summer it could be an issue. You might want to check with them when calling to make a reservation.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March 2-3, 2007
Reviewer: kathynova (kathy@novasensors.com) Solvang, CA     March 05, 2007
This is the first time I've stayed at this property. I planned a last minute solo trip to Disneyland, and the hotels I usually stay at (Hojo's Fairfield Inn and Sheraton) were all booked. I booked this hotel thru a travel site called Travelworm. The rate was nothing special, $129+tax per night, but they had rooms, so I took it. I had called ahead to confirm, and to mention that I would like a room near the office, as I was traveling alone and didn't want to be in far excluded area. Upon arrival, I was given a room at the deepest, farthest end of the property. It was a strange little room with one queen bed (which as fine with me) that was right up next to a large window. The door opened to the outside, with the hinges on the outside. Very strange, and very unsafe for an exterior door. I mentioned my concern to the front desk and was told they were sold out. They assured me they hadn't had any problems. I noticed that every other room I passed to and from the office had doors that opened in, with hinges on the inside, as one would expect. Oh well...my room didn't get broken into, so enough of that.

As I mentioned it was a very small room, with a small queen, possible double bed. The bed was very hard....oh how I missed my Sheraton "sweet sleeper" bed. In the spot that appeared to have originally designed for a second bed was the room air/heating unit. I worked well enough, although a bit noisy. The room overall was clean, but well worn. Several rust stains in the sink and some pretty extensive wear in the tub/shower. The showerhead was positioned very low, which was not a problem for me, but anyone over 5'5" would have to hunker down to get under it. The room had a microwave and a mini refrigerator, which was nice for soda's and leftovers.

They do offer a "continental breakfast". Don't waste your time. It's pre-packaged stale donuts and pastry, cornflakes, cherrios and plain oatmeal. Very crowded little room...not worth the hassle. They do have a to go coffee house, a snack shop for the late night munchies and a few little gift shops for souveniers and essentials.

Overall, I would rate this property three planets. It's got a good location, but for me, the price I paid was a bit too high for the quality of the room. If I stay here again, which I'm not ruling out, I'd like to get a room rate that better reflects the quality of the hotel.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 19 - August 24, 2006
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
We stayed at Ramada Maingate because of its proximity to DLR entrance and because it was a "Disneyland Good Neighbor" hotel. Our package through Disney Travel Co. included Southern California pass (SeaWorld, Wild Animal Park or San Diego Zoo, and Universal Studios tickets in addition to 3 day DLR Park Hopper), car rental, and accommodations.

We were booked for a standard, but upon arrival, we were upgraded to a 2 queen bed. As stated on another posting, you may check in early, but you cannot get into your room. We arrived at 2:00 p.m. , signed in, and then told to hit the park and come back after 3:00 for our room assignment. We were able to leave our car on the premises. Upon return (about 8:00) we had a few tense moments. The desk clerk could not find our check-in paperwork or reservation and insisted (because our name was similar to another guest) that I was not from Minnesota but from California. All was fixed within 10 minutes. Front desk also provided excellent driving directions to other area attractions. We used several of these directions and never got lost. There is a ticket wholesaler on-site if your decide to hit other parks or museums.

Room was adequate; this is not a luxury hotel. It was clean, and in fact, several rooms were being reconditioned while we were there. Room included a small table with 2 chairs, 2 beds, nightstand, dresser, and tv. Bathroom had tub/shower and toilet in one area and the sink outside the bathroom. All areas were clean but well-used.

The pool area is in the center of the hotel property with all the rooms surrounding it. It is not huge, but nicely landscaped and very clean. Swimming hours were generous without disturbing guests during sleep hours.

Breakfast, provided free with daily pass, was not very good. Sam's club type pastries, apples or banana, coffee and tea were provided. We only ate here the first day.

I was able to sit in our room and watch the fireworks from the Magic Kingdom. Each night at 9:00, I pulled my chair in front of the window and watched. Of course, there was no soundtrack, but the view was spectacular. You can also see the fireworks from the front courtyard and from the pool area.

The shops attached to the complex are clean, with personable employees. Some are a bit "touristy" but I found the coffee shack to be very good. Seattle's Best coffee was good and the black iced tea was excellent.

We had pizza one night from the pizza counter service on site. It was just ok, but certainly not the worst pizza I had ever had. You could buy by the slice or for a whole pie. The salad was standard, but with fresh ingredients. Prices were reasonable. They were quick. You can pick it up or they will deliver it to your door. Many other restaurants deliver and the hotel info includes menus and information.

I also used the laundry facilities on-site. There were 2 washers and 2 dryers for guest use. The washers cost $1.00 and the dryers wer $.75. There is soap/dryer sheets available for purchase, but it was pretty expensive. I went to the small grocery store on site and it was less expensive (I should've broght from home). I had to wait for the washers, but you could sit by the pool while your clothes dried and this was quite nice as they had some nice tunes piped in to the pool area. Change was provided by the front desk.

The ice machine near our room was broken. I do think they need more ice machines. There are only 3 on the complex, and depending on your location, you may have to hoof it quite a way to get ice. Not a huge deal, but it certainly made a difference how many times I went to get ice.

Rooms were quiet. There were a lot of kids and I thought we would have lots of noise. There was no excess noise. Parking was difficult over the weekend, but they seem to have an overflow plan and an area to "double park" without blocking your vehicle completely in.

All in all, this is a very nice value! It's not the Hyatt, but you're not paying those kinds of prices. I think it would be well-suited to a family and its proximity to the gate was actually closer than the Disney hotels. It took us 10 minutes to walk from door to door. This gave us a wonderful opportunity to come and go from the parks as needed without wasting precious touring hours.

I gave this property 4 planets because I thought some areas could use a little more polish. It looked as though they were working on it--I would stay here again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page