Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Residence Inn Anaheim-Resort Area/Garden Grove
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
11931 Harbor Blvd, Garden Grove
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 5 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 5 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   02/14/2006-02/20/2006
Reviewer: jdnelson (jdnelson98258@yahoo.com) Seattle     February 25, 2006
This was our first stay (myself, wife and four boys) at the Residence Inn Anaheim/Garden Grove. I chose this property based on other reviews, AAA and that it is a Disneyland Neighborhood hotel. Paid $119.00 per night (one bedroom 2 queen).
Upon arrival, we were impressed with the cleanliness and contemporary design of the hotel. The room was nice with a large kitchen (full size refer, stove w/oven, microwave and dishwasher), a bedroom (two queen size beds), bathroom and living room (double size sofa bed). The hotel advertising (on-line at their website and the AAA California travel book) showed a full breakfast. The food was disgusting!! Bad scrambled eggs, canned sausage gravy, tasteless potatoes, rubbery french toast/pancakes and yucky coffee. We made our choice to stay here due to the inclusive breakfast, thinking we would save a lot of money for the 6 of us. The whole process of breakfast was utterly overcrowded, people running into each other with breakfast trays, food not replentished and the food staff with bad attitudes. The pictures on their website showed breakfast meat (bacon/sausage), but there wasn't any. They also feature an evening meal. This was a joke too. One night was "Macaroni & Cheese" night. The food staff at the hotel manufactured the "Macaroni & Cheese" with pasta and nacho cheese sauce. My kids found it spicy and my wife and I, just repulsive.
The housekeeping was just o.k.. We didn't get soap and shampoo each day and the "clean" towels smelled funny. Parking was a joke. The lot filled up quickly and we had to park behind the Hyatt next door (quite a walk away). The biggest pain were the elevators. Either one or both of the two elevators were not working during our whole stay. They directed us to use the service elevator behind the scenes in the laundry area. The wait for the elevator took up to 5 minutes (if it was working) and we decided to use the stairs instead.
I would NOT recommend this hotel. There are too many great hotels closer to the park with better service and facilities. Our next stay we will stay at the Howard Johnson as we did in 2003.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov. 10 - 15, 2004
Reviewer: ORDUCK (ogskud@comcast.net) Gladstone, Oregon     November 19, 2004
We had a kid's suite w/ king bed and bunk beds at the AAA rate of $129/night. We arrived at the hotel early (10:30 am) and were able to get into our room, that was a big plus since we had left home at 4 am that morning and wanted to freshen up before heading to the park. We were a bit irrititated that we had to make up the bunk beds. I mean, we're staying in a kid's suite, don't they realize we'll want to use those? Overall the room was clean, but they need to pull out the sofa, bunk beds and other furniture and do some thorough vacuuming!! We found previous guests' toys, socks, cards, etc. behind furniture. We loved having all the space with 5 of us. There was a pocket door between the kids' room and the living room. We found breakfast to be better than satisfactory. The shuttle bus from the neighboring Hyatt was just fine. We'd stay here again.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 29-June 3
Reviewer: truesally (thespencergroup@netzero.net) Vancouver, WA     June 06, 2004
We stayed in the Kids Suite ($139/nt) which included bunk beds & a king bed plus queen sleeper. We were surprised the kids' area did not have doors to separate them from the rest of the room - this was a problem when we wanted the kids to nap during our midday breaks because they could see & hear the rest of us.
The shuttle (every half hour) was at an adjacent hotel so we had to leave our room about 15 minutes prior to pick-up, but it was free and better than walking a couple miles! The breakfast did not vary from day to day - same oatmeal, eggs, pancakes, cereal, fruit and sausage (which you had to ask for at the kitchen door) but offered substance and was also complimentary. (Bananas were usually gone by 8:30 and not replenished, though). They did not offer trays, however, so getting the goods back to my still-getting-ready family was a trial in logistics & physics.
The grocery shopping service was something I looked forward to but was a little disappointed with overall. I had to ask 3 times before I got a list (they have preprinted ones) then did not receive the brand I'd specified for one of the items. Still, we were glad to have juice and yogurt in the fridge at the end of the day and there is no charge for the service.
The hotel advertised Disney channel & video check-out (the kids' TV has a built-in VCR) but when I called the front desk they told me neither of those were offered.
On the great side (the reason I recommend the hotel): Cathie at the front desk was a joy when we checked in & out - she helped tag our luggage to store before our room was ready, secured a nearby room for my in-laws, and cleared up an erroneous charge on our bill. Housekeeping was spectacular everyday. The large pool, kiddie pool, and hot tub are clean, well-lit, and available until 10pm. The laundry room is open 24 hrs. and has washers/dryers with a digital display of time left in the cycle. If you have a later flight, you can pay $30 to extend your check-out time to 4pm.
Overall the room was spacious & comfortable, service was adequate, and price, proximity + free transportation won the stay.
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/15/03 - 12/20/03
Reviewer: tapdancemom (tapdancemom2000@yahoo.com) Vancouver, Wa     December 22, 2003
We had a standard 2-bedroom suite (1king, 2 queen) at $136 per night. There was a full kitchen, eating area, living room and desk area. The 2 bathrooms had a separate vanity area. The front desk service was great, courteous and quick to meet any need that arose. They even grocery shopped for us, no charge. The breakfast was pretty good. Make your own waffles, the pre-made are rubbery. The shuttle was every half hour and I thought pretty crowded for this time of year...but a better alternative to parking in the lot. We would stay here again...it's great for families.
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 10-12, 2003
Reviewer: crazydad123 Phoenix, AZ     October 16, 2003
We stayed for two nights in a King suite with King bed in a separate bedroom, TWO bathrooms, bunk beds and a queen sleeper sofa, THREE TVs, a full kitchen including microwave, full size refrigerator, full size electric range, coffeemaker, dishwasher, cups and place settings. The suite was huge--and even offered free internet that worked instantly on my laptop to let us all get into our e-mail. Bright pastels, well-lit overall--the bunks had light switches at both levels!
The hotel provides breakfast, with do-it-yourself Belgian waffles, eggs, and other hot food as well as muffins and cereal. The hotel will get groceries for you, or direct you to the Target across the street or the local supermarket. The shuttle to DLR runs every 30 minutes, and stops at several hotels, which is similar to many of the off-property resorts.
The hotel is perfect for families, and has a coin-op laundry, a game room, and kid's movie/activity room, as well as fitness center and big outdoor pool, kid's pool, and spa.
Everything was well-kept, the staff was courteous and prompt, and the best part was the price. With two teenagers (boy and a girl), I have usually been booking 2 hotel rooms in order to accomodate everyone. I don't know whether this was an intro offer or what, but we paid $139 per night plus tax for the whole suite!
My daughter liked it so much she says she'll go back there for her honeymoon--she's 14, so this could be real serious if she meets a guy who isn't a big Disney fan.
 
35 out of 35 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page