Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rainforest Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Anaheim location of this popular restaurant features a two-story dining room, and the over-the-top decor this chain is known for.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 32 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Feb 1, 2010
Reviewer: Tdavis Oregon     March 08, 2010
Ok so we had a group of 5 adults and 4 children.
We had to wait way past our reservation time. My brother in law had to finally say something. We got
seated and our server seemed nice. We took in the atmosphere. I had a seafood plate. My wife and sister inlaw had pasta, I honestly can't remember what everyone else had. Everybody enjoyed their meal but me. I got a tad sick from it. However the prices were
rather high. Then to top it off even though we billed seperatly we all got to add the 15 percent or so gratuity.
That caught us by surprise. I haven't ran into that much where I am from. Needless to say my poor inlaws paid over a hundred dollars for one meal. We got one refill the entire time. While we enjoyed the atmosphere we all got tired of hearing the staff yell VOLCANO! every few minutes. We will not be returning on our future trips to DL. The portions just were not worth the price.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 5, 2009
Reviewer: wwomant Sacramento area, California     January 17, 2009
My husband and I along with our 4 year old and 19 month old were meeting family for dinner. We had made 6:30 reservations. The food was great. The service was great. But most importantly, the fun busy atmosphere of fish tanks, thunder storms, and talking and moving jungle animals kept my children entertained so that we could eat and talk! Although it's not cheap, it's a great place to take kids so that you can relax a little and enjoy the food while they take in all there is to see in the restaurant. People without children may not appreciate it as much.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/07/2007
Reviewer: AlexDurrani Houston, TX     December 15, 2007
I followed common recommendations from all guides (official and unofficial) and went to the Cafe at about 11am. I was seated immediately. I had ordered fried Callamary and a mixed seafood plate. The callamary wasn't completely cooked and i ended up not finishing it. The Seafood platter had included the Cafe's signature crab cakes/patties. I was looking forward to eating them but was severely disappointed when cakes had a very strong fishy taste to it and unfortunately i was not able to finish it. Overall I found the waitstaff and hostesses very friendly and helpful when it came to serving drinks and so forth. Unfortunately I will not be returning to the cafe at any of their locations including the one here in my home town.
 
4 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   10/1/07
Reviewer: Sussya Phoenix, AZ     October 06, 2007
We've eaten here before on past trips to Disneyland and loved the atmosphere. The food has never been world class, but it's usually decent. This trip was different.

We made reservations a week in advance. We showed up 15 minutes early, and it still took them 40 minutes to seat us. We ended up being seated 25 minutes after our reservation time. I requested a seat in the middle of the action, yet we were seated in a small round booth next to the bar. There were no animals within view AT ALL. Our waitress was terrible, and the food was worse than we'd ever had at Rainforest. It took far too long to have dinner, and by the time our food was at the table, the kids were cranky and ready for bed.

My husband and I split a meal, and the kids each had kids' meals. We all drank water. For a family of 5, the bill came out to be $60. This wouldn't have been so bad if we'd been seated promptly and able to view the animals throughout the restaurant.

We'll NEVER go back to Rainforest Cafe again. There are too many other great places to experience in Disneyland.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   2-24-07
Reviewer: simnia Anaheim, California     March 09, 2007
I'd taken many photos of this scenic restaurant on many visits before finally eating here. For such a charming atmosphere, their large Breakfast Of Bandits for $8.99 seemed like a great deal when I passed by one morning, especially around 9 a.m. when there were no people waiting, so I tried it. Unfortunately they got my order wrong (they gave me bacon instead of sausage) and didn't tell me that the fresh grapefruit juice was around $4, which blew my under-$10 breakfast expectations out of the water. The juice prices were not listed on the menu, so I was upset when I received a $12+ bill for breakfast. The juice was delicious, but I wouldn't have ordered it if I'd known the price beforehand. I felt cheated and I didn't leave a tip. Also annoying was that one of the waitresses kept unnecessarily bumping me from squeezing between my chair and the wall, apparently just to save a few steps from taking the main walkway. The atmosphere is very good, though. I sat near a large tropical aquarium, there are occasional "thunderstorms" with lightning flashes, and an animated gorilla and animated monkey periodically come to life unexpectedly and raise a ruckus, which was a novel and amusing touch.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   20th November 2006
Reviewer: gabrielle2106 Australia     December 02, 2006
We ate here on almost our last day at DL. The food was good, the menu a little limited but the staff were excellent. We found the portions enormous as most are around DL. Costwise it wasn't cheap but it was good quality. The decor is great if a little noisy and the wait for seating was ridiculous. We had to wait about 30minutes for seating when it was only 11.30am and upon entering the resturant we noticed many empty tables and seats. I'm not sure what the hold up was but we were about to leave when our name was finally called. We were seated right outside the bathroom door which was too close (i thought) for hygenic purposes..We have eaten at other RFC and they were all better than this one.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2005 - weekday
Reviewer: CalgaryMouser (rgharris@shaw.ca) Calgary, Alberta     March 12, 2006
We were tired of the noise and were interested in the cool look, mist, etc. It is a very tacky appearance and we were consequently a little unsure about whether to go in. We were faced with quite a long wait for a table but decided to take seats in the section close to the hostess station as the wait was much less (however, we didn't see the other attractions of the restaurant that people describe). We really enjoyed the meal however and were glad that we stopped in. We will likely stop by again when we visit in June 2006. The service was not the best - quite slow - especially to pay the bill.
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   02/14/2006
Reviewer: jdnelson (jdnelson98258@yahoo.com) Seattle     February 26, 2006
This is our second visit to the Rainforest Cafe since 1999. We learned our lesson the first time, but thought we would try it again for lunch.
The food was just o.k., the service was slow and the server has not friendly. We didn't get refills on our drinks (soda or water) and had to ask twice.
We ordered the shrimp pasta, the "World" pasta and the kids shrimp.
Overall, I would not recommend this place. The total bill was not worth it. The ESPN Zone is much better!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 27, 2005
Reviewer: SandraVB79 (sandra@pubers.net) Brussels, Belgium     November 21, 2005
I have been to a couple of Rainforest cafes before, and I had read that this ne was very well decorated, so we had to try it. We couldn't get any reservations, so at around 7.30 pm we put our name on the list, and were told there was 1.5 hour wait. We continued shopping at DTD (all the stores must have to love the long RFC wait!) and were seated 1 hour and 45 minutes after giving up our name. We (2 adults) were seated upstairs, next to the gorilla.

We did have to wait a long time before we could order and before our drinks/food arrived, and before we got refills. The staff was efficient, but there was just not enough staff!

We both had the shrimp pizza (it had a fancier name though) and it is about the best pizza I tasted!!!! After that, we were stuffed, and skipped dessert, although the strawberry shortcake just called my name...

I liked our meal, though I didn't like the long wait times. I just LOVE the decorations, you expect Iniana Jones jumping up at just any moment.
In my opinion, being used to European city prices, the food was not overpriced. $12.00 for a pizza... is cheap. At Pizza Hut here, you pay 15 euro for a cheese pizza! I would go back to this restaurant, but only on days I don't have tickets for the parks. I think you waste way too much time at the RFC, time you could use to enjoy ridesn shows, parades, ...
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 13, 2005
Reviewer: jo and bruce South Dakota     October 06, 2005
This is atmosphere, atmosphere. Once you are aware that is what you are paying for, relax and enjoy the ride. The kids loved the chest thumping gorilla, the thunderstorms and the overall atmosphere, atmosphere. Our server was attentive and played somewhat into the whole touristy vacation thing. We let the kids purchase special tropical blended drinks with light up glasses. They loved these. We made a fun family memory here. The food is nothing near as memorable as the atmosphere (and somewhat overpriced for what you got) but hey, it is the Rainforest Cafe and we were there for the atmosphere and fun. It would be awesome if their food was as good as the atmosphere. Overall, I think if we had one of these near us, the desire for terrific eats would eventually outweigh the pull of the unique atmosphere.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page