Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rainforest Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
The Anaheim location of this popular restaurant features a two-story dining room, and the over-the-top decor this chain is known for.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 32 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   5/24/05
Reviewer: theyates6 Las Vegas, NV     June 10, 2005
Honestly, I do not know how this restaurant chain stays in business. They have friendly servers and a cute theme that my children love, but their food is atrocious!! (Also, be prepared to wait for everything...your table, to order, your food, any condiments you may need with your food ANYTHING!) Not even the kids liked it. As cute and fun as the restaurant is even my four kids do not want to go back...the food is that bad. I have ordered the chimichacha appetiser, the crab cakes, the pizza, and the coconut shrimp. None were good. My kids ordered the macaroni and cheese, the pizza and the shrimp and not one finished their meal (and these are 8, 9, & 11 year old kids) they usually eat plenty. We ended up with a $75.00 bill and four still hungry kids. Go in look around at all the animals and the decor, then turn around, and go eat somewhere else. Save your money. Your taste buds will thank you!!
 
7 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 9
Reviewer: Disneyluver Brooklyn, New York     May 16, 2005
The Rainforest Cafe was a nice place for dinner. The food was great, and the decoration was over the top exceptional. Me and my family got a seat right in front of a huge elephant who once in a while made noises that were great. The place was very kid friendly. They have food choices such as: Pizza and Cheesburgers for kids and the usual for adults but very good. Although there was a little bit of a wait, it was worth it. After dinner,definately check out the shop right downstairs. Things can get pricey, but there very nice and fit the mood. Take your kids. Also check out the fish tank its amazing! The price was not over the top. It was just about what you would pay at a regular restaurant.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Monday, November 1st, 2004
Reviewer: Missviolet Washington     March 30, 2005
Ugh.

My Husband and I decided to try this resturant while on our Honeymoon. What a dissapointment. We check in around seven and didn't get seated for an hour. Mind you, this was a Monday night. We walked around the overpriced gift shop for a while and then checked out the fish tanks which was the high point of our experience.

We were seated by the "emergency exit" door and a group of loud drunk people. :0( Yuck.

We orded drinks which took a very LONG time to get and then looked at the menu. To me, it was crazy to have food priced HIGHER outside of Disneyland! We decided to spilt a $12 small pizza and we very dissapointed. It took about a half an hour for our food to get there and was cold upon arrival. The pizza had an "off" taste and made my husband sick. Yuck.

We spent about $20 on a crappy pizza, two rarely refilled drinks and a tip for a lousy waitress. The rainstorms were ok, but not worth $20 and a sick husband.

We will NEVER go back. For the money and wait, we would much rather eat at the Blue Bayou!!

Hope this helped!

If you truly want to experience the Rainforest Cafe, I would reccomend going for, say, dessert. Dessert is always safe and the other reviews have told me that they are totally split-able!
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   march 5
Reviewer: tjimmy Portland, OR     March 10, 2005
Based on other reviews here and knowledge of these mega-theme restaurant/gift stores work prepared me for the worst. But everything went rather well. It was a Friday night so of course it was crowded and we didn't get our name in until 6 pm. Also, just before the woman at the front desk spoke to us, someone whispered in her ear: the wait had just gone from 45 minutes to 75 minutes. There was a fine band in the square and the three of us went off for some downtown Disney retail therapy, which for me involved a Sierra nevada at the Uva bar and for my wife and daughter a moderate spree at Build a bear. When we came back, we milled around for a while and then approached the desk, hoping at least to get a estimate of our fate. They had a table ready. I think it was 37 minutes. We sat down during one of the thunderstorms, which are fun, and seated between two gorillas. Our waiter was a tad too disappointed in our not ordering appetisers, but he seemed to get over it. I got over things quickly with a planters punch, which at 6.99 was not over the moon in price by any means. My 8 yr old was very engrossed in the kiddie menu, much more than she usually is. The kids selections were very broad and had something for every taste. She got a kids pizza for 5.99, which she devoured and pronounced great. Of course her favorite at home is Papa Murphy's so take that one with a dollop of red sauce. My wife had an enormous Cobb Salad, which of course had a much fancier name, but had fine bits of chicken and excellent flavor. My selection was a special combo of ribs, Ny steak and coconut shrimp with fries and veggies. The shrimp were fantastic, not too heavy and well flavored with coconut. We had a coupon for the kids pizza so the total came to about $51. Fun and a good value.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb,Aug,Dec 2002, eb,June,Dec2003,Feb,Aug,Nov2004
Reviewer: susanmckay20 San Diego, California     December 23, 2004
My children and eat at the Rainforest Cafe everytime we go th Disneyland. We have annual passports and usually stay for 3 days at a time. We have always been pleased with the food and the service. They have a great variety. We have enjoyed, chicken, fish and steak dishes as well as hambugers and salads. the pasta plates and salad can easily be split between two people. We all enjoy thethme and the kids stay entertained just looking around. It's very nice for small children, because it is somewhat noisy, you don't feel like you have to keep your children quite. The only reason I gave it 4 planets instead of 5 is because of the price. You can eat cheaper in the resorts or other nearby restaurants. If they did not have a kids menu, which is reasonable and includes a drink, we would not eat there. In my opinion, the best place to take the kids for food they like and the best price is Pizza Port in Disneyland. They can get acomplete meal with drink for 5.99, it will feed an adult aslo, they don't hassle you if you order for yourself. Their pasta plates for around $8-$9 can be split by two people.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   11/9/04
Reviewer: sleepyjeff Portland, Oregon     November 13, 2004
My entire group(15) tried to eat here together but they said they could only seat us 7 and 8 seperately. We said fine. they said it would be about 25 minutes. We explored the vast shop with its remarkable rainforest theme. It really is something to see. After exploring for a while we realized that our name had not been called yet and it had been over 45 minutes. After a few more minutes they seat a "safari" of 12(told us they couldn't seat more than 8 at one table). We go up to the front and ask what is going on. They apologize and quickly have our names called for our tables. Now the fun begins. Once your name is called for a table you get to wait in a line to get seated(not enough to make you wait to have your name called I guess). Finally after waiting another 5 minutes one half of our group is seated. The other half waites another 10 minutes before getting a table clear on the other side of the Restuarant.

The slap in the face of it all is that right next to us is a empty table that could have easily been pushed next to ours so we all could have sat together; what's worse is right next to group number twos table is yet another empty table that could have sat us all. It's almost as if they deliberately tried to seperate us(I know they didn't, they are just incompetant).

The food was fine but not worth the $15 to $25 per entree. The atmosphere was visably awesome but the audible sounds of the rainforest were drowned out by extremely load music that had nothing to do with the theme???

They had a great idea here and nearly carried it off. I will closely watch for other up dated reviews of this place to see if there are any improvements. I would like to visit again if they get their act together.
 
8 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/28-31/04
Reviewer: riksanders69 Missoula, MT     September 28, 2004
I'd never been to a Rainforest Cafe' before, but I'd heard about them. It impresses you before you're even inside...the outside looks like some ancient Mayan temple (complete with torches at night). Inside it resembles the Indiana Jones ride, complete with wild animals, vines, and the occasional thunderstorm (cool!) The food is colorful and plentiful, and the service is great!! You gotta check this place out!!
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 15, 2004
Reviewer: sdfilmcritic Escondido, California     August 19, 2004
After several visits to the restaurant in the past I still stop in for a meal because of the wonderful atmosphere. The prices are overpriced, even at lunch time, but they have a discount club any visitor can join to save 10% off the bill on their visits. I don't know how long the discount club will last, but Annual Passholders do get a discount when they present their passholder card with their choice of payment (cash or credit card) at the time of paying for the bill. (NOTE: There are no discounts off of alcohol and AP discounts will not be offered after 4 PM.) The food is decent to good. I enjoyed the pot roast, chicken fried steak, and the chicken friend chicken. The aquariams, robotic animals, and a "surprise" rainstorm every thirty mintues really adds to the fun atmospere. I recommend this place to those who haven't tried it yet. Go at least once. Going back for a second trip would really have depend on you. Everytime I had lunch there I have always brought someone new with me, so that the person can experience what it's like there. I would recommend the lunch over the dinner, because it's less crowded (and if I can remember right the prices are lower at lunch, too). I haven't had the breakfast, so I can offer any help here.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 15, 2004
Reviewer: missm Washington State     July 26, 2004
My family and I went here for my birthday and had an absolute blast. When we got there at 7 it was packed so we were glad we made reservations. Make reservations! I had the filet and it was excellent. I'm a huge steak fan and this was one of the best, you could cut it with a fork. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. I really, really didn't want to make a big deal about my birthday so they sang the birthday song quietly and gave me some sort of desert that was okay. The only bad thing was I had a Mai Tai and it was horrible and expensive. But I did get a neat glass. All in all it was a great dining experience. I think alot of it had to do with the waiter though. The Rainforest Cafe is pricey but worth it. Oh yeah, you should walk around (upstairs and down) and look at all of the neat stuff they have in the restaurant.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 4th
Reviewer: kat408 Atlanta,Georgia     June 16, 2004
The Resturaunt had a nice atmosphere,but the food was nothing more than a slight ok. To top it off, the food was expensive! An average meal was $12.00 not including a drink or dessert. The balcony was nice! They have a lot of seating.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page